7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

The Nexus 5 Official Thread V3, The Google Flagship YO!

-kytz-
post Dec 16 2013, 12:30 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(LongLastFX @ Dec 16 2013, 12:23 PM)
My battery indicator today. After six hour without charging.
Most important is Screen On Time and whether you're on 3G/Wifi most of the time or not. If no 3G/LTE + web browsing/facebook/bla bla expect the times to be reduced by almost half
-kytz-
post Dec 16 2013, 05:32 PM

12,573 posts

What a bad day for me, my phone screen cracked for the 2nd time already and I really do not have the heart to repair it again. Probably getting the Nexus 5.

2 questions:

1) What's the best price out there. I'm aware DirectD is selling for RM1.5k. Please do share cheaper/better deals rclxms.gif

2) How's the battery life? I'm looking at anandtech review and it even rated the battery life to be better than Note 2's 3.1k mAh battery rclxms.gif

http://www.anandtech.com/show/7517/google-nexus-5-review/3

3) Mini review would be appreciated. Pros and cons smile.gif
-kytz-
post Dec 16 2013, 05:44 PM

12,573 posts

mudkipryan94 Forgot to copy and paste this?

FAQ

Black vs White
• Earpiece color: black vs white
• Side finish: matte vs glossy
• Back finish: soft-touch vs regular matte
[MKBHD video comparison]

D820 vs D821
• D820 is US set; D821 is international set
====================
• D820 supported connections
GSM: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz
CDMA: Band Class: 0/1/10
WCDMA: Bands: 1/2/4/5/6/8/19
LTE: Bands: 1/2/4/5/17/19/25/26/41
• D821 supported connections
GSM: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz
WCDMA: Bands: 1/2/4/5/6/8
LTE: Bands: 1/3/5/7/8/20
====================
• D820 will work with local SIM
• D820 does NOT work with Singapore and Malaysia LTE; only works with 3G.
• D821 will work with both Singapore and Malaysia LTE

ETA to Malaysia
Still unknown

Current price
16GB at 1499
32GB at 1750

GST refund on Australian set
Please refer to [this post] by tanjinjack
-kytz-
post Dec 16 2013, 06:53 PM

12,573 posts

Seven Mobile seems to have ready stock for 16GB Black at RM1,555. Forgot to ask which model, but I'm sure most sellers brought in the D821 set right?
-kytz-
post Dec 16 2013, 08:01 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Dec 16 2013, 07:52 PM)
If you asked me, reliable would be techbug. I know the guy personally, very friendly & cool guy. If any problem he will help you claim warranty but you need to pay postage around RM90 to US, postage from US back to malaysia he will cover.

If cheapest then probably D820 model, can get around RM1.4k iirc, otherwise like others said D821 model can get around ~RM1.5k.
If you not going for LTE then cheapest of all would be D820 model lo. Can get for RM1.4k, otherwise DirectD would be cheapest I think unless you have friends over australia or japan. Bought mine for < RM1.3k
I dont think there is the "best" case. All has its own pro and cons. If best value vs quality case then I think would be ultra hybrid? Since it comes with free screen protector, no need to fork out further. RM70 including postage is not bad I think  hmm.gif
I can't find this user "techub", mind providing his sales link smile.gif

I'll probably try to get the LTE version. Btw, how much space out of 16GB is available for us to use?

How much is it now in Australia and can provide links? I remember the price isn't that attractive hmm.gif
-kytz-
post Dec 16 2013, 08:14 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(x-death-x @ Dec 16 2013, 08:12 PM)
Lowyat plaza sell 16gb at rm1800.cekik kaw2
Which shop? Any demo units? Hope there are because I would be interested to try out one smile.gif
-kytz-
post Dec 16 2013, 08:23 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Dec 16 2013, 08:22 PM)
Contact him through here http://www.techbug.my/ or facebook (for fast response). His thread is this: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...6922&hl=techbug

For fast response better contact through facebook since lowyat he dont check often.
Australia you need to use vpn to access google playstore over there. Its going for AUD399 + AUD20 (shipping). Super cheap if you have someone to bring it back for you laugh.gif
How about have someone in Australia ship it back to me in Malaysia? I don't know whats the process and shipping fee in total. Mobile devices don't get taxed right?

Thanks for the info btw rclxms.gif
-kytz-
post Dec 16 2013, 08:26 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Dec 16 2013, 08:24 PM)
To be exact, 12.55GB.

32GB would be AU$449
And australian dollar is cheaper than USD.... rclxms.gif

-kytz-
post Dec 16 2013, 11:51 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Dec 16 2013, 08:38 PM)
You can do that but shipping isn't cheap, my friend quote me around AUD130 - 150. That is the weight of 3 units because cheaper to share with other friends on shipping.

Process depends on luck, if kastam didnt hold it then you will get it otherwise you will need to apply SIRIM. 1 SIRIM sticker can use for 3 phones of the same model (not sure about colour) so that is why I calculated for 3 units. It cost RM100 for SIRIM. Thats about it, no taxes for phones.

* All this info is based on people feedback + some digging I did when deciding.

Any idea how much would it cost for 1 unit?

Actually, I'm still contemplating on whether to get it here instead due to the hassle of international shipping+ customs+ risk of item getting damaged/lost/etc.

QUOTE(barbar554 @ Dec 16 2013, 08:52 PM)
True, but.

US Playstore: $349 for 16GB, $399 for 32GB
AUS Playstore: $399 for 16GB, $449 for 32GB

Still cheaper in the States sad.gif
The US people really get good deals...
-kytz-
post Dec 16 2013, 11:58 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Dec 16 2013, 11:55 PM)
The Nillkin SP.. its very clear la, but hardness, OMG, I didn't put with keys or anything, next day big ass deep scratch d. That's the fastest I have gotten scratches on SP.. even using the sticker with the word NEXUS on it for 4 days also no scratch. Clarity, top notch, can fight Spigen, but durability..meh

Going to order Spigen Ultra Crystal.. guess its still the benchmark for SP.
Spigen Ultra Crystal is memang damn durable one, even after 1 year of using my phone with it, still not that many scratches. Don't know what magic they put into that thing lol
-kytz-
post Dec 17 2013, 12:29 AM

12,573 posts

After reading Anandtech's review, I'm totally convinced that Nexus 5's battery life is good, contrary to what gsmarena posted. The battery life is even better than Note II in the 3G/2G web browsing test, even better than the HTC One and S4 in all tests
-kytz-
post Dec 17 2013, 01:45 AM

12,573 posts

Any SIII users who jumped to Nexus 5 can please comment on the battery life vs SIII please?

I know it contradicts with what I said before, but nevermind lah! tongue.gif
-kytz-
post Dec 17 2013, 03:07 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(- JaY - @ Dec 17 2013, 02:07 AM)
S3 on Temasek CM10.2 v73, unplugged morning, definitely below 15% around 5-6pm with SOT of 1-2 hours.

Nexus 5, i still have 40-50% juice left with SOT 2 hours+  thumbup.gif
Thanks, that's really awesome!

Btw guys, anyone doing bulk order for International version D821 32GB??

Asked shirogawa and Dark Devon but both doing bulk order for US Set only sad.gif
-kytz-
post Dec 17 2013, 03:30 AM

12,573 posts

Btw, sorry for the numerous questions, sorry but here's another one, bear with me tongue.gif

Will 16GB be enough? That's about 12GB usable for us to use.

I've always been using SD cards for my previous phones so I didn't really have to face such storage limitations. Reason why I may not go for the 32GB version is because it costs a lot more, that's a whooping RM250-300 more and you need to pre-order it which will take maybe 2-3 weeks (I can't tahan already LOL)

So will 16GB be enough for a normal user like me?

I don't plan to store videos/movies on my phone. Just the normal apps maybe a few games and songs. And might take quite a few pictures as well.

I do have a 50GB dropbox account though..

What do you guys think? Can't wait to get my phone already lol, it's been 2 days phone-less and I'm desperate LOL

p/s: Regarding the new improvements in the speaker grill and buttons of the newer batches, any idea whether local shops like DirectD/Satugadget are already selling the old ones or the new ones?

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Dec 17 2013, 03:31 AM
-kytz-
post Dec 18 2013, 02:16 AM

12,573 posts

Okay, I've decided on the 16GB D821 Black version already, was comtemplating on the 32GB but I guess my usage won't require the extra 16GB ( I don't store videos or movies, just songs, pictures and apps/games), plus there is a long waiting time and the extra RM250.

Might head down to Satu Gadget tomorrow to grab one rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif

Or do you guys suggest Seven Mobile or DirectD instead? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Dec 18 2013, 02:18 AM
-kytz-
post Dec 18 2013, 02:34 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Dec 18 2013, 02:33 AM)
I think I want to change casing la, dont really like the ultra hybrid  sad.gif
Haha why? PM me price? hahaha tongue.gif
-kytz-
post Dec 18 2013, 03:02 AM

12,573 posts

Ok guys, before I go to get my Nexus 5 tomorrow, what stuff do I need to check on....like common defects etc, don't want to miss out on things.

QUOTE(Xirality @ Dec 18 2013, 02:50 AM)
DirectD
How about Sat Gadget? More convenient because DirectD's location in Subang Jaya SS15 tarak parking punya laugh.gif
-kytz-
post Dec 18 2013, 10:51 AM

12,573 posts

Thanks guys, going to Satu Gadget soon. As for the display, is there a command for testing purposes like in the Samsung phones?

I hope there's Wi-Fi in the shop to download a display tester app LOL

Or probably transfer media from my tablet
-kytz-
post Dec 18 2013, 01:38 PM

12,573 posts

Typing this on my new nexus 5!!!!! rclxms.gif
-kytz-
post Dec 18 2013, 02:17 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(CharlieBrownKL @ Dec 18 2013, 11:26 AM)
Just got my phone delivered, D821 311 model  biggrin.gif

- Naked without SP and casing, feels good in hand but guess I need to get casing soon. Still looking for a minimal bumper case that doesn't cover the back.
- Screen looks gorgeous coming from a Gnex. Spotted one tiny dead pixel, apart from that no issues with screen.
- Icons are a bit too big, waste of space. Need to re-download Nova launcher or possibly a rom to fix this.

Noob question, I'm a postpaid Maxis customer - LTE was available without any signup or activation required. Will there be any additional charges?
How to check whether my phone is the newer batch?

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Dec 18 2013, 01:51 PM)
You might wanna read this for a quick guide.
http://www.infinum.co/the-capsized-eight/a...time-in-kit-kat

IMO, N5 already have top-notch hardware and Kitkat's software optimizations to create smooth user experience. ART's improvements may be more noticeable on lower-end devices. As for battery life, I do see slight improvements during idle mode.
Congrats bro! Imagine I waited this phone for more than a month!
QUOTE(sebastianX11 @ Dec 18 2013, 01:41 PM)
congrats! from yesterday till now.... you got your toy  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Thanks! rclxms.gif

The design is so so awesome, love the matte back! Love the thin bezel! Everything is so good!! rclxm9.gif

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0481sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:22 AM