[Home Appliances] Air-con, (Household)

SUSkimsim
post Oct 1 2014, 01:33 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Oct 1 2014, 10:32 AM)
I can only comment on their inverter range.

I have used 1.0hp inverter with plasmacluster in my old place for kids room. Compressor still ok after 4 years.
I now use 2.0hp and 2.5hp inverter. The 2.0hp has comparatively lighter outdoor compressor (35kg) since it's made of Aluminium. Cooling wise ok and can track current wattage (in n.n kW) when cooling for both 2.0/2.5hp.

Positive points
a. Plasmacluster function in an AC
b. Gentle Cool (Coanda effect) mode - pushes air upwards 10-15 degrees above horizontal. Most competitors upward slat mode rarely go less than 10 degrees BELOW the horizontal which still makes the occupant feels to cold.
c. Clean mode - very low maintenance in terms of cleaning apart from filter. It dries the internal blower and drainage area preventing mould built-up in that area. Since day 1, my AC technician says it didn't need a chemical wash every time he comes for maintenance as I always use this mode after a night of sleep.
d. Price - it's slightly cheaper than the rest of the competitor's inverter pack.
e. Low wattage mode - 1.5/2.0/2.5hp has 2 step low wattage modes and 1.0hp has 1 step. Basically eco-mode.
f. Sleep mode - there's no button but it's activated when Off timer is set. Alternates on-off for comfortable cooling while sleeping. Rarely use since the longest sleeping occupant is my 1yo. But it works like other AC brand sleep modes.

Points a and b combined provides clean air envelope of cool without adversely affecting elderly and children too much. The 1.0hp I have used with great effect that combined with 1-2 speed ceiling fan and AC set to 28 degree Celsius on AUTO fan setting. This provides a comfortable cool envelope that is not too drying to the skin and more importantly the lungs -- too dry a room causes the lung to dehydrate faster and leads to asthma in a short period if not remediated esp for very small children and elderly adults.

In the dining area, Gentle Cool pushes air 10-15 degree above the horizontal so that the dishes don't go cold that fast, yet the occupants is cooled by the envelope.

There are other innovations which biomimics (adapts features from the animal or plant kingdom) esp seagull and dragonfly for which Sharp won awards for esp in terms of indoor air circulation efficiency and lower outdoor compressor RPM to achieve the same cooling range etc. Our mileage varies on that but to me the main five points above esp the first three is a win for me.

Negative points
a. Not as quiet - 2.0/2.5 about 30db or in that range when quiet but since I did not intend it for bedroom use I find it ok. 1.0hp is about 27dB when quiet or temp reach pre-set range and compressor cuts off. OK for my kids since street noise is higher so no diff.
b. 1.0-2.5hp inverter units have no left-right auto-swing. 1.0-1.5hp expected not to have but nowadays MHI and Samsung at the least differentiate from other 1.0hp by having left-right auto-swing in addition to up-down auto-swing. The surprise was to see that even 2.0 and 2.5hp doesn't have this feature. Not a deterrence to my usage as cooling zone spread is fixed.
I got your points from sharp.

Quiet usually more prefer on bedroom unit, such as 1-1.5hp, cooling fast or slowly works that is does not matter, but dun wait till you wanna sleep and still feel too hot.

Left/right swing last time when I dun have that function on 1hp and told myself next time much buy got come with that function left/right air swing on my living hall, once we had it, but also not really useful, for my living hall most of time is turned to fixed up one way, cause we can't take it direct shot to human, that is too cold and uncomfortable too.

27 from quiet mode that is a bit like dun have quiet mode, for example why YORK too noisy? cause they dun have 1hp lower from 21dBA, why is we can afford better or budget then go for Daikin/ME/Pana : But Pana also dun have any model can be starting from 19dBA so far, from what I knew was ME Starmex, Mr. Slim, LG Premium, Hitachi as Sleep model the latest model now.

Why Hitachi can't product 4 yrs old for 19dB or 21dB and then just recently has it model only... that is why too late, from dunno aircon user also prefer to quiet/silent mode on sleep timing.

Sharp I never used, but I also hope it can be prefer as good like other brand.. cause Sharp is made in Malaysia also.

Why YORK can be so cheap? cause York really used the parts like Proton cheapo material and can't last longer from all the rubber type of air blower blade, there is no metal bearing inside or the bearing joint, rubber usually can't last longer n easily lost out sometime.

This post has been edited by kimsim: Oct 1 2014, 01:34 PM
halcyon27
post Oct 1 2014, 05:37 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Oct 1 2014, 01:33 PM)

Quiet usually more prefer on bedroom unit, such as 1-1.5hp, cooling fast or slowly works that is does not matter, but dun wait till you wanna sleep and still feel too hot.

Left/right swing last time when I dun have that function on 1hp and told myself next time much buy got come with that function left/right air swing on my living hall, once we had it, but also not really useful, for my living hall most of time is turned to fixed up one way, cause we can't take it direct shot to human, that is too cold and uncomfortable too.

27 from quiet mode that is a bit like dun have quiet mode, for example why YORK too noisy? cause they dun have 1hp lower from 21dBA, why is we can afford better or budget then go for Daikin/ME/Pana : But Pana also dun have any model can be starting from 19dBA so far, from what I knew was ME Starmex, Mr. Slim, LG Premium, Hitachi as Sleep model the latest model now.

Why Hitachi can't product 4 yrs old for 19dB or 21dB and then just recently has it model only... that is why too late, from dunno aircon user also prefer to quiet/silent mode on sleep timing.

Sharp I never used, but I also hope it can be prefer as good like other brand.. cause Sharp is made in Malaysia also.

Why YORK can be so cheap? cause York really used the parts like Proton cheapo material and can't last longer from all the rubber type of air blower blade, there is no metal bearing inside or the bearing joint, rubber usually can't last longer n easily lost out sometime.
Overall in 2010, Sharp tops my choice due to R410a class refrigerant topping even Daikin's R22 inverter. More crucially is its plasmacluster function. Trying forking out money to buy an inverter AC and a separate Plasmacluster air purifier granted that the latter can be placed any where. How to keep cool at night without falling sick at the same time? Simply value for money.

In 2014, for RM100-350 more depending on model and where to buy, MHI and Samsung is tempting due to their lower annual consumption. However, a new equation has come into play. Some building materials can dehumidify a room if one is willing to pay a small price but given its plus on pleasing aesthetics as well as functionality it affords. The AC becomes less of a necessity when even with a fan is cooling enough except during the hot and humid months. That's besides the point but nonetheless, keeping a room cool has to consider the whole building envelope.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Oct 1 2014, 05:40 PM
dannyw
post Oct 2 2014, 10:36 AM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Oct 1 2014, 01:33 PM)

Just want to add up, Sharp different model may have different manufacture country. My 1HP, Inverter Plasmacluster is manufactured & import from Thailand.

Overall was ok, except I don't like the Sleep function cant be switch off manually, that make me didn't use the off timer. Reason is when off timer on, the sleep mode will auto activated, the temperature will increase 1C after an hour, and after that, the fan will be ON & OFF alternately. It also due to my bed was quite close to the indoor, the ON & OFF fan sound can disturb my sleep.

My unit also have plastic expand sound when switch on few minutes and after switch off. However, another forumer use same model feedback no plastic expand sound at all. Not sure is my location or installation issue.

Other than this the rest is fine, not consume too much power which is good!
dp82
post Oct 2 2014, 10:38 PM

862 posts

Hi guys, how frequent you service your inverter aircond?

I have been using my basic panasonic inverter 1.5hp everyday 8hrs for the past 5months. Lately i notice its no longer as cold as last time n the fan is not strong.

Its still under warranty.
ozak
post Oct 2 2014, 10:42 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(dp82 @ Oct 2 2014, 10:38 PM)

I have been using my basic panasonic inverter 1.5hp everyday 8hrs for the past 5months. Lately i notice its no longer as cold as last time n the fan is not strong.

Have you do your monthly aircon cleaning?
SUSkimsim
post Oct 2 2014, 10:42 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(dp82 @ Oct 2 2014, 10:38 PM)

Service? Please do self cleaning filter maintenance as often to avoid sticky dust on coil fins.
dp82
post Oct 2 2014, 11:46 PM

862 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 2 2014, 10:42 PM)
Have you do your monthly aircon cleaning?
Actually i did nothing
dp82
post Oct 2 2014, 11:47 PM

862 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Oct 2 2014, 10:42 PM)
Service? Please do self cleaning filter maintenance as often to avoid sticky dust on coil fins.
Yupe, jst read the manual. Will try to clean it n c how.
bengang13
post Oct 3 2014, 05:27 AM

624 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Oct 1 2014, 10:32 AM)
I can only comment on their inverter range.

I have used 1.0hp inverter with plasmacluster in my old place for kids room. Compressor still ok after 4 years.
I now use 2.0hp and 2.5hp inverter. The 2.0hp has comparatively lighter outdoor compressor (35kg) since it's made of Aluminium. Cooling wise ok and can track current wattage (in n.n kW) when cooling for both 2.0/2.5hp.

Positive points
a. Plasmacluster function in an AC
b. Gentle Cool (Coanda effect) mode - pushes air upwards 10-15 degrees above horizontal. Most competitors upward slat mode rarely go less than 10 degrees BELOW the horizontal which still makes the occupant feels to cold.
c. Clean mode - very low maintenance in terms of cleaning apart from filter. It dries the internal blower and drainage area preventing mould built-up in that area. Since day 1, my AC technician says it didn't need a chemical wash every time he comes for maintenance as I always use this mode after a night of sleep.
d. Price - it's slightly cheaper than the rest of the competitor's inverter pack.
e. Low wattage mode - 1.5/2.0/2.5hp has 2 step low wattage modes and 1.0hp has 1 step. Basically eco-mode.
f. Sleep mode - there's no button but it's activated when Off timer is set. Alternates on-off for comfortable cooling while sleeping. Rarely use since the longest sleeping occupant is my 1yo. But it works like other AC brand sleep modes.

Points a and b combined provides clean air envelope of cool without adversely affecting elderly and children too much. The 1.0hp I have used with great effect that combined with 1-2 speed ceiling fan and AC set to 28 degree Celsius on AUTO fan setting. This provides a comfortable cool envelope that is not too drying to the skin and more importantly the lungs -- too dry a room causes the lung to dehydrate faster and leads to asthma in a short period if not remediated esp for very small children and elderly adults.

In the dining area, Gentle Cool pushes air 10-15 degree above the horizontal so that the dishes don't go cold that fast, yet the occupants is cooled by the envelope.

There are other innovations which biomimics (adapts features from the animal or plant kingdom) esp seagull and dragonfly for which Sharp won awards for esp in terms of indoor air circulation efficiency and lower outdoor compressor RPM to achieve the same cooling range etc. Our mileage varies on that but to me the main five points above esp the first three is a win for me.

Negative points
a. Not as quiet - 2.0/2.5 about 30db or in that range when quiet but since I did not intend it for bedroom use I find it ok. 1.0hp is about 27dB when quiet or temp reach pre-set range and compressor cuts off. OK for my kids since street noise is higher so no diff.
b. 1.0-2.5hp inverter units have no left-right auto-swing. 1.0-1.5hp expected not to have but nowadays MHI and Samsung at the least differentiate from other 1.0hp by having left-right auto-swing in addition to up-down auto-swing. The surprise was to see that even 2.0 and 2.5hp doesn't have this feature. Not a deterrence to my usage as cooling zone spread is fixed.
thanks for your feedback.. am planning to get a 2.5,1.5 and 1hp Sharp but the standard type...
SUSkimsim
post Oct 3 2014, 08:25 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

Update some Pana inverter system 2 & 3 only available in sg markets, I dunno why Pana never promote in My markets, since anywhere has many highrise already.

But both Pana model was made in malaysia too.

SUSleonhart88
post Oct 3 2014, 11:20 PM

1,686 posts

the best aircon:

SUSleonhart88
post Oct 3 2014, 11:22 PM

1,686 posts

Prefer mitsubishi because low watt and not COOL but very COLD. 26 degrees already like ice to your body like you took 100x ice bucket challenge liao
((Xa))0102
post Oct 4 2014, 04:54 AM

兩支湯匙         一個碗
2,553 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Oct 3 2014, 08:25 PM)
Update some Pana inverter system 2 & 3 only available in sg markets, I dunno why Pana never promote in My markets, since anywhere has many highrise already.

Pana and their econavi is very irritating. You leave the room it will shut off.

Sometimes you hide under the blanket, it shuts off as well.

HMMaster
post Oct 4 2014, 07:38 AM

10K Club
10,308 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Oct 3 2014, 08:25 PM)

The inverter only 2 "ticks"? If I'm not mistaken, Malaysia is 5 stars. (I assume the ticks is related to energy efficiency)
SUSkimsim
post Oct 4 2014, 07:58 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Oct 4 2014, 07:38 AM)
The inverter only 2 "ticks"? If I'm not mistaken, Malaysia is 5 stars. (I assume the ticks is related to energy efficiency)
Sg has changed their ticks
HMMaster
post Oct 4 2014, 08:10 AM

10K Club
10,308 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Oct 4 2014, 07:58 AM)
Sg has changed their ticks
What changed? 2 seems low...
fozzie58
post Oct 4 2014, 08:11 AM

QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Oct 4 2014, 05:54 AM)

eco navi can be turned off separately right ?
SUSkimsim
post Oct 4 2014, 08:17 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Oct 4 2014, 08:10 AM)
What changed? 2 seems low...
Ya inb4 was 4 ticks maximun n now to become all 2 ticks, unless is lower input watts but bigger capacity and higher EER as well then get 3 ticks only.
SUSkimsim
post Oct 4 2014, 08:25 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Oct 4 2014, 04:54 AM)

Econavi not useful lah, why need switch on?
Used Aircon must be the collected way to keep same temperature as well.

Can be turn n off, like daikin eye motion.
oicicic
post Oct 4 2014, 01:12 PM

Don't Live a Little, Live an Oic.
1,536 posts

what's the good practice to install copper and power cable, should the power cable separate or bundled ? or it doesn't matter?

This post has been edited by oicicic: Oct 4 2014, 01:14 PM

Attached image(s)

107 Pages « < 85 86 87 88 89 > » Top

0.0369sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:16 PM