126 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Bottom

Alienware Mothership V11, Intruder alert!

azamalin
post Apr 4 2015, 11:40 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 4 2015, 11:28 PM)
gtx 880m?
yes gtx 880m, i dont think its normal temperature reach 89c. dell just changed my gpu, heatsink and the fan.
azamalin
post Apr 4 2015, 11:49 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(e_mc_square @ Apr 4 2015, 09:34 PM)
is your bios is already latest version?
yes A14 bios, alienware 17
myway1985
post Apr 5 2015, 12:20 AM

12,086 posts

QUOTE(azamalin @ Apr 4 2015, 11:40 PM)
yes gtx 880m, i dont think its normal temperature reach 89c. dell just changed my gpu, heatsink and the fan.
sry to tell u ur problem got no permanent solution... haha

gtx 880m problem.. not mobo issue... dell technical ppl told me
kang91
post Apr 8 2015, 10:45 PM

guys...some stupid question to ask tongue.gif

i planing to upgrade my ram
but i duno how to choose....
what is CL9 CL10 CL11 ??? what is that ?? hhehe sorry i really duno what is that for..
which 1 better?1600mhz or 1866mhz for gaming only???
suggest for brand? kingston hyperX or corsair vengeance??
should i straight away upgrade to 32gb or 16gb? only for gaming

and which SSD best ? how about sandisk extreme pro?

lol sorry about my poor english T_T
e_mc_square
post Apr 8 2015, 10:46 PM

768 posts

QUOTE(kang91 @ Apr 8 2015, 10:45 PM)

what is CL9 CL10 CL11 ??? what is that ?? hhehe sorry i really duno what is that for..

What model you own?
kang91
post Apr 8 2015, 10:59 PM

QUOTE(e_mc_square @ Apr 8 2015, 10:46 PM)
What model you own?
alienware 18
e_mc_square
post Apr 8 2015, 11:05 PM

768 posts

QUOTE(kang91 @ Apr 8 2015, 10:59 PM)
alienware 18
As you emphasis "Gaming ONLY"
8 GB is more than enough for gaming. biggrin.gif
kang91
post Apr 8 2015, 11:15 PM

QUOTE(e_mc_square @ Apr 8 2015, 11:05 PM)
As you emphasis "Gaming ONLY"
8 GB is more than enough for gaming. biggrin.gif
oic lol
Thanks for answering xD
Jayi
post Apr 8 2015, 11:41 PM

Regular Lurker
985 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 5 2015, 12:20 AM)
sry to tell u ur problem got no permanent solution... haha

gtx 880m problem.. not mobo issue... dell technical ppl told me
hmm.gif for this kind of case, possible to blame the issue to Dell?
myway1985
post Apr 9 2015, 12:50 AM

12,086 posts

QUOTE(Jayi @ Apr 8 2015, 11:41 PM)
hmm.gif  for this kind of case, possible to blame the issue to Dell?
yes n no.. dell dint properly design the casing but generally gtx 880m is hot in all machine... so far no heard good thing from tat card... gtx 880m i heard design for sli only
horns
post Apr 9 2015, 10:44 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(kang91 @ Apr 8 2015, 10:45 PM)

the only upgrade that you can feel the difference is using ssd as boot, software, and game drives.

for sata ssd, currently samsung 850 pro should be one of the best. get 512gb or larger for single drives, or make a raid0 with 2x or more smaller drives (like much cheaper liteon s900 256gb). sandisk extreme pro should be ok also.

cl9, cl10, cl11 are memory timings. 1600mhz is memory clock speed. you can go for smaller timing, higher clocks if you want to, but i don't think you can feel the differences between normal and performance ram. you can check out brands like g.skill and crucial also.

as for the ram size, if possible go for full 32gb, then use the excess for system optimizations (ram-based caching for ssd/hdd, ramdisk, etc.). try it out then compare it to the same system without such optimizations. the pagefile can be set to small ones (like 200mb min to 1gb max) to save space. (it's likely that this system file will never be used but just make sure it's there. until now i still have some systems running 0 pagefile without issues)
Jayi
post Apr 9 2015, 11:57 AM

Regular Lurker
985 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 9 2015, 12:50 AM)
yes n no.. dell dint properly design the casing but generally gtx 880m is hot in all machine... so far no heard good thing from tat card... gtx 880m i heard design for sli only
if that's the reason, I dont think Dell can do anything except keep replacing the heatsink fan etc sweat.gif
probably request to replace with other gc?
kang91
post Apr 9 2015, 12:53 PM

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 9 2015, 10:44 AM)
the only upgrade that you can feel the difference is using ssd as boot, software, and game drives.

for sata ssd, currently samsung 850 pro should be one of the best. get 512gb or larger for single drives, or make a raid0 with 2x or more smaller drives (like much cheaper liteon s900 256gb). sandisk extreme pro should be ok also.

cl9, cl10, cl11 are memory timings. 1600mhz is memory clock speed. you can go for smaller timing, higher clocks if you want to, but i don't think you can feel the differences between normal and performance ram. you can check out brands like g.skill and crucial also.

as for the ram size, if possible go for full 32gb, then use the excess for system optimizations (ram-based caching for ssd/hdd, ramdisk, etc.). try it out then compare it to the same system without such optimizations. the pagefile can be set to small ones (like 200mb min to 1gb max) to save space. (it's likely that this system file will never be used but just make sure it's there. until now i still have some systems running 0 pagefile without issues)
okay
for sata ssd i just unplug my current hhd then plug new ssd only??? do i need to backup or do something before upgrade??
horns
post Apr 9 2015, 01:11 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(kang91 @ Apr 9 2015, 12:53 PM)
okay
for sata ssd i just unplug my current hhd then plug new ssd only??? do i need to backup or do something before upgrade??
because there is nothing in the new ssd, of course you need to do something to make it bootable. the easiest way is to do a clean os install. to do that you need windows install media and grab drivers from dell support site. alternatively you can clone or create a system image based on your current system and perform system restore in the new ssd.

always keep the stock hdd intact before you confirmed everything is working.
kang91
post Apr 9 2015, 01:16 PM

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 9 2015, 01:11 PM)
because there is nothing in the new ssd, of course you need to do something to make it bootable. the easiest way is to do a clean os install. to do that you need windows install media and grab drivers from dell support site. alternatively you can clone or create a system image based on your current system and perform system restore in the new ssd.

always keep the stock hdd intact before you confirmed everything is working.
can i done it with alienware respawn???? backup from hhd then restore on ssd
horns
post Apr 9 2015, 01:19 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(kang91 @ Apr 9 2015, 01:16 PM)
can i done it with alienware respawn???? backup from hhd then restore on ssd
yes you can. i never used that before.
kang91
post Apr 9 2015, 01:26 PM

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 9 2015, 01:19 PM)
yes you can. i never used that before.
oh right! thanks bro
horns
post Apr 9 2015, 01:31 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(kang91 @ Apr 9 2015, 01:26 PM)
oh right! thanks bro
No problemo smile.gif
rihuhs
post Apr 9 2015, 02:01 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 9 2015, 10:44 AM)

noting this for future reference thumbup.gif
myway1985
post Apr 9 2015, 02:29 PM

12,086 posts

QUOTE(Jayi @ Apr 9 2015, 11:57 AM)
if that's the reason, I dont think Dell can do anything except keep replacing the heatsink fan etc  sweat.gif
probably request to replace with other gc?
I dun think they will replace other GC.. u should ask sifu horns n lubang king e_mc_square, Mc_square got jalan to dispose n bring in Alienware gc

126 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:54 AM