Sony Xperia Z / ZL Official V~10 Thread, JB 4.3 & KitKat 4.4 It`s Comming Yo

typicalyssa
post Feb 25 2014, 12:10 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(NXaqua @ Feb 24 2014, 09:14 PM)
Hi guys,

Whenever I type a text or whatsapp, certain alphabet with a marking will appear if we press slightly longer. Example alphabet like đ or à.

However alphabet like m or q does not have such marking.

Is there anyway we can disable it as it's creating havoc with my password.

Thanks in advance.
Go to Settings > Language & Input > "Xperia Keyboard*" settings > Symbols and smileys > disable "Symbols on long press"

* Select your default keyboard.
sam.hajime
post Feb 25 2014, 01:38 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Feb 24 2014, 10:42 PM)
that one is kernel related.

most likely it'll be in 4.4.2

4.3 and below doesnt have this..

if u really need it u may try a custom kernel, which means u have to unlock ur bootloader..
Hopefully that will come wt kitkat...barulah relax bersama kit kat hehe..coz I read somewhere that function already built in juz Sony didnt want to enable it..
mcchin
post Feb 25 2014, 09:16 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(russell612 @ Feb 24 2014, 07:57 PM)
Is it normal if the battery decreases while using and charging? That is quite unusual. Does the battery needs to warm up before it becomes normal? Need help
the problem with this phone is that the design causes too much heat

case point,

I use the phone as a car camera recorder
(https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.dailyroads.v&hl=en)
By setting the background recording, the display is turn off, thus saving more batt
the phone is always connected to a powerbank @1A
because the location of the phone on my dashboard is away from the aircon holes, and sometimes directly under the sun sometimes, the phone does heat up
and when heat up the charging slows down or halted
I have to make a deflection from the aircon hole to the phone to cool it down and thus the charging resume

case point 2
I use the phone mainly for browsing, and on wifi, the phone does heat up
I did use a heatsink to cool the back, and this somewhat helps
(but not fun holding a block of copper to the phones back)
even when the charger is able to go 1.5A, whenever the phone heats too much the charging stops
this is normal for the safety of the unit

one way to alleviate the problem is to use a modified firmware with a processor speed control, like existenz version
this helps cause at even @ fixed 385Mhz the phone is still usable to browse and run games such as The Simpson Tapped out (normal speed 384~1512Mhz)
At this low speed, the heat generation as well as power used is lower, thus the charging can resume while in use
even more extreme is to use firmwares with modified kernel (unlocking bootloader required)
and to set low voltage to certain speeds
some people are even able to get 7 hrs of screen on time with these kind of mods

TLDR : Control the heat, you can control batt charging and life
ChuanHong
post Feb 25 2014, 04:07 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

after waiting more than 1months on waiting the spare part for my faulty proximity sensor.. then im lost my patient and complaints to sony on sunday night 23/2.. yesterday 24/2 sony reply to me and apologise and will take action on my case.. today received call from service centre that my handset is ready to repair.. do appointment on saturday for few hours to fix my phone on the spot..

Galaxy_Nexus
post Feb 25 2014, 05:49 PM

323 posts

guys, my xperia z edge frame at the middle part cracked! and i dont know why it will crack and now causing my phone curve, but luckily my screen didn't crack on both side! one question, can this be claimable from sony's side? i did not drop or press on it before, just realized it by today when i talk to my customer.
soonlee33
post Feb 25 2014, 06:16 PM

2,677 posts

Any one updated the latest firmware ?
B.0.101
Andrew_1980
post Feb 25 2014, 06:21 PM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(Galaxy_Nexus @ Feb 25 2014, 05:49 PM)
guys, my xperia z edge frame at the middle part cracked! and i dont know why it will crack and now causing my phone curve, but luckily my screen didn't crack on both side! one question, can this be claimable from sony's side? i did not drop or press on it before, just realized it by today when i talk to my customer.
Photo please? Not very understand your phone cracks
kairule89
post Feb 25 2014, 07:19 PM

17 posts

just sharing..
last month i sent my xperia z for repair.

first i notice that sometime i cannot hear what the other person on the phone is saying. i thought line problem but , after asking people around me and calling my service provider, seems like i am the only one having the problem. it become more frequent after some time. confirm the internal speaker is faulty when i can hear using loudspeaker during call. still work sometime after restart and light knock on the phone back. rclxub.gif

but i didn't send my phone for repair asap as i got no time and i know it will take long time . then another problem arise, my phone reception become poor. keep losing signal, and become worst the next day. can only receive signal when i move close enough to communication tower. of course my phone become hot and battery drain become super fast because its trying hard to get connection.

then only i send my phone for repair and it took me 6 weeks to receive it back. i hope no more problem after this, my warranty only left 2 weeks. cry.gif
CAC@MBO
post Feb 25 2014, 07:38 PM

1,461 posts

god. Z2 released. =w= (within 2 years, 3 flagships phone dy)
with all features we(maybe not all) always wanted.
5.2' IPS (not TFT liao. LOL) , dual front speakers, camera software(4k, timeshift video),
and etc etc software things.
But my Xperia Z still have 3 years++ warranty.
I'll wait for Z4 or Z5. haha
Z2 kinda all I want, but we all know Sony phone capture "so so" image, still waiting for better image algorithem/software implement by them. wait lo wait lo ~
who want new sony phone, Z2 coming liao. Haha
Andrew_1980
post Feb 25 2014, 07:42 PM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(CAC@MBO @ Feb 25 2014, 07:38 PM)
5.2' IPS (not TFT liao. LOL) , dual front speakers, camera software(4k, timeshift video),
Z2 kinda all I want, but we all know Sony phone capture "so so" image, still waiting for better image algorithem/software implement by them. wait lo wait lo ~
Its same size compare to my note 3 haha, maybe skip it as I don't need same grade phone

This post has been edited by Andrew_1980: Feb 25 2014, 07:42 PM
ryanice8888
post Feb 25 2014, 07:48 PM

204 posts

i have to let go xperia z though, cos z2 is the perfect package leh. battery life, camera, screen on our Z is terrible. I get like 4-5 Screen on time max, on stock rom. only 3 hours SoT with 3g.

and how come ur xperia z got 3 years warranty geh
ryosuke
post Feb 25 2014, 08:18 PM

1,142 posts

QUOTE(kairule89 @ Feb 25 2014, 07:19 PM)
just sharing..

first i notice that sometime i cannot hear what the other person on the phone is saying. i thought line problem but , after asking people around me and calling my service provider, seems like i am the only one having the problem. it become more frequent after some time. confirm the internal speaker is faulty when i can hear using loudspeaker during call. still work sometime after restart and light knock on the phone back.  rclxub.gif

but i didn't send my phone for repair asap as i got no time and i know it will take long time . then another problem arise, my phone reception become poor. keep losing signal, and become worst the next day. can only receive signal when i move close enough to communication tower. of course my phone become hot and battery drain become super fast because its trying hard to get connection.

then only i send my phone for repair and it took me 6 weeks to receive it back. i hope no more problem after this, my warranty only left 2 weeks.  cry.gif
I have the same problem. 6 weeks omg doh.gif
CAC@MBO
post Feb 25 2014, 08:56 PM

1,461 posts

QUOTE(ryanice8888 @ Feb 25 2014, 07:48 PM)
i have to let go xperia z though, cos z2 is the perfect package leh. battery life, camera, screen on our Z is terrible. I get like 4-5 Screen on time max, on stock rom. only 3 hours SoT with 3g.

and how come ur xperia z got 3 years warranty geh
i got total 4 years since last April i bought, 1+SenQ 1year + additional 2 years. total 4. haha tongue.gif
Galaxy_Nexus
post Feb 25 2014, 10:28 PM

323 posts

hereI
There you go guys, any idea how to claim Sony?no drop or press on it before T_T
If can't claim how much will it be?

teikboon
post Feb 25 2014, 10:41 PM

1,384 posts

QUOTE(Galaxy_Nexus @ Feb 25 2014, 10:28 PM)
hereI
There you go guys, any idea how to claim Sony?no drop or press on it before T_T
If can't claim how much will it be?
just try ask 1st. any problem with water proof?
((Xa))0102
post Feb 25 2014, 10:59 PM

兩支湯匙         一個碗
2,553 posts

QUOTE(kairule89 @ Feb 25 2014, 07:19 PM)
just sharing..

first i notice that sometime i cannot hear what the other person on the phone is saying. i thought line problem but , after asking people around me and calling my service provider, seems like i am the only one having the problem. it become more frequent after some time. confirm the internal speaker is faulty when i can hear using loudspeaker during call. still work sometime after restart and light knock on the phone back.  rclxub.gif

then only i send my phone for repair and it took me 6 weeks to receive it back. i hope no more problem after this, my warranty only left 2 weeks.  cry.gif
Seems like Sony is not as efficient as I thought too
delsoo
post Feb 25 2014, 11:00 PM

3,187 posts

why ur phone gt 3 yrs warranty?? z2 is awesome! Sony is making a great move again!
Galaxy_Nexus
post Feb 26 2014, 08:02 AM

323 posts

QUOTE(teikboon @ Feb 25 2014, 10:41 PM)
just try ask 1st. any problem with water proof?
I never put my phone into water before @@
mcchin
post Feb 26 2014, 11:23 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(Galaxy_Nexus @ Feb 26 2014, 08:02 AM)
I never put my phone into water before @@
I wouldn't put it in the water
what you have there is the polyamide frame cracked

And afaik
any company cannot honour this as manufacturing defect
they will see this as user issue

you can try to say your innocents
but i can bet on them saying, this is cause by mis-use

and to change the frame, is virtually take the whole unit apart and put back in to another frame,
which I dont see being cheap
teikboon
post Feb 26 2014, 11:52 AM

1,384 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Feb 26 2014, 11:23 AM)
I wouldn't put it in the water
what you have there is the polyamide frame cracked

And afaik
any company cannot honour this as manufacturing defect
they will see this as user issue

you can try to say your innocents
but i can bet on them saying, this is cause by mis-use

and to change the frame, is virtually take the whole unit apart and put back in to another frame,
which I dont see being cheap
get a casing or bumper to cover it up?

129 Pages « < 122 123 124 125 126 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:00 PM