Are you ok driving a diesel car?, What are your thoughts around it?

TSMavik
post Dec 9 2013, 11:08 AM, updated 12y ago

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Hey guys, want to know what are some of your thoughts regarding driving diesel powered vehicles. May it be the Ford Focus TDCI, BMW 320d, Peugeot, the pickup trucks, etc, etc.
TSMavik
post Dec 9 2013, 03:45 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Dec 9 2013, 03:42 PM)
IMO, its a pain in the ass
u have to pump real slow...if any faster, it will spill
if full tank will take u a long long time
Actually initially I had that issue but when I learned from the other diesel owners, there is a way to actually slot it in correctly so that the diesel doesn't spill out. Most of the time it means slotting in the pump at a slanted angle so that it can enter in correctly.
TSMavik
post Dec 9 2013, 03:52 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Dec 9 2013, 03:51 PM)
imma try next time..... tongue.gif ...see if it works
thx for the tip
PS am not very tall tongue.gif
Hahaha don't need to be tall, when I meant angle, normally the angle we put it in is that the handle will be pointing downwards as normal. Try rotating it clockwise and try to slow push it in, you might find the right angle putting it in.
TSMavik
post Dec 9 2013, 07:09 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Dec 9 2013, 04:01 PM)
So, if the hose is bigger then the hole... u need to rotate it around, and find an upside down angle to push it in?  blush.gif
No, if the nozzle is larger than the hole, you are at the wrong kiosk. Those are meant for lorries and trucks. Different compared to those meant for smaller vehicles.
TSMavik
post Dec 9 2013, 07:11 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Dec 9 2013, 04:06 PM)
Oh, ok. If I were buying a recon car, I would also personally avoid diesel too since the diesel engine is not tuned to our crappy diesel.
You just need to remove the Diesel Particulate Filter which most recon diesel cars come with.
TSMavik
post Dec 9 2013, 07:14 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Dec 9 2013, 05:14 PM)
Not sure how true is this but Euro 4 diesel is coming to our shores in 2015
http://www.cbt.com.my/2013/12/09/euro-4-di...sumers-in-2015/
Highly doubt that, the only refineries which will start mass refining the Euro grade 4/5 diesels are expected to be at Pengerang in Johor (by PETRONAS). The final investment decision for the RAPID project is only due next year and after factoring in the time for construction and built up and deployment across Malaysia, we are easily looking at 2016 at the very earliest or 2017/2018 hopefully.
TSMavik
post Dec 10 2013, 12:16 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Interesting article here.
http://green.autoblog.com/2013/12/09/diese...-cancer-deaths/
TSMavik
post Dec 10 2013, 08:55 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(amdxp @ Dec 10 2013, 05:27 PM)
Read a few articles about this Diesel Particulate Filter.

It's not so easy just to remove it right, as the fuel map etc may need to be re-adapted.

And from all diesel heads here, is it good or bad to have the DPF removed ?  Let say if we have Euro 4 diesel in MY.  I know now we have no choice but to remove it.
Its bad for the environment to remove it when you have Euro 4 fuel.

But you have no issues when pumping in Euro4 fuel without the DPF. A number of diesel heads in Singapore have done that as well as those from the North who try out V-Power Diesel in Thailand.
TSMavik
post Dec 11 2013, 10:56 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Very good points brought up here, so I see even though there is a majority of 75% that say it is ok, but most of the cases, the price of the car/vehicle is high (can't find a new diesel car for <RM100k) as well as the low depreciation rate.
TSMavik
post Dec 12 2013, 12:12 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Dec 12 2013, 09:33 AM)
anybody here added tuning box(racechip, dtuk, vector, etc) to their diesel engine? apparently can gain quite alot of power.... but was told that may cause black smoke when we floor it.....
Even without the tuning boxes when you put the pedal to the medal, you get black smoke coming out of the exhaust. It is the typical characteristic of the diesel engine.
TSMavik
post Dec 12 2013, 12:16 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Dec 12 2013, 12:10 AM)
If performance is what you are after, you don't want a diesel. some people here don't even know what they are talking about apart from reading spec sheets. Diesel cars do not outrun people in highways, if a 50m stretch of city drag race is considered a race, yes, you can "smoke" people. doh.gif

diesels are great for HIGHWAY, you get great FC, on par with hybrid really. Not on City. RM120 for 600km 100% city is NOTHING compared to a hybrid. Proper hybrid like HSD can do 600km in half the price. Another example of ignorant posting doh.gif

Basically diesels are great for city drive with the torque, trying to challenge other petrol heads in a long stretch road is just pure ignorant of your own car. But FC wise diesel are much better at highway, while city is nothing to shout about really.

Don't believe what i posted? feel free to clarify via Mr Google.
1) Yup totally agreed, the cars with the larger CC petrol engines will outrun the diesels because the diesel engines will then run out of breath. They call it the PME syndrome.

2) Actually it is RM120 for 750km 100% city driving. Still less than the Hybrid but without the fun of the torque pull.

3) Long stretch flat road, yes, the car with more horsepower will usually fly away. But on a hill climb, the torque from the diesel does play a very important role and help them out.
TSMavik
post Dec 12 2013, 01:02 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Dec 12 2013, 12:36 PM)
Its a given as usually petrol cars comes with higher HP if cc being equal. But, how fast we wanna go on the highway? I usually dont push anything above 220.... if someone still coming at those speed i wont bother to push anymore, why bother push to 230/240/250... sure u can go... but the safety/risk ratio just went thru the roof.

So reckon anything above 200kmh is kinda a moot point.
Highways aren't the best place to test that. I notice that a lot more on the track, after turns 14 and turns 15 in Sepang.
TSMavik
post Dec 26 2013, 02:37 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Dec 26 2013, 09:53 AM)
smile.gif went to genting yesterday with my turbo diesel..... effortless climb!!!! could climb easily at low rpm....
Yes, the torque helps a lot, when the roads are wet and slippery it can be very nice to drift through the corners (assuming that your car is RWD).

QUOTE(ReVolVolution @ Dec 26 2013, 09:59 AM)
Diesel cars are acceptable nowadays in our country. HOWEVER, the supply of diesel is like a gamble. Sometime Ada, sometimes TAK Ada! More often, the supply is scarce when the month ends!

I thought of buying a diesel car because of its great FC but.... Finding diesel has put me off.... sad.gif
Yup, that was the case fo me when I drove back from Singapore yesterday. First stop didn't have any diesel pumps, 2nd stop had no more supply of diesel and only 125km later, I managed to get a full batch of BHP diesel. The bad side is that supply may be scarce at times but then again, you hardly need to go to the pumps that frequent
TSMavik
post Dec 27 2013, 01:44 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Dec 27 2013, 01:32 PM)
The noise is mainly there when you idle. Once moving it's rather refined, you won't hear the clatter. Using the entire powerband... not necessary in a diesel. laugh.gif Depends on the car of course, I find VW diesels to be rather... loud and unrefined, Ford is better, sounds more refined. BMW probably much better than that. In terms of driving I might prefer VW diesels though.

I agree with the 7-8 liter jchue73 got... diesels are very impressive on the highway, I managed to get 7-8 liter driving diesel MPVs (VW and Ford) with lots of weight inside the car, driving between 170 and 200. There is no way I could get near to that sort of consumption driving a petrol at those speeds. Not even in smaller, lighter and more aerodynamic cars.
Actually the Ford diesels are quieter compared to the BMW diesel. Both inside the car and outside the vehicle. No joke there, the BMW diesel clatters are quite loud indeed.

I find the short power band of the diesel to be my biggest problem.
TSMavik
post Dec 27 2013, 03:49 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Dec 27 2013, 01:47 PM)
Hm, but you do have plenty of torque. Honestly I'm fine with the diesel power band, at least with normal driving.

Is the clatter only there when idling?
The torque runs out very fast, thats why most diesel owners call it the pre-mature ejaculation syndrome. You get the rush of the torque too fast and at the higher rpm you lose out.
TSMavik
post Dec 27 2013, 04:44 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Dec 27 2013, 04:41 PM)
direct injected petrol engines also sound clattery if you go listen carefully
Thats the thing, you have to listen to it carefully to hear it. A big difference for the diesel because most people don't want to hear it but forced to tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
TSMavik
post Mar 4 2014, 11:31 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(omnigunk @ Mar 4 2014, 05:09 PM)
I'm probably the best example of FC usage as I'm currently owning a Hybrid (Prius) and Diesel (Santa FE).

Santa Fe - Full tank - 800KM (Around RM 120 full tank-highway)
                              650KM (combined)
Prius - Full tank - 800KM (Around RM78 full tank-combined)

I like both cars very much! I use my Santa Fe for 5-7 people as I like to maintain 4 people in my Prius for comfort. Also cause the Santa Fe can easily carry many people without any effort due to its high torque.

I also use my Santa Fe for uphill climbing or for very heavy shopping loads (balik kampung heavy shopping). Carrying big stuffs is also a cinch and it is more comfortable than CRV (entire family compared my Sister-in-Law CRV's to my Santa Fe).

My point overall is, don't care whether Diesel or not as long as you know what are you using it for. I don't have issues filling up my diesel as long as you fill it up before end of the month. However, the feeling of effortless driving is great on highways and normal roads as long as you keep within its max Torque range. In the FC context, my overall FC is very very low since I'm driving 2 very frugal cars.
Fantastic mileage indeed! For me not that great, I get around 750km (average) for RM111 full tank of diesel. 60% PJ traffic jam and 40% highway travel.

I have been pumping BHP Diesel and I feel that is one of the better ones as the engine feels smoother.
TSMavik
post Apr 1 2014, 04:54 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Apr 1 2014, 04:25 PM)
for diesel user, please use BHP or Caltex Diesel since only this 2 mention that their diesel comes with additives.

else like petronas, shell, Mobil, Techron all only give additives only for Petrol.
Er I think you better check your sources a bit more.

1) Caltex Diesel is Techron, so you are contradicting yourself there. http://www.caltex.com/my/products-and-serv...with-techron-d/
2) Shell - http://www.shell.com.my/products-services/...ave-diesel.html
3) Petronas - http://www.mymesra.com.my/?ch=mm_2011&pg=p...pl=2011_article

TSMavik
post Apr 23 2014, 06:22 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Having Euro 4 diesel is a big difference man, my diesel engine feels smoother and the clatter is quieter. But its expensive and must be one of those crazy Malaysians who pump in Singapore hahahaha
TSMavik
post Apr 28 2014, 10:12 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Thanks for the image bro! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif ericmaxman

This post has been edited by Mavik: Apr 28 2014, 10:13 PM

0.0582sec    0.43    8 queries    GZIP Disabled