128 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestions Thread V4

Minecrafter
post Feb 17 2014, 08:31 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(euphoriaa @ Feb 17 2014, 08:28 PM)
Why Intel Xeon E1230 V3 3.3Ghz if I may ask? Almost the same performance?
Mostly Dota 2.  sweat.gif
Is the Sapphire R9 280X Toxic 3GB GDDR5 more value for money than the 290 Tri-X's? Since its just around Rm200 difference.

My budget from 3.5-4k.

notworthy.gif
Intel Xeon E1230 V3 is a i7 in disguise..only .1Ghz slower and no iGPU.. brows.gif
The price difference is 400... sweat.gif
zhen^wei
post Feb 17 2014, 08:55 PM

4,057 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Feb 17 2014, 08:31 PM)
Intel Xeon E1230 V3 is a i7 in disguise..only .1Ghz slower and no iGPU.. brows.gif
The price difference is 400... sweat.gif
I7 4770 RM9xx
Xeon E3 1230V3 RM8xx

no RM400 differnet la.
Minecrafter
post Feb 17 2014, 08:58 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Feb 17 2014, 08:55 PM)
I7 4770 RM9xx
Xeon E3 1230V3 RM8xx

no RM400 differnet la.
The price difference is about the 280X and 290 GPU la. laugh.gif
Well i guess i should say it more clearly... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Feb 17 2014, 08:59 PM
zhen^wei
post Feb 17 2014, 08:59 PM

4,057 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Feb 17 2014, 08:58 PM)
The price difference is the 280X and 290 GPU la. laugh.gif
icic.

due to shortage, i think R9 280x price almost like R9 290 now.
Minecrafter
post Feb 17 2014, 09:01 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Feb 17 2014, 08:59 PM)
icic.

due to shortage, i think R9 280x price almost like R9 290 now.
R9 280X Toxic price difference with MSI R9 290 Gaming are only RM150-225 if i'm correct.. yawn.gif
euphoriaa
post Feb 17 2014, 09:03 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Feb 17 2014, 09:01 PM)
R9 280X Toxic price difference with MSI R9 290 Gaming are only RM150-225 if i'm correct.. yawn.gif
so worth to get MSI R9 290 instead right? laugh.gif
Minecrafter
post Feb 17 2014, 09:44 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(euphoriaa @ Feb 17 2014, 09:03 PM)
so worth to get MSI R9 290 instead right? laugh.gif
It's not the card you would take if u are OCIng it too,cause i heard it has overheating VRM...ask @chocobo7779 for more info,not sure where did he know about it,that's why. tongue.gif

P.S.Ask him in a message,since i dunno how to tag him,he might not see this..

Sentinel92
post Feb 17 2014, 10:38 PM

20000% Chinaman Certified Discount Hunter.
3,573 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Feb 17 2014, 09:44 PM)
It's not the card you would take if u are OCIng it too,cause i heard it has overheating VRM...ask @chocobo7779 for more info,not sure where did he know about it,that's why. tongue.gif

P.S.Ask him in a message,since i dunno how to tag him,he might not see this..
chocobo7779, thou art summoned for thy expertise. rclxms.gif

chocobo7779
post Feb 17 2014, 10:43 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,674 posts

QUOTE(Chew Yongxian @ Feb 17 2014, 10:38 PM)
chocobo7779, thou art summoned for thy expertise.  rclxms.gif
Not sure but according the someone at Anandtech...
http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2364119

Also, he pointed out the MSI one is essentially a downgraded version of the reference R9 290. sweat.gif
Sentinel92
post Feb 17 2014, 10:47 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Feb 17 2014, 10:43 PM)
Not sure but according the someone at Anandtech...
http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2364119

Also, he pointed out the MSI one is essentially a downgraded version of the reference R9 290. sweat.gif
Maybe to reserve the throne for its lightning series? I know it did a Lightning run for both the GTX780 and GTX770. So maybe they will release 290 Lightning/290X Lightning variants?

Which apon reflection sounds. drool.gif drool.gif

Edit: if you leave it at stock then yes its almost like a reference 290, but I guess OCing is The key to getting the max out of it seeing you can do so with a better cooler
http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews/gpu_dis...gaming_review/1

This post has been edited by Chew Yongxian: Feb 17 2014, 11:13 PM
spadecrew
post Feb 17 2014, 11:03 PM

154 posts

hi there..its been years since i last upgraded my rig...now i have some fund to setup a new gaming rig..here goes...

Budget = rm3.5k

Purpose = gaming

hardwares re-use =psu cooler master real power pro 750watts//HDD WD Black Caviar 1tera+WD 160 gb

Monitor res =currently using 20" 1600x900...may upgrade to 1080res later on(not included in the budget)

Games and Software =call of duty//battle field//crysis//etc2

Personal Preferences =amd gc
jimhorn
post Feb 17 2014, 11:38 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Feb 17 2014, 07:20 PM)
That casing silent if i'm correct.
Btw,why is the 280X Toxic's price is at RM1549?Normally around 1250-1350.. sweat.gif

CPU:Intel Core i5 4440 3.1Ghz RM579
MOBO:Asrock H87 Pro4 RM319
GPU:Sapphire R9 280X Toxic 3GB GDDR5 RM1299
RAM:Corsair 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RM239
HDD:WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM189
PSU:Seasonic S12II 80+ Bronze 620W RM299
Casing:NZXT H230 RM215
SSD:Samsung 840 Evo 500GB RM1189
Total:RM4328
Casing from IdealTech,the rest from Viewnet. smile.gif
Are u sure is that the 280X Toxic?Seems like 290 price.. tongue.gif
So sorry the GPU is indeed supposed to be a Powercolor R9 290 PCS+ RM1549 from feiton.
Can revise the suggestion from there again? Terribly sorry

Also, I suppose a 128GB SSD for OS is enough. 500GB seems like overkill lol.
Is there a need for a K version Intel CPU if I don't intend to OC?

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Feb 17 2014, 08:23 PM)
Change CPU to Intel Xeon E1230 V3 3.3Ghz RM779.
Are you gonna only play Dota 2 with your new rig? tongue.gif
And the 290X Tri-X doesn't cost RM1699,cause that price is 290 Tri-X's. tongue.gif
You can just get Sapphire R9 280X Toxic 3GB GDDR5 RM1299,and get an SSD.. brows.gif
Samsung 840 Evo 120GB RM329 icon_idea.gif
But is 4K your budget?
Yeah, 4k but can make adjustments for up to 4.5k smile.gif

This post has been edited by jimhorn: Feb 17 2014, 11:39 PM
Minecrafter
post Feb 17 2014, 11:47 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(jimhorn @ Feb 17 2014, 11:38 PM)
So sorry the GPU is indeed supposed to be a Powercolor R9 290 PCS+ RM1549 from feiton.
Can revise the suggestion from there again? Terribly sorry

Also, I suppose a 128GB SSD for OS is enough. 500GB seems like overkill lol.
Is there a need for a K version Intel CPU if I don't intend to OC?
Yeah, 4k but can make adjustments for up to 4.5k smile.gif
MOBO:Asrock H87 Pro4 RM319
GPU:Powercolor R9 290 PCS+ 4GB GDDR5 RM1549
HDD:WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM189
PSU:Seasonic S12II 80+ Bronze 620W RM299
Casing:NZXT H230 RM215
SSD:Samsung 840 Evo 500GB RM1189
Total:RM4578
Optional:If u wanna lower the cost,just take the 240GB version of that SSD instead,RM589.
Casing from IdealTech,GPU from Feiton and the rest from Viewnet.

To answer your questions
1.An SSD not only helps in booting the PC faster,but it also open and load apps faster.. brows.gif
2.There's no need for a K CPU if u're not OCing,cause it'll be a waste of money when u can just allocate the money for a better GPU.Even if u want to OC,u need a good CPU Cooler,Z87 Mobo and a K CPU for a Intel Setup. smile.gif
Minecrafter
post Feb 17 2014, 11:56 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(spadecrew @ Feb 17 2014, 11:03 PM)
hi there..its been years since i last upgraded my rig...now i have some fund to setup a new gaming rig..here goes...

Budget = rm3.5k

Purpose = gaming

hardwares re-use =psu cooler master real power pro 750watts//HDD WD Black Caviar 1tera+WD 160 gb

Monitor res =currently using 20" 1600x900...may upgrade to 1080res later on(not included in the budget)

Games and Software =call of duty//battle field//crysis//etc2

Personal Preferences =amd gc
MOBO:Asus B85M-G RM279
HDD:(reuse)
SSD:Samsung 840 Evo 120GB RM329
Casing:Corsair Carbide 200r RM229
PSU:Seasonic S12II 80+ Bronze 620 RM299
Total:RM3503
GPU from Feiton @Garage Sales,the rest from Viewnet.
Ask Feiton if he has stock for it or not,im sure he has it. tongue.gif
I included a new PSU since the one you have is old,not sure how long u've been the PSU haha. tongue.gif
Minecrafter
post Feb 18 2014, 12:04 AM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Chew Yongxian @ Feb 17 2014, 10:47 PM)
Maybe to reserve the throne for its lightning series? I know it did a Lightning run for both the GTX780 and GTX770. So maybe they will release 290 Lightning/290X Lightning variants?

Which apon reflection sounds.  drool.gif  drool.gif

Edit: if you leave it at stock then yes its almost like a reference 290, but I guess OCing is The key to getting the max out of it seeing you can do so with a better cooler
http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews/gpu_dis...gaming_review/1
Maybe RM1799 for the MSI R9 290 Lightning? rclxm9.gif
jimhorn
post Feb 18 2014, 12:19 AM

407 posts

CPU: Intel Core i5 4670 - RM689
Mobo: Asrock H87 Pro4 - RM319
RAM: Gskill Value Ram 1x8GB - RM269
GPU: Powercolor R9 290 PCS+ 4GB GDDR5 - RM1549
SSD: Samsung 840 Evo 240GB - RM589
HDD: WD Blue 1TB - RM189
PSU: Seasonic S12II 80+ Bronze 620W - RM299
ODD: Any dvd player - 60
Case: NZXT H230 - RM215
Cooler:

Total: RM4178

These are the adjustments I've made from a few suggestions by other people.
Is it OK?

And is it necessary to get a universal cooler for my rig?
SUSHuman10
post Feb 18 2014, 01:04 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(jimhorn @ Feb 18 2014, 12:19 AM)
CPU: Intel Core i5 4670 - RM689
Mobo: Asrock H87 Pro4 - RM319
RAM: Gskill Value Ram 1x8GB - RM269
GPU: Powercolor R9 290 PCS+ 4GB GDDR5 - RM1549
SSD: Samsung 840 Evo 240GB - RM589
HDD: WD Blue 1TB - RM189
PSU: Seasonic S12II 80+ Bronze 620W - RM299
ODD: Any dvd player - 60
Case: NZXT H230 - RM215
Cooler:

Total: RM4178
These are the adjustments I've made from a few suggestions by other people.
Is it OK?

And is it necessary to get a universal cooler for my rig?
If I am you, I won't be getting 4670, for which it is RM100 pricier over the 4440. I will either stick with 4440 or top up another RM100 to get a Xeon at RM780, even better multi task/thread performance.

A B85M is also pretty fine if you plan to cut a little budget and not really utilizing the Intel SRT of H87.

Corsair/Kingston RAM should be cheaper

As for 3rd party cooler, generally if you are not OC, the Intel stock cooler is enough.
spadecrew
post Feb 18 2014, 03:20 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Feb 17 2014, 11:56 PM)
MOBO:Asus B85M-G RM279
HDD:(reuse)
SSD:Samsung 840 Evo 120GB RM329
Casing:Corsair Carbide 200r RM229
PSU:Seasonic S12II 80+ Bronze 620 RM299
Total:RM3503
GPU from Feiton @Garage Sales,the rest from Viewnet.
Ask Feiton if he has stock for it or not,im sure he has it. tongue.gif
I included a new PSU since the one you have is old,not sure how long u've been the PSU haha. tongue.gif
sorry about this...forget to mention...

-i have a casing already(save rm229)
-i insist on maintaining the current psu as i think the psu is still ok..can i run any test to test the psu??( save rm229)
-i dont think i need ssd...later on maybe but not for now (save rm329)
-i will have extra rm857...where should this fund goes??

-i5-4670k<---(will the i5-4670k bottleneck the r9 290x??)
-sapphire R9 290x
- +another 8GB ram

or

-i7-4770k
-sapphire r9 290x
-have to topup abit around rm200

or

-buy a 27" screen to enjoy the setup tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by spadecrew: Feb 18 2014, 03:37 AM
Sentinel92
post Feb 18 2014, 04:00 AM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(spadecrew @ Feb 18 2014, 03:20 AM)
sorry about this...forget to mention...

-i have a casing already(save rm229)
-i insist on maintaining the current psu as i think the psu is still ok..can i run any test to test the psu??( save rm229)
-i dont think i need ssd...later on maybe but not for now (save rm329)
-i will have extra rm857...where should this fund goes??

-i5-4670k<---(will the i5-4670k bottleneck the r9 290x??)
-sapphire R9 290x
- +another 8GB ram

or

-i7-4770k
-sapphire r9 290x
-have to topup abit around rm200

or

-buy a 27" screen to enjoy the setup  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Not with your current suggested motherboard or your old one. You'll need a Z87 motherboard to run Intel K badged chips like the 4670K or the 4770K. So you will need to set aside cash for that too.

So I suggest:
Intel Core i5-4670K RM750
Asrock Z87 Extreme4 RM519
Sapphire R9 290X Tri-X RM2299
Corsair 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RM239

Total: RM3807

Reuse:
Cooler Master Real PowerPro 750watts
WD Caviar Black1TB
WD 160 GB
Old Casing

But otherwise, you do not need a K badged chip if you are NOT overclocking. Minecrafts suggestion of Intel Core i5 4440 3.1Ghz @ RM579 and Asus B85M-G @ RM279 is good enough already. Plus the fact if you do get a 4670K/4770K and overclock it, to will need to spend some money getting aftermarket coolers as well.

And no, the 4670K would not bottleneck the 290X. It can work with multi GPU configurations.

This post has been edited by Chew Yongxian: Feb 18 2014, 04:05 AM
pandera999
post Feb 18 2014, 10:19 AM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

Help Critics my friend's budget build for office use.

Proc: AMD A6-6400k
Mobo: Gigabyte F2A88XM-DS2
RAM: Kingston 4G Single 1600
SSD: Samsung 840 EVO 120GB
PSU: Corsair CX430 80+ Bronze
Wifi: TP-Link WN881ND
Case: Coolermaster N200

Total: 465AUD --- 1385.03 MYR

128 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top