10 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Are you ok driving a diesel car?, What are your thoughts around it?

TSMavik
post Dec 27 2013, 04:44 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,716 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Dec 27 2013, 04:41 PM)
direct injected petrol engines also sound clattery if you go listen carefully
Thats the thing, you have to listen to it carefully to hear it. A big difference for the diesel because most people don't want to hear it but forced to tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
teikwing
post Dec 27 2013, 10:51 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

Clocked 5.6L/100km over the week. KL-Taiping-Besut-Kota Bharu-Besut. Approx. 830km travelled on 45L of Petronas diesel. Mixed highway, city & trunk roads driving.

Journey between Grik, Perak & Jeli, Kelantan is among the best roads I've driven. A lot of uphill & downhill with challenging turns. Diesel's torque comes in very handy in this kinda route. The only turn-off is the road conditions which at certain areas are just really bad (especially Kelantan side).

This is the best milleage clocked over 10k km (average currently 6.9L/100km). Worst being 8.7L/100km, 100% city drive & rempit-mode on all the time laugh.gif
EddyHyip
post Dec 29 2013, 09:19 PM

359 posts

That's a pretty good fuel consumption record.
Hope I will be able to get a good used unit soon
pg84
post Dec 30 2013, 06:54 AM

288 posts

I've rented a Vauxhall astra diesel few days .Made holidays trips from Liverpool to Scotland .Its so powerful , enormous torque. If have a chance I will go diesel anytime .
mctrader
post Dec 30 2013, 07:00 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Dec 9 2013, 01:09 PM)
Highway stations maybe yes but never experienced before for stations around the city. Generally, Petronas pumps around PJ/Bangsar area have low traffic.
General public perception on diesel-powered cars is noisy, smelly & dirty but once I show em my monthly diesel bills & distance covered (700-800km 100% city driving OR 1000 100% highway driving, both for a 60L tank or RM120 per full tank) which can match or even better a hybrid plus the torque that can outrun most if not all hybrids anytime, they are impressed.
same experience
omnigunk
post Mar 4 2014, 05:09 PM

39 posts

I'm probably the best example of FC usage as I'm currently owning a Hybrid (Prius) and Diesel (Santa FE).

Santa Fe - Full tank - 800KM (Around RM 120 full tank-highway)
650KM (combined)
Prius - Full tank - 800KM (Around RM78 full tank-combined)

I like both cars very much! I use my Santa Fe for 5-7 people as I like to maintain 4 people in my Prius for comfort. Also cause the Santa Fe can easily carry many people without any effort due to its high torque.

I also use my Santa Fe for uphill climbing or for very heavy shopping loads (balik kampung heavy shopping). Carrying big stuffs is also a cinch and it is more comfortable than CRV (entire family compared my Sister-in-Law CRV's to my Santa Fe).

My point overall is, don't care whether Diesel or not as long as you know what are you using it for. I don't have issues filling up my diesel as long as you fill it up before end of the month. However, the feeling of effortless driving is great on highways and normal roads as long as you keep within its max Torque range. In the FC context, my overall FC is very very low since I'm driving 2 very frugal cars.

This post has been edited by omnigunk: Mar 4 2014, 05:10 PM
jchue73
post Mar 4 2014, 05:48 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(omnigunk @ Mar 4 2014, 05:09 PM)
I'm probably the best example of FC usage as I'm currently owning a Hybrid (Prius) and Diesel (Santa FE).

650KM (combined)

I like both cars very much! I use my Santa Fe for 5-7 people as I like to maintain 4 people in my Prius for comfort. Also cause the Santa Fe can easily carry many people without any effort due to its high torque.

I also use my Santa Fe for uphill climbing or for very heavy shopping loads (balik kampung heavy shopping). Carrying big stuffs is also a cinch and it is more comfortable than CRV (entire family compared my Sister-in-Law CRV's to my Santa Fe).

My point overall is, don't care whether Diesel or not as long as you know what are you using it for. I don't have issues filling up my diesel as long as you fill it up before end of the month. However, the feeling of effortless driving is great on highways and normal roads as long as you keep within its max Torque range. In the FC context, my overall FC is very very low since I'm driving 2 very frugal cars.
Thanks for sharing. I take it yours is the new Santa Fe DM? Elegance or Executive Plus?

I have not hit RM 120 at the pump station even though I always pump when the tank is "empty". I guess not brave enough. biggrin.gif

Yes, very effortless on highways. Torque is additive. Straight line acceleration as if in a smaller but powerful sedan car. Only one thing I dislike when pumping diesel especially in an unknown station is finding a machine that dispenses diesel. Sometimes I need to go around the station to locate the diesel pump. Pumping petrol is easy. Just stop at any machine and you're almost sure to hit a RON 95 pump.
omnigunk
post Mar 4 2014, 06:45 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Mar 4 2014, 05:48 PM)
Thanks for sharing. I take it yours is the new Santa Fe DM? Elegance or Executive Plus?

I have not hit RM 120 at the pump station even though I always pump when the tank is "empty". I guess not brave enough.  biggrin.gif

Yes, very effortless on highways. Torque is additive. Straight line acceleration as if in a smaller but powerful sedan car. Only one thing I dislike when pumping diesel especially in an unknown station is finding a machine that dispenses diesel. Sometimes I need to go around the station to locate the diesel pump. Pumping petrol is easy. Just stop at any machine and you're almost sure to hit a RON 95 pump.
Neither, mine is the old 2008 Santa Fe. I'm still getting great mileage from it!

boysrule
post Mar 4 2014, 08:24 PM

184 posts

Collected Santa Fe DM executive plus for my dad last Sunday. Fill to the first tick rm120. Still on first tank.. Salesman recommend BHP diesel.
Bliz
post Mar 4 2014, 10:16 PM

2,732 posts

Been driving a ford focus tdci for almost 3 years, and enjoying every moment of it!
teikwing
post Mar 4 2014, 10:27 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(boysrule @ Mar 4 2014, 08:24 PM)
Collected Santa Fe DM executive plus for my dad last Sunday. Fill to the first tick rm120. Still on first tank.. Salesman recommend BHP diesel.
Always been alternating between Petronas & BHP only for my diesel sedan. Petronas gives much better milleage while BHP gives marginally less but felt more powerful

QUOTE(Bliz @ Mar 4 2014, 10:16 PM)
Been driving a ford focus tdci for almost 3 years, and enjoying every moment of it!
Is it riding on a piggyback? Turbo diesel + piggyback tuning = Heaven to me
Bliz
post Mar 4 2014, 10:32 PM

2,732 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Mar 4 2014, 10:27 PM)
Always been alternating between Petronas & BHP only for my diesel sedan. Petronas gives much better milleage while BHP gives marginally less but felt more powerful
Is it riding on a piggyback? Turbo diesel + piggyback tuning = Heaven to me
Nope, stock car, just 136hp and 320Nm doh.gif
teikwing
post Mar 4 2014, 10:43 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Mar 4 2014, 10:32 PM)
Nope, stock car, just 136hp and 320Nm  doh.gif
Bolded part. Sufficient enough. smile.gif
lemer
post Mar 4 2014, 10:46 PM

Once you go with turbo diesel you will addicted into it, you will appreciate the strong torqueness rhe easyness to accelerate and sipping the fuel not drinking it. It is hard to believe you fill it full tank then you go around here and there yet the fuel pointer still at maximum level on highway could reach at 200 km before it is down to 7/8.
TSMavik
post Mar 4 2014, 11:31 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,716 posts

QUOTE(omnigunk @ Mar 4 2014, 05:09 PM)

650KM (combined)

Fantastic mileage indeed! For me not that great, I get around 750km (average) for RM111 full tank of diesel. 60% PJ traffic jam and 40% highway travel.

I have been pumping BHP Diesel and I feel that is one of the better ones as the engine feels smoother.
Cr4No
post Mar 5 2014, 09:04 AM

23 posts

Good engine oil plays a role in the noisiness of the car. Im drivin a Ranger and gives me slightly over 600km for rm130. And considering that they use bio-diesel the fuel has bacteria in it...I use the Millers Diesel Ecomax,it increases cetane and kills the bacterias inside and improves mileage. Well the Millers engine oil is fantastic too. If anyone wants to try it just just pm cause i dont think the diesel fuel additive is sold everywhere..just like finding diesel pumps at petrol station. Btw diesel cars always have the torque you need to overtake cars which i really like.
ReVolVolution
post Mar 5 2014, 09:11 AM

311 posts

I was thinking of getting a used diesel Santa Fe or Captiva however, I still have doubts in my mind.

those who's using diesel powered cars, did you experience when travelling to outstation and you wanted to refill but couldn't because of no diesel?

omnigunk
post Mar 5 2014, 10:05 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Mar 4 2014, 11:31 PM)
Fantastic mileage indeed! For me not that great, I get around 750km (average) for RM111 full tank of diesel. 60% PJ traffic jam and 40% highway travel.

I have been pumping BHP Diesel and I feel that is one of the better ones as the engine feels smoother.
That looks to be better than my mileage. Your average is 13.5km/L while I'm getting 13.3km/L on purely highways.
omnigunk
post Mar 5 2014, 10:08 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(ReVolVolution @ Mar 5 2014, 09:11 AM)
I was thinking of getting a used diesel Santa Fe or Captiva however, I still have doubts in my mind.

those who's using diesel powered cars, did you experience when travelling to outstation and you wanted to refill but couldn't because of no diesel?
Santa Fe is a lot bigger inside that's why I chose it over Captiva. Traveling outstation so far no issues, seems diesel habis is only in klang valley. But to be safe, make it a habit to pump full tank before your journey (especially on month end). Since full tank can get you roughly 800km shouldn't really be an issue.

This post has been edited by omnigunk: Mar 26 2014, 03:01 PM
jchue73
post Mar 5 2014, 01:56 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Mar 4 2014, 11:31 PM)

Your FC not fantastic meh?

BHP diesel? Don't know if it's luck or not but I only tried once and somehow got lower mileage and thought the power decreased. rclxub.gif Perhaps it's a one off or something wrong with that diesel batch.

Will try again the next time. Quite hard to time it correctly because with the great FC, I seldom visit the pump station and when I need to refuel, I cannot find any BHP station along my route.

QUOTE(ReVolVolution @ Mar 5 2014, 09:11 AM)

For outstation travel, I think it's a hit or a miss. But then again I tell myself if trucks and lorries can go to those destinations, diesel should be readily available.

QUOTE(omnigunk @ Mar 5 2014, 10:05 AM)
That looks to be better than my mileage. Your average is 13.5km/L while I'm getting 13.3km/L on purely highways.
Yeah. I also got confuse why he was complaining about average FC. But then again, he's driving a 320d. The Santa Fe is much heavier.

Anyway on my DM, I get 12.5km/L on highways. But that's full load and overtaking the end December traffic down south in Johore to Singapore and back. Occasionally hitting up to 180km/hr. Very effortless. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(omnigunk @ Mar 5 2014, 10:08 AM)
Santa Fe is a lot bigger inside that's why I chose it over Captiva. Traveling outstation so far no issues, seems diesel habis is only in klang valley. But to be safe, make it a habit to pump full tank before your journey (especially on month end). Since full tank can get you roughly RM800 shouldn't really be an issue.
You meant 800 km per tank? smile.gif

Anyway, diesel habis in Klang Valley? ohmy.gif Never experienced it yet but on my last trip to Singapore, I experienced diesel habis while trying to do a refill in JB town just before Causeway.

10 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0487sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 03:57 PM