125 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Studying in the UK, Tips, plz

kelvinbongcn
post Aug 8 2006, 11:54 AM

189 posts

i've checked, Emirates can give student 30kg. this is what my college agent told me, is that true?

And because i'm from kuching, so from KCH to KLIA my agent tell me just tell them that i'm a student when check in then they will allow me to bring 30kg stuffs without additional charge. (no need to apply in advance)

so i wish to confirm here is--- is this really fine to just do like this. i worry if they suddenly say cannot then i'll "Kelam-Kabut" during check in. thanks if anyone can provide the information about this
goliath
post Aug 8 2006, 11:54 AM

5,532 posts

QUOTE(kelvinbongcn @ Aug 8 2006, 11:31 AM)
ya this thing i also heard also... not sure how actually
Every district or should I say everywhere suffers this problem. It is the matter of how intensified is it. As I said earlier, as long as you are extra carefully and stay out of trouble, then you are safe.

This post has been edited by goliath: Aug 8 2006, 11:56 AM
Geminist
post Aug 8 2006, 04:01 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

Please leave casual chatters out, if this goes on, this topic will be moved to kopitiam smile.gif
TSSilent_scream
post Aug 8 2006, 10:19 PM

147 posts

PLZZZ don't move this to Kopitiam. I created this thread to get useful tips and advice. If it's at Kopitiam, it will be filled with chatter.

Anywayz, back to excess baggage. kelvinbongcn, u better check with the person whom u bought the tickets from or try to call up the airline itself. I'm quite sure u've to apply for the extra kgs
felixwhoals
post Aug 8 2006, 10:38 PM

455 posts

for extra baggages, usually KLM n MAS will give 30kg allowance for students if you buy Return tickets. I'm sure it applies to single ticket as well.
However, for other airlines such as SIA, you need to request from them to get an xtra allowance.
I bought my ticket from STA travel and they requested for me.
Emirates allow 30kg allowance as well - I have a few friends who bought their tickets from KL to Birmingham.
jiaxuan
post Aug 9 2006, 12:14 AM

27 posts

I'm flying with Thai Airways. oh my god... i have to check with them if i can bring 30kgs.. cry.gif cry.gif

Is there anything "wrong" if I buy a mobile phone package from tesco? everyone was asking me why would i wanna buy it from TESCO. blink.gif blink.gif

This post has been edited by jiaxuan: Aug 9 2006, 12:15 AM
chamelion
post Aug 9 2006, 12:19 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

QUOTE(jiaxuan @ Aug 9 2006, 12:14 AM)
Is there anything "wrong" if I buy a mobile phone package from tesco? everyone was asking me why would i wanna buy it from TESCO. blink.gif  blink.gif
Dont decide yet, cause if you look around, there is actually lobang for phone.

last time when i was there, i manage to buy 10 nokia 8210 (this was woot during my time yawn.gif ) for 10 pound each cause there is a glitch in the contract. laugh.gif

Ask around 1st before signing contract cause some need to sign 24 months.
jiaxuan
post Aug 9 2006, 12:22 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(chamelion @ Aug 9 2006, 12:19 AM)
Dont decide yet, cause if you look around, there is actually lobang for phone.

last time when i was there, i manage to buy 10 nokia 8210 (this was woot during my time  yawn.gif ) for 10 pound each cause there is a glitch in the contract.  laugh.gif

Ask around 1st before signing contract cause some need to sign 24 months.
wow!! how did you do THAT? 10 for 10 pounds EACH?! wow....!! good eye sight. tongue.gif and i don't think i'm going to be THAT smart ! really!
blush.gif

so, i suppose i not getting my UK number within the first 2 days i arrive right?
feynman
post Aug 9 2006, 12:26 AM

4,781 posts

Cathay Pacific, 62kg.
chamelion
post Aug 9 2006, 12:31 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

QUOTE(jiaxuan @ Aug 9 2006, 12:22 AM)
wow!! how did you do THAT? 10 for 10 pounds EACH?! wow....!! good eye sight. tongue.gif and i don't think i'm going to be THAT smart ! really!
blush.gif

so, i suppose i not getting my UK number within the first 2 days i arrive right?
Depend your uni arrangement la.

When i arrive my dept head give me 5 pound phone card to call home at airport.

Phone is activated immeadiate (2 hours to activate), all sim card come with 10 pound free prepaid so you can start calling already.

But norm we use IDD card la cause very cheap compare to direct line.
ShadowSoft
post Aug 9 2006, 12:43 AM

QUOTE(kelvinbongcn @ Aug 8 2006, 11:31 AM)
Wow friend me too and same course as you. hee... we will become classmate soon. ya this thing i also heard also... not sure how actually
waa, good, very good. see u there soon.

azarimy
post Aug 9 2006, 12:49 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

when u arrive, drop by any phone shop and just get a prepaid simcard. here they call it pay-as-u-go. it's around GBP 5-7 and comes with GBP 5-10 credits depending on offer. u can activate it immediately.

some contracts (pay monthly) require at least a bank statement or any bills to get approved coz they need to confirm ur address. so it might be awhile before u can have ur new phone+contract.

i use landline to call home. here's a website that i use for cheap calls: http://www.dialaround.co.uk

costs 1p per minute to call msian land line, or 2p per minute for mobile phones. that's about RM 8.40 per hour to call msian mobile. ok what. even cheaper than msian rates.
jiaxuan
post Aug 9 2006, 12:54 AM

27 posts

actually i never plan to call home frequently, gonna use internet more - email or skype.

so which is the better for sms-ing home? pay as u go or monthly contract? or it doesn't matter as long as i don't call?

btw, i read that o2 monthly contract users can call back to malaysia for free. do they still provide this service now?

This post has been edited by jiaxuan: Aug 9 2006, 12:55 AM
chamelion
post Aug 9 2006, 01:04 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

QUOTE(jiaxuan @ Aug 9 2006, 12:54 AM)
actually i never plan to call home frequently, gonna use internet more - email or skype.

so which is the better for sms-ing home? pay as u go or monthly contract? or it doesn't matter as long as i don't call?

btw, i read that o2 monthly contract users can call back to malaysia for free. do they still provide this service now?
Then no need cause most uni have fast line. Can just use uni's.

Last time my uni got about 600-800 pc spread around the campus so getting an un-occupy terminal is not an issue.

My uni block the whole hostel netwrok cause we were abusing the net laugh.gif

We were also play with fire-siren when nbtd laugh.gif still have my pic taken next to the fire truck...

This post has been edited by chamelion: Aug 9 2006, 01:05 AM
azarimy
post Aug 9 2006, 01:05 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

well, monthly contract has a fixed minimum monthly rental. let's just take for example GBP15 a month. included are free 500sms, 500minutes 50video msg etc. if u just use for sms, that's about 33p per sms to msia. pay as u go is 20p per sms to msia (international).

so just try and get a good deal that'll give u cheap rental but maximum sms. if not, use pay as u go aje.
chamelion
post Aug 9 2006, 01:08 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

Btw, if even you dont smoke, remember to buy 2 carton of common brand ciggy to there. After 2-3 months, can earn you some fish and chips by selling to your course mate.

This post has been edited by chamelion: Aug 9 2006, 01:11 AM
jiaxuan
post Aug 9 2006, 01:28 AM

27 posts

haha. yea, i know Unis provide fast lines but u c, my parents arent' like me, 24/7 online. haha! so sumtimes still have to SMS them to remind them they still have a wicked daughter in england.. tongue.gif

play with fire siren? wa.. so naughty! lolz. post up the pic!

thanks azarimy for doing the calculations for me!! so i guess i'll just need to get a pay as u go! -- still at tesco? lolz. ok just for the 1st few months (if the balance can tahan for so long). i'll watch out for diff deals as well and see which plan is more suitable for me. smile.gif

wow..ciggy become fish and chips. doesnt sound bad at all. tongue.gif
so you've tried that b4?
Geminist
post Aug 9 2006, 01:32 AM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

Do avoid derailing too much okay?

I'm getting more inclined to move this topic to kopitiam whenever I read the updated posts sad.gif
Unbelievable
post Aug 9 2006, 02:09 AM

311 posts

but why move..very the good info for potential student..if move kopitiam sure gone quickly
goliath
post Aug 9 2006, 10:15 AM

5,532 posts

QUOTE(jiaxuan @ Aug 9 2006, 01:28 AM)
haha. yea, i know Unis provide fast lines but u c, my parents arent' like me, 24/7 online. haha! so sumtimes still have to SMS them to remind them they still have a wicked daughter in england.. tongue.gif

play with fire siren? wa.. so naughty! lolz. post up the pic!

thanks azarimy for doing the calculations for me!! so i guess i'll just need to get a pay as u go! -- still at tesco? lolz. ok just for the 1st few months (if the balance can tahan for so long). i'll watch out for diff deals as well and see which plan is more suitable for me. smile.gif

wow..ciggy become fish and chips. doesnt sound bad at all. tongue.gif
so you've tried that b4?
Technically, international students are not supposed to register a mobile line. They could only use pre-paid ("pay as you go") line. As you can see in their registration from (regardless whether it is O2, Vodafone or 3G etc), there is a column indicating the duration you have stayed in UK. You have to stay there for at least 2~3 years to be eligible for a "pay monthly" mobile line. But somehow, those sales assistants will make you eligible for it.

It is not necessary to buy from Tesco outlet. You could get it from Vodafone, O2, T-Mobile etc shops. Checkout their rates (post paid and pre-paid) before deciding one. Please note that the rates for pre-paid line would be expensive compare to "pay monthly" line (something similar like Malaysia's pre-paid line and postpaid line.). If you think you use at least 15 a monthly, I would suggest you to go for postpaid line. For the 1st month or so after you have arrived there, why not bringing your line together with you. Apply for International Roaming. I know it is expensive but at least it save you the hassle to hunt for a prepaid line. The first and second week will be quite hectic because you shop for groceries, registration for university, introduction week and stuff like that. It takes around 2 weeks to settle down.

There are plenty of IDD cards sold over there, which can be used to call back Malaysia from a landline, mobile line or phone booth. I have tried Telco Asia. It is quite good. But not as cheap as azarimy;s suggested website.

QUOTE(Unbelievable @ Aug 9 2006, 02:09 AM)
but why move..very the good info for potential student..if move kopitiam sure gone quickly
Take a look below for an example. Geminist warned about it but he still post irrelevant stuff like below.
QUOTE(ShadowSoft @ Aug 9 2006, 12:43 AM)
waa, good, very good. see u there soon.
This post has been edited by goliath: Aug 9 2006, 10:21 AM

125 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0192sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:34 PM