post Dec 1 2013, 05:32 PM

1,831 posts

More money wasted....
HouseHunter
post Dec 3 2013, 11:06 AM

184 posts

wonder what is the toll rate? If I'm from Denai Alam going towards Midvalley using penchala link then sprint hwy. I think my toll per way almost RM10. How to sustain this kind of life in malaysia? blush.gif
un.deux.trois
post Dec 3 2013, 11:11 AM

679 posts

Let me guess, awarded by direct tender again?
elmond
post Dec 3 2013, 11:23 AM

2,262 posts

QUOTE(HouseHunter @ Dec 3 2013, 11:06 AM)
wonder what is the toll rate? If I'm from Denai Alam going towards Midvalley using penchala link then sprint hwy. I think my toll per way almost RM10. How to sustain this kind of life in malaysia? blush.gif
go mid valley with dash, penchala link and sprint was a waste. unless you really want to beat the traffic jam.

the good thing is from denai alam to penchala link only need 1 dash toll, so i think around rm7

HouseHunter
post Dec 3 2013, 11:40 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(elmond @ Dec 3 2013, 11:23 AM)
go mid valley with dash, penchala link and sprint was a waste. unless you really want to beat the traffic jam.

the good thing is from denai alam to penchala link only need 1 dash toll, so i think around rm7
yup... beat the jam. Time is money mah.... woh... but use too much money to buy time. cry.gif
elmond
post Dec 3 2013, 11:48 AM

2,262 posts

QUOTE(HouseHunter @ Dec 3 2013, 11:40 AM)
yup... beat the jam. Time is money mah.... woh... but use too much money to buy time.  cry.gif
do you mind to share what is your current routine path, time (go and back) and duration?
ngowngow
post Dec 3 2013, 01:52 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(elmond @ Dec 3 2013, 11:23 AM)

I notice there is two toll plaza according to the map.
one for RRIM and the other one for mutiara damansara. Have they change the plan ?

But 1 toll rm7 ??? doh.gif
elmond
post Dec 3 2013, 02:17 PM

2,262 posts

QUOTE(ngowngow @ Dec 3 2013, 01:52 PM)
I notice there is two toll plaza according to the map.
one for RRIM and the other one for mutiara damansara. Have they change the plan ?

But 1 toll rm7 ???  doh.gif
according to study, the design was 2+1 toll, means max only 2 toll.
of course this may change.
from the plan, denai alam toll and mutiara toll was must (means that max from u10)
PRIM toll only paid for exit persiaran surian, jalan sungai buloh and jalan lapangan subang, plus kwasa damansara too.

i just estimate the cost by multiply twice for penchala link rm2, kerinchi link rm1.5 = rm3.5 ~15km

kalandra
post Dec 3 2013, 02:24 PM

1,669 posts

QUOTE(coolsarawak @ Nov 30 2013, 11:19 PM)
Highways will support not only cars but bus rapid transit.

In 2010, Selangor saw 25% increase in labour force. Very explosive population growth due to inter state migration. Thats equivalent to  10% of sabah sarawak population moving to selangor
Highway will promote car usage, car usage will go up, traffic jams will not be reduce.

MRT/LRT/Whatever will promote public transport usage, car usage will go down, traffic jam can be reduce.
SUScoolsarawak
post Dec 3 2013, 03:28 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(kalandra @ Dec 3 2013, 02:24 PM)
Highway will promote car usage, car usage will go up, traffic jams will not be reduce.

MRT/LRT/Whatever will promote public transport usage, car usage will go down, traffic jam can be reduce.
i think the contributor towards car usage is cheap gas, despite our expensive car price, our petrol is 7th cheapest in the world.
Zaryl
post Dec 3 2013, 03:34 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

SUKE SUKE, saya SUKE lah ada banyak highway ni thumbup.gif
kalandra
post Dec 3 2013, 04:09 PM

1,669 posts

QUOTE(coolsarawak @ Dec 3 2013, 03:28 PM)
i think the contributor towards car usage is cheap gas, despite our expensive car price, our petrol is 7th cheapest in the world.
Cheap gas or not, there are lot of place not reachable by public transport, too much of a hassle (switching LRT/bus many times) or just plain slow (traffic jam). Alot of people drive to work it is neccessity, not luxury.

This post has been edited by kalandra: Dec 3 2013, 04:10 PM
SUScoolsarawak
post Dec 3 2013, 04:44 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(kalandra @ Dec 3 2013, 04:09 PM)
Cheap gas or not, there are lot of place not reachable by public transport, too much of a hassle (switching LRT/bus many times) or just plain slow (traffic jam). Alot of people drive to work it is neccessity, not luxury.
it is a catch 22. take bus transportation for example, the cause of inconsistent schedule is because buses get stuck in traffic jams. even if Rapid adds more buses, the problem only gets compounded as more buses contribute to the jam. due to inconsistent schedule, less people take public transport, especially since we have cheap petrol. and that means rapid is less likely to add new routes cause demand isn't there.

i think luxury is a significant part why people drive. in developed countries, white collar workers waking at 5AM is normal because they need to take the early bus. in malaysia some ppl do enjoy luxury of waking up after 7-8 and still making it to their office cause they can use their cars.

in any case, I don't think highways contribute to the problem when it can be used for BRT (e.g. bus only lane).

This post has been edited by coolsarawak: Dec 3 2013, 04:46 PM
zimhibikie
post Dec 3 2013, 04:52 PM

Freak of Nature
2,825 posts

turun rumah, can go straight to sg besi and go to johor..err, why the heck I wanna go to johor?
kalandra
post Dec 4 2013, 10:43 AM

1,669 posts

QUOTE(coolsarawak @ Dec 3 2013, 04:44 PM)
it is a catch 22. take bus transportation for example, the cause of inconsistent schedule is because buses get stuck in traffic jams. even if Rapid adds more buses, the problem only gets compounded as more buses contribute to the jam. due to inconsistent schedule, less people take public transport, especially since we have cheap petrol. and that means rapid is less likely to add new routes cause demand isn't there.

i think luxury is a significant part why people drive. in developed countries, white collar workers waking at 5AM is normal because they need to take the early bus. in malaysia some ppl do enjoy luxury of waking up after 7-8 and still making it to their office cause they can use their cars.

in any case, I don't think highways contribute to the problem when it can be used for BRT (e.g. bus only lane).
If public transport is sufficient to take you from point A to point B, driving is a luxury. I know plenty of friends who drive because they have to, not because they don't want to take public transport. And alot of them try leave early, example : leaving home before 6.30am and reaching office at 7.15am even when work start at 8.30am to avoid the traffic jam.
SUScoolsarawak
post Dec 4 2013, 11:00 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(kalandra @ Dec 4 2013, 10:43 AM)
If public transport is sufficient to take you from point A to point B, driving is a luxury. I know plenty of friends who drive because they have to, not because they don't want to take public transport. And alot of them try leave early, example : leaving home before 6.30am and reaching office at 7.15am even when work start at 8.30am to avoid the traffic jam.
I know ppl who work near lrt station tat stillddrive. I know couple of folks who stop carpooling cause no flexibility, tho arrangement is functional

I dun think there are only 1 group. Some drive for luxury while others drive for necessity. Which 1 bigger can be debated. But if u can encourage the luxury drivers to use public ( e.g. PR is talking about state funded free bus tickets like GO KL as an incentive), then there will be demand increase for more public transport (e.g. rapid increase more bus and routes) which hopefully will get more of the necessity drivers using public as well (e.g. since more routes, they can functionally use buses)

This post has been edited by coolsarawak: Dec 4 2013, 11:14 AM
ngowngow
post Dec 4 2013, 11:45 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(elmond @ Dec 3 2013, 02:17 PM)
according to study, the design was 2+1 toll, means max only 2 toll.
of course this may change.
from the plan, denai alam toll and mutiara toll was must (means that max from u10)
PRIM toll only paid for exit persiaran surian, jalan sungai buloh and jalan lapangan subang, plus kwasa damansara too.

i just estimate the cost by multiply twice for penchala link rm2, kerinchi link rm1.5 = rm3.5 ~15km
Oh you mean 2 ways in total rm7. I thought one toll one way rm7 tongue.gif

In this case from denai alam to kl city is not going to be cheap then.
elmond
post Dec 4 2013, 12:38 PM

2,262 posts

QUOTE(ngowngow @ Dec 4 2013, 11:45 AM)
Oh you mean 2 ways in total rm7. I thought one toll one way rm7 tongue.gif

In this case from denai alam to kl city is not going to be cheap then.
one way la, brother

penchala link rm2
kerinchi link rm1.5

so i estimate rm3.5 for the dash highway (2 dash toll) *based on current gce rate too

of course from denai alam only 1 toll

This post has been edited by elmond: Dec 4 2013, 12:41 PM

2 Pages < 1 2

0.0192sec    0.24    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:39 AM