Working for PETRONAS V2, How to get a job, benefits, culture etc

Paul1234
post Jul 1 2014, 02:03 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(vox9802 @ Jun 30 2014, 10:50 AM)
Relax friend. They will call you based on ranking.

Normally they will call more than one candidate for TA and rank them for the SI.
Hi, what youe meant by ranking ? do you mean the number of experience that we have ?
msismail
post Jul 1 2014, 02:15 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(Paul1234 @ Jul 1 2014, 03:03 PM)
Hi, what youe meant by ranking ? do you mean the number of experience that we have ?
during the TA, all recommended candidates will be ranked. they will call for SI depending on the ranking of the TA results.
Paul1234
post Jul 1 2014, 02:25 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(msismail @ Jul 1 2014, 03:15 PM)
during the TA, all recommended candidates will be ranked. they will call for SI depending on the ranking of the TA results.
Not by work experience huh ? how the categorize working experience ? example 5 year < or 5 Year >
afarhan1986
post Jul 1 2014, 04:00 PM

QUOTE(phyzoul @ Dec 3 2013, 07:22 PM)
I Hope I Can Help You With My Case...  sweat.gif

Apply via Discover PETRONAS: Dec 2012  cool2.gif

Structural Interveiw: 24 Jun 2013 (Passed)  icon_idea.gif

Technical Assesement: 2 July 2013 (Passed)  brows.gif

1st Chit Chat Session: 26 July 2013 (Failed- Result on 19 August 2013)  cry.gif

2nd Chit Chat Session: 20 September 2013 (Passed-Result on the spot after Chit Chat Session & Official result on 9 October 2013)  rclxm9.gif

Medical Check Up: Date on letter ( 29 October 2013). Receive via E-Mail 31 October 2013.  icon_rolleyes.gif
                            Appointment with the hospital (1 November 2013) - All Checkup Normal, 2 Abnormal (Lungs & Hearing Test- Doctor said "Still Acceptable & Fit").
                            Submitted the medical report to HR (4 November 2013)

Receive Offer Letter: 12 November 2013  rclxm9.gif

PIPE: 2 January 2014  thumbup.gif

Report Duty: 2 December 2013  thumbup.gif
What position did you apply? A graduate position?
msismail
post Jul 1 2014, 04:14 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(Paul1234 @ Jul 1 2014, 03:25 PM)
Not by work experience huh ? how the categorize working experience ? example 5 year < or 5 Year >
that would be during the TA and how profound u've performed. some <5y exp are better off than >5y.
Paul1234
post Jul 1 2014, 04:32 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(msismail @ Jul 1 2014, 05:14 PM)
that would be during the TA and how profound u've performed. some <5y exp are better off than >5y.
oh k. My friend send her CV to the respective department and 2 manager from that department conducted the interview (TA) not included HR. Then , the interviewer recommend to HR for SI.

She also need to go by ranking huh ? I dun understand the process

vox9802
post Jul 1 2014, 08:18 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(Paul1234 @ Jul 1 2014, 04:32 PM)
oh k. My friend send her CV to the respective department and 2 manager from that department conducted the interview (TA)  not included HR. Then , the interviewer recommend to HR for SI.

She also need to go by ranking huh ?  I dun understand the process
Yes. They are not going to call one candidate if there is only one vacancy. Normally try will call more, probably 3-5 candidates. After finish interview all the candidates, they will rank 1-3 or 1-5 based on number of candidates attended. Doesn't matter you have 3yrd or 7 yrs experience, if the 3yrs exp perform well compare to 7 yrs, they will rank the candidates as 1st choice for next stage which is SI. If the candidate is not successful or decline their offer, then only they call the 2nd rank and so on. If your rank is the last one, pray that the other 4 are not perform in their SI or decline their offer.
lamer2000
post Jul 1 2014, 10:09 PM

75 posts

Guys, I hope someone can help me with my predicament. I am an engineering graduate student from a private university. I was called for SI on March 22. I was informed I passed the SI the following day. The HR mentioned that they would be looking for a suitable position for me in PCG.

I have been in contact with the HR for 2 times and everytime the HR gives the same reply that PCG is still finding for a suitable position for me. It is close to 3 months already and I am worried. Does it really take that long for the job process?

Btw, I am working as a part time barrister while waiting for the official news from Petronas. I hope I am not making a huge mistake here.

Hope all the experienced otai and seniors can guide me here.

This post has been edited by lamer2000: Jul 1 2014, 10:11 PM
vox9802
post Jul 2 2014, 05:20 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(lamer2000 @ Jul 1 2014, 10:09 PM)
Guys, I hope someone can help me with my predicament. I am an engineering graduate student from a private university. I was called for SI on March 22. I was informed I passed the SI the following day. The HR mentioned that they would be looking for a suitable position for me in PCG.

I have been in contact with the HR for 2 times and everytime the HR gives the same reply that PCG is still finding for a suitable position for me. It is close to 3 months already and I am worried. Does it really take that long for the job process?

Btw, I am working as a part time barrister while waiting for the official news from Petronas. I hope I am not making a huge mistake here.

Go and find other job first. Don't be over confident with petronas.

This post has been edited by vox9802: Jul 2 2014, 05:21 AM
msismail
post Jul 2 2014, 02:12 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(lamer2000 @ Jul 1 2014, 11:09 PM)

The result is valid for 6 months. unfortunately, they might not get u a position - there's a probability. but, try to find other opportunities as well. I've known quite a handful of recommended SI candidates but failed to secure a position in PETRONAS.
msismail
post Jul 2 2014, 02:13 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(vox9802 @ Jul 1 2014, 09:18 PM)
Yes. They are not going to call one candidate if there is only one vacancy. Normally try will call more, probably 3-5 candidates. After finish interview all the candidates, they will rank 1-3 or 1-5 based on number of candidates attended. Doesn't matter you have 3yrd or 7 yrs experience, if the 3yrs exp perform well compare to 7 yrs, they will rank the candidates as 1st choice for next stage which is SI. If the candidate is not successful or decline their offer, then only they call the 2nd rank and so on. If your rank is the last one, pray that the other 4 are not perform in their SI or decline their offer.
correct! they normally called up more candidates than the # of positions available.
lamer2000
post Jul 2 2014, 04:32 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(msismail @ Jul 2 2014, 02:12 PM)
The result is valid for 6 months. unfortunately, they might not get u a position - there's a probability. but, try to find other opportunities as well. I've known quite a handful of recommended SI candidates but failed to secure a position in PETRONAS.
I know for sure they are putting my name in cold file and not really chasing my position for me. I am frantically trying to find contact of HR from other dept like downstream or PCSB or PMU. I hope someone can provide me with HR contact to other Petronas dept and I will settle it from there.

Is it advisable to contact another HR from other dept who is not handling my application?

In the meantime, yes I have already started sending out resume again since a month ago.

This post has been edited by lamer2000: Jul 2 2014, 04:48 PM
Paul1234
post Jul 3 2014, 11:03 AM

105 posts

I am still waiting for my date for my SI it almost 3 weeks. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
bendonarticx
post Jul 3 2014, 11:24 AM

199 posts

Had my TA interview yesterday with PMU. When the askde "Why PETRONAS?", I stumbled quite a bit. Hahaha sigh. Time to move on.
don_kass
post Jul 3 2014, 12:15 PM

41 posts

SI not recommended. Gonna try again after 2 years! Time to move on! Haha
msismail
post Jul 3 2014, 12:19 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(don_kass @ Jul 3 2014, 01:15 PM)
good on u. it's totally ok... wink.gif
msismail
post Jul 3 2014, 12:20 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(bendonarticx @ Jul 3 2014, 12:24 PM)
Had my TA interview yesterday with PMU. When the askde "Why PETRONAS?", I stumbled quite a bit. Hahaha sigh. Time to move on.
if I were u, I would either! hahaha...it's the nerves anywy... brows.gif
Paul1234
post Jul 3 2014, 03:19 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(don_kass @ Jul 3 2014, 01:15 PM)
i dun get you. U pass ur TA and not pass through SI ? or never go through your TA ?

don_kass
post Jul 4 2014, 09:49 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(Paul1234 @ Jul 3 2014, 04:19 PM)
i dun get you. U pass ur TA and not pass through SI ? or never go through your TA ?
Never go thru TA.
dragonsuy
post Jul 4 2014, 09:50 PM

112 posts

hello guys, i got chitchat session for HSE position. i'm fresh grad, so what should i expect in a chitchat session in this particular position?

would they be asking technical hse stuff? what kind of candidate would they be looking for?

190 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0338sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:18 AM