Travel South Korea V5, Seoul & Surroundings

inachi
post Sep 10 2016, 01:00 PM

i don troll
1,097 posts

QUOTE(Patt_Hup @ Sep 9 2016, 05:39 PM)
What's the best time to travel if I want to see snow in S.korea? And if there's any place that I need to be to experience snowy days smile.gif
their winter definitely end of the year..its started around november..but sometimes winter might come a bit late..so december or january the best..but do note that the winter in korea is way much colder compared to japan.
Amatiel
post Sep 12 2016, 12:28 AM

62 posts

Am I to understand that eastarjet and jejuair allow free checked baggage?
saw2001
post Sep 12 2016, 10:37 AM

Chelsea Chelsea
1,192 posts

Will be leaving to busan tomorrow, any suggestions on which simcard to buy over in korea?

koonghx
post Sep 12 2016, 02:29 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(saw2001 @ Sep 12 2016, 10:37 AM)
Will be leaving to busan tomorrow, any suggestions on which simcard to buy over in korea?
I think getting the broadband egg is cheaper for Internet.
Check a few pages back, there's a malaysian company that provides them for RM12/day
familyfirst
post Sep 13 2016, 02:06 PM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(inachi @ Sep 10 2016, 01:00 PM)
their winter definitely end of the year..its started around november..but sometimes winter might come a bit late..so december or january the best..but do note that the winter in korea is way much colder compared to japan.
Any chance of snowfall in early to mid Dec? And around what temp to expect pls?

I know there is no light show in winter but is it still worth the cruise in Han River in winter?
azkoleq
post Sep 13 2016, 03:06 PM

QUOTE(Amatiel @ Sep 12 2016, 12:28 AM)
Am I to understand that eastarjet and jejuair allow free checked baggage?
Yes, 15kg.
inachi
post Sep 13 2016, 06:43 PM

i don troll
1,097 posts

QUOTE(familyfirst @ Sep 13 2016, 02:06 PM)
Any chance of snowfall in early to mid Dec?  And around what temp to expect pls? 

I know there is no light show in winter but is it still worth the cruise in Han River in winter?
Erm..since early November only slowly moving from Autumn to November, i don think early Dec will be so fast to have snowfall..Maybe night yes..

If u are expecting heavy snowfall, it needs to be at least mid of Dec or early Jan.
Amatiel
post Sep 14 2016, 09:07 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(azkoleq @ Sep 13 2016, 03:06 PM)
Yes, 15kg.
thanks for the reply. thought macam airasia u nd to pay for check ins.
yaniee
post Sep 14 2016, 11:54 AM

QUOTE(xHj09 @ Sep 6 2016, 05:05 PM)
how much is the cheapest flight to seoul normally?
last year purchased for RM500 return
IVL
post Sep 17 2016, 11:46 PM

372 posts

Hi everyone, i'm flying to Seoul (first timer) with my gf coming End Oct..i'm planning to allocate 3d2n for Jeju island.
Want to ask here : When is the earliest Jeju Air I could take provided I stay @SeoulCity/Myeongdong?
- how many hour earlier i need to be at Gimpo airport for the domestic flight to Jeju?
- what is the approximate travel time from Seoul to Gimpo?

and also when could be the latest flight time advisable for me to buy to fly back to Gimpo and subsequently back to Seoul city? (I saw on previous thread, returning rental car might took some time?)

Oh ya, what is the normal price rate for flight to Jeju (for ppl who book 1 month before like me lol)

Thanks in advance

p/s : will be arriving Incheon airport @0830 morning, if straight to Gimpo is it nearer and faster?

This post has been edited by IVL: Sep 17 2016, 11:57 PM
IVL
post Sep 18 2016, 01:33 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Aug 23 2016, 02:35 PM)
i use to rent from this place. sign up to be member and you can see the discount

https://www.lotterentacar.net/eng/short/short_main.do
I'm trying to book a car rental reservation, using Lotte Car rental.

I used the normal reservation type, then I saw there is an overseas reservation? Which one you're using?
And does it come with English Navigation? I reckon only Korean Navigation to choose @@

kk131
post Sep 18 2016, 11:57 PM

566 posts

QUOTE(IVL @ Sep 18 2016, 01:33 PM)

I used the normal reservation type, then I saw there is an overseas reservation? Which one you're using?
And does it come with English Navigation? I reckon only Korean Navigation to choose @@

Navigators are dual language Korean/English, you can ask the hire company to change the language.

familyfirst
post Sep 19 2016, 08:15 AM

1,311 posts

Is it worth going to the Garden of Morning Calm in winter? Seems like transportation back to Seoul is a problem unless you join a private tour at KRW75,000 per person.
koonghx
post Sep 19 2016, 09:27 AM

888 posts

QUOTE(familyfirst @ Sep 19 2016, 08:15 AM)
Is it worth going to the Garden of Morning Calm in winter?  Seems like transportation back to Seoul is a problem unless you join a private tour at KRW75,000 per person.
It's open and got lights but not worth it imo.
http://english.visitkorea.or.kr/enu/ATR/SI...jsp?cid=1866962
familyfirst
post Sep 19 2016, 01:00 PM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(koonghx @ Sep 19 2016, 09:27 AM)
It's open and got lights but not worth it imo.
http://english.visitkorea.or.kr/enu/ATR/SI...jsp?cid=1866962
Yeah thot so too. Thanks.
luvjim
post Sep 19 2016, 04:34 PM

to the moon and back
1,036 posts

QUOTE(IVL @ Sep 17 2016, 11:46 PM)
Hi everyone, i'm flying to Seoul (first timer) with my gf coming End Oct..i'm planning to allocate 3d2n for Jeju island.
Want to ask here : When is the earliest Jeju Air I could take provided I stay @SeoulCity/Myeongdong?
- how many hour earlier i need to be at Gimpo airport for the domestic flight to Jeju?
- what is the approximate travel time from Seoul to Gimpo?

and also when could be the latest flight time advisable for me to buy to fly back to Gimpo and subsequently back to Seoul city? (I saw on previous thread, returning rental car might took some time?)

Oh ya, what is the normal price rate for flight to Jeju (for ppl who book 1 month before like me lol)

Thanks in advance
p/s : will be arriving Incheon airport @0830 morning, if straight to Gimpo is it nearer and faster?
Domestic flight for departure: 20 mins before boarding. I never do the transit coz I visit Seoul first then only Jeju. Better make 1 hour earlier than boarding time.

Apps you MUST download during your trips:
For Seoul: Subway Korea (it shows you how many station from your location to your destination - Airport station include as well)
For Busan: Busan Metro
Both has the entire route of the subway. It is extremely useful.

Jeju: I just use google map and their GPS. That's already sufficient.

Rent and return car in Jeju is very convenient. I just return it and after car inspection less than 5 minutes, I can go already. Then just hop on car rental shuttle bus to airport.
Car rental office to airport roughly 10 minutes driving distance.
If return car later than 30 minutes or an hour from the time you mention..that's alright. They don't bother much.
luvjim
post Sep 19 2016, 04:50 PM

to the moon and back
1,036 posts

There's only "Book A Car" or "Jeju Book A Car" option on the page. Either one will be good.
Well, there's no English navigation. It is still a Korean Navigation where you can choose English/Korean Speaking. The lotte guy help to change to English speaking but later not sure why it speak in Korean again.
I have a hard time to change back to English speaking, in the end I just give up and let it speak in Korean.

Just follow the navigation can already. Coz their GPS is super accurate and no laggy etc. You won't miss the turning.
As long as you provide the destination phone number..you are good to go. icon_idea.gif

IVL
post Sep 19 2016, 11:03 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(luvjim @ Sep 19 2016, 04:50 PM)
There's only "Book A Car" or "Jeju Book A Car" option on the page. Either one will be good.
Well, there's no English navigation. It is still a Korean Navigation where you can choose English/Korean Speaking. The lotte guy help to change to English speaking but later not sure why it speak in Korean again.
I have a hard time to change back to English speaking, in the end I just give up and let it speak in Korean.

Just follow the navigation can already. Coz their GPS is super accurate and no laggy etc. You won't miss the turning.
As long as you provide the destination phone number..you are good to go. icon_idea.gif
Thanks luvjim for sharing your experience.

I'm looking to book guesthouse via airbnb. I'm going to Jeju (3d2n), morning arriving 10am, night departing 920pm.

Intended to stay 1 night at Namwon-eup, Seogwipo & another night at Seongsan-eup, Seogwipo. Is it alright? Or it is advisable to stay a night at Jeju-Si and another night at Seongsan-eup?

Thankss!

This post has been edited by IVL: Sep 19 2016, 11:04 PM
luvjim
post Sep 20 2016, 10:09 AM

to the moon and back
1,036 posts

QUOTE(IVL @ Sep 19 2016, 11:03 PM)
Thanks luvjim for sharing your experience.

I'm looking to book guesthouse via airbnb. I'm going to Jeju (3d2n), morning arriving 10am, night departing 920pm.

Intended to stay 1 night at Namwon-eup, Seogwipo & another night at Seongsan-eup, Seogwipo. Is it alright? Or it is advisable to stay a night at Jeju-Si and another night at Seongsan-eup?

Thankss!
For my experience, I went to East and West from Jeju-Si. Ya, I stay at Jeju-Si only.
The travel time from here to East/West each about 1.5 hour or less.

Jeju-Si has more shops and stalls open during night time while Seogwipo is already silence around 8pm.
I didn't go to Namwon-eup, so can't comment it ya.

After all it still depends on which place you gonna visit. Mind to tell your itinerary at Jeju?

Even though below show from Jeju-Si to East/West so far away from each other...actually driving time is around 1.5hour only.
yvonnesoo
post Sep 20 2016, 02:39 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

it comes with both korean and english navigation. both reservation also can use

136 Pages « < 133 134 135 136 >Top

0.0293sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:49 AM