Fishing Thread v12, Rod, Reel, Lures!

max_cjs0101
post Jun 27 2016, 11:00 AM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ Jun 26 2016, 03:02 PM)
I find that the soron is awfully rough compared to the silky smooth stradic FJ/FK series. Abu reels are never as smooth as japanese reels.

Any spinning reels are meant for casting. While some wont win any casting records, they will cast just fine for normal use.

As suggested by max, fill up the spool with some mono and use the thinnest diameter line you can afford. There is a huge difference between casting 20lb and 50lb line diameter
Yeah, Shimano reels are always smoother compared to the rest of the brands.
But what about their durability in your opinion? I know Daiwas to be quite durable.
TSinv
post Jun 27 2016, 11:10 AM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

Durability is dependent on model. The new presso series is pretty fragile. High chance of breaking the arm if you drop the reel.
FireIceCombo
post Jun 27 2016, 11:52 AM

206 posts

most durable reel award goes to Penn !

that's what i feel. Penn #1 in terms of durability. Bannax mebbe not far behind.

the rest all fragile category liao, shimano la, abu la, okuma la, ajiking la, etc etc .

max_cjs0101
post Jun 27 2016, 12:57 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

Ajiking totally useless. The gear inside broke without me even using after a few months. Now I ban that shitty brand already.
TCE Tackles are trying very hard to bring that brand up and putting a premium pricing on their high end models but like they say, u can put as much glitter on a turd but it's still a turd.
FireIceCombo
post Jun 27 2016, 01:52 PM

206 posts

bro max - my ajiking wahoo still good wor. compared to penn, my ajiking is shameful la. but among the mid range , i still think penn is #1. i dont own 1. i hope to own 1 because really tahan lasak 1.

in the RM500-1000 range, i still think penn is leader. maybe okuma users can share their expewrience with okuma ? dunno anyone who owns okuma so far. bannax and bossna ya, bagus also. my friend's bannax oredi 3 years constant fishing. tahan lasak also. ATC so-so cause now price up for valur series. the valiant i know quite faulty. my friend mia atc valiant 5000 masuk kilang claim 3 times already.
Proclaimer
post Jun 27 2016, 04:01 PM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Jun 27 2016, 11:00 AM)
Yeah, Shimano reels are always smoother compared to the rest of the brands.
But what about their durability in your opinion? I know Daiwas to be quite durable.
I think durability is very subjective. But i had no issues with Shimano reels during the many years of ownership. People keep saying that daiwa is more durable but I don't think that is the case.My saltiga overhead is prone to salt corrosion issue for example.

QUOTE(FireIceCombo @ Jun 27 2016, 11:52 AM)
most durable reel award goes to Penn !

that's what i feel. Penn #1 in terms of durability. Bannax mebbe not far behind.

the rest all fragile category liao, shimano la, abu la, okuma la, ajiking la, etc etc .
That is only true for older gen penn made in the USA. Newer ones made in China the quality is all over the place. Same goes to banax when they were made in Korea years back.

I dont know how you can categorize Shimano and Abu with okuma and ajiking. They are not even on the same playing field.
FireIceCombo
post Jun 27 2016, 04:14 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ Jun 27 2016, 04:01 PM)
I think durability is very subjective. But i had no issues with Shimano reels during the many years of ownership. People keep saying that daiwa is more durable but I don't think that is the case.My saltiga overhead is prone to salt corrosion issue for example.
That is only true for older gen penn made in the USA. Newer ones made in China the quality is all over the place. Same goes to banax when they were made in Korea years back.

I dont know how you can categorize Shimano and Abu with okuma and ajiking. They are not even on the same playing field.
the category of durable and not very durable. not category of mid range, high end, 12 bearing 14 bearing. just between durable and not very durable.

for me only penn and banax sit in the durable range. the rest fall into the not so durable category.
max_cjs0101
post Jun 27 2016, 04:45 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(FireIceCombo @ Jun 27 2016, 01:52 PM)
bro max - my ajiking wahoo still good wor. compared to penn, my ajiking is shameful la. but among the mid range , i still think penn is #1. i dont own 1. i hope to own 1 because really tahan lasak 1.

in the RM500-1000 range, i still think penn is leader. maybe okuma users can share their expewrience with okuma ? dunno anyone who owns okuma so far. bannax and bossna ya, bagus also. my friend's bannax oredi 3 years constant fishing. tahan lasak also. ATC so-so cause now price up for valur series. the valiant i know quite faulty. my friend mia atc valiant 5000 masuk kilang claim 3 times already.
Maybe the high end ones then good la. People like me buy low end ones and havent use also spoil sure blacklist the entire brand though i read last time the wahoo reel is quite famous.

FireIceCombo
post Jun 29 2016, 12:10 PM

206 posts

july and august is sotong jig time. i'm going with boatman joe off via pekan then in august maybe penyabong or mersing not yet decide.

do some bottom jigging and perhaps light jigging. 1 annoying apolo man following for both trips sigh.

anyone here got okuma trio hs ?

Shoot@M3
post Jun 30 2016, 05:25 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

nope, i haven't tried okuma yet, i used to have an okuma classic XT bought from amazon cos that time shops here no bring, now plenty already kns
end up not using that reel and sold to a fellow angler who went deep sea last week. it was his first time fishing and first time on deep sea trip but he lucky cos got fren

btw tmr im going out again to deep sea, reading what fireicecombo said, i sure wana try jig sotong also dy smile.gif

oh ya i bought the motion sickness band as well dy last nite, hopefully no more donate food to the fish in the sea later...

This post has been edited by Shoot@M3: Jun 30 2016, 05:26 PM
harvin6
post Jun 30 2016, 10:59 PM

516 posts

anyone s24 pond tomorrow morning?
max_cjs0101
post Jul 1 2016, 08:42 AM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

Not sure if i want to go to s24 or banting..
FireIceCombo
post Jul 1 2016, 09:36 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Jul 1 2016, 08:42 AM)
Not sure if i want to go to s24 or banting..
https://www.facebook.com/JJ-Fishing-Grounds...85432108190890/

RM 30/4hr

got arapaima wei and many nice pacu and many nice fish. feedback came to me this pond decent.
max_cjs0101
post Jul 1 2016, 09:38 AM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(FireIceCombo @ Jul 1 2016, 09:36 AM)
https://www.facebook.com/JJ-Fishing-Grounds...85432108190890/

RM 30/4hr

got arapaima wei and many nice pacu and many nice fish. feedback came to me this pond decent.
waaaaaaa poison ahhhhhh

you went before or not?
FireIceCombo
post Jul 1 2016, 09:40 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Jul 1 2016, 09:38 AM)
waaaaaaa poison ahhhhhh

you went before or not?
next week thursday oni i go. my pond kakis all went liao, all give thumbs up. pacu there is killer so either u 80lb leader or u straight metal leader. they also poison me.
TSinv
post Jul 1 2016, 09:51 AM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

Damn. I miss the feeling of first run of the pacu.. On light tackle...
max_cjs0101
post Jul 1 2016, 09:54 AM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(FireIceCombo @ Jul 1 2016, 09:40 AM)
next week thursday oni i go. my pond kakis all went liao, all give thumbs up. pacu there is killer so either u 80lb leader or u straight metal leader. they also poison me.
Can play float anot? Cant find from their FB page. Float and pacu damn syok yo.
And what bait do the pacus eat? If get the right bait then they strike very fast

This post has been edited by max_cjs0101: Jul 1 2016, 09:55 AM
FireIceCombo
post Jul 1 2016, 09:59 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Jul 1 2016, 09:54 AM)
Can play float anot? Cant find from their FB page. Float and pacu damn syok yo.
And what bait do the pacus eat? If get the right bait then they strike very fast
mr tang is owner of greenbait. this vid taken very recently. u might wanna try his recipe.

TSinv
post Jul 6 2016, 10:39 AM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

Hi guys. I have shimano fx2500fb to give away. I'm just asking for a small token of RM20 for the reel which is spooled with spiderwire code red (10lbs) including packing, handling and shipping. Pls pm me if you're interested.

The reel is still smooth. Drag click is working fine.

max_cjs0101
post Jul 6 2016, 10:53 AM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(inv @ Jul 6 2016, 10:39 AM)
Hi guys. I have shimano fx2500fb to give away. I'm just asking for a small token of RM20 for the reel which is spooled with spiderwire code red (10lbs) including packing, handling and shipping. Pls pm me if you're interested.

The reel is still smooth. Drag click is working fine.
I want!!! biggrin.gif

193 Pages « < 144 145 146 147 148 > » Top

0.0311sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:09 PM