This post has been edited by Pro3363: Nov 28 2013, 09:03 PM
Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.23, National Geography edition
Nov 28 2013, 08:57 PM
1,193 posts Joined: Aug 2011 From: Miri, Sarawak |
Nov 28 2013, 09:05 PM
574 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: Kuala Terengganu, Terengganu |
Nov 28 2013, 09:13 PM
Nov 28 2013, 09:17 PM
24,193 posts Joined: Feb 2010 From: Perak |
QUOTE(copperwire93 @ Nov 28 2013, 06:46 PM) F16 and low ISO, no wonder your shots are all great. Wah, why drag me into water? haha I always stick to f/7.1 for 'acceptable' DOF and change ISO to get more exposure, or sometimes just to speed up the shutter. Sometimes need to get to 1250 ISO, hence more prominent grains when cropping. Haiz... really need a flash gun lah. haha. Some more macro spams. PF T.J influenced me, blame him. Hahaha! » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I find shooting wasps/hornets are really easy for macro newcomer like me. They're big enough to get the focus. And although, they're venomous, they're also easy going (most of the time) you can get closer and they won't sting you right on sight. Except if continuously provoked by flash like the last picture, the yellowjacket preparing its venom for me. She gave the warning by lifting its abdomen part. I understood and walk away. Your photos are really good. I think many macro photographers are a bit too obsessed with getting higher magnification that at the end they only show the subject, and not what the subject is doing (which can sometimes be very interesting), keep it up! Love shots #2-4! #1 is a female Oxyopes birmanicus, whereas #2 is a Tetragnatha sp. (have to be able to see its big jaws to be able to ID) I've never got any proper flying shots of hornets or wasps T____T you are damn pro already haha~ And yeah, one good thing is that you will learn more about your subjects' behaviour other than just their diversity |
Nov 28 2013, 09:21 PM
QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Nov 28 2013, 08:24 PM) Superb place to visit mate, just be careful of the traffic jams there!Have a nice trip and take stunning photos yo Some non-macro spamshots from Bali XD ![]() Entrance to a Bali Temple by PF T.J., on Flickr More: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Oh ya, better be careful not to step on their praying ornaments on the ground This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Nov 28 2013, 09:31 PM |
Nov 28 2013, 09:27 PM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 28 2013, 09:21 PM) Superb place to visit mate, just be careful of the traffic jams there! Thanks for advise Have a nice trip and take stunning photos yo Some non-macro spamshots from Bali XD ![]() Entrance to a Bali Temple by PF T.J., on Flickr More: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Oh ya, better be careful not to step on their preying ornaments on the ground |
Nov 28 2013, 09:39 PM
1,557 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 28 2013, 04:45 PM) Wah, I really wish I have the chance to enter the jungle today in parasitology by Dr. Noraisyah bout mites, lice, flees and 1 more i forgot. btw what PhD u taking again?Love the 2nd shot! If you notice, the eyes of that particular bug will show a reflective "X" Keep practising man, having a flash will definitely help alot in reducing the effects of handshake Tried taking some really small subjects today haha XD ![]() Water Mites by PF T.J., on Flickr Those are ruler lines in the photo, 1mm in between each |
Nov 28 2013, 09:44 PM
btw though nikon 1 systems are like boring to us, i still see some of my frens using it.. maybe they like it cz it's cute, more portable. if canon 6d had more than 1 cross AF point, d600 is well threatened.
Nov 28 2013, 09:47 PM
545 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
![]() Casio Watch by QiAnG92, on Flickr ![]() Casio Watch by QiAnG92, on Flickr ![]() Casio Watch by QiAnG92, on Flickr Was browsing through ming thein's blog, saw his imba nice watch pictures so got itchy, haha, not as easy as i thought =.= did some trials on my old watch, lotsa scratches This post has been edited by QiAnG: Nov 28 2013, 09:50 PM |
Nov 28 2013, 09:48 PM
Nov 28 2013, 09:50 PM
127 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
Guys, i would like to ask if anyone here try to take star's trail before>?? i thought might want to give it a try...
Beside i am want to buy a 70-200 lens..but i cant make a decision that..... I)stick to nikon or other brand ii) if nikon better get f2.8 or f4.. Hope you guys can give me some suggestion |
Nov 28 2013, 09:52 PM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Wow, nice pics bro, especially those wasps ones. So nice you found a lot big insects, all I hunted lately are those small small small ones |
Nov 28 2013, 09:53 PM
Nov 28 2013, 09:54 PM
QUOTE(f5calvin @ Nov 28 2013, 09:39 PM) today in parasitology by Dr. Noraisyah bout mites, lice, flees and 1 more i forgot. btw what PhD u taking again? Oh, I'm doing seaweed biotechnology But I've already passed up my thesis, now spending more time researching on insects hehe~ QUOTE(f5calvin @ Nov 28 2013, 09:44 PM) btw though nikon 1 systems are like boring to us, i still see some of my frens using it.. maybe they like it cz it's cute, more portable. if canon 6d had more than 1 cross AF point, d600 is well threatened. Most of my friends who bought the Nikon 1 were, like you said, buying it for the design haha Most who are a bit more concerned about performance ended up with NEX3/5 lol QUOTE(QiAnG @ Nov 28 2013, 09:47 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Was browsing through ming thein's blog, saw his imba nice watch pictures so got itchy, haha, not as easy as i thought =.= Imho, I think this kind of shots will look better with strobist-style Don't have a watch, canno try haha T___T |
Nov 28 2013, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 28 2013, 09:21 PM) Superb place to visit mate, just be careful of the traffic jams there! Wahh... all nice moments shot. Especially that flame dance. Have a nice trip and take stunning photos yo Some non-macro spamshots from Bali XD » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Oh ya, better be careful not to step on their praying ornaments on the ground QUOTE(QiAnG @ Nov 28 2013, 09:47 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Was browsing through ming thein's blog, saw his imba nice watch pictures so got itchy, haha, not as easy as i thought =.= did some trials on my old watch, lotsa scratches ![]() Crocodile Watch by NurAzam, on Flickr Or maybe Crocodile's tiru Casio. This post has been edited by copperwire93: Nov 28 2013, 10:03 PM |
Nov 28 2013, 10:02 PM
QUOTE(QiAnG @ Nov 28 2013, 09:52 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Wow, nice pics bro, especially those wasps ones. So nice you found a lot big insects, all I hunted lately are those small small small ones |
Nov 28 2013, 10:07 PM
920 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
Nov 28 2013, 10:08 PM
QUOTE(tongweng @ Nov 28 2013, 09:50 PM) Guys, i would like to ask if anyone here try to take star's trail before>?? i thought might want to give it a try... I) stick for nikon if u got extra moneyBeside i am want to buy a 70-200 lens..but i cant make a decision that..... I)stick to nikon or other brand ii) if nikon better get f2.8 or f4.. Hope you guys can give me some suggestion II) get 2.8 for extra bokeh provided u gt a big budget~ well, seems meaningless la my suggestion. according to dxomark, if u want sharpest, is 70200 2.8, then 70200 4, then Tamron AF 70-200mm f/2.8 SP Di LD [IF] macro. n the tammy 70200 macro is so darn cheap n considerably good if compared to them..i believe i must have left out something.bt still u need to ask opinion from others that had hands on before.. |
Nov 28 2013, 10:12 PM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 28 2013, 09:54 PM) Oh, I'm doing seaweed biotechnology actually i never seen the printed outcome of nex cameras.. i've a lumix lx5, terrible picture when printed out. ISO 800 means die. 1600 even worse.. dno isit bcz the printer problem or my lx5 problem or memang lx5 lidat.. looks like they smudge the picture to remove noise. bt not sure. But I've already passed up my thesis, now spending more time researching on insects hehe~ Most of my friends who bought the Nikon 1 were, like you said, buying it for the design haha Most who are a bit more concerned about performance ended up with NEX3/5 lol Nice try man~ Can take look at copperwire93's photo too, I think he also took quite a lot of photos of his watch Imho, I think this kind of shots will look better with strobist-style Don't have a watch, canno try haha T___T |
Nov 28 2013, 10:13 PM
thanks for the info f5calvin.
I was worry because my uncle is photography fans also...but he bought tamron 18-200 instead of nikon kit lens 18-105... when i bought my dslr..he was like regreting lo...even my kit lens is 18-105..but image is much sharper compare to his... Therefore i want to think first..btw i am planning to go for instalment XD...i think this way will be better |
| Change to: | 0.0169sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:03 PM |