53 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

The Web Design / Development Industry, Filling up the black hole

fanco
post Jul 28 2007, 11:48 AM

120 posts

i want to build a web for multimedia designing servises...which kind of web do u preffer?normal or flash?...di i need to register as a company?

Added on July 28, 2007, 12:15 pmi'm third year student in dip. sains komp.(multimedia)...my dream is to be web designer... should i take web design as part time job or as my career.

can u share ur tip as web designer?

what kind of coding do i need to master??

now i master:
html
css
java
vb.net
c++

This post has been edited by fanco: Jul 28 2007, 12:15 PM
TSetsuko
post Jul 29 2007, 11:06 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(fanco @ Jul 28 2007, 11:48 AM)
i want to build a web for multimedia designing servises...which kind of web do u preffer?normal or flash?...di i need to register as a company?

Added on July 28, 2007, 12:15 pmi'm third year student in dip. sains komp.(multimedia)...my dream is to be web designer... should i take web design as part time job or as my career.

can u share ur tip as web designer?

what kind of coding do i need to master??

now i master:
html
css
java
vb.net
c++
Freelancers can't charge overly expensive unless:

1. You have a strong portfolio / experience / clients
2. You get clients who are gullible
3. You get clients who are lazy (but rich)
4. You get projects without any competitors
5. You are a self-professed marketing person

Sole-proprietor / Partnership companies can:

1. Charge slightly higher
2. Be branded as a professional agency
3. Be more formal in documentation
4. Instill a better belief in reliability to a client

Sendirian Berhad (Private Limited) companies can:

1. Charge higher than slightly
2. Better chances in Government / MNC projects
3. Cost a lot more to maintain tongue.gif

My advice is start freelancing. If you want to be more professional, register a sole-proprietor. I got someone who can help you do it if you want. But if you register, take note you'll have to think about other stuff like accounting and personal taxes later. smile.gif

Your dream is to be a web designer or to head a web design agency. They are 2 different things.

As for what coding you need..yes, you can master all those but you will need help later on as well. So it's better if you decided what you want to focus on more. Web or Software or Presentation or etc.

Anyway, when you say master...how do you know if you have 'mastered' it?

I know some people who have Masters in Computer Science or something alike but don't exactly program pretty. tongue.gif

Anyway, before you venture further..answer 1 important question.

Can you sustain 4-6 months without a salary for the first year?

This post has been edited by etsuko: Jul 29 2007, 11:08 PM
zorex
post Aug 1 2007, 04:23 AM

1,186 posts

I find it very very true, as student people tends to take advantage from you. Sometimes we want to have agreement in black and white also can't.. This is very bad for designer as they like to add and remove feature even after the work is done. Sometimes i feel like throwing the money back to their face...
TSetsuko
post Aug 2 2007, 06:52 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

Well, that's how it is when you're a freelancer.

But even if you're a registered company, you'll still come across clients who've you been traveling far enough to their office constantly to pitch but later they'll tell you:

1. We'll / We're think-ing about it.
2. We don't have the budget.
3. We don't have the time.
4. We found someone else.

Number 4 as in Chinese 'die' is still the worst and the one I always dread. But what to do, we don't charge clients for proposals like how some other western companies do. tongue.gif
M1X
post Aug 8 2007, 10:32 AM

2,334 posts

The major problem I sometime face is that, the customer do not have time to deal with what we needs, and caused alot of data lack! WTH ...
goldfries
post Aug 8 2007, 12:25 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(etsuko @ Aug 2 2007, 06:52 PM)
1. We'll / We're think-ing about it.
2. We don't have the budget.
3. We don't have the time.
4. We found someone else.
oh - and 1 more is - WE DON'T NEED A WEBSITE!!
TSetsuko
post Aug 9 2007, 09:46 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

ROFL! that too...

But I've not come across a client who's told me that lor..

If we present the proposal and they don't do it, they'll say one of the other 4. tongue.gif

So lucky me i guess..
goldfries
post Aug 9 2007, 09:53 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

oh no la. if you're given that WE DON'T NEED A WEBSITE answer, don't even have to reach proposal stage. smile.gif

from what i come by...

1. We'll / We're think-ing about it. - ok you get a proposal.
2. We don't have the budget. - ok you get a proposal first before you know that.
3. We don't have the time. - rarely come by this one.
4. We found someone else. - this one most often heard.
fanco
post Aug 10 2007, 02:58 AM

120 posts

different between web designer or to head a web design agency?

This post has been edited by fanco: Aug 10 2007, 03:00 AM
goldfries
post Aug 10 2007, 06:48 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(fanco @ Aug 10 2007, 02:58 AM)
different between web designer or to head a web design agency?
what do you mean by that?
Femi
post Aug 13 2007, 04:18 PM

Lady
739 posts

Hi all Gurus out there! I want to ask, how much does it worth for website similar to this(without error from page).
M1X
post Aug 14 2007, 01:17 PM

2,334 posts

Hmm , static site . RM 100 X number_of_pages = RM X
if you ask me I do above
fanco
post Aug 14 2007, 01:41 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(Femi @ Aug 13 2007, 04:18 PM)
Hi all Gurus out there! I want to ask, how much does it worth for website similar to this(without error from page).
if i were u. i charge rm300and above per page...coz got company offer me rm300 per page, but my website is more simple than u...u realy a great designer rclxms.gif ...i realy jealous of ur website tongue.gif
M1X
post Aug 14 2007, 01:50 PM

2,334 posts

? huh ? Where you see my site ? Actually I never have myself a REAL site yet, but now developing a 'temporary' website v1.1 for my organization ... Learning to use tons of very hard stuff. Most of the time I do my work I actually tranning of using something new, not really 'real' making site... sweat.gif

Btw, RM300 per page is kinda ... WA-LAU !!! So high argh! RM150 per page already very serious lor... Btw, just be a fair and kind designer biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by M1X: Aug 14 2007, 01:52 PM
fanco
post Aug 14 2007, 06:39 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(M1X @ Aug 14 2007, 01:50 PM)
? huh ? Where you see my site ? Actually I never have myself a REAL site yet, but now developing a 'temporary' website v1.1 for my organization ... Learning to use tons of very hard stuff. Most of the time I do my work I actually tranning of using something new, not really 'real' making site...  sweat.gif

Btw, RM300 per page is kinda ... WA-LAU !!! So high argh! RM150 per page already very serious lor... Btw, just be a fair and kind designer biggrin.gif
doh.gif no offence, but i talking to FEMI!!....actually rm300 per page depend on client... the bigger the company, the highest u profit u can gain...
yamitenshi
post Aug 16 2007, 11:23 AM

39 posts

wow, so webpg designer in malaysia charge at tht rate (min rm100 per pg)? i wanna find someone who can help me design/ create a webpg. My fren offer to do it at USD200 for the whole package. So is this a good offer? i think my site will have more than ten pages (O_o)
fanco
post Aug 16 2007, 01:52 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(yamitenshi @ Aug 16 2007, 11:23 AM)
wow, so webpg designer in malaysia charge at tht rate (min rm100 per pg)? i wanna find someone who can help me design/ create a webpg. My fren offer to do it at USD200 for the whole package. So is this a good offer? i think my site will have more than ten pages (O_o)
depend on type and amount of information that we get from the client... u wanna find someone to help design web with u or design web for u?...where do u work?i study in kl until may 2008, and than continue my degree in johor.....
Femi
post Aug 16 2007, 02:25 PM

Lady
739 posts

QUOTE(M1X @ Aug 14 2007, 01:17 PM)
Hmm , static site . RM 100 X number_of_pages = RM X
if you ask me I do above
there is a flash for the web.... is it included for the RM100 per page?

QUOTE(fanco @ Aug 14 2007, 01:41 PM)
if i were u. i charge rm300and above per page...coz got company offer me rm300 per page, but my website is more simple than u...u realy a great designer rclxms.gif ...i realy jealous of ur website  tongue.gif
Not my web... blush.gif asking for friend.
yamitenshi
post Aug 17 2007, 12:50 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(fanco @ Aug 16 2007, 01:52 PM)
depend on type and amount of information that we get from the client... u wanna find someone to help design web with u or design web for u?...where do u work?i study in kl until may 2008, and than continue my degree in johor.....
i aldy have a rough idea of wat i want for my site. smile.gif so it's design with me. i m working in kl.
i wanted to do it myself at first but i guess since my knowledge is limited n i ll prefer to have more time to manage the biz (it's a online store) than the webpg so i think finding someone else to do it for me is a better idea.
M1X
post Aug 17 2007, 12:33 PM

2,334 posts

Basiclly the chargeing depend on the designer, there are not really any rules in making those charge.

I wanna do like this also can lah:
- cost per page RM 150
- cost per script RM 50
- database cost RM 250
- multimedia content cost per unit RM 50
- layout design RM 250
- logo design Rm 50
- Additional all RM 50 per unit ...

It DEPEND on the designer what he wanna do, but please be fair lah, don't push it too high sampai boleh chase ghost punya .. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by M1X: Aug 17 2007, 12:34 PM

53 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0192sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:52 AM