125 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Bottom

Studying in the UK, Tips, plz

mars16
post Aug 12 2007, 03:48 PM

144 posts

I'm now a form5 student...i dun quite sure about which institution...
however i was thinking about to go taylors and transfer to Melbourne...but now i want to go London coz i got relative there...

which institution is recommended?or any transfer student programme available in Msia for architecture?

thx biggrin.gif
azarimy
post Aug 12 2007, 05:39 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

before u start into any transfer programmes, u should know that msian authority in the architecture profession, lembaga akitek malaysia (LAM) does not recognize any transfer or twinning programmes.

taylor's does not "transfer" to melbourne, but rather, they have a partnership programmes that allow their students to finish their degree in melbourne. LAM however does not recognize this, meaning they'll not be automatically accredited once they've graduated and come back to practice. meaning they're are not certified to become architects UNLESS they seek recognition individually with LAM.

anyways, if u're looking for architecture in london, the best in the world would be the bartlett (UCL)and the AA. westminster, metropolitan and royal college of art are good too. bear in mind though, bartlett and AA is easy to get in, but have an extremely high failure rate.
mars16
post Aug 12 2007, 06:34 PM

144 posts

oh..thanks azarimy...
I got another question here..how much will the tuition fee be for the barlett,AA,westminster, metropolitan and royal college of art...coz u know...go there study money is an important factor...
lejoant
post Aug 12 2007, 06:45 PM

160 posts

woohoo i got into Imperial rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
any advice?
chipmunk82
post Aug 13 2007, 12:48 AM

31 posts

is it better for me to bring printer here or buy it at UK?
^mtv^
post Aug 13 2007, 01:03 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(chipmunk82 @ Aug 13 2007, 12:48 AM)
u seems so excited ha ha yea im also wondering whether its better to buy there?
chipmunk82
post Aug 13 2007, 01:58 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(^mtv^ @ Aug 13 2007, 01:03 AM)
hehe need to prepare early maa laugh.gif so how bout ur visa?
feynman
post Aug 13 2007, 02:31 AM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(lejoant @ Aug 12 2007, 06:45 PM)
woohoo i got into Imperial  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
any advice?
Seriously......anyone can get into Imperial.

The advice is, prepare your finance, You probably need about RM800k or more for the entire duration.

If you get a scholarship, then don't worry lah.
QUOTE(tam_ironcup @ Aug 13 2007, 02:16 AM)
im currently doing a levels and am most probably going to uk next year(im still in as now), my results so far are ok, only problem would be further maths, failed it for my first sem >< but my chem physics and maths seem to be ok, and i'm most probably going to do engineering(have'nt specified which branch) i just wanna know which are the reputable universities in uk for engineering, besides imperial, and also an approximation of the fees for the entire programme if possible. but ive been thinking, engineering is a very common subject, and i dont want to do something that everyone is doing, so, recommend me some other courses please, thanks in advance smile.gif
Ballpark about 13k-14k pounds per year for tuition fees. 3k-5k for Miscellaneous fees. 600-800 pounds for living cost, high quote for London.

Engineering in the UK is more or less comparable. So choose according to your budget.

Everything is common, you get so many people doing engineering, you'll also get so many people doing economics. If something rare is what you want, go to LACs in the US.
moto-moto
post Aug 13 2007, 08:22 AM

707 posts

hey let say uni give me conditional offer,e.g. get C for 4 remaining subjects,but if i get A,C,C,D then will they accept?
goliath
post Aug 13 2007, 08:58 AM

5,533 posts

QUOTE(^mtv^ @ Aug 13 2007, 01:03 AM)
Here what you do. Decide which printer you buy and get it from UK. Before you leave for UK, get some extra catridge supplies from Malaysia first. smile.gif
chipmunk82
post Aug 13 2007, 10:28 AM

31 posts

which better, canon?emm i think to bring my own printer lohh
goliath
post Aug 13 2007, 10:55 AM

5,533 posts

You can bring your own printer if you have space to spare. Else, get it in UK as the price is almost the same.

Canon is fine as their ink catridge is cheap. I got myself a Canon i80 last time because it is portable and I could put it into my backpack (hand lugguage).
feynman
post Aug 13 2007, 02:08 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(moto-moto @ Aug 13 2007, 08:22 AM)
hey let say uni give me conditional offer,e.g. get C for 4 remaining subjects,but if i get A,C,C,D then will they accept?
No one knows, you have to contact the admission tutor to see if your offer is still valid. It is evident that you have not met a quarter of the stipulated condition, so you'll probably forfeit that offer.
hihihehe
post Aug 13 2007, 04:24 PM

13,790 posts

usually universities at UK intake in which month??feb n september??
goliath
post Aug 13 2007, 04:31 PM

5,533 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 13 2007, 04:24 PM)
usually universities at UK intake in which month??feb n september??
September smile.gif
azarimy
post Aug 13 2007, 04:53 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

if u're talking about A4, u may be able to get the small printers and bring it to the UK. but i use A3 (for architectural dwg), so even if it's cheaper to buy in msia, it's not even worth it to ship it to the UK. not even worth the cheap inks wink.gif. like those that have mentioned before, it might be a good idea to survey the printer that u want to buy, get the inks from msia, and buy the printer in the UK.
hihihehe
post Aug 13 2007, 07:03 PM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Aug 13 2007, 04:31 PM)
September smile.gif
only september??for all uni at UK?
INFeRNO
post Aug 13 2007, 07:06 PM

Lord and Master
1,754 posts

To be honest, if you're only going to be printing occasionally, you don't need a printer, as your university library (or even your own department) will have really cheap printing and photocopying facilities. The print quality will be better than most bubble jets anyways.

So don't do what most people do and go with a whole bunch of junk. 1 girl I know even brought her own TV and telephone! O_o You can buy anything you need once you get here. Trust me, you'll discover that there are a lot of things cheaper here in the UK than in is in M'sia. That goes for things like pens, paper, clothes, mobiles, etc...
onemilimeter
post Aug 13 2007, 10:30 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Aug 12 2007, 10:25 AM)
All lecturers are helpful, actually. So the question is, how helpful you want him to be?  smile.gif
I'm not sure whether you could get it around campus area or not. You have to double check with azarimy. But I'm sure it won't be cheap though.

Ha Ha... how to define 'helpful'?
Do you know the rental for that type of accomodation?

goliath
post Aug 14 2007, 08:23 AM

5,533 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 13 2007, 07:03 PM)
only september??for all uni at UK?
Should be smile.gif

QUOTE(INFeRNO @ Aug 13 2007, 07:06 PM)
To be honest, if you're only going to be printing occasionally, you don't need a printer, as your university library (or even your own department) will have really cheap printing and photocopying facilities. The print quality will be better than most bubble jets anyways.

So don't do what most people do and go with a whole bunch of junk. 1 girl I know even brought her own TV and telephone! O_o You can buy anything you need once you get here. Trust me, you'll discover that there are a lot of things cheaper here in the UK than in is in M'sia. That goes for things like pens, paper, clothes, mobiles, etc...
TV??!!! shocking.gif

QUOTE(onemilimeter @ Aug 13 2007, 10:30 PM)
Ha Ha... how to define 'helpful'?
Do you know the rental for that type of accomodation?
He's alright. But just be prepared that lecturers in UK aren't the same as in Malaysia. smile.gif

Nope. Sorry..

125 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:40 AM