126 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

The Nexus 5 Official Thread V3, The Google Flagship YO!

TSmudkipryan94
post Dec 18 2013, 11:56 PM

someone need a sarcasm meter?
12,000 posts

okey-dokey to read about it as well tongue.gif

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SELinux
apendots
post Dec 19 2013, 12:02 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(LongLastFX @ Dec 18 2013, 11:47 PM)
Factory reset. done.  rclxms.gif
If i factory reset, i will lose all of my data right?
-kytz-
post Dec 19 2013, 12:09 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(PedangGila @ Dec 18 2013, 11:18 PM)
So it's 3GB+. Pretty big. ty
Not big at all, you should see the bloatware in other phones like Samsung.
PedangGila
post Dec 19 2013, 12:11 AM

918 posts

Aih can't wait for malaysia launch. 2014! 3GB is big considering winXP fresh install is around that also. Not to mention the swap file space since it's linux base will need it also.

I dunno how people can manage with just 4GB (other phone that comes with 4GB ROM) space and still crying for the system to be slow. Too, this NAND memory is like SSD then it needs bigger ram, we're talking more than 2GB, so to improve overall system speed. IMO, at least 40% of space should be given so yea probably u can only utilize 4GB out of 12GB.

But do you guys see any system lag with 20% space remaining (like 2GB or so)?
Someonesim
post Dec 19 2013, 12:21 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(PedangGila @ Dec 19 2013, 12:11 AM)
Aih can't wait for malaysia launch. 2014! 3GB is big considering winXP fresh install is around that also. Not to mention the swap file space since it's linux base will need it also.

I dunno how people can manage with just 4GB (other phone that comes with 4GB ROM) space and still crying for the system to be slow. Too, this NAND memory is like SSD then it needs bigger ram, we're talking more than 2GB, so to improve overall system speed. IMO, at least 40% of space should be given so yea probably u can only utilize 4GB out of 12GB.

We were told to leave 50% of your SSD capacity for optimal performance. My experience with phone NAND storage, cant seems to spot differences as my storage always turn red, maybe because NAND chip used in phone was slow.
barbar554
post Dec 19 2013, 12:21 AM

578 posts

My N5's performing BUTTER SMOOTH with 3GB remaining.

Running on Franco and stock ROM (looking at Cataclysm after I'm done messing around with the stock ROM lol)
aronliew
post Dec 19 2013, 12:23 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Dec 18 2013, 11:23 AM)
Sorry, what's a stopper?
ehh the stopper of the headset and usb hole to prevent dust ...
-kytz-
post Dec 19 2013, 12:24 AM

12,573 posts

Ya know that the Samsung EVO series SSD still performs at the highest level even when filled up. Wonder what tech did they put into it lol.
barbar554
post Dec 19 2013, 12:27 AM

578 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 19 2013, 12:24 AM)
Ya know that the Samsung EVO series SSD still performs at the highest level even when filled up. Wonder what tech did they put into it lol.
Yeah man, that SSD is a killer! The new Macbook Air 13" houses the Samsung EVO SSD. Big difference in read/write speeds between the 11 inch model which is using Kingston/SanDisk SSD.

My mom's 13" Air is blazing fast drool.gif
Too bad I nub dunno how to use Mac OSX. Even my gf better than me omg, shame shame techie!

This post has been edited by barbar554: Dec 19 2013, 12:27 AM
infernoaswen
post Dec 19 2013, 12:33 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

Even if its 4GB also I wouldn't mind. Kit kat is so optimized & awesome that i am willing to trade storage for the speed at any day. I dont think that theory applies to phone storage, although I could be wrong.
PedangGila
post Dec 19 2013, 12:38 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Dec 19 2013, 12:21 AM)
We were told to leave 50% of your SSD capacity for optimal performance. My experience with phone NAND storage, cant seems to spot differences as my storage always turn red, maybe because NAND chip used in phone was slow.
QUOTE(barbar554 @ Dec 19 2013, 12:21 AM)
My N5's performing BUTTER SMOOTH with 3GB remaining.

Running on Franco and stock ROM (looking at Cataclysm after I'm done messing around with the stock ROM lol)
I see. They could be stuffing DDR/DDR2 class mem instead of DDR3 but this is model comes with DDR3. Somehow I think Google dumbed Android's file system management so to not use too much power. I mean we're talking about NAND and 2.2Ghz snap 800, things should be lightning speed. Power usage issue hence the throttling effect/lag.
Someonesim
post Dec 19 2013, 01:05 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(PedangGila @ Dec 19 2013, 12:38 AM)
I see. They could be stuffing DDR/DDR2 class mem instead of DDR3 but this is model comes with DDR3. Somehow I think Google dumbed Android's file system management so to not use too much power. I mean we're talking about NAND and 2.2Ghz snap 800, things should be lightning speed. Power usage issue hence the throttling effect/lag.
Spec found on Nexus 5 storage was Sandisk chip, no further details. However due to limited phone PCB space, there's one chip only so performance was pretty limited.
What you mentioned on DDR3 was actually the RAM, which is LPDDR3 1600. Although it's 2GB only but will have performance increase over Nexus 4's LPDDR2 1066
PedangGila
post Dec 19 2013, 01:12 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Dec 19 2013, 01:05 AM)
Spec found on Nexus 5 storage was Sandisk chip, no further details. However due to limited phone PCB space, there's one chip only so performance was pretty limited.
What you mentioned on DDR3 was actually the RAM, which is LPDDR3 1600. Although it's 2GB only but will have performance increase over Nexus 4's LPDDR2 1066
Yea, I'm mixing up the post with ram the first part then on to rom n soc. They skipped the 1333 spec and went straight to 1.6Ghz.

The biggest upset is that in Q1 2014, the release of 4GB ram, wouldn't make the system faster but probably more breathing space. EH wait, it should give a little bit of speed since the rom is nand. Meh, I wouldn't want phone to beat my i3 laptop.
Someonesim
post Dec 19 2013, 01:22 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(PedangGila @ Dec 19 2013, 01:12 AM)
Yea, I'm mixing up the post with ram the first part then on to rom n soc. They skipped the 1333 spec and went straight to 1.6Ghz.

The biggest upset is that in Q1 2014, the release of 4GB ram, wouldn't make the system faster but probably more breathing space. EH wait, it should give a little bit of speed since the rom is nand. Meh, I wouldn't want phone to beat my i3 laptop.
I wouldnt care on larger RAM ( IMO ) as my phone in KitKat barely reach 512MB of RAM usage in idle. Just hope phone manufacturer able to work their magic to bring faster storage chip. Easiest way was to utilize Industrial grade chipset, but then the sudden increase of cost. Multiple chips would theoretically multiply performance as well, but they need to work magic to put even one extra chip into the tiny PCB.
PedangGila
post Dec 19 2013, 01:35 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Dec 19 2013, 01:22 AM)
I wouldnt care on larger RAM ( IMO ) as my phone in KitKat barely reach 512MB of RAM usage in idle. Just hope phone manufacturer able to work their magic to bring faster storage chip. Easiest way was to utilize Industrial grade chipset, but then the sudden increase of cost. Multiple chips would theoretically multiply performance as well, but they need to work magic to put even one extra chip into the tiny PCB.
In the end, it's what you'll do with it matters most. It's fast enough it its current state to netbrowse, watch videos and play monopoly.
Someonesim
post Dec 19 2013, 01:43 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(PedangGila @ Dec 19 2013, 01:35 AM)
In the end, it's what you'll do with it matters most. It's fast enough it its current state to netbrowse, watch videos and play monopoly.
Yup, cant complaint much, this is Nexus devices, so cost was an important aspect. I would happily pay more for better/improved spec though tongue.gif
Xirality
post Dec 19 2013, 02:42 AM

12,176 posts

QUOTE(barbar554 @ Dec 19 2013, 12:27 AM)
Yeah man, that SSD is a killer! The new Macbook Air 13" houses the Samsung EVO SSD. Big difference in read/write speeds between the 11 inch model which is using Kingston/SanDisk SSD.

My mom's 13" Air is blazing fast drool.gif
Too bad I nub dunno how to use Mac OSX. Even my gf better than me omg, shame shame techie!
Are you sure it use Evo SSD in macbook air? If not wrong it's 840.
mansooriqbal
post Dec 19 2013, 03:48 AM

2,044 posts

[quote=PedangGila,Dec 19 2013, 12:38 AM]

I don't wanna sound rude but why are thr soo many posts off topic lately :S.
PedangGila
post Dec 19 2013, 08:48 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(mansooriqbal @ Dec 19 2013, 03:48 AM)
I don't wanna sound rude but why are thr soo many posts off topic lately :S.
You mean my posts are off topic? I'm sorry then. I just think any smartphone is a computer so talking about n5 from that point of view.
pokgaizai
post Dec 19 2013, 09:03 AM

684 posts

need help with otg, do we need to install some app to mount usb?
found 1 mount app menova but need $3+ , StickMount which is free, but seems can't find my usb drive... already format with fat32..

126 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:15 PM