Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 28 2008, 03:55 PM)
i wanna ask some stupid ques
wat is postgraduate and undergraduate?
n also wat is sandwich year?
undergraduate - a student that has not receive any first degree particularly bachelor degree. first timer degree or degree at most basic level in the uni.

postgraduate - a student that has hold a first degree. postgraduate program is program that is for student that has already hold a degree.

sandwich year is where you will take a year of for work experience, usually in 3r year and go back to the uni in 4th year to complete the 3 years degree.

jhong
post Jun 29 2008, 11:34 PM

685 posts

Anyone study in Oxford Brookes University? How's life there ?
hihihehe
post Jun 30 2008, 11:47 AM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Jun 28 2008, 09:19 PM)
undergraduate - a student that has not receive any first degree particularly bachelor degree. first timer degree or degree at most basic level in the uni.

postgraduate - a student that has hold a first degree. postgraduate program is program that is for student that has already hold a degree.

sandwich year is where you will take a year of for work experience, usually in 3r year and go back to the uni in 4th year to complete the 3 years degree.
oo thx notworthy.gif
awesomeming
post Jun 30 2008, 12:40 PM

15 posts

hi guys,

I'm wondering whether it is possible for an international student to secure some kind of sponsorship from UK organizations/companies to fund my studies in the UK.

Syd G
post Jun 30 2008, 01:11 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

awesomeming

It's possible but less than 0.1% chance I reckon. Unless you're going for post graduate. British Chevening is pretty easy to get if ur good
youngkies
post Jun 30 2008, 04:02 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(awesomeming @ Jun 30 2008, 12:40 PM)
hi guys,
I'm wondering whether it is possible for an international student to secure some kind of sponsorship from UK organizations/companies to fund my studies in the UK.
you might be able to get some sort of bursary, partial/full scholarship, or discount from the university. but as for scholarship for international student doing undergraduate study? very rare.

TBR
post Jul 4 2008, 07:34 PM

Validating

Just wondering. Any one taken the sandwich program before? If yes is it sufficient enough to cover for the forth year tuition fees? Roughly how much those undertaking the sandwich program would earn?
youngkies
post Jul 4 2008, 08:24 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(TBR @ Jul 4 2008, 07:34 PM)
Just wondering. Any one taken the sandwich program before? If yes is it sufficient enough to cover for the forth year tuition fees? Roughly how much those undertaking the sandwich program would earn?

not enough. enough for living fees, but not full tuition fee.

what sandwich program? engineering etc?

the most you can get is £17k perannum. after tax, that would be around £12k per annum. if you are really thrifty, you might be able to save £6-7k the most.
liew_jls
post Jul 4 2008, 08:24 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(TBR @ Jul 4 2008, 12:34 PM)
it's depends on the company. But usually it might be cover 70% (if you are lucky) of your 4th year tuition fees, don't expect it's going to pay all of your final year tuition fee. Anyway i know there's some university, that you will have risk that you can't get any offer for your sandwich year. this mean when you finish 2nd year, but you can't get any offer from a company. so you will need to straight away go for your final year.
TBR
post Jul 4 2008, 08:38 PM

Validating

Was quite interested in the 3 years programme(sandwich) that Portsmouth offer for civil engineering. Anyone study at Portsmouth for civil engineering before? If yes whats it like?(any recommendation) Whats the budget i would most likely have to get ready if i were to take up this course?
youngkies
post Jul 4 2008, 08:47 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(liew_jls @ Jul 4 2008, 08:24 PM)
it's depends on the company. But usually it might be cover 70% (if you are lucky) of your 4th year tuition fees, don't expect it's going to pay all of your final year tuition fee. Anyway i know there's some university, that you will have risk that you can't get any offer for your sandwich year. this mean when you finish 2nd year, but you can't get any offer from a company. so you will need to straight away go for your final year.
I dont think that is possible unless he is not using any of the money he earned that year.

Like I have calculated, 17k is pretty reasonable for sandwich student, and after tax 12k would be just be enough to cover a year of Engineering course in most uni. but he does have to pay the accommodation and food/living fees for that sandwich year doesnt he?

QUOTE(TBR @ Jul 4 2008, 08:38 PM)
Was quite interested in the 3 years programme(sandwich) that Portsmouth offer for civil engineering. Anyone study at Portsmouth for civil engineering before? If yes whats it like?(any recommendation) Whats the budget i would most likely have to get ready if i were to take up this course?
not sure of the exact fee for that course with Uni of portsmouth, but make it £11k per annum for tuition fee, £7k per 10 months of living fee. that makes £18k per year * 3 years = you £54k for 3 years course. expect £57k including inflation.

as for sandwich year, some uni requires you to pay an amount of tuition fee for that year, usually 1/3 of your tuition fee.
schizophrenic
post Jul 4 2008, 11:08 PM

Tribute to Tun Mohamed Suffian Hashim (1917-2000)
1,645 posts

Anyone applied for a uk visa before?

I wanna know how to show origins of funds.
Thanx.
youngkies
post Jul 5 2008, 01:05 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(schizophrenic @ Jul 4 2008, 11:08 PM)
Anyone applied for a uk visa before?

I wanna know how to show origins of funds.
Thanx.
what visa? visa for what, study, work, working holiday, visitor etc?
schizophrenic
post Jul 5 2008, 01:16 AM

Tribute to Tun Mohamed Suffian Hashim (1917-2000)
1,645 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Jul 5 2008, 01:05 AM)
what visa? visa for what, study, work, working holiday, visitor etc?
i am applying for a prospective student visa but i just wanna know the general information on how to show origins of funds.
FoxNope
post Jul 5 2008, 11:28 AM

571 posts

Hi all UK students,

Just a quick question here.
Just want to know, how much for a sems normally, let said the first year of degree.
WillHung
post Jul 6 2008, 11:48 AM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(FoxNope @ Jul 5 2008, 11:28 AM)
Hi all UK students,

Just a quick question here.
Just want to know, how much for a sems normally, let said the first year of degree.
depends on the course. science courses at a uni outside london cost about £12000/year in tuition fees. medical courses cost about 18000/year, i think non-science courses cost about £7000/year.

FoxNope
post Jul 6 2008, 11:54 AM

571 posts

QUOTE(WillHung @ Jul 6 2008, 11:48 AM)
depends on the course. science courses at a uni outside london cost about £12000/year in tuition fees. medical courses cost about 18000/year, i think non-science courses cost about £7000/year.
12000/Year means 2 Sems?
budak_macho
post Jul 6 2008, 05:37 PM

46 posts

guys

Im a lepasan SPM with 9 A1

I would like to know,

Where is the best place in London to take LLB(Hons)Law full or part time.And what is the expected tuition fee?
(btw I see the South Bank University,izzit good?)

And if I choose part-time,what is the best part time job can I do to cover up my tuition fee throughout my study period?

And I guess after i get my degree thinking to take MBA of Law,so suggest me on tis biggrin.gif

For MARA loan,maximum how much ? biggrin.gif

Btw,international student and local (local UK) fee isnt same rite? biggrin.gif

Thanks and sry for questioning these noob question tongue.gif

and how about acommodation and living there?What is the expected budget annually if I live in rented room tongue.gif

and btw,what is diploma and degree?degree is higher than diploma or same ? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by budak_macho: Jul 6 2008, 05:45 PM
azarimy
post Jul 6 2008, 05:52 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(FoxNope @ Jul 6 2008, 03:54 AM)
12000/Year means 2 Sems?
we use terms terms instead of semester. there are generally 4 terms in a year, but normally only two of those are active terms for studies: autumn and winter. the other two terms, spring and summer, are usually reserved for post grads, extra subjects or something like that. most of the time, spring and summer are holidays.

QUOTE(budak_macho @ Jul 6 2008, 09:37 AM)
guys

Im a lepasan SPM with 9 A1

I would like to know,

Where is the best place in London to take LLB(Hons)Law full or part time.And what is the expected tuition fee?
(btw I see the South Bank University,izzit good?)

And if I choose part-time,what is the best part time job can I do to cover up my tuition fee throughout my study period?

And I guess after i get my degree thinking to take MBA of Law,so suggest me on tis biggrin.gif

For MARA loan,maximum how much ? biggrin.gif

Btw,international student and local (local UK) fee isnt same rite? biggrin.gif

Thanks and sry for questioning these noob question tongue.gif

and how about acommodation and living there?What is the expected budget annually if I live in rented room tongue.gif
u cant do part time studies in the UK, as ur visa will not allow it. fees are usually between GBP9000 to GBP12000 (international students), so assuming u're not spending the money at all, u need a job that pays GBP1000 per month. but if u wanna work, u can only take part time jobs with maximum of 20 hours per week (visa limitations), so i doubt u can actually earn enough to cover ur fees.

in london, expect to pay GBP5200 to GBP6500 per year for a small room. a cosy, intermediate room will cost about GBP7000 to GBP10k per year.
budak_macho
post Jul 6 2008, 06:04 PM

46 posts

ouh ok.
But got work to cover half of the fees also ok.
As I got another half in my bank.
How to apply for scholarship?
And if I have LLB(Hons) after my graduate,what job suitable for me,coz I might work in UK for 1-2 years after graduate to cover my expenses or repay the MARA loan comparing to low salary in Malaysia.
Btw must go matriculation first ah ? biggrin.gif
And what d max value schollarship can cover ? biggrin.gif

Btw for the small room,is it spacy enough to bring 1-2 roommate?So can share the room fee tongue.gif

This post has been edited by budak_macho: Jul 6 2008, 06:06 PM

125 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top

0.0229sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:22 PM