7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Car Tint Advice - V2, Raytech, Vkool, Huper Optic, 3M or .....

SportyHandling
post Feb 3 2024, 07:52 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(dev/numb @ Feb 3 2024, 06:27 PM)
It’s not a plan but more of a trend, with more and more cars and “concepts showcasing future solutions” now wanting to look like an aquarium. I’m being ultra pessimistic of course. Hope it doesn’t happen.

That’s an Almera, right? Nice colour. Hope the tint works out for you.
I wonder what exactly is driving the trend. Glass will let more light into the cabin if left untinted and I'm not sure how it will compare to conventional steel roof in terms of safety.

Thanks. Yes it's an Almera, just collected it earlier in the afternoon. This new glacier grey colour is currently in popular demand and out of stock (unknown waiting period) whereas other colours are either in limited stock or available. As for the tint, no chance to evaluate the heat rejection quality as it's rainy day today. Despite the recent failure in my gamble with a cheap tint earlier(Totalgard), I'm taking another gamble with Cool Gard hoping it will work out. If it doesn't, I'll just live with it until I can't stand no more and replace it with another tint. Judging from the sales advisor and manager, the Cool Gard tint is very decent. Should not be too shabby.
SportyHandling
post Feb 3 2024, 07:58 PM

623 posts

This is the top spec Cool Gard tint installed on the FWS:-

The 2nd top spec tint with lower IRR and TSER numbers:-

SportyHandling
post Feb 5 2024, 08:46 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Feb 5 2024, 06:31 PM)
All pakai hantam the TSER, when they put TSER so high for VLT 70%, you can forgo whatever they try to claim.
Yes, that is the reason I don't look at IRR or TSER numbers anymore especially with cheap unknown tints but rather real world experience ideally my own since peoples' expectations may be different. The only number I look at is VLT since the deviation from actual won't be too high. It's only the IRR or TSER numbers where tint manufacturers can manipulate. Tint with impressive numbers won't mean much if the sun still burn your face.

Right. An update on the Coolgard tint. I can confirm the heat rejection of the Coolgard installed on the FWS is better than the Totalgard Infusion Pro. The Coolgard is better than the Huper Optik Sech60 and is close to the V-kool Elite's performance.

The cheap Ice Cool tint double layer on all side and rear windscreens is proven to be quite effective as the overall cabin feels cool under the hot sun. Most importantly the Cool gard tint on the front windscreen has delivered. The sun now doesnt burn my face like the Totalgard Infusion Pro and Huper Optik Sech60 (after 5 years with reduced efficiency) did to my face.
SportyHandling
post Feb 6 2024, 11:03 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Feb 6 2024, 05:40 AM)
I rather believe the meter percentage reading than any own feel experience. Good thumbs up if they use those 3M meter reading
There are many variables involved. As far as I know IRR can be measured with a device but there is none for TSER where the value needs to be calculated. For verification the tint manufacturer or installer needs to provide the device to measure if the owner requested for it. Also, if getting new car, the car dealer may already have some tint packages where the tints are installed inside the factory before it's shipped out from the car factory. In this sense any checking by the owner if desired can't be arranged unless the owner is a hardcore and has a measuring device to measure by himself.

In summary, for me it's too troublesome so I still rely on owner's experiences instead of numbers published by tint manufacturer UNLESS it's a reputable tint brand such as V-Kool, Llumar, 3M etc. then perhaps there is no need for any measurement since the numbers would be regarded as reliable. IT's more to the more unknown cheap tints such as Totalgard, Coolgard or some other brands. Anyway based on my experience I can now vouch for Coolgard top-spec tint as having decent heat rejection performance at high VLT, advertised price RM880 just for front windscreen.
SportyHandling
post Feb 6 2024, 11:12 AM

623 posts

Just to illustrate my point. Look at the numbers of Totalgard Infusion Pro as below. The IRR rejection is 98% and TSER rejection is 61% which looks much more impressive than V-Kool Elite where the IRR rejection is 94% and TSER rejection is 55%. However, the cabin fitted with V-kool Elite is far cooler than Totalgard, real world experience. The impressive numbers don't mean anything if the heat rejection is poor in real life conditions.

Totalgard infusion pro

V-Kool Elite
SportyHandling
post Feb 7 2024, 08:38 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Feb 6 2024, 05:21 PM)
But the price at 3.9k 😳😳
Yes, but that's a separate matter. Take the price out of context and just focus on the spec. After experiencing the real world performance of the tints, you will realise you don't need to focus on the spec anymore as some of the numbers may have just been made up or plonked just like that to make it look good.
SportyHandling
post Mar 11 2024, 07:37 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(jackal400 @ Mar 10 2024, 09:10 PM)
Hi there,

As refer to the above posting, may I know which company is providing such customized VLT tint ya ? Really am interested with the VLT 80% film.

Also, does anyone know of any tint brand / shop that provides VLT 80% or higher film ya ?

Thanks in advance.
Hi, as I posted in page 443 it's Coolgard. With VLT 80%, there are 4 options for IRR as below. The highest IRR will give a coolest cabin. The top 2 (IRR 95% and IRR 88%) are recommended so if you want to save a bit of cost, can go with 2nd highest.

1) Irr 95% rm830
2) Irr 88% rm680
3) Irr 75% rm580
4) Irr 65% rm380

I took VLT 70% with IRR 95%.
SportyHandling
post Mar 12 2024, 07:30 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(jackal400 @ Mar 11 2024, 08:48 PM)
Hi, Appreciate your kind input. Are the prices above mentioned applicable for the whole car or just on front windscreen only ?
Last but not least, which branch of Coolgard did you go for the installation of the tint ya ?
Only the front windscreen. My sales advisor arranged for me to install at the Coolgard branch since I bought the Nissan car, so I don't know which branch is it. I can inquire if you want to know.

Just my advice from my experience. For front and side windscreens if you want light ie. VLT 70%+/- for front and VLT 50%+/- for front side, try to avoid those cheap tints ie. RM599 for whole car. In my experience it's not good. It may be good if you choose a very dark tint then the heat rejection may be good, I don't know since I've not tried. I have not found a brand of tint that has respectable heat rejection performance priced below RM1k for whole car. If there is, I would appreciate if anyone can advise. For me, The Totalgard already failed although there are claims the performance is comparable to V-kool tint. Just my opinion and experience. Those who claimed the Totalgard is good installed a dark tint on the front windscreen, around VLT50% or lower. Some installed VLT 30% or 20% for the front windscreen so their experience may be different. I'm not sure how they drive in those conditions though especially at night.

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: Mar 12 2024, 07:34 AM
SportyHandling
post Mar 28 2024, 10:00 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Mar 25 2024, 03:14 PM)
Many brands, there is really no best thing after VKool Elite. I would recommend Irispro DX due to its silver metallic sputter tint. It is however available only in VLT 58%. I replaced my Persona and Civic windscreen with this. Still looks clear but obviously slightly dimmer than VKool VLT 70 tint. Do note that VKool Elite will fail Puspakom anyway, mine measured 64% reading before change to Irispro DX60 at 54%. Looks like clear tint with more greenish hue, wont get stop in roadblock BUT puspakom will fail. Smart tag friendly. Only those 80% VLT will likely pass Puspakom for Windscreen.

3M can supposedly match VK Elite but smart tag not friendly is a big turn off for me that uses highway.
May I ask if there is an Irispro catalogue for DX series. On the Irispro website, the DX series is not mentioned. Only the following series are available for Irispro:-

Diamond (Diamond 60 and 30)
Elite (Elite 70, 50, 35, 15, 05)
UV Pro 90 (UVPro 5590, 3590, 1590, 0590)
Titanium (HR5090, HR3595, HR1595)
Color Stable (CS8080, CS7090, CS5590, CS3090, CS1590, CS0590)

https://irispro.com/products/automobile-2/
SportyHandling
post Mar 29 2024, 10:44 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Mar 29 2024, 08:23 AM)
Nope. I don't know why they still have not include that in the website. There is no paper catalogue as well.

It is supposed to be their newest and most premium tint. I only got to know about it when I pre-installed my windscreen with D60 and supposed to tint my whole car with Diamond 60 and 30 when I go to their center to install the windscreen (they help pre-installed tint and liaise with Dr. Windscreen to install the windscreen at their center). By then my windscreen for the old  Civic already installed D60 then only the manager told me about the existent of their newest slightly more expensive DX series. Then I switched the rest of my car to DX series instead of D series.

Unlike D60 that uses titanium metallic sputter as their based metal, DX60 uses the better heat reflector silver metal as based metal. Cons is they are more susceptible to oxidization than titanium metal does not have issue with. But with 10 years warranty, if really kena by 7 years, either it oxidize or it does not ever. VKool uses silver as their main based metal as well. You can call up Puchong center for the details or pm me for the the manager mobile number directly, friendly and very responsive. Its VLT is 2% lower than D series on paper aka 58% for DX60.

Since I have installed 2 cars windscreen with D60 and DX60, I have so-called comparison by heat on back of my hand...feeling only, DX60 has an obvious lesser heat feel vs D60 even if on paper they are practically 2% difference only. DX60 slightly more greenish hue and slightly more dimmer than D60 is quite obvious. Mind you, DX60 still looks like clear tint and very sharp even at night. Love it tho D60 is not bad either, even brighter. VKool Elite by comparison is definitely brighter than both when place side by side (my persona has DX60 windscreen replacement and the rest remained VKool Elite). The DX60 windscreen is still very clear tho and I actually prefer the slightly dimmer lighting from sunlight via DX60 over the overly bright VKool Elite now. More comfortable on eyes during direct sunlight (maybe the blue light filtering helps?)
Thanks. It won't be too soon to consider any tints at the moment unless I am getting another new car, maybe next year or so. Will contact you when the time comes as the Irispro series is looking good. May I ask how much did you pay for doing your whole car C-segment Honda Civic I presume?
SportyHandling
post Mar 29 2024, 12:07 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Mar 29 2024, 11:40 AM)
Around RM2900 but heard they are raising the price. Ya, its premium pricing although not at the range of VKool price.
So far excellent heat resistance, noticeable lesser heat than VKool Elite but then it has way lower VLT60/58 vs VKool 70 and I installed darker DX30 at all rears. Love the VLT21%, surprisingly light brown lighting inside for DX30 for a supposedly dark tint, still very sharp and clear at night, even during reversing. Only cons is the colour hue is a weirdly different from DX60, so those who want uniform colour (eg, light green for front, dark green for rear) will be disappointed. Have informed Irispro why same series DX60 and DX30 have different colour hue under bright sunlight. Inside DX60 has mild light green lighting, DX60 light brown (darker tint will filter out more blue light, I guess)...weird abit. Other than the hue, superb heat resistance and very comfortable to eyesight inside.
All prices going up and up and value of RM goes down and down. laugh.gif
SportyHandling
post Apr 6 2024, 04:55 PM

623 posts

Just to add. I believe the tint at the front windscreen is most critical especially if the driver mostly drives alone, or together with a passenger.
As we all know, a tint with high VLT needs to be put at the front windscreen, and most if not all tints with high VLT usually don't do well with heat rejection. Only the high-priced good tints with high VLT will do well with heat rejection. This is one of the reasons people who want to save cost will select a dark tint of VLT say 50% or lower at the front windscreen so they won't feel the heat from the sun burning the skin too much. Cheap tints with high VLT say 60% or 65%, in my limited experience it feels like there's no tint on the front windscreen even though you have installed one. So, people who don't wish to spend so much as wish to go cheap will likely select a dark tint at the front windscreen just to have a bit of improved heat rejection. Otherwise, there's really little to no difference if you go with cheap tints with high VLT.

Even with branded Huper Optik, the Sech60 which has a VLT of 59% at the front windscreen is actually just average in performance and feels worse that V-kool Elite. The performance is only good for about 3 to 4 years and after that it feels like there's no tint on the car. For the sides and rear sides where the VLT can go lower, there's no issue here as you can select a low VLT, and low VLT of 20% to 40% even the cheaper tints will be efficient. It's only the front windscreen where you need to put a relatively clear tint of VLT say 60% to 70%, and in this case the cheap tints with this VLT range usually have very poor heat rejection as if there's no tint on the vehicle after they are installed on the car.

Based on my experience, I do not recommend Huper Optik if you want to install Sech60 (VLT 59%) on your front windscreen as to me the heat rejection performance is not very good. My benchmark is V-Kool Elite. If it's Huper Optik C40 or C30 at the front windscreen the heat rejection will be better but it's way too dark in my opinion.
SportyHandling
post Apr 6 2024, 10:50 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 6 2024, 10:29 PM)
high-priced tints are not necessarily best on heat rejection... a lot of them only have about 95% infrared rejection... imho this is because mat saleh likes to get "some" heat and their white skin dun absorb so much, and they also have 4 seasons... and most of the time, summer season is not that hot...

the heat that we feel comes mostly from the infrared spectrum... VLT% just determine how light or dark... what you want is IRR% not VLT%... and infrared got near-infrared(950nm) and far-infrared (1400nm) spec... so when comparing, need to understand what is used...

bottom line... if you want a tint that blocks heat... look at IRR% and TSER%...
Nowadays I don't look at numbers in the spec too much especially cheap tints. They are not reliable. I have posted the spec on page 443, post #8859. The IRR and TSER numbers of a cheap Totalgard tint is higher than V-kool Elite. However, the heat rejection of the Totalgard is much inferior to the V-kool Elite.

I would rather rely on "reliable" real world experiences from people who have experienced the performance of the tints on their cars for a considerable period of time.

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: Apr 6 2024, 10:55 PM
SportyHandling
post May 13 2024, 03:09 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ May 11 2024, 03:46 PM)
Bro, as of today you still never get stopped during road block ??    tongue.gif
I really can't recall when was the last time I was stopped at road block for checking on tints. I believe there's none, not even once. I was only stopped by police for speeding during roadblocks, and that too was very rare. Nowadays I don't see any roadblocks anymore unlike 15 or 20 years ago mainly for speeding or checking on tints. Perhaps I was lucky that the route I was using did not have any road blocks, I don't know.
SportyHandling
post May 13 2024, 03:15 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ May 11 2024, 04:43 PM)
How about vkool premier? Seems like spec wise is better than elite right.
I'm not sure about V-Kool Premier as my experience was only with V-Kool Elite, proven to be good. My other experiences:-

Huper Optik - Good but doesn't last long, tint loses efficiency after 3 years and after 5 years it feels like there's no tint on the vehicle. Price range : RM1.6k - 2k for C-segment.
Totalgard - Cheap but not good especially the tint on the front windscreen. Feels very hot like there's no tint. Only good thing is it's cheap RM500 or 600 for whole car. To me it's best avoided.
Coolgard - Mid-price but rather effective. Currently installed the front windscreen on my car, RM900 just for front windscreen alone.

SportyHandling
post May 13 2024, 03:57 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ May 13 2024, 03:48 PM)
There are many ranges in each brand tho...for eg, totalgard 500-600 cheap lor, so many it is one of their lowest end tint (just assumption since you never mention the range that you install). They have their own more premium priced range.
If I've not mistaken Totalgard's top 2 range is around this price range. I took the Infusion Pro. Even the top-of-the-range most expensive tint, for whole car it's less than RM1k if I'm not mistaken.
SportyHandling
post May 13 2024, 04:06 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ May 13 2024, 04:01 PM)
Oops...ok.
It's OK. Once bitten, twice shy. I was trying my luck with this Totalgard due to the good reviews here and mouth-watering low price of RM600 for whole car. After this experience, I won't be considering tints cheaper than RM1k for the whole car already.

Maybe those who had better luck with Totalgard have gone with low VLT for front windscreen ie. VLT 30% or 20% so the heat rejection performance might be a bit better. I don't know. In my case VLT65% for front windscreen it's very hot as the heat from the sun still gets through and burn my skin. The current Coolgard tint (RM800+ just for front windscreen only) performs much better, luckily.
SportyHandling
post May 13 2024, 04:08 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ May 13 2024, 04:06 PM)
Totalgard top tier is titanium plus.  Rm2600, 2700, 2900 based on size of car.
I've just rechecked on the price. That's inflated price. The promo Titanium prices are RM1288, 1388 and 1588.

Forgot to mention the quoted prices are higher. In store there's still reduction or discounts.

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: May 13 2024, 04:09 PM
SportyHandling
post May 13 2024, 04:13 PM

623 posts

Original quoted prices for Titanium Plus are RM3k+ but in reality it starts at RM1.2k+. There are further discounts too if you are lucky.
SportyHandling
post May 13 2024, 04:15 PM

623 posts

This is the range I went for.

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.1777sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:11 AM