8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Peugeot 408 1.6T OR 2nd Hand Volkswagen Jetta 1.4, Only consider these 2

kcng
post Nov 8 2013, 02:52 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

i think u better re-look at what u posted from asean auto or NST and then compared it to what u class from china...

and not forgetting what i tried to teach you about cars classification and how it comes about and how it is defined according to different publications...

this is a chance for you to avoid holding your own gun pointed at yourself...

btw just to let u know about this article and how much revision is made to the article before it is allowed to be posted up...
http://www.cbt.com.my/2012/06/18/peugeot-4...for-the-family/

AmenoJaku
post Nov 8 2013, 03:00 PM

39 posts

Wait. As far as our market is concern, I don't understand how the 408T is more "premium" or "executive" than the Jetta. Is it because of the size? Specs? Price? Fun? Or because we have to follow China? Can you explain please.
CoffeeDude
post Nov 8 2013, 03:05 PM

1,609 posts

If you ask me, I'll say neither Jetta nor 408 is a premium car.

Both are mass produced cars.
Ordinary cars for normal folks.

Premium cars are 10 times the price.
EnergyAnalyst
post Nov 8 2013, 03:49 PM

4,133 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Nov 8 2013, 03:05 PM)
If you ask me, I'll say neither Jetta nor 408 is a premium car.

Both are mass produced cars.
Ordinary cars for normal folks.

Premium cars are 10 times the price.
Agree, both are not,at best they are is just near luxury but Jetta a near luxury small family car while 408 is a near luxury compact executive car

The reason Jetta is pricier now in Malaysia because it is CBU (with 7 speed DSG) while 408 turbo is CKD with 6 speed torque convert Auto gear

Still they are of different class.

The only premium sedan car in VW badge is Volkswagen Phaeton .

even Passat is just in a class called Large family car / Mid-size car (where 508 and C5 belongs). Only Passat CC is an executive car , not compact executive but executive mind you (which mean proper sized) which Citroen C6 & peugeot 607 (both are no longer being produced)

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Nov 8 2013, 04:15 PM
blu3
post Nov 8 2013, 04:36 PM

26 posts

408T is more value for money,its price even cheaper than new Altis. Plus a 5 years free service and warranty. Sufficient power to drive in town.

Only let down is the look. 10 friend of mine all said WTF
EnergyAnalyst
post Nov 8 2013, 05:38 PM

4,133 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Nov 8 2013, 02:52 PM)
i think u better re-look at what u posted from asean auto or NST and then compared it to what u class from china...

and not forgetting what i tried to teach you about cars classification and how it comes about and how it is defined according to different publications...

this is a chance for you to avoid holding your own gun pointed at yourself...

btw just to let u know about this article and how much revision is made to the article before it is allowed to be posted up...
http://www.cbt.com.my/2012/06/18/peugeot-4...for-the-family/

still confuse? doh.gif , you get all so jumpy about me stating different class, for what? throwing wow Peugeot = BMW of premium class out of nowhere, that is why i ask you do you know what is definition of premium

Premium is a term too sparingly used by media . NST is a media Asean Auto is a media, the only sense making term nowadays is luxury. Now do you get me? Did I ever say Peugeot is a luxury brand? at most i say it is near luxury, did i not? just like VW , it is near luxury, but near is not quite there.

I never say 408 is a luxury, it is you who has kept on jumping to that conclusion when i say different class. The class i was referring to is about the body & chassis class, but you were to jumpy to have notice that, look again

I must add, if you know so much as you claim, in China their Jetta is of different size, see

http://www.vw.com.cn/zh/models/new_jetta/T...dd7186d5f8e6fa3
L/W/H = 4473 / 1706 / 1469
w/base 2603

the malaysia Jetta
http://www.volkswagen.com.my/en/models/Jet...479a8b59a30f664

Length/width/height, mm 4644/1778/1482
Wheelbase, mm 2651

Get it now? that is why in China the Jetta is only good as Vios contender (just look at its miserable size there)

p/s jumpy is my way of describing some one who is too quick to jump to conclusion rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Nov 8 2013, 06:09 PM
kcng
post Nov 8 2013, 06:58 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

wiki again...

yay...
kcng
post Nov 8 2013, 07:07 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

apparently u dont get how car manufacturers position their product differently in different market...
and there is reason why they use certain product name that can be higher or lower "class" according to market...

going into discussion...
but by taking the same namesake from china and compared it to what is available in the rest of the world...
u take the cake man with your idea and concept...

same name plate but build and based on differently and u equate it with what we have in malaysia...
wow...
icon_idea.gif

let me give u a hint, try comparing jetta malaysia and sagitar...
see the drift?

rolleyes.gif

and now u play body class word and i have to ask again, all this terms are coined by who again?

This post has been edited by kcng: Nov 8 2013, 07:10 PM
kcng
post Nov 8 2013, 07:15 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

u got a long way to go...
EnergyAnalyst
post Nov 8 2013, 07:20 PM

4,133 posts

So no more jumping into conclusion . Good, you are cured. Glad I have helped. No need to thank me, you are welcomed
zweimmk
post Nov 8 2013, 07:37 PM

512 posts

End of the day, I still think Jetta, Civic, Altis, Mazda 3 and 408 belong in the same category of car regardless of how they class it. Btw, I think Jetta looks like it's selling a lot better than the 408. At least these days, I see an average of 4 to 6 Jettas on the road in comparison to 2 to 3 408s.

Rumor mill has it that VW Jetta is about to hit the 130kish price range because of CKD. Expect sales to rocket higher
AmenoJaku
post Nov 8 2013, 07:48 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Nov 1 2013, 11:06 AM)
You cannot compare 408 with Jetta because they are car of different classes
QUOTE(kcng @ Nov 8 2013, 07:07 PM)
apparently u dont get how car manufacturers position their product differently in different market...
and there is reason why they use certain product name that can be higher or lower "class" according to market...

going into discussion...
but by taking the same namesake from china and compared it to what is available in the rest of the world...
u take the cake man with your idea and concept...

same name plate but build and based on differently and u equate it with what we have in malaysia...
wow...
icon_idea.gif

let me give u a hint, try comparing jetta malaysia and sagitar...
see the drift?

rolleyes.gif

and now u play body class word and i have to ask again, all this terms are coined by who again?
So @EnergyAnalyst.... do we still, in your own words, CANNOT COMPARE 408 with Jetta?
The 408 is still a class above?

EnergyAnalyst
post Nov 8 2013, 10:31 PM

4,133 posts

Yes with mathematical certainty
zweimmk
post Nov 8 2013, 10:46 PM

512 posts

What matters is what Malaysians in General think isn't it? I can't speak for others but I certainly don't consider the 408 in any way a class above the Jetta though it really does have class leading space.

If the 408 was marketed under the Citroen badge as a DS variant then it would be 'premium' IMO. But they really need to something about the boot if it's going to be a DS
EnergyAnalyst
post Nov 8 2013, 11:38 PM

4,133 posts

The sad thing, I agree is general Malaysian has been conditioned to subscribe to conventional European car segmentation and hold it dearly as the gospel truth. When there is another way of looking at it, a different perspective, before we closely examine them, we are all too quickly to labelled it delusional, non sense, ridicule it and hoping it to go away. Japanese car makers have long taught European and American car makers never ever underestimate a different approach, a different way of doing things, the danger of follow the norm, progress is made because of challenging the conventional, breaking the barrier. such know it all attitude is dangerous, such funnel vision of looking at only what is relevant to Msian only is hindering your thought process.
kcng
post Nov 9 2013, 01:09 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Nov 8 2013, 07:20 PM)
So no more jumping into conclusion . Good, you are cured. Glad I have helped. No need to thank me, you are welcomed
nice shooting yourself in the foot time and time again right?
i given u chance time and time again to correct yourself but u decided to push on...

so....
Orang bodoh sombong tak payah diajar, tak payah ditegur. Buang masa. Dah ajar dah tunjuk, dia jugak yg betul.

EnergyAnalyst
post Nov 9 2013, 04:58 AM

4,133 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Nov 9 2013, 01:09 AM)
nice shooting yourself in the foot time and time again right?
i given u chance time and time again to correct yourself but u decided to push on...

so....
Orang bodoh sombong tak payah diajar, tak payah ditegur. Buang masa. Dah ajar dah tunjuk, dia jugak yg betul.

Oh no, the old habit kicks in again, I know I know hard habit to break, give it sometime. In time you will be cured.
In the meantime, please prescribed to daily consumption of a special nutritious food that can help heal such condition. Look up for it, it is called a humble pie
kcng
post Nov 9 2013, 07:53 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(AmenoJaku @ Nov 8 2013, 07:48 PM)
So @EnergyAnalyst.... do we still, in your own words, CANNOT COMPARE 408 with Jetta?
The 408 is still a class above?
QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Nov 8 2013, 10:31 PM)
Yes with mathematical certainty
pity u still insist the same after being schooled...

in china yes as jetta has a long history of being a taxi car/small compact car, but in malaysia?
people will laugh their ass off in general if 408 is placed "higher" then a vw...
in malaysia vw still hold a more "premium" position compared to pug..
that is why VW can place such high pricing for their products and pricing in a way makes your product positioning "premium" in this market...

but to let u in on industry secret, VW is going to lose this "premium" positioning next year...
just wait and see...
*hopes this statement makes u feel better for buying a pug*
blush.gif

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Nov 9 2013, 04:58 AM)
Oh no, the old habit kicks in again, I know I know hard habit to break, give it sometime. In time you will be cured.
In the meantime, please prescribed to daily consumption of a special nutritious food that can help heal such condition. Look up for it, it is called a humble pie
ran out of replies as per the thread topic and try to deflect the discussion?
come on, i expected better from you
kcng
post Nov 9 2013, 08:04 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(AmenoJaku @ Nov 8 2013, 03:00 PM)
Wait. As far as our market is concern, I don't understand how the 408T is more "premium" or "executive" than the Jetta. Is it because of the size? Specs? Price? Fun? Or because we have to follow China? Can you explain please.
EnergyAnalyst, please share your wiki-based knowledge with our forumer here...
i did not see your reply to him...
EnergyAnalyst
post Nov 9 2013, 09:06 AM

4,133 posts

Wow I rather like what a nice debate we are having here

But before we go on, can I ask everyone to read these 2 articles

http://www.autotrends.org/2010/05/30/vehic...t-does-it-mean/
http://www.autotrends.org/segments/

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top