Studying in the UK, Tips, plz

WillHung
post Jul 9 2007, 08:13 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jul 7 2007, 04:33 AM)
my visa took less than 2 weeks, but this was during the less busy weeks, which was in late september, when everybody have already left to study in the UK. i couldnt recall if the officer did ask proof of accommodation, but i do remember i only secured accommodations 2 weeks before i left, which was in december.
I don't think they really require any proof of accommodation. I got my visa straight away even without one. I suppose as long as all other parts of your app look legit.

This post has been edited by WillHung: Jul 9 2007, 08:19 PM
WillHung
post Jul 10 2007, 12:04 AM

really meh?
1,211 posts

I know a guy (Malaysian) who did farmacy and got a job at Boots. He went and continue to do his PhD and last I talked to him, he was already writing up his dissertation, no idea what he's up to now.

But settling in the UK is getting harder by the year.
WillHung
post Jul 13 2007, 03:16 AM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ Jul 12 2007, 11:27 PM)
hey guys, was wondering, i'll be applying for my ucas (medicine ) very soon, im in a dilemma now on which universities to choose.

I'm definitely applying to manchester and aberdeen. any more recommendations (outside london) of universities?

How would bristol sound, in terms of cost of living too, and another would be Hull, i was told has very cheap cost of living.

well thanks for your help guys.
Frankly, for medicine, unless you are hoping to go to Oxford or Cambridge, it really doesn't matter, academically. You might want to consider Leicester, Cardiff, Dundee, Queen's Belfast and Liverpool. These are I think, relatively cheap places with good medical schools. Manchester and Aberdeen are fine as well. Bristol would be quite expensive, but you will be surrounded by posh English students but Hull is cheaper in terms of costs of living.

Added on July 13, 2007, 3:23 am
QUOTE(jasperng @ Jul 12 2007, 09:14 PM)
Will it be easy to get jobs in UK after graduation? esspecially for engineers(E&E)
I mean finding job is not easy even in Malaysia but do they have some sort of prejudice towards foreign graduates? I heard that they treats us Malaysian same as how we treats those foreign workers in our country. Is that true?
Unless you are really good, it's not "easy" to find an E&E job in the UK. They largely prefer local graduates although if you go to a good university, and are resourceful enough to find relevant summer placements and excel in them, you might get a permanent offer upon graduation. But it's twice the battle than it would've been had you been a local English student.

This post has been edited by WillHung: Jul 13 2007, 03:23 AM
WillHung
post Jul 14 2007, 07:57 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(avenus @ Jul 14 2007, 07:36 PM)
actuarial studies..
I think he meant AAA in what A level subjects. or am i wrong?

Added on July 14, 2007, 7:59 pm
QUOTE(azarimy @ Jul 14 2007, 07:00 PM)
lol, careful not to confuse between popularity and how good they actually are.  some of my friends went to manchester for the sole reason of manchester united. it just so happen that univ of manchester is actually very good, but they didnt know about that before applying biggrin.gif.

i'm not saying soton is not good though, just dont confuse urself wink.gif
Local students transfer unis all the time, which i suppose suggests it's not impossible to do, but i don't know what the procedures are for internationals. im not sure if this is helpful lol. why dont you ask the people at the uni you're heading to. good luck with your A levels.

edit: i misquoted. this is meant for avenus.

This post has been edited by WillHung: Jul 14 2007, 08:00 PM
WillHung
post Jul 23 2007, 06:56 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jul 23 2007, 03:19 PM)
usually, most accommodations contract would only let u stay until july. but after that u could apply for other accommodations for another 2 months to finish off ur studies. u see, during the holidays, the accommodations dept are not making any money, so any students who want to rent a room are most welcomed. the contract is set so that it would be the easy to manage.

do check with the accommodations office. worst comes to worst, its quite easy to find people who'd rent a room off their properties for a short lease, especially during summer. a friend of mine in bath was offered a 6 room house for free during the entire summer bcoz the house owner wants to go holidays in africa. and she had the entire spooky house all for herself! p-a-r-t-y!
but staying in uni halls during the summer months (out of term time) can be expensive as hell.
WillHung
post Jul 30 2007, 04:14 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

i think meadowhall is big but it looks quite ugly inside.

trust me, KL have far superior shopping complexes compared to the ones in england.

This post has been edited by WillHung: Jul 30 2007, 04:15 PM
WillHung
post Jul 31 2007, 06:53 AM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(onemilimeter @ Jul 31 2007, 01:23 AM)
In UK, can we access RapidShare? Can we doing 'bit-torrent' downloading? When we reach the UK airport, will the custom check our laptop or CD or DVD?
regarding customs checking your laptop/cd's/dvd's...most likely they won't but they sometimes pick random people to ransack through. as long as you dont go overboard with the pirated stuff, you'll be ok.
WillHung
post Jul 31 2007, 02:44 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(onemilimeter @ Jul 31 2007, 08:57 AM)
Oh they sometimes pick people randomly... Just thinking of burning all e-books downloaded from the internet, as well as some educational software (e.g. MATLAB, etcl... of course not licensed)
nope. don't bother. they wouldn't care about those things. i suppose as long as all your pirated discs can fit into one neat cd case, you're fine. just don't look like you just bought them in bulk with the intention of selling them there.

This post has been edited by WillHung: Jul 31 2007, 02:46 PM
WillHung
post Jul 31 2007, 05:36 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(BotakPrince @ Jul 31 2007, 05:04 PM)
i mean, i dont bring pr0n in but i have pr0n in my laptop..
so what if..they randomly picked me and i am the person who got ransack through..
and they found pr0n in my lappy? (i've hidden the files thou)
They wouldnt care if you've got porn on your laptop, as long as its not child porn or beastiality, seriously.

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jul 31 2007, 05:27 PM)
i dunno.

i've seen a show called "nothing to declare" about australian customs and immigration. they're VERY thorough and detailed. if u've got CD/DVDs, they have facilities to read them. u gotta really encrypt it to escape.

but that's australia.

UK systems is much more... loose, despite whatever they say. heck, 3 out of 10 workers in heathrow airport are illegal immigrants! my tip is: if u wanna come in to heathrow, try and arrive between 2am to 7am. that's the best time.
lol i saw "nothing to declare" as well, quite scary, and malaysians (mostly chinese) regularly make an appearance on there.

i arrived at heathrow at 6am last time and the passport queue was horrendously long. i hate heathrow.

WillHung
post Aug 1 2007, 05:51 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(chipmunk82 @ Aug 1 2007, 02:29 PM)
so if i want to travel to manchester i should not go for MAS yeah?oh my god, i must arrive at manchester..thinking of transit at heathrow, which better?
if you've got a flight that goes straight up to manc, then why not. saves the hassle of a long train ride.
WillHung
post Aug 2 2007, 03:53 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

i dont think it really makes much difference as long as you travel with an established airline. MH, SQ,EK,GF,TG are all ok, depending on your budget.
WillHung
post Aug 2 2007, 04:28 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(lejoant @ Aug 2 2007, 03:58 PM)
but Emirates have to transit at Dubai for quite long right?
yes they do, normally for 3-6 hours. i dont see any problem with a short transit so i dont really mind them.
WillHung
post Aug 2 2007, 09:53 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Aug 2 2007, 06:06 PM)
i've tried sri lankan airlines from heathrow-sri lanka-singapore-KL return. it has a 12 hour transit in sri lanka, where u'll be taken to a 4 star seaside resort, given a hotel room and a huge buffet dinner. and it's all paid in the cheap ticket. pretty awesome deal.

but u cant say much about the flight. crappy seat and inflight entertainment. cabin crew posh semacam and sombong tak kena tempat, u feel like smacking them in the face biggrin.gif. the stopover in singapore is short, about 45 minutes - 1 hour, u dont have to leave the plane.

returning, KLIA-sri lanka-heathrow was the same, but transit about 4 hours, u dont get a resort or anything.
yea i've heard about sri lanka airlines giving you really awesome deals. i know one guy who was put up literally in a seaside bungalow during his 12-hour transit.
WillHung
post Aug 3 2007, 11:31 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(moto-moto @ Aug 3 2007, 07:03 PM)
which of these 2 universities is better in mechanical engineering,liverpool or leeds?
i dont feel there's any real difference between the two academically.
WillHung
post Aug 4 2007, 08:56 AM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(moto-moto @ Aug 3 2007, 11:37 PM)
but guardian uk rated them such a big gap...but times reted them almost the same....how reliable these 2 sorces are? rclxub.gif
No disrespect to Azarimy, both are Russell Group universities, so I would advice you to take whichever is ranked higher OVERALL.

Employers in England do look at these league tables and they tend to favour grads of higher-ranked unis.

WillHung
post Aug 4 2007, 12:26 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Aug 4 2007, 10:20 AM)
wait a tick. russel group universities are a group of universities that work in collaboration and exercise a sort of pooling of resources focusing on research and development. in my understanding, being russel group does not imply that it's better than others, but it simply means they are better funded, especially on the post-grad level.

i'm just taking an example of my course (architecture). the best and most reknowned school is the AA (architecture associate) in london, but it's not even a university, hence it's not in any university ranking whatsoever. i'm pretty sure there are other faculties of other courses similar to this, hence my earlier statement wink.gif.
True that it does not necessarily mean they are better than the rest (some very good unis like York Bath St Andrews aren't part of it) but generally speaking, RG unis are of good or very good quality most due to their status of research universities, where a lot of it trickles down to having great professors and researchers teaching undergrads.

My point was, both are good universities and moto-moto wouldn't go worng with going to either one.

HOWEVER, unless he is absolutely determined to be an engineer or work in the engineering field (in which case he should look at the subject table or even go to good vocational institutions like your AA school in London for those who are determined to be architects), a more prestigious (higher ranked on the OVERALL table) would open more doors compared to a uni which is a lower-ranked overall but might have a higher ranked department compared to the former.

To work in finance in the city for example, they would absolutely prefer engineering grads from higher-ranked unis compared to engineering grads of lower-ranked unis even if the lower-ranked unis are ranked higher in the engineering table.

It all comes down to what moto-moto wishes to do after graduating.

if he is sure he wants to be an engineer ------- look at the mechanical engineering league table
if he is unsure of what he wants to do ---------- look at the overall table and go for the best one you can get into.

hope i made some sense.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/education/graph...MGCFFOAVCBQUIV0

http://education.guardian.co.uk/university...2027789,00.html
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/life_and_...ticle671847.ece

moto-moto check out these links

This post has been edited by WillHung: Aug 4 2007, 12:33 PM
WillHung
post Aug 7 2007, 03:28 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(chipmunk82 @ Aug 6 2007, 11:38 PM)
how about if i want to carry money to UK?is it better i bring cash or put in travellers cheque...becoz i'll bring a lot about 2000pound...is it better for me to carry in cash or Travel cheque? and i heard that we must declare at airport if we bring more than 1000pound nowadays. this is new rules that i know
not a piece of legal advice but i dont think you have to worry if the total amount of money comes up to less than 10000 euros (6k pounds)...but i dont know what the regulations are for malaysian customs.

http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/TravelAndTrans...ravel/DG_067895
WillHung
post Sep 16 2007, 08:42 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(moto-moto @ Sep 16 2007, 04:22 PM)
Hey,how is the student visa application works?let say after i get the number and then go to the counter,what will the officer do,check everything of my documents in front of me?or just give them all the thing then that's all?
the officer will check to see if everything's ok. if something's wrong he'll tell you what to do. if everything's in order, you pay and get a receipt that you need to show when you come to collect your passport once its ready. before you leave they will call you to collect your fingerprint, and then off you go.

Added on September 16, 2007, 8:45 pm
QUOTE(Gaza @ Sep 16 2007, 09:20 AM)
Lol @ broadband!

I just reached UK 2 nights ago, staying at my bro's place till Monday before heading off to Bristol. Tried to get a phone, they said i needed a bank account. Wanted to open a bank account, they said needed letter from uni and all that bla bla bla. I'll only get that letter during orientation on 19th i think, so worse comes to the worse i'll have to ask them to charge it to my bro's account.

Hmm, heard this coming weekend will be internation welcome weekend, followed by freshers weekend which is nights full of music and clubbing in the local union bars. wonder how good the union bars are, but they shouldn't be too shabby i suppose.
its best you open the account at the branch on/nearest to your campus.

you can ask for "letter of enrolment" from the uni, and once you have that, the rest is a snap.

This post has been edited by WillHung: Sep 16 2007, 08:45 PM
WillHung
post Sep 16 2007, 11:38 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Sep 16 2007, 09:11 PM)
GBP500 should be enough for the basics - rent, bills, foods, facilities, learning. entertainments such as arcade games, clubbing, cinemas, bowlings etc might require more, unless u cut down on the others.

cheap food is relative to what u wanna get and where u get them. stores like lidl or aldi sell extremely cheap stuffs, but usually the quality's questionable. but u could get fresh bread for GBP 0.20 each. i cant find gardenia, but good quality bread hardly costs more than GBP2. most of the foodstuff here are about the same price in malaysia even after conversion, so u should be able to survive. but cooked/preparred foods are quite expensive. ala carte dishes at a decent restaurant could easily cost u GBP8-12, compared to cooking urself, which can cost about GBP1-2 per meal.

arcade games are about GBP 0.50 - 1.00.
well at asda you can get a loaf of bread for 19p. hehe.
WillHung
post Sep 17 2007, 12:55 AM

really meh?
1,211 posts

ok i have a bit of english money on me and i have a UK bank account. im currently in malaysia but returning to england soon.

does that mean i cannot go to an hsbc branch here in KL and deposit my money to go into my UK hsbc account (without any charge hopefully)?

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0619sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:53 PM