117 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

Personal Financial Management V3, It's all about managing your $$$

kelly87
post Sep 16 2014, 07:21 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Sep 16 2014, 04:34 PM)
First thing you should know is there is no financial sifu or resident advisor here, just posters sharing their experiences and opinions – so don’t take all suggestions given as the gospel truth or expect any financial formula that will ensure success in whatever objectives you’re searching for.

Second thing you should be aware, is this poster (me) likes to use ‘you’ in his sentences. Don’t take them too personally; as most of the time the ‘you’ is NOT directed at you personally. But also the general readers/browsers/lurkers, as this is an open forum... no point addressing issues that are specific to you, as you are not paying me anything; and it’s more fun (and easier to bullshit) to just simply share whether opinions/ideas that crosses my mind.

Third, as you can see, I have too much time...  so here goes...

Are you a smart consumer? If you think you are, then you already answered your own question on whether you’re on the right track on money matters.

For example, purchasing a medical card that cost RM150 monthly. How do we, as a smart consumer, know whether it was a value purchased or not? Do you spend the 150 after doing some shopping/research, or because it was recommended, or because a friend has the same thing?

In the case of car insurance, where you can get optional coverage on the windshield for, let’s say, RM60/year.

A smart consumer before getting this optional coverage would find out the cost of the windshield, let’s say about rm180. Then he/she will try to estimate whether it is worthwhile or not.

I wouldn’t off-hand say it will be worthwhile or not because everyone’s situation is different. He/she may be living near a quarry where there’s lot of lorries carrying small stones, or his/her house is in a plantation area with unpaved roads, plus lorries carrying palm fruits that frequently send flying a seed or two onto the cars following behind.

Or he/she may be living in a neighbourhood, where it is unheard of, of car owners replacing their windshields – even for drivers with many years of driving experience.

And even for that motorist living near a quarry, he/she may not think it worthwhile to have the optional coverage; as he/she maybe not that fussy – a small chip on the windshield, never mind, la... no need replacement; or he/she feels that the cost of the replacement is not a worrisome amount to be fret about... no big deal la, just pay out of the pocket as and when it is needed to do so.

On other matters, you seemed to be doing fine... emergency fund nearly touching 6 months of gross salary, just barely the minimum...

Savings per month 500-800... maybe you should try putting money aside into separate ‘envelopes’.

One envelope for travel, one envelope for gifts/festive season expenditure, one for long term (retirement), one for special purpose (like opening a small business – that dessert shop which you edited).

This way, you would know how much exactly you are really saving each month, after deducting those set aside for specific expenses.

As for investments, I biased towards unit trusts/mutual funds, read those threads for more info... I would suggest only invest those savings you aside for the long term ie. retirement.
Thanks for the advice. I think best i segregate the saving to few envelopes as u mentioned..I should cut down more on travelling..aikhz always get so tempted to travel as AA always got promotions. hahaha thanks ya at least i know i'm moving on right track without much debts in hand.

kelly87
post Sep 16 2014, 07:27 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(youngman28 @ Sep 16 2014, 03:46 PM)
Wah,  800x12-rm9600/year

You are too generous to yourself, but how come so high, you alway follow tour, stay 5 star hotel and good food?.

I travel more frequent  than you, but max 3-4k/year,
I stayed at 2 star hotel, enjoy local food, fly with AA promotion ticket only, DIY travel with prudent habit.
ermm maybe just rm6-7k per year. cos normally overseas trip eg korea or taiwan already cost minimal of 3-4k. i never follow tour. normally diy the itinerary on my own and stay in budget inn. But this year alone gt 4 trips including bangkok and bali so abit too much to handle. Will need to think twice before purchase AA tix..darn those promo always make me so tempted to fly..But next year will reduce to just one trip per year.
j.passing.by
post Sep 16 2014, 08:30 PM

1,639 posts

In some of the recent posts, it was easy to spot the red flags. Like having credit card debt on one hand, and on the other hand, having savings which can clear the debt.

So good money was spend on unnecessary interest that can be avoided in the first place.

And there was a recent thread asking how to settle a loan earlier... it was not a surprise to me reading that thread, as someone I knew had a similar problem.

Let's give this person I knew a name, John.

John is well-paid, and have savings. Has a house, car, etc. And lately, bought a 2nd car for the family.

One day, he told me about a mistake which he inevitably made, which is very similar to that mentioned thread.

He was tired of making the monthly installments on the 2nd car loan, so wanted to clear it with his savings. To his horror and surprise, the outstanding balance is still a big sum to pay even though the loan was nearly 3 years old, and he never missed any payment.

He had signed up a 7-year loan with the lowest possible monthly installment.

How did it happened? It was an 'entry' car for most 1st time car buyers, and most of these car owners take the offered 7-year loan. So the car salesman, and loan agent offered the same to John.

(They didn't ask... and John also didn't ask... the paperwork was like on auto mode, completed without much questions.)

And John automatically signed the loan without much thinking too...

(Or maybe John got confused with the flat rate interest on the car loan which is just a fraction of a percentage above his FD interest rate, and don't mind paying that supposedly fractional difference.)

And the crux of the mistake is that John did not even need to take any loan at all, as he has enough savings to buy that 2nd car in cash. doh.gif

Even for the sake of having some savings on hand, John could have taken a much shorter loan with a very much higher installment several times that original installment and still able to easily pay it out of his monthly paycheck.

End of story. biggrin.gif

Moral of story: Never automatically think that a new car is always tied to a package with a 7 or 9 years loan.

There are some people who really need a 7-9 years loan, and have no other choice because that's the only way to have a car (which they essentially must have for some reason or another.) And it's the cheapest available car...

There are some people who purposely take a 7-9 years loan, because they are small business owners/traders with irregular income; and the lowest possible installment is a sort of safety net that will catch and safe them from missing any payment.

If you don't belong to either group, and can be a smart consumer, join the latter group and spend your money wisely. Don't waste them on unnecessary interest. smile.gif

Don't join those showy showy wannabe groups... I meant those who way overspend than they can truly afford to, and were just living from paycheck to paycheck; but if you have the means and can afford to, flaunt it if you want to, I wouldn't care... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by j.passing.by: Sep 16 2014, 08:31 PM
youngman28
post Sep 16 2014, 09:33 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(kelly87 @ Sep 16 2014, 08:27 PM)
ermm maybe just rm6-7k per year. cos normally overseas trip eg korea or taiwan already cost minimal of 3-4k. i never follow tour. normally diy the itinerary on my own and stay in budget inn. But this year alone gt 4 trips including bangkok and bali so abit too much to handle. Will need to think twice before purchase AA tix..darn those promo always make me so tempted to fly..But next year will reduce to just one trip per year.
For a diy trip, it suppose not that expensive, how many day you travel to taiwan or korea? For sharing purpose, recently i travel to Kansai, Japan, totally cost me rm 1.7k for 7d6n pertrip inclusive of everything. For taiwan, i dun thing you need to spend that much considering the living standard was not that high. For airfare, i will pay priority to those less than rm350 for return fare. Anything more than this, i will think twice, another option is to book those new destination, it will be cheaper than establish destination.

I think one trip peryear is too much retriction, 2 trip peryear with maximum of 2.5k peryear for travel budget will be alright, i usually spent about 60-70% of my monthly salary for yearly travel budget.

For the fd, u can withdraw and invest at least 50% of it into a unit trust through fsm, the return at least double than you keep in fd, then u have some extra money once the unit trust pay out dividen.

This post has been edited by youngman28: Sep 16 2014, 09:44 PM
SUSsupersound
post Sep 16 2014, 09:57 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Ant Tek @ Sep 16 2014, 09:51 AM)
Hi all, need advice if i'm in the right track on my money management

Nett income (after deduct epf and all): RM3.5k (already work for 3 yrs-current age 27)

House installment: RM700 (bought 2nd hand hs 2 yrs ago)
Car loan: 620 (still got 2.5 yrs left to pay off)
Phone bills: 80
Transportation:300
Savings: 500-800 (big chunck used for travelling- 2-3 trips per year)
Insurance (med card):150
Misc: 500
current saving :20K (consider as emergency fund put in FD)

Didn't do any kind of investment, money just sit in FD.
Settle the car loan with your travel budget.
Insurance can terminate it, then rm150 extra can put in EPF. In case of sick, can always use government's service.
And most of the time, sickness is collect by your self, by having a bad lifestyle.
Phone bill still can do better, mine are only rm10-15 a month.
My name currently only registered 1 car loan.
adele123
post Sep 16 2014, 10:21 PM

4,725 posts

Please dont use your bad experience and ask ppl to just simply terminate insurance.

Might i point out that if everyone floods government hospital... At one point, it will not be sustainable.
navink
post Sep 17 2014, 09:07 AM

415 posts

Hi sifus,

Below are my current situation :
Housing Loan - RM 133k (Interest 2.85%) --> Staff Loan.
PTPTN - RM 9k (Interest 4%)
ASB Loan - RM 104k (Interest 4.85%) --> Staff Rate.

Below are my savings :
ASB - RM 14k (Total RM 114k include ASB Loan)
Extra savings per month around RM1k - RM1.2k.

From the above outstanding loans, should I close any of the loans or should I start savings.
Your opinions is greatly appreciated.

This post has been edited by navink: Sep 17 2014, 10:00 AM
felixmask
post Sep 17 2014, 10:06 AM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(navink @ Sep 17 2014, 09:07 AM)
Hi sifus,

Below are my savings :
From the above outstanding loans, should I close any of the loans or should I do start savings.
yes..best reduce any outstanding loan.
I dont mean to ask you Nett INCome- which is PnC.

best try to reduce nt necessary expenses monthly.
Made a goal yourself to solve your PTPTN withing 1-2year.

IF you keep dragging the outstanding- LOAN interest still charging you.

navink
post Sep 17 2014, 10:34 AM

415 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Sep 17 2014, 10:06 AM)
yes..best reduce any outstanding loan.
I dont mean to ask you Nett INCome- which is PnC.

best try to reduce nt necessary expenses monthly.
Made a goal yourself to solve your PTPTN withing 1-2year.

IF you keep dragging the outstanding- LOAN interest still charging you.
For PTPTN, I just pay RM100 monthly. smile.gif
felixmask
post Sep 17 2014, 10:53 AM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(navink @ Sep 17 2014, 10:34 AM)
For PTPTN, I just pay RM100 monthly.  smile.gif
this mine opinion said.

Look for the loan with highest incurr interest and timefram able to settle asap.

The less Debt then the less interest your will burden.

navink
post Sep 17 2014, 10:58 AM

415 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Sep 17 2014, 10:53 AM)
this mine opinion said.

Look for the loan with highest incurr interest and timefram able to settle asap.

The less Debt then the less interest your will burden.
Aware of that.. biggrin.gif
ASB giving me around 7% dividen (if I start savings) while PTPTN charge me with 4% interest.
Year end, I'll receive around 6k cash from ASB as dividen and thinking of putting it there or paying PTPTN.

I'm paying less for PTPTN as per instruction by PTPTN. biggrin.gif
td00164306
post Sep 17 2014, 12:44 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Sep 16 2014, 06:00 PM)
Not everybody has the opportunity to start at high-paying job like oil-gas and earn big bucks in the first few years of their working life. Just saying.

And travelling isnt so bad... Just saying.
You don't have to be in O&G to make a more decent amount at 27.

Travelling isn't so bad, until you put majority of your savings in.

Saving an extra 10k a year, could at least boost ur passive annual income by 400? Some more he has access to ASB.

If he do this for 5 years, very soon this amount he saved out of his travelling can generate him free trips every year. And he isn't 35 yet.

I always go against the idea of "travel must go while you are young, saving come later la". Foolish.

JIUHWEI
post Sep 17 2014, 01:12 PM

1,321 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Sep 16 2014, 09:57 PM)
Settle the car loan with your travel budget.
Insurance can terminate it, then rm150 extra can put in EPF. In case of sick, can always use government's service.
And most of the time, sickness is collect by your self, by having a bad lifestyle.
Phone bill still can do better, mine are only rm10-15 a month.
My name currently only registered 1 car loan.
Older people nowadays always tell the ladies to have their own income and earning ability.

For the same reasons, why would you terminate your own health insurance?
SUSsupersound
post Sep 17 2014, 01:34 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Sep 17 2014, 01:12 PM)
Older people nowadays always tell the ladies to have their own income and earning ability.

For the same reasons, why would you terminate your own health insurance?
Why I terminate it? Because a simple word : they are cheating. Case closed.
JIUHWEI
post Sep 17 2014, 01:49 PM

1,321 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Sep 17 2014, 01:34 PM)
Why I terminate it? Because a simple word : they are cheating. Case closed.
I wish you can elaborate more so some of the guys here can help you out.

Because if what you say is true, then we have a massive problem because BNM would be regulating a bunch of companies out there cheating people here and there.
kelly87
post Sep 17 2014, 01:53 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(youngman28 @ Sep 16 2014, 09:33 PM)
For a diy trip, it suppose not that expensive, how many day you travel to taiwan or korea? For sharing purpose, recently i travel to Kansai, Japan, totally cost me rm 1.7k for 7d6n pertrip inclusive of everything. For taiwan, i dun thing you need to spend that much considering the living standard was not that high. For airfare, i will pay priority to those less than rm350 for return fare. Anything more than this, i will think twice, another option is to book those new destination, it will be cheaper than establish destination.

I think one trip peryear is too much retriction, 2 trip peryear with maximum of 2.5k peryear for travel budget will be alright, i usually spent about  60-70% of my monthly salary for yearly travel budget.

For the fd, u can withdraw and invest  at least 50% of it into a unit trust through fsm, the return at least double than you keep in fd, then u have some extra money once the unit trust pay out dividen.
normally if go overseas that will be at least 7-9 days. Wow you manage to travel to japan with that amount.. i'm really impressed. I'm trying to save on airfare but sometimes still need to compromise with my travel mates available slot. Also, AA ain't so cheap anymore as compared to last time and consider that there's no direct flight from east msia to most places so I need to spend double air tix fares just to fly to KL and catch another flight to overseas.

Just wondering if you ever go to danang, vietnam? It'll be my next year destination, managed to grab cheap tix from AA. haha perhaps you don't mind to share ur itinerary with me. PM me will do if you have it.. Hahaha thanks! icon_rolleyes.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Sep 17 2014, 01:58 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

insurance don't "cheat"

insurance is a contract. u pay ABC amount, u get XYZ coverage, it's all in black and white. It's all play of words...it's all law of contract

if u don't read the policy WORD BY WORD and all the fine prints, and then did not get the claim, u did not do your homework, it's not fair to brand insurers as "cheaters"

key - KNOW what u are buying/signing up for wink.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Sep 17 2014, 01:58 PM
SUSsupersound
post Sep 17 2014, 02:27 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Sep 17 2014, 01:49 PM)
I wish you can elaborate more so some of the guys here can help you out.

Because if what you say is true, then we have a massive problem because BNM would be regulating a bunch of companies out there cheating people here and there.
I usually won't waste time now to any of the insurance agent.

This post has been edited by supersound: Sep 17 2014, 02:32 PM
polkiuj
post Sep 17 2014, 03:30 PM

337 posts

Hi sifus,

Below are my savings :
From the above outstanding loans, should I close any of the loans or should I start savings.
If all these are effective rates, then u dun need to settle anything unless u have certain reasons to do so.

E.g. Applying for 3rd house loan and wanna get 90% loan.

If not, rejoice for ur ultra low interest rates. ASB will be the best investment without any likely risk.
SUSsupersound
post Sep 17 2014, 03:39 PM

11,554 posts

Hi sifus,

Below are my savings :
All the loans you never mention monthly payment.
With that extra rm1-1.2k savings, I'll settle PTPTN loan first, follow by ASB loan, last your housing loan.
When you are 0 loan, then you will have more savings and you will know better where your money is going.

117 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0316sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:59 AM