125 Pages « < 114 115 116 117 118 > » Bottom

Guitars ~ LYN Guitar Phreaks Club ~ V3!, Guitars, Girls and other G type things!

sean392
post Oct 24 2006, 03:02 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

its new
but its an old model i guess
dunno whether its a dinky or soloist

nothing dangling from the headstock
if my friends dad gives him n ok i'll inspect more on it =/
prob is i dunno what tremolo it is, im assuming its the JT580 cuz thats what jackson puts into their low end stuff?

its no archtop tho
so im thinking its a js serie soloist
dinkys usually are archtops right?

This post has been edited by sean392: Oct 24 2006, 03:05 PM
noisetrigger
post Oct 24 2006, 03:04 PM

687 posts

Hmm, has to be a Dinky since MIJ Soloist is actually neckthrough.

As for the trem, judging from the flametop, should be the JT580 which is the trem they use on their higher end MIJ stuff.

I have seen some lower end MIJ Jackson with some weird crummy looking trem.
sean392
post Oct 24 2006, 03:06 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(noisetrigger @ Oct 24 2006, 03:04 PM)
Hmm, has to be a Dinky since MIJ Soloist is actually neckthrough.

As for the trem, judging from the flametop, should be the JT580 which is the trem they use  on their higher end MIJ stuff.

I have seen some lower end MIJ Jackson with some weird crummy looking trem.
icic
judging from the size im pretty sure its just a maple veneer
haha
MetalZone
post Oct 24 2006, 03:36 PM

2,515 posts

the JT580 is used on their midrange stuff. their high end MIA range uses an OFR. the JT580 is somewhat a TRS design but ppl say they are better coz they use hardened steel unlike the TRS.
sean392
post Oct 24 2006, 04:15 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

woot after playing around with google for awhile
i got the model

http://www.zzounds.com/item--JAC2911103
its a dx10d dinky

noisetrigger
post Oct 24 2006, 05:02 PM

687 posts

QUOTE(MetalZone @ Oct 24 2006, 03:36 PM)
the JT580 is used on their midrange stuff. their high end MIA range uses an OFR. the JT580 is somewhat a TRS design but ppl say they are better coz they use hardened steel unlike the TRS.
The JT580 is the exact same trem as the lo-trs.

They are made by Takeuchi. Yamaha also uses the same trem. Supposedly, it is quite a good trem. The baseplate is as hard as the Schallers Floyd.

It is the Lo-TRSII found on Korean RGs that suck really bad.
noisetrigger
post Oct 24 2006, 05:17 PM

687 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Oct 24 2006, 04:15 PM)
woot after playing around with google for awhile
i got the model

http://www.zzounds.com/item--JAC2911103
its a dx10d dinky
Hmm, this is the lower end MIJ Jackson line. Never did realized it came with the JT580 like the other higher end MIJ Jackson (Pro series). I will pass on this honestly. From what I remember, despite being MIJ, they feel really cheap and wasn't very well built.

Everdying
post Oct 24 2006, 06:16 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

well i dont use singer oil.
i got a small bottle of GHS GraphitAll.
the same stuff SRVs tech rene martinez puts on his guitars to prevent breakage etc.
works really well, plus it doesnt attract dust.

sean392
post Oct 24 2006, 09:52 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(noisetrigger @ Oct 24 2006, 05:17 PM)
Hmm, this is the lower end MIJ Jackson line. Never did realized it came with the JT580 like the other higher end MIJ Jackson (Pro series). I will pass on this honestly. From what I remember, despite being MIJ, they feel really cheap and wasn't very well built.
honestly speaking thats what i felt bout the body
its kinda light n thin =/
n call me spoiled or whatever
i dun like the bolt on neck

well its up to him anyway
tested it thru a mg50 [muddy i tell ya]
echobrainproject
post Oct 24 2006, 09:59 PM

4,765 posts

wanna ask smth bout slap guitar(acoustic) which ive been playing quite abit lately. when slapping with ur thumb, how do u get that nice fat thick tone? my tone is quite ok but i want one closer to a bassist's. and as for tapping, i notice my acoustic doesnt give a clear fundatmental note(as compared to tapping on an electric) but has lots of harmonics. any way to overcome this? i think in terms of playing i tap it hard enough already.
MetalZone
post Oct 24 2006, 10:41 PM

2,515 posts

i use this on for my trem:
chapstick lip balm. its a waxy type grease. same thing used by Gary Brower on Joe Satriani's guitars.
led_zep_freak
post Oct 24 2006, 10:58 PM

5,231 posts

I saw God yesterday...
Guitar, that is. thumbup.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
TSblacktrix
post Oct 24 2006, 11:11 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Hey.... need to ask a real Noob question here.....

How the heck do you string your guitars? All these years I've been doing mine VERY sloppy...... any tips anyone??
led_zep_freak
post Oct 24 2006, 11:19 PM

5,231 posts

Sloppy? I've never encountered much problems with stringing throughout these 5 years lol... Pacifica, acoustic/classical and once a Les Paul, all were strung nicely. Or at least, to my standards. smile.gif
MetalZone
post Oct 25 2006, 12:17 AM

2,515 posts

errm in what ways sloppy? the strings not wound properly around the tuners or what?
Mysterious X12
post Oct 25 2006, 12:25 AM

164 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Oct 24 2006, 09:52 PM)
yes it's super muddy if you go to bently and try the jackson there...I bought the same model and color for my brother..

it's a very nice starting guitar..but if you are you a player already i suggest you save up a little and get a better guitar or look for a nice 2nd hand deal....

but for starters it's a great guitar..it sounds good when it's distorted..didn't like the clean much...
Everdying
post Oct 25 2006, 01:10 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Oct 24 2006, 09:52 PM)
i hope you realise that most superstrats will have light bodies.
nothing wrong with a good bolt-on neck also, look at nuno's N4 tongue.gif
sean392
post Oct 25 2006, 02:04 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Oct 24 2006, 10:58 PM)

Guitar, that is. thumbup.gif notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
OMG HE WAS HERE?!??!?!?!!?
WHAT THE?!?!?!?!

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 25 2006, 01:10 AM)
i hope you realise that most superstrats will have light bodies.
nothing wrong with a good bolt-on neck also, look at nuno's N4 tongue.gif
oo they do???
bout the neck i find the shape really disturbing when reaching for the higher frets
uncomfortable thats all

This post has been edited by sean392: Oct 25 2006, 02:06 AM
TSblacktrix
post Oct 25 2006, 11:28 AM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Woooooooo. Don't know if it's my imagination, but after Restringing my guitar Zakk-style (ie: The strings wrap above the tail bar), I'm getting much better sustain from my LP!!!

I dunno if it works for all guitars, but for all you Les Paul users who is about to re-string their guitar, try wrapping it around the tailbar....
led_zep_freak
post Oct 25 2006, 11:52 AM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Oct 25 2006, 02:04 AM)
OMG HE WAS HERE?!??!?!?!!?
WHAT THE?!?!?!?!
Nah... I was in Singapore. He said he is looking forward to coming back to Singapore next year. If he does, please make it a point to go down and watch him, you'ill be blown away. notworthy.gif

Also, visiting Peninsular Plaza is a must. tongue.gif

125 Pages « < 114 115 116 117 118 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:27 AM