Fishing Thread v12, Rod, Reel, Lures!

ex24dec02
post Nov 27 2017, 03:31 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(Cicero @ Nov 27 2017, 12:25 PM)
Went to Tanjung Harapan yesterday. Found a fishing jetty and the jetty itself sold live prawns etc as bait. RM7 per rod. Jetty condition looks kinda scary with no guardrails. There are shelters all along the 30m jetty. Tide was high and beginning to subside around 10am when I got there. About 5 anglers trying their luck.

Then came the rain around 3pm. Shelters were quite inadequate to protect us from the rain. Basah kuyup yo. So, hows the fishing there? Pathetic. I was there for 10 hours. I didn't get anything nor did anyone else. Won't be going there again.
Jetty fishing is purely luck. Just many small fishes play2 took bait. Hardly to hook any big fishes. More to lepak2 with friends is ok. Just dont go there with any high hope
SUSDouble J Jamal Jefri
post Nov 27 2017, 08:10 PM

171 posts

Sunday. 26th November 2017. icon_rolleyes.gif

Setup used :

Rod : Abu Garcia Veritas 2.0 (8-17lb)
Reel : Abu Garcia Revo MGX HS
Line : Spiderwire Stealth 15lb
Leader : Berkley Vanish Fluorocarbon 20lb
Lure : Sotelo Popper

Relentless
post Nov 27 2017, 09:22 PM

44 posts

hi guys.Any fishing spot that i can get my hand on several adult tilapia in klang valley?
Cicero
post Nov 28 2017, 01:24 AM

QUOTE(ex24dec02 @ Nov 27 2017, 03:31 PM)
Jetty fishing is purely luck. Just many small fishes play2 took bait. Hardly to hook any big fishes. More to lepak2 with friends is ok. Just dont go there with any high hope
Understood. I never did go with high expectations but usually anywhere I go I'll at least get a Gelama. But his was really bad la.
Relentless
post Nov 30 2017, 12:07 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(Cicero @ Nov 28 2017, 01:24 AM)
Understood. I never did go with high expectations but usually anywhere I go I'll at least get a Gelama. But his was really bad la.
perhaps its due to rain.you luck out when the downpour hit
hamster9
post Dec 1 2017, 10:46 AM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(Relentless @ Nov 27 2017, 09:22 PM)
hi guys.Any fishing spot that i can get my hand on several adult tilapia in klang valley?
fish valley?

klang river (fishing just below pasar seni) all super big tilapia...depends u dare to eat it or not.. icon_rolleyes.gif
Relentless
post Dec 1 2017, 12:42 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Dec 1 2017, 10:46 AM)
fish valley?

klang river (fishing just below pasar seni) all super big tilapia...depends u dare to eat it or not.. icon_rolleyes.gif
haha.I wanna use for aquaponic
So i dont want to risk it
hamster9
post Dec 2 2017, 09:37 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(Relentless @ Dec 1 2017, 12:42 PM)
haha.I wanna use for aquaponic
So i dont want to risk it
then better buy from pasar road the small fry or something...

else catch at lake also same parasites and pollutants.lol
Syfq
post Dec 15 2017, 04:57 PM

Sense of Definition
1,138 posts

any good recommended set joran with reel ,, below RM100 ?

just for fun only

ex24dec02
post Dec 15 2017, 09:04 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(Syfq @ Dec 15 2017, 04:57 PM)
any good recommended set joran with reel ,, below RM100 ?

just for fun only
Wahh this is hard. Usually for below 100 just go to shop try mix and match. Reel can get shimano fx around 50-70
HoyHoySum
post Dec 28 2017, 06:01 PM

69 posts

Hi, would like advise from sifu at this forum. Advance apologies if my question is the same type that pop out ocassionally in this thread. Forgive me I spend whole night reading only manage a few pages in version 12 only.Few hundred pages to go and worst from v1 to v12 that will take months to read.
My boring question is this,

" I am new in fishing and will like to know what is the best specification of rod, reel and strings for this hobby in Malaysia scenario..The target place is Malaysian river, ponds, jetty and seaside fishing" The equipment best be reliable and long lasting...Value for money...
Please help me as I don't want to invest in wrong setup... Will a 6 feet rod good enough for an all rounder gear....Btw I plan to have only one rod and reel with some extra bobin/ strings as spares....
I try to avoid asking shop as they will sometimes over advise and I might regret buying an exotic setup...
Please sifu, your advise greatly appreciated...
max_cjs0101
post Dec 28 2017, 06:33 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(HoyHoySum @ Dec 28 2017, 06:01 PM)
Hi, would like advise from sifu at this forum. Advance apologies if my question is the same type that pop out ocassionally in this thread. Forgive me I spend whole night reading only manage a few pages in version 12 only.Few hundred pages to go and worst from v1 to v12 that will take months to read.
My boring question is this,

" I am new in fishing and will like to know what is the best specification of rod, reel and strings for this hobby in Malaysia scenario..The target place is Malaysian river, ponds, jetty and seaside fishing" The equipment best be reliable and long lasting...Value for money...
Please help me as I don't want to invest in wrong setup... Will a 6 feet rod good enough for an all rounder gear....Btw I plan to have only one rod and reel with some extra bobin/ strings as spares....
I try to avoid asking shop as they will sometimes over advise and I might regret buying an exotic setup...
Please sifu, your advise greatly appreciated...
If there is a "Best spec item", there will only be one brand left.
Its better if you go to Young Tackle in Pudu and tell them your budget and intended species. They will guide you.
HoyHoySum
post Dec 28 2017, 07:23 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Dec 28 2017, 06:33 PM)
If there is a "Best spec item", there will only be one brand left.
Its better if you go to Young Tackle in Pudu and tell them your budget and intended species. They will guide you.
Oh yes, my budget less than Rm400....That is the thing..I have no fish spesis in mind. Any fish will do for me....I want an all rounder gear..salt and fresh water...No intention to have so many rods...
Btw where is young tackle?
max_cjs0101
post Dec 28 2017, 10:20 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(HoyHoySum @ Dec 28 2017, 07:23 PM)
Oh yes, my budget less than Rm400....That is the thing..I have no fish spesis in mind. Any fish will do for me....I want an all rounder gear..salt and fresh water...No intention to have so many rods...
There's no such thing as an "all rounder rod". Like i said, if there is, you will only see only one type of rod sold in fishing shops.

381, Jalan Pudu, Pudu, 55100 Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan Kuala Lumpur
ex24dec02
post Dec 29 2017, 07:53 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(HoyHoySum @ Dec 28 2017, 07:23 PM)
Well since u didnt mention any deep water fishing then maybe spinning reel with size 3000 should be fine with 10-20lb rod spec pair with 20-30lb braid line. Can do bottom and also casting. As you gain more experience and given you still stick to this hobby, you will realize that you are going to need different fishing set for different fishing purpose. Welcome to the club.
wira_laju
post Dec 30 2017, 08:45 AM

235 posts

for newbie what i should buy.fishing look interesting.
icemetal88
post Dec 30 2017, 10:40 AM

17 posts

Hi all! was wondering if anyone knows a nice spot near cyberjaya for fishing? I live right next to the lake but sadly cant fish there cause of the security guards.
Thanks!
ex24dec02
post Dec 30 2017, 01:21 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(wira_laju @ Dec 30 2017, 08:45 AM)
for newbie what i should buy.fishing look interesting.
Yeahh. It is interesting and addictive.

This post has been edited by ex24dec02: Dec 30 2017, 01:22 PM
HoyHoySum
post Jan 1 2018, 12:41 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(ex24dec02 @ Dec 29 2017, 07:53 AM)
Well since u didnt mention any deep water fishing then maybe spinning reel with size 3000 should be fine with 10-20lb rod spec pair with 20-30lb braid line. Can do bottom and also casting. As you gain more experience and given you still stick to this hobby, you will realize that you are going to need different fishing set for different fishing purpose. Welcome to the club.
Thank you, what will be the length of rod for the 10-20lbs rod? With this specs I have, next will be what brand should I look for? I need some reliable quality and most of all the lines won't get jammed with poor reels....Advice is appreciated.

Happy New Year guys and gals and the betweens...
wira_laju
post Jan 1 2018, 07:27 AM

235 posts

QUOTE(ex24dec02 @ Dec 30 2017, 01:21 PM)
Yeahh. It is interesting and addictive.
I want buy on online.where to buy.

193 Pages « < 165 166 167 168 169 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:05 PM