Wish to ask about the expenses, including tuition fee, living expenses, etc. to study in the University of Sheffield for postgraduate studies, e.g. PhD, in electrical/electronic engineering.
Studying in the UK, Tips, plz
Oct 31 2006, 11:55 AM
1,132 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: LOST |
Wish to ask about the expenses, including tuition fee, living expenses, etc. to study in the University of Sheffield for postgraduate studies, e.g. PhD, in electrical/electronic engineering.
Thanks. |
Oct 31 2006, 02:36 PM
QUOTE(boxsystem @ Oct 31 2006, 12:27 PM) i went to the EducationUK earlier this month, the tuition fees is around £10000 ~ £11500 for postgraduate studies. that would be around RM80000 ~ RM90000 for the whole programme. Thanks for your reply...as for expenses, i never got the chance to ask about it, but i managed to get a few of prospectus of various universities. this is what i get from Univ. Of Manchester's prospectus which the postgraduate total estimated living expenses for 2006/2007 session: duration : 51 weeks. Accomodation(Self-Catered) : £3700 Meals(Self-Catered) : £1600 Books : £410 Clothes : £410 Transport : £400 Other Expenses : £1500 TOTAL : £8160 and of course, this is just a rough figure and definitely depends on your lifestyle. So if you count it, it's around £680 per month. Hope this helps. And yeah, just to notify, according to this prospectus, the cost of living in Manchester is cheap when compared equally to other major cities in UK such as Birmingham and Nottingham, but are less expensive than London. Anyway, good luck for your studies. Wow... the currency exchange rate now is £1.00 = RM8.00 ah? Very high... Where is Universitiy of Sheffield? Is it near to London? Do u have any idea of the tuition fee for postgraduate by research, e.g. PhD research program? I believe, postgraduate by coursework will be more expensive. Thanks This post has been edited by onemilimeter: Oct 31 2006, 02:38 PM |
Nov 1 2006, 11:20 PM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Nov 1 2006, 03:54 PM) i'm currently doing PhD in sheffield, and agrees generally with elb's figures. my PhD in architecture costs GBP11k a year (for 3 years minimum). living expenses is about GBP400-GBP600 a month depending on lifestyle and where/what kinda house u live in. my house alone is GBP380 (3 storey, 3 bedrooms) and i live with my wife. bachelors should expect to spend around GBP200-GBP300 per month just for accomodation rents. Do u know the tuition fee plus bench fee for PhD in Electrical Engineering at Univ of Sheffield? http://www.shef.ac.uk/eee/ Thank you |
Jul 29 2007, 11:18 PM
What's the living cost (e.g. rent, makan, etc.) in Sheffield including family (e.g. wife)?
Jul 30 2007, 10:03 AM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Jul 29 2007, 11:56 PM) Depends on where u stay, and how much ur family (wife) ability to spend Hi azarimy... Thanks for your reply. The living allowance of the scholarship (still applying) is around GBP650 per month. According to your calculation, it needs around GBP400 + GBP100 + GBP40 + GBP50 = GBP590 per month. Please advise is it safe to have only GBP60 extra per month? Pls advise. Thanks.The standard flat (1 or 2 rooms with kitchen) goes for about GBP400 a month if u're staying in central area or in the immediate vicinity of the university. food costs a little bit higher there, but if u home cook and buy ur groceries at asda or tesco, u should be able to keep ur food costs to about GBP 50-100 a month for the two of u. internet, tv, phone plus mobile can cost GBP40 per month (for those 4). electricity + heating is about GBP30-50 a month (higher in winter). If u're staying outside central area, a 3 bedroom house (usually with ur own garden/backyard, parking) is about GBP400-500 a month. if u need help finding a place to stay, i could hook u up with the sheffield malaysian community. they can get u a good deal. |
Jul 31 2007, 01:23 AM
In UK, can we access RapidShare? Can we doing 'bit-torrent' downloading? When we reach the UK airport, will the custom check our laptop or CD or DVD?
Jul 31 2007, 08:57 AM
QUOTE(WillHung @ Jul 31 2007, 06:53 AM) regarding customs checking your laptop/cd's/dvd's...most likely they won't but they sometimes pick random people to ransack through. as long as you dont go overboard with the pirated stuff, you'll be ok. Oh they sometimes pick people randomly... Just thinking of burning all e-books downloaded from the internet, as well as some educational software (e.g. MATLAB, etcl... of course not licensed) |
Aug 1 2007, 09:28 PM
Which university in UK is the best for the following field:
1) Electrical/Electronic Engineering - Power System 2) Electrical/Electronic Engineering - Power Electronics 3) Electrical/Electronic Engineering - Electrical Machine and Drive (e.g. motor) Thanks. |
Aug 5 2007, 05:35 PM
For postgraduate research, will Sheffield University provide the student a computer?
With limited budjet, should I get a laptop in Malaysia or in UK? I'm thinking of bringing my desktop (without cpu casing and monitor) to UK. Do you it is a wise move? Is there any shop near Sheffield to buy a cheap 19" LCD panel? Thanks. |
Aug 5 2007, 06:40 PM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Aug 5 2007, 06:20 PM) Anyways, i brought my desktop from msia. my suggestion: i. take out the motherboard, harddisk, ram, display card and any other cards and put it in ur hand luggage. ii. stuff ur empty casing with baju and all that to save space in ur main baggage. iii. put the rest of ur desktop in the main baggage. my first trip here, i fried my harddrive. second trip, i fried my mother board. after that, i meticulously separate the important peripherals and put it in my hand luggage. apparently the whole "strong x-ray could damage ur pc components" is no joke... How many time free flight ticket (per year) provided by your scholarship? What's about the monitor? Did you buy in UK? Do you think we can use the mobile phone bought in Malaysia in UK? Thanks. |
Aug 6 2007, 03:22 PM
Ya... how's the banking? Which bank should we use?
Aug 10 2007, 10:06 PM
Anyone here studying in EEE department of Sheffield University? Does anyone know Dr Chee Hing Tan? Is he friendly and helpful? Thanks.
Aug 11 2007, 10:13 PM
QUOTE(goliath @ Aug 11 2007, 09:44 PM) He's from Malaysia. He's quite alright. Is Dr Chee Hing Tan helpful?Added on August 12, 2007, 10:10 am QUOTE(goliath @ Aug 11 2007, 09:44 PM) He's from Malaysia. He's quite alright. Are you from Sheffield too? Is it possible to get an accomodation (with single bedroom + kitchen, or those studio type) in less than GBP400 per month? Thanks. This post has been edited by onemilimeter: Aug 12 2007, 10:10 AM |
Aug 13 2007, 10:30 PM
QUOTE(goliath @ Aug 12 2007, 10:25 AM) All lecturers are helpful, actually. So the question is, how helpful you want him to be? I'm not sure whether you could get it around campus area or not. You have to double check with azarimy. But I'm sure it won't be cheap though. Ha Ha... how to define 'helpful'? Do you know the rental for that type of accomodation? |
Aug 15 2007, 08:00 AM
QUOTE(goliath @ Aug 14 2007, 08:23 AM) He's alright. But just be prepared that lecturers in UK aren't the same as in Malaysia. He married already or not?Can you give some differences between lecturers in UK and Malaysia? Thanks. Added on August 15, 2007, 8:02 am QUOTE(chipmunk82 @ Aug 14 2007, 08:48 AM) what is the different between lect in msia and UK and how about the system, is the grading is too strict or easy to pass?i want to know how postgrad studies there work.... Are you going to do postgrad there? Which area that are you in? Which unversity that are you going to join?This post has been edited by onemilimeter: Aug 15 2007, 08:02 AM |
Aug 22 2007, 08:15 AM
Anyone ship things to UK before? Which courier is safety and cheaper?
Aug 22 2007, 05:08 PM
QUOTE(goliath @ Aug 22 2007, 08:36 AM) Pos Malaysia is alright. My parents sent 10kg parcel without any problems. How much did '10kg' cost to UK? How fast was the shipment? Added on August 22, 2007, 5:11 pm QUOTE(azarimy @ Aug 22 2007, 08:59 AM) ... which ironically, if a lecturer in msia do not spoonfeed, he/she will be labeled incompetent and incapable of teaching. believe me, i've tasted that end of the stick Exactly... if you don't provide everything to them, students will complain you and you might have problem in promotion... This post has been edited by onemilimeter: Aug 22 2007, 05:11 PM |
Sep 10 2007, 09:30 AM
Some points extracted from Full text of PM's Budget 2008 speech
QUOTE 59. The Government at present sponsors a total of 17,000 students in universities overseas. The Government has already increased the COLA for students studying in Australia, New Zealand, Egypt and South Korea in 2006. Effective September 2007, the Government will increase the COLA for students in the United States, United Kingdom and Canada by up to 97%, almost double the current rate. Will JPA/MARA scholars in UK be benefited by the announcement above? Has anyone checked how much (percentage of increment) scholars in UK will get? Thanks. Added on September 10, 2007, 9:43 amEmm... how many intake per year for master degree (by taught course) in UK? When is/are the intake(s)? Thanks. This post has been edited by onemilimeter: Sep 10 2007, 09:43 AM |
Sep 10 2007, 03:11 PM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Sep 10 2007, 03:03 PM) usually, intakes for masters is in september/october, the same intake for the undergraduate courses. research based masters may have open intake (all year round). Only once a year? |
Oct 14 2007, 02:31 PM
Will the UK security officers check the following items when we reach airports in UK:
1) Laptop 2) CD Can we access RapidShare in UK (e.g. through the ISP at Sheffield or Manchester)? Got limitation with Premium account? Thanks Added on October 14, 2007, 2:49 pmDo you bring your desktop to UK? Or, do you buy there? Which option is better? This post has been edited by onemilimeter: Oct 14 2007, 02:49 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0538sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:44 PM |