Travel South Korea V5, Seoul & Surroundings

koonghx
post Oct 12 2014, 08:15 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(Mollai @ Oct 12 2014, 04:12 PM)
Just booked my flights for December. Now gotta make some plans. Any must go place?
Ski resorts for december. drool.gif

koonghx
post Oct 13 2014, 09:03 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(kca @ Oct 13 2014, 06:43 PM)
Can I know is the rail bike in nami island itself? If not how to go? From nami how to go petite france? Appreciate your sharing. 1st time to seoul for 4 nights and 2 nights busan. Thanks
Rail bike is not in nami island itself. Take bus then take train to go.
Petitie france also have tour bus from Cheongpyeong train station.
koonghx
post Oct 14 2014, 01:44 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(af_1993 @ Oct 14 2014, 01:20 PM)
if you don't mind you can opt for korean food like sundubu jigae kimchie jigae or seafood. Halal food in itaewon is rather expensive..since that you ady in korea why not try their local food? just inform them to remove the meat
Please remove meat in Korean is
고기 빼 주세요.
Gogi bbae juseyeo.

I am bad at romanizing Korean but you can show them the text when you are there.
koonghx
post Oct 14 2014, 02:37 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(amidamaru @ Oct 14 2014, 01:54 PM)
Im not in korea yet. will be going next month. May i know how expensive is expensive and how about telco if i want to have a data plan using my number.
Expect prices at itaewon to be in the range of 10,000won for a plate of halal food.
You can get portable wifi router at the airport. Price is 8,000won per day for LTE speeds and unlimited data. Deposit for device is 200,000won. This wifi can be shared to up to 7 devices.
You can also buy wifi cards for around the same price and unlimited data but it will only work in limited places as it is wifi and limited in terms of number of devices.
As for telco rates, depends on your local telco company.
koonghx
post Oct 14 2014, 07:00 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Oct 14 2014, 03:15 PM)
some muslim is very particular on "halal" term. food must be prepared in halal way.. eg the way they slaughtered and etc. some will bring instant noodle or cook at the guesthouse. but some of my muslim friends that is not particular will not mind (just ask them don't put pork meat or opt for vegetarian) since they are travel overseas..

고기 is meat. doesn't mean is pork meat.
돼지고기 is pork meat
You are technically correct as that is the definition of 고기 from the dictionary.
But when you tell the 아줌마, 고기 빼주세요. The 고기 means pork.
For example, when you order 소고기볶음밥, if you say 고기 빼주세요. The ahjumma will say 고기 안 들아가는데... 소고기만 들어가요.
Another thing to note for Muslims, is that 야채볶음밥 or 김밥 sometimes have 햄/ham inside them. So, be sure to tell the ahjumma to 빼 the 햄 or 고기.
koonghx
post Oct 14 2014, 08:44 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Oct 14 2014, 07:41 PM)
aiyo the problem is not all know to read & speak in Korean. later the staff will reply back in Korean, end up he/she  rclxub.gif make situation more worst. somemore if the waiter/waitress is busy they won't entertain or have time to even read the sentences on your handphone oh. some ahjumma don't even know to read. suggest use simple word or worst come to worst body language.. that is what my muslim friends told me their experience when they travel to Korea haha.. some more particular one will pack and bring own food  whistling.gif
I know some that buys instant noodle from 7-11 because you can't pack for 10 days..
Then, they found out that shin rameon in Korea contains pork.
Then, they start to eat bread only.. After that, realize that the bread was made using rice wine. sweat.gif
koonghx
post Oct 15 2014, 11:08 AM

888 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Oct 15 2014, 10:39 AM)
fuu. how come buy bread also can get those make with rice wine 1? either bad luck or....... rclxub.gif
Rice Wine Cream bread

This is the one that I am talking about.
They sell this in every CU. There's not many choices for bread in smaller CU, and since this is red bean paste bread, it looks appetizing with the cream on the picture. Most Muslims don't care/mind though.
koonghx
post Oct 17 2014, 02:01 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(*devilelle* @ Oct 17 2014, 12:22 PM)
going to korea next Monday .. wonder hows the weather. Weather forecast show cold but my friend who is currently in korea said is not cold...

torn whether wanna bring long john or not....
Long john would be overkill.
Just a sweater or jacket is enough.
I still wear short sleeves sometimes.
But cold tolerance differ from people to people. tongue.gif
koonghx
post Oct 17 2014, 07:34 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(*devilelle* @ Oct 17 2014, 03:39 PM)
Yup... I went to genting or kundasang and I feel cold  icon_question.gif

I am not bring long john then. Juz bring jacket.

thumbup.gif
In the afternoon, still quite hot.
At night, if got wind, then is chilly.
koonghx
post Oct 25 2014, 02:01 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(ckweng @ Oct 22 2014, 04:08 PM)
Anybody who has come back from Korea lately can please report on the state of the autumn foliage? Are the leaves all brown and yellow by now?
Living in Korea right now, can confirm most trees still green. Starting to yellow a biit..
koonghx
post Oct 26 2014, 08:24 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(+h0m@s.. @ Oct 25 2014, 11:22 PM)
guys wanted to ask if anybody know about sim card in Korea? rent or purchase?
Nowadays all the convenience stores sell prepaid cards.
You can buy those at the airport too.
Purchase prepaid card.
Rental is for olleh eggs only.

koonghx
post Oct 27 2014, 11:27 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Oct 27 2014, 12:25 PM)
Leaves turn yellow liao
Wah.. SNU?

This post has been edited by koonghx: Oct 27 2014, 11:27 PM
koonghx
post Oct 30 2014, 08:31 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(eugene9201 @ Oct 30 2014, 07:56 PM)
Anyone tried hot pack from Daiso? Read somewhere that those in Daiso are not hot enough...
When are you coming to Korea?
Right now still not cold even to use hot packs but normally we buy hot packs from gmarket.
Like this.
Gmarket 핫펙

I don't use hot packs myself but I think most tourists come to Korea they feel very cold because the clothings are not suitable.

NEVER, I repeat, NEVER buy from Universal Travellers. Those are expensive and ugly and doesn't work well.

Uniqlo heat tech inner wear is very popular in Korea as well as their down jackets. They look nicer nowadays, last time when Uniqlo introduced their down jackets, they look like black rubbish plastic bags in Malaysia but people still wear them.
koonghx
post Sep 23 2015, 07:11 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(ukiya @ Sep 18 2015, 10:17 PM)
Yeah ... I m doing backpacking style...
Will only bring cash flow of RM2k there... The rest like accommodation and day trip in Jeju and day trip to DMZ, will be charged to credit cards.

Return Jeju flight already paid... So not much of a choice now to cancel ...
Wah.. Bring so much cash. Normally Korea everywhere can use credit card, no need to bring so much cash also nevermind.
koonghx
post Sep 24 2015, 12:43 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Sep 23 2015, 07:32 PM)
you are wrong. i prefer to use cash than credit card as the conversion rate differ. if other foreigner no issue. msian.. you need to think twice ya.. lately our RM so bad plus the bank charges is higher. if someone is on budget trip, sure will mind  whistling.gif also RM2k is not alot ler
Which one of my statement is wrong?
Yes. The conversation rate may differ. But credit card is so ubiquitous in Korea, so it is much much easier to just use it.
And if you come here to buy luxury stuffs, like MCM drool.gif , then with CC don't have to worry about not enough cash to buy.
For me, my wallet almost never has any cash, unless it's for t-money. tongue.gif
Oh well, my opinion might be a bit biased since I am living here. But when my family came here for holiday, I told them to use credit card for everything, even for taxis. And at the end of the trip, they can know precisely how much they had spent since it is all recorded in the bank statement.
I know that the bank they used doesn't have any extra charges for overseas transaction and the exchange rate was reasonable. So, even if you are traveling on a budget, it is still a viable option, if you ask your bank for the rates first.

The reason I am advising to use credit card is that it's kinda fun to experience the convenience when almost everything can be paid using just a swipe. When I went back Malaysia or go to Japan for holiday, it gets quite frustrating to bring cash around sweat.gif

Edit:
Btw, any1 in Korea this Chuseok? I am going to 울릉도 / 독도 this weekend. Around 300,000won including food, transport, hotel. Wanna come together?

This post has been edited by koonghx: Sep 24 2015, 12:45 PM
koonghx
post Sep 24 2015, 12:49 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Sep 18 2015, 06:33 PM)

EG sim card. but i never use before i'm not sure how is the quality and outcome so can't comment further. 5am too early la.. they open 7am at the airport  tongue.gif  can opt for delivery with extra charges. sim card have to pay data and voice charges..

or you can try Olleh
Heard comments from my friend that EG is expensive and data speed is slow. 1GB for 38,000won, 3G speed.

If you can afford the deposit for mobile wifi, then it is much more advisable to use that..
koonghx
post Sep 25 2015, 09:46 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(MoneyMaker prince @ Sep 25 2015, 04:46 PM)
Has anyone tried before Hangang River Ferry Firework cruise? Is it worth to go?

http://funtastickorea.com/shop/hangang-riv...reworks-cruise/

Based on the map, have to walk 15 min from Yeouinaru Station to Yeouido Dock.@@ Tats far
20,000won+ for that is not worth it IMO. It's better to time it and walk along the river near Yeouinaru, then go to check out the Banpo Rainbow bridge. While you were walking along the river, then at that time, decide whether you want the ferry or not. No need to buy online for that before you go.
koonghx
post Sep 25 2015, 09:49 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(junecheah @ Sep 25 2015, 12:06 PM)
Not too sure abt 6% GST. I check my cc online acct, and the rate charge was based on tht day's currency exchg.. without any 6% GST.. or maybe it will be totaled up later at statement plus the 6% GST. As I just check online transaction, havent got my bill yet.
If all overseas transaction have to top up 6% gst.. then mati lo.
I really really doubt that they would charge 6% gst on all your overseas transaction. Maybe 6% of fees on top of the bank fees would be reasonable.

For example, bank charge RM10 for withdraw money from overseas ATM, then gst on that would make it RM10.60. I doubt they would charge 6% GST on all your withdrawals... Withdraw from bank RM100, get RM94... that would be crazy..
koonghx
post Sep 28 2015, 11:25 AM

888 posts

QUOTE(Newgen @ Sep 28 2015, 10:41 AM)
That's good to hear, I'm personally not that worried about cold but got to let the wife know then.
Thanks!
I reconmend get winter clothes from Uniqlo if you are first time travelling to cold countries.
They should have sales soon.
I regretted buying all my winter clothes from universal travellers. Thick, expensive and ugly.
Even though, Uniqlo isn't the prettiest ones. But they are the cheapest for winter clothes.
Here in Korea, Uniqlo is like a cheap but good brand for winter clothes that are not "fashion".
Buy their heattech 1 set, top and bottom, and their down jacket.

http://www.uniqlo.com/my/store/catalogsearch/result/?q=Down

This 2 layer should be more than enough.

For your pregnant wife, maybe you can try to find if there are any heattech that might fit her.
Since heattech are tight to work well, it might not be comfortable for her. Go to the store and check out some of the selections for her.

This post has been edited by koonghx: Sep 28 2015, 11:26 AM
koonghx
post Sep 28 2015, 07:58 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(Newgen @ Sep 28 2015, 02:26 PM)
Well I guess i'll go and take a look. Thanks!
So far the plan is to bring more clothes there so we can wear more layers tongue.gif
"Cheap Skate" way to shy away from more spendings
More layers doesn't mean warmth.
Correct layering is the way to go..
You need something on the outside that blocks the wind.
Korea generally isn't that cold in terms of temperature but it's the wind that gets to most people.
I wear normal t-shirt inside and wear either a trench or the university jumper and that is good enough for me throughout the coldness. The reason is that the trench or jumper blocks out a lot of the wind, and that's what kept me warm.
If you wear a lot of layers, but if all the layers are not windproof, you will still feel very cold.

My first year in Korea i made a mistake of wearing too many layers and ended up sweating inside when go indoors (Koreans like to turn on the heater to full blast). When that happens, the very thick layers meant that I couldn't take off my outer layers easily and kept on sweating inside. Then, when I step outside, the wind blows and it gets really cold since there are sweat inside. Normally, Koreans do 1 outer windbreaker / jumper, then long sleeves clothes and a shirt inside.

Since technology is getting better, the winter clothes that the people here are wearing gets thinner and thinner.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1328sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:03 AM