6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Car Tint Advice - V2, Raytech, Vkool, Huper Optic, 3M or .....

jchong
post Aug 16 2018, 11:26 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(rikuseo @ Aug 15 2018, 11:29 PM)
Should have to report to KPDNKK.
Yeah, KPDNKK is the correct agency. However in the case of fake or counterfeit goods usually KPDNKK also needs the brand owner to be involved. Those cases reported in newspaper before, where KPDNKK seizes CD, software, etc... mostly involved the brand owner. Brand owner has to get a lawyer to obtain a Trade Description Order from court, give order to KPDNKK and they will send the enforcement team to do the seizure.

@Lord Gitsy, so just putting in a police report might not be enough. If you're really serious then might have to take the time, effort and money to take the steps above.
jchong
post Aug 16 2018, 06:51 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(I'm V-Kool @ Aug 16 2018, 06:20 PM)
If you have windscreen insurance coverage, can claim and upgrade the film as well
Will the insurance cover the rear screen as well?

Will there be any problem explaining how the rear screen crack and hence need to claim?
jchong
post Aug 16 2018, 06:57 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 16 2018, 03:35 PM)
for all sides

this is what they told me i dont know how true is it.
Seems unlikely that all sides will have same TSER even though different VLT.

Unfortunately their website doesn't give enough details specs. Only saw this:

I'm always skeptical of film brands which don't give details specs.

jchong
post Aug 17 2018, 02:58 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 16 2018, 10:03 PM)
oh well but their price is reasonable given the specs, and i'm satisfied with the service and quality so far
The main thing is that you are satisfied. thumbsup.gif
jchong
post Aug 17 2018, 03:07 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(EthanHans @ Aug 17 2018, 10:27 AM)
But i think with my budget of RM 1.5k, can only get low spec Raytech.  sweat.gif
For around 15XX price I think you can get Raytech QC series (this is their 2nd top film) for a sedan car. I know my local Raytech dealer can get this price (unfortunately he's not in Klang Valley but in another state).

Gotta shop around the dealers. I think the one you went to who quoted 2.9k is a not-competitive dealer.

This post has been edited by jchong: Aug 17 2018, 03:08 PM
jchong
post Aug 19 2018, 10:20 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(EthanHans @ Aug 18 2018, 11:51 AM)
I just left raytech moments ago, went n check out their tints. My budget can only get me MX series(mid range). Tried their QX and RX. Loads of difference with MX. Especially RX, blocks crap load of heat.
Ah, you're going for security tint is it? No wonder you got quoted a higher price.
jchong
post Aug 23 2018, 02:25 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Aug 23 2018, 01:29 PM)
Is it possible to have bubble-free tinting? In all my cars, tiny bubbles will appear in a matter of time and they will become more and more and eventually stop growing in numbers (or maybe I would have lost count).
And so far they only happen to side windows and rear windscreen, never on front windscreen.

I usually ignore them, as re-tinting will most likely create the same results, if not worse.
Sure it is possible. I have 3 cars with tint and all are bubble-free.
jchong
post Aug 23 2018, 05:17 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(azrisyam @ Aug 22 2018, 09:14 AM)
Hello all .. is there anyone with Huper Optik tinted experience here? I'm about to get a ceramic coating for my car with Ceramic Pro @ Glenmarie, but it seems that they also offering extra packages with Huper Optik tint and so on .. for example the silver package, the normal coating price without discount is RM2700, but if I choose the silver package with Huper Optik tint and Magnus Pro film for headlamps, door handles etc, the price will be RM5000 .. Moreover, they are also offering 10% discount for this package and another 10% discount if the car is still new (still within 30 days after registration date)..

So the final price for me is:
Normal Silver Package: RM2700 - 10% - 10% = RM2160
Silver with extra package: RM5000 - 10% - 10% = RM4000

Tint specs are as follows:
Front WS: C70
Side and rear: C50

So my question is  whether the Huper Optik is a good choice for heat rejection and smart tag user friendly.  It is huge sum of money so I must make it worthy for me.
Looking at your figures, I suppose the Huper Optik tint & Magnus film is add on about RM4000 - 2160 = RM1840. I reckon that is a reasonable price.

Huper Optik is a good film. I'm using it on two cars and satisfied. Only thing is whether you want to go a bit darker with your side and rear, use C40 instead of C50. It's not 100% JPJ compliant but will be a bit cooler.
jchong
post Aug 27 2018, 10:35 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(perky @ Aug 26 2018, 06:15 PM)
Hi guys, the quote that i got for a bmw x1 are as follows:

Raytech RC Series with Ultra70: RM2,300

3M Crystalline70 with Crystalline40: RM2,900

3M Crystalline70 with Scotchshield Crystalline40:RM3,100

What do u guys think of the price? Which one would you guys go for?
I also have a compact SUV and went with Raytech; using RC Black + Ultra 70.

Specs wise I think the Raytech is comparable to the 3M. I didn't take 3M because of the problems with smart tag.
jchong
post Aug 28 2018, 05:06 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(putindog @ Aug 27 2018, 08:50 PM)
Anyone has experience using Huper Optik:

1.  Sech60
2.  Select75

for front windscreen? Are they good at heat rejection ? Any problem with GPS and Smartag signal? Thanks.
I'm using Sech 60 for one of my car's windscreen. Good heat rejection and no problem with GPS and Smart Tag.
jchong
post Aug 29 2018, 11:14 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(yssshin624 @ Aug 28 2018, 05:34 PM)
Hi, any reviews for Pro gard titanium series? Currently bought a new Myvi and my SA offer me to choose either RayTech and Pro gard.

1. Raytech with 55% heat resistant security film
2. Pro gard Diamond black 5 mil with 87% heat reject

Any advice? Which one should I go for?
You must make sure the % is referring to the same thing. Because there is percentage for IR rejection, TSER, etc.

I think the most important % to look at is TSER (Total Solar Energy Rejection).
jchong
post Aug 30 2018, 09:04 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(killerpigglet @ Aug 29 2018, 04:04 PM)
But tser not accurate unless u compare same vlt.
Yes you must compare similar VLT, because VLT also contributes to heat rejection. By the same token, some people willing to lower down VLT to get higher TSER.
jchong
post Aug 30 2018, 09:09 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(mw1980 @ Aug 29 2018, 05:41 PM)
I won't consider it anymore in the future, said USA brand but can't find any info/ evidence, more like OEM, rather spend on 3M/ LLumar.
I believe Raytech is a local brand, but their film is made for them in USA by Commonwealth Laminating & Coating, Inc (which was taken over by Eastman Chemical in 2014).

QUOTE(mw1980 @ Aug 29 2018, 05:41 PM)
No offence to Raytech seller/ users, but based on my past experience on 2 different cars with Raytech film cost 1.2k & 1.5k respectively (Forget the model, but non security, both done in Raytech Seri Kembangan), the heat rejection is crap after 1-1.5 year. My family/ other passengers complain duno how many times already. All thought I save money use cheaplak film.
Say, did you bring your car back to Raytech to test the film performance? Apparently can claim warranty if the performance really drops.

This post has been edited by jchong: Aug 30 2018, 09:11 AM
jchong
post Sep 1 2018, 06:21 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Aug 31 2018, 11:50 PM)
may I know where?

btw anyone can recommend good tint shop in Ipoh, or Kampar...
Start with identifying what brand of tint you want. Then search for their authorised dealer in Ipoh/Kampar. In these places probably only got 1-2 authorised dealer max for each brand.
jchong
post Dec 10 2018, 06:23 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Dec 2 2018, 11:46 AM)
How are so many people so brazenly willing to flout the VLT rules? Aren't you guys concerned that you will get pulled up, issued with a summons, have your tint torn down?
Many people want lower VLT films in order to reduce the heat (since this is a daily matter) and are willing to flout the rules because enforcement is lax in Malaysia. Secondly, even if you get pulled up many feel they can 'settle' the matter with the officer. whistling.gif
jchong
post Dec 10 2018, 06:29 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Dec 2 2018, 03:07 PM)
meaning to say 60 for FWS is like the most optimal already for good driving experience at night?
I have 2 cars tinted with 60% VLT for FWS and there is no problem with night driving.
jchong
post Dec 12 2018, 09:56 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(geniousboy @ Dec 11 2018, 09:10 AM)
Hi.
May i know what is the average standard cost for a reputable tint brand for a sedan? 500-1k? Or >1k?

I saw too many shops selling tint film at 99, 199, 299, etc.. how bad are those tints?
There are different grades of tint in the market. Even under one brand, they might have different grades depending on price. Look at the specs and you will see the difference.

The top grade would be 2k+
Middle to good would be 1k - 2k

Dunno about those super cheap ones like 199, 299...

Also beware of inflated specs.
jchong
post Dec 16 2018, 09:32 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(wildan03 @ Dec 15 2018, 08:55 PM)
Bought a civic. SA offer Raytech tint for RM900 after RM500 discount voucher.

Is it good deal? Or there is better tint out there?
This kind of discount voucher given by SA is nearly useless in my opinion. It's because they will apply the discount voucher to the list price. In general, if you go to the tint shop directly you can always get discount off the list price and it might be even more than the voucher!

Anyway, Raytech AX is their budget range of security tint. Of course there are better tint out there, but you will have to pay more for it.
jchong
post Dec 25 2018, 11:02 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Dec 18 2018, 12:29 PM)
But I heard that the vkool REM is the entry level, not high performing range. Elite is the one that is better. Since elite is used for the FWS only, still worth it?
Majority of the heat comes in from FWS, so might still be worth it.

Anyway, I've used Raytech RC series and Huper Optik Sech 60 before. Both also perform well for me. Have not used Vkool before.
jchong
post Jan 7 2019, 11:04 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ Jan 2 2019, 09:12 PM)
Guys, I'm replacing my windscreen soon. Currently using Vkool Elite on my windscreen and facing difficulties to detect the smart tag.

I would like to get some opinion from sifus here, which brand tinted film provide the same heat rejection as Vkool and in the mean time has better smart tag detection?

I personally went to MaxTag office to ask about this, their staff do no recommend 3M. So I am thinking of Raytech, but not sure which model to go with...

Raytech Ultra 70 or Vkool Envirocare or other brands with GOOD heat rejection, smart tag & GPS friendly~?
I'm using Raytech Ultra 70 for FWS and no problem with Smart Tag (but must go a bit slower at the toll booth) or GPS or gate remote control.

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0326sec    1.02    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:42 PM