Bitcoin Thread v1, and other cryptocurrencies

terradrive
post Jan 23 2014, 07:07 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Jan 23 2014, 06:21 PM)
dogecoin's block halving is next month  smile.gif
But the price won't just sharply increase. The price probably will stay the same or increases a little.
When the price stay the same and the production of dogecoins are halved, profits per day for the miner is halved. Then he will go and find another more profitable alt coins to mine and then the hashrate of dogecoin network drops. As a result, the difficulties lowers and the profits per day increases again until it reaches some equilibrium with other alt coins.

All this can happen with the price of the coin stays the same.

The thing that will drive up the value of the coin is very long term block halving, media exposure, and people actually uses the dogecoins to trade for things. Who knows if in the future that dogecoin will be a robust option that it's be the bronze of bitcoin's gold and litecoin's silver. So far this dogecoin has been performing spectacularly.

By the way since bitcoin difficulty risen so high now, anybody got lobang to get cheap USB block eruptors? Even if mining at a loss, it's nice to contribute a little on bitcoin's network security and prevent the big mining players from controlling the network hashrate even if it's just a little.

This post has been edited by terradrive: Jan 23 2014, 07:09 PM
SUSfuzzy
post Jan 23 2014, 07:48 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 23 2014, 07:07 PM)
But the price won't just sharply increase. The price probably will stay the same or increases a little.
When the price stay the same and the production of dogecoins are halved, profits per day for the miner is halved. Then he will go and find another more profitable alt coins to mine and then the hashrate of dogecoin network drops. As a result, the difficulties lowers and the profits per day increases again until it reaches some equilibrium with other alt coins.

All this can happen with the price of the coin stays the same.

The thing that will drive up the value of the coin is very long term block halving, media exposure, and people actually uses the dogecoins to trade for things. Who knows if in the future that dogecoin will be a robust option that it's be the bronze of bitcoin's gold and litecoin's silver. So far this dogecoin has been performing spectacularly.
By the way since bitcoin difficulty risen so high now, anybody got lobang to get cheap USB block eruptors? Even if mining at a loss, it's nice to contribute a little on bitcoin's network security and prevent the big mining players from controlling the network hashrate even if it's just a little.
It won't go up sharply la. The thing that will help it rise is the legitimacy of the currency.
badang_1785
post Jan 23 2014, 09:45 PM

229 posts

from my understanding, bitcoin doesnt have real value in formal currency... only value to those who belive its got value and willing to trade bitcoin with real money.. real currency need to print and regulated but this coin thing anybody can created it and make it a hype...
whyteaz
post Jan 24 2014, 01:55 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Jan 23 2014, 06:21 PM)
Should have hold on  tongue.gif
dogecoin's block halving is next month  smile.gif
still gain, even if i use back my bitcoin to exchange dogecoin i still gain since it dropped tongue.gif

M1X
post Jan 24 2014, 02:26 AM

2,334 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 23 2014, 06:19 PM)
Do you guys using 280X, 290, 290X cards can control the voltage without messing with the bios? Just straight install MSI afterburner, sapphire trixx for example.
Sapphire Tri-X Toxic R9 280x - use default Bios for voltage control, don't turn on UEFI.
1000Mhz @ 1.05v stable, good enough for 700Kh/s & stays under 65°c.
TScloudstrife07
post Jan 24 2014, 04:53 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

mari-mari! buy my powered PCIE x1 to x16 riser! haha.

This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Jan 24 2014, 04:53 PM
SUSfuzzy
post Jan 24 2014, 05:08 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(whyteaz @ Jan 24 2014, 01:55 AM)
still gain, even if i use back my bitcoin to exchange dogecoin i still gain since it dropped tongue.gif
grats! rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
terradrive
post Jan 24 2014, 11:25 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

I gatal for sapphire 290 tri-x liao laugh.gif
Playbook
post Jan 25 2014, 07:53 PM

316 posts

I just discovered this cryptocurrency thread on Lowyat. Wow, almost 40 pages long. With so much sharing by the community.

Anyway, I am hosting a Malaysian cryptocurrency gathering tomorrow morning (free Kelantanese fare, Nasi Dagang, Nasi Lauk) for bitcoin and other currency enthusiasts. You'd all be welcome to join up and link up in the real world with other cryptocurrency fans.

Time: 930am
Date: 26th January, Sunday (tomorrow!)
Venue: Nasi Dagang Capital @ Damansara Uptown.

You can find details at http://bitcoinmalaysia.wordpress.com
mumeichan
post Jan 25 2014, 08:49 PM

4,152 posts

Huhu sold all my coins. It's gonna crash this Monday.
terradrive
post Jan 26 2014, 12:00 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(mumeichan @ Jan 25 2014, 08:49 PM)
Huhu sold all my coins. It's gonna crash this Monday.
which coin? Ya CNY means less chinese buyers on the holiday season

This post has been edited by terradrive: Jan 26 2014, 12:00 AM
Killy
post Jan 26 2014, 12:05 AM

73 posts

Ebay considers accepting BTC payments
http://www.cnbc.com/id/101356642

This gonna bump it up when it happens hmm.gif
Killy
post Jan 26 2014, 12:30 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 23 2014, 03:17 PM)
If you successfully transfered your funds then please tell  thumbup.gif

I still holding my coins, though if I exchanged to BTC I'll get 0.52BTC. All mined by HD7870 in one month riding the dogetrain hehe laugh.gif
good for you, chose the right coin thumbup.gif
me dumb dumb stuck with ltc...

but doge is really surprising, almost 10x increase from its low few weeks ago.. and it stays at above 200 unlike other pumps
it probably sucked out alot of trade volume from other coins lol
whyteaz
post Jan 26 2014, 12:37 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(Killy @ Jan 26 2014, 12:05 AM)
Ebay considers accepting BTC payments
http://www.cnbc.com/id/101356642

This gonna bump it up when it happens hmm.gif
nope...it will only bump bitcoin and litecoin up. if u c from historical graph, dogecoin have almost non influence from bitcoin.

whyteaz
post Jan 26 2014, 12:38 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 24 2014, 11:25 PM)
I gatal for sapphire 290 tri-x liao  laugh.gif
me too, but my psu n mobo cant support it, it will be whole system upgrade
T^T
Killy
post Jan 26 2014, 12:53 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(whyteaz @ Jan 26 2014, 12:37 AM)
nope...it will only bump bitcoin and litecoin up. if u c from historical graph, dogecoin have almost non influence from bitcoin.
yea i mean bump BTC up, ebay is pretty major
but its still only rumour from insider

i wasnt quite sure of doge at start due to its meme nature, but right now it seems quite legit and people are using it for real world item trading too

edit: if any of you guys into alts, can try USDe. its currently more profitable than doge, before it even hits cryptsy

This post has been edited by Killy: Jan 26 2014, 09:32 AM
terradrive
post Jan 26 2014, 10:52 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(whyteaz @ Jan 26 2014, 12:38 AM)
me too, but my psu n mobo cant support it, it will be whole system upgrade
T^T
Why the mobo can't support it? It uses normal PCI-E port, no?

I trying to see if my PSU can support it or not, just barely reach the requirements for the R9 290 haha. I'm using some budget cooler master 625w non pure power PSU.

On another note, waiting for my R9 290 to arrive by post next week brows.gif
whyteaz
post Jan 26 2014, 12:55 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 26 2014, 10:52 AM)
Why the mobo can't support it? It uses normal PCI-E port, no?

I trying to see if my PSU can support it or not, just barely reach the requirements for the R9 290 haha. I'm using some budget cooler master 625w non pure power PSU.

On another note, waiting for my R9 290 to arrive by post next week  brows.gif
i mean my mobo cant support 2nd card
sad.gif
terradrive
post Jan 26 2014, 02:07 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

omg dogecoin network hashrate jumped from 85Gh/s to 130Gh/s. holy ****

barbar554
post Jan 26 2014, 02:30 PM

578 posts

Has anyone here actually withdrawn/liquidate their BTC into USD?

I have a few coins I want to transfer out but afraid of unreliable third parties and scammers.
Paypal on the other charges like 7% transaction fee and min 500USD yawn.gif

Was thinking of international wired transfer.

155 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0373sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:50 AM