Personal Financial Management V3, It's all about managing your $$$

naruko85
post Aug 25 2016, 02:09 PM

1,611 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Aug 25 2016, 02:01 PM)
Buying shares is you really need to spend time to research, listening to others will send you to hell.
But there's a statement : buy low sell high. The question is, when is low and when is high? Nobody will tell you.
Wealth plan is still ILP, as said, just use your money and start build your own spreadsheet.
Just remember this : if you decide to let others to manage your wealth, your wealth will say bye bye to you.
Yes, must spend time do research, but only if i understand this whole thing, I am actually planning to find something at either bank to help me do the startup 1st, only after when i can take a hold of everything, I will manage it myself. And of coz need to monitor day by day also if other ppl manage, if only ask like after 1 year.... only god will know what happened then

and is fund/unit trust lower risk than shares?

edit: I have already budget the next 5 years of my income (exclude interest from FD etc) & expenses starting this year, so far i got surplus by comparing actual and budgeted, so 3 months + to go

This post has been edited by naruko85: Aug 25 2016, 02:16 PM
naruko85
post Aug 25 2016, 02:17 PM

1,611 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Aug 25 2016, 02:16 PM)
Fund/unit trust infact are the best start for lazy people to get poorer.
so you recommend direct go buy/sell shares?
Showtime747
post Aug 25 2016, 02:34 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(naruko85 @ Aug 25 2016, 02:17 PM)
Just for the background, that kengyan is the dupe of supersound, who thought all insurance and UT agents are con man. Most of us knew he is a tin kosong biggrin.gif

My take for you is to spend some time reading the relevant threads which interest you. There are a lot of info here for new comers. Then if you don't understand a specific investment, you can ask the sifu here
naruko85
post Aug 25 2016, 02:47 PM

1,611 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Aug 25 2016, 02:34 PM)
Just for the background, that kengyan is the dupe of supersound, who thought all insurance and UT agents are con man. Most of us knew he is a tin kosong  biggrin.gif

My take for you is to spend some time reading the relevant threads which interest you. There are a lot of info here for new comers. Then if you don't understand a specific investment, you can ask the sifu here
maybe will stick to fund/unit trust or shares for now. As time passes, got more and more saving but not sure where to invest.
lowdensity
post Aug 25 2016, 04:20 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Aug 25 2016, 02:01 PM)
Buying shares is you really need to spend time to research, listening to others will send you to hell.
But there's a statement : buy low sell high. The question is, when is low and when is high? Nobody will tell you.
Wealth plan is still ILP, as said, just use your money and start build your own spreadsheet.
Just remember this : if you decide to let others to manage your wealth, your wealth will say bye bye to you.
most agents (UT etc...) wouldn't agree with your thought as that are their "steel rice bowl".

QUOTE(naruko85 @ Aug 25 2016, 02:47 PM)
maybe will stick to fund/unit trust or shares for now. As time passes, got more and more saving but not sure where to invest.
remember that putting money to Unit Trust , FD or any other tool doesn't mean you have lower or higher risk.
If you are putting without knowing how they earn and/or charge and/or whatsoever on You , then you are actually putting risk on your own.

again, FREE ADVICE is EXPENSIVE.

Kamen Rider
post Aug 27 2016, 09:21 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(naruko85 @ Aug 25 2016, 02:17 PM)
my few cents advise to those who looking for some advices

1. Save a portion of your monthly income (many books mentioned this pay yourself first) put a side of 10% every month..... as this will help to create a saving plan after some time.... of course, if you income bracket is higher, then can put more % ...

2. Start reading financial knowledge books to equip yourself, this is fundamental to build your financial management and also exploring type of investment you plan to venture in....of course, not everyone sails smoothly, it need time to obtain the experience and knowledge before you have certain level of confident....

3. Cut down unnecessary expenses, debts, this will streamline your expense behaviors and moving forward to the right direction, as debts can be the big barrier, house and car are the most expenses you will pay in your life time..... as both can be very substantial if you are pursuing more comfort and luxury life style.....
i doubt people now can live with small car and small house, all wanted a decent car and house for some reason behind, be it to impress people, friends, families, relatives ..... to have more spaces, features, enjoyment.... etc......

talking about car, most of us who have start with family will have at least 2 cars..... and once graduate or some even not yet graduate, already having a car as transportation...... they will not think of bicycle, motorbike as a transport..... reason probably safety, uneasiness when raining etc....

SUSPink Spider
post Aug 28 2016, 03:45 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

"Play contra"

Tin kosong hint there...i get it liao Showtime747 laugh.gif
Showtime747
post Aug 28 2016, 05:47 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 28 2016, 03:45 PM)
"Play contra"

Tin kosong hint there...i get it liao Showtime747 laugh.gif
Bro, you a bit slow... biggrin.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 28 2016, 06:27 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Aug 28 2016, 05:47 PM)
Bro, you a bit slow... biggrin.gif
Cantonese:

Keng = super/great/powerful
Yan (Yam) = sound

tongue.gif
Showtime747
post Aug 28 2016, 09:43 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 28 2016, 06:27 PM)
Cantonese:

Keng = super/great/powerful
Yan (Yam) = sound

tongue.gif
WoW !!! This one you win liao. I never thought of that ! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 28 2016, 09:55 PM

16,872 posts

Please don't remind me of the joke on NAV again. Lawak pecah perut aku laugh.gif
silverwave
post Oct 15 2016, 11:46 PM

4,082 posts

Hello, I'm not sure if this is the correct thread to ask this but what are your opinions on paying more for house repayment?

Currently I'm paying double for my repayment but i feel that I'm putting most of my savings there. I've put a lump sum of my FD there too last year to reduce the interest but i've just realised that i don't have liquid cash if needed. I have some company stocks, a little of ASNB and a few thousands of savings in my accounts. I'm staying with my parents so my personal expenditure is very low. Most of my salary goes to the repayment.

I was wondering, if i should pay may be 1.5x the repayment and save up more in FD? May be invest some in stocks too (which i've been delaying for some time)? Any other opinion on this? Thanks.
MUM
post Oct 16 2016, 09:26 AM

14,858 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Oct 15 2016, 11:46 PM)
Hello, I'm not sure if this is the correct thread to ask this but what are your opinions on paying more for house repayment?

Currently I'm paying double for my repayment but i feel that I'm putting most of my savings there. I've put a lump sum of my FD there too last year to reduce the interest but i've just realised that i don't have liquid cash if needed. I have some company stocks, a little of ASNB and a few thousands of savings in my accounts. I'm staying with my parents so my personal expenditure is very low. Most of my salary goes to the repayment.

I was wondering, if i should pay may be 1.5x the repayment and save up more in FD? May be invest some in stocks too (which i've been delaying for some time)? Any other opinion on this? Thanks.
try read info/tips from this site, it has useful info that is easy to read, non biased and informative.
http://www.moneysense.gov.sg/Financial-Pla...-Resources.aspx

just my 2 sens
most would advocate having a cash buffer of 3~ 6 months of monthly expenses in Emergency fund will never make you feel don't have liquid cash when needed.

housing loan interest is 4.5% (approximate),...get a financial planner (not those that insist of you buying their products and only buy from them -- conflict of interest----between your real interest and their commission-mah) to help review your risk appetite and do some investment that can "TRY" to get anything above housing loan rate.....

without going for financial planner, a simple one, I can think of is, ASX-fixed price funds......(to me it is secure, liquid and usually paying > housing loan rate.)

hmm.gif do you have an exit plan if you are not able to work any more,......housing loan and daily expenses how?
transfer this risk to somewhere.....have you done that?

......my 2 sens are obtained from that website with link provided.... biggrin.gif
aspartame
post Oct 16 2016, 12:27 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Oct 15 2016, 11:46 PM)

Is your prop rented out? If yes, dun pay down the loan at all because housing loan int is cheap and is deductible against rental income, invest your surplus funds in PNB funds to generate more than 5%.

silverwave
post Oct 16 2016, 01:04 PM

4,082 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 16 2016, 09:26 AM)
try read info/tips from this site, it has useful info that is easy to read, non biased and informative.
http://www.moneysense.gov.sg/Financial-Pla...-Resources.aspx

just my 2 sens
most would advocate having a cash buffer of 3~ 6 months of monthly expenses in Emergency fund will never make you feel don't have liquid cash when needed.

housing loan interest is 4.5% (approximate),...get a financial planner (not those that insist of you buying their products and only buy from them -- conflict of interest----between your real interest and their commission-mah) to help review your risk appetite and do some investment that can "TRY" to get anything above housing loan rate.....

without going for financial planner, a simple one, I can think of is, ASX-fixed price funds......(to me it is secure, liquid and usually paying > housing loan rate.)

hmm.gif do you have an exit plan if you are not able to work any more,......housing loan and daily expenses how?
transfer this risk to somewhere.....have you done that?

......my 2 sens are obtained from that website with link provided.... biggrin.gif
Thanks Mum, will look through the link.

About financial planner, what types do we have? Usually the ones that i've come across are trying to sell some sort of investment schemes.

I do have some in ASW but the quota is always limited, which is a headache.

Exit plan: Housing loan is paid ahead for about 2 years over now (took a FD and put it in the home repayment account to reduce the interest, the amount is still there) so it should be ok. Daily expenses as of now is not an issue since i'm staying with my parents but i would prefer to save up at least 6 months emergency fund.

Will read through the link for more input. smile.gif
silverwave
post Oct 16 2016, 01:07 PM

4,082 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Oct 16 2016, 12:27 PM)
Is your prop rented out? If yes, dun pay down the loan at all because housing loan int is cheap and is deductible against rental income, invest your surplus funds in PNB funds to generate more than 5%.
Yes, rented out.

PNB funds as in ASW/AS1M right? I put a little in ASW, was lucky when there was an opening and i was in the bank. I also have some in ASG (not fixed price) but i feel it''s not that great as the fixed price ones.

aspartame
post Oct 16 2016, 01:16 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Oct 16 2016, 01:07 PM)
Yes, rented out.

PNB funds as in ASW/AS1M right? I put a little in ASW, was lucky when there was an opening and i was in the bank. I also have some in ASG (not fixed price) but i feel it''s not that great as the fixed price ones.
Yes, those fixed priced ones if can get. If your property is rented out and if you have paid off the loans, the whole rental income minus some expenses will be taxable income. If your work income or business income is high, your rental income will be taxed at maximum tax bracket .
Dividend Magic
post Oct 16 2016, 01:30 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Oct 16 2016, 01:04 PM)
Thanks Mum, will look through the link.

About financial planner, what types do we have? Usually the ones that i've come across are trying to sell some sort of investment schemes.

I do have some in ASW but the quota is always limited, which is a headache.

Exit plan: Housing loan is paid ahead for about 2 years over now (took a FD and put it in the home repayment account to reduce the interest, the amount is still there) so it should be ok. Daily expenses as of now is not an issue since i'm staying with my parents but i would prefer to save up at least 6 months emergency fund.

Will read through the link for more input.  smile.gif
Hey maybe I can help shed some light on financial planners since I'm one. Basically most FPs in Malaysia are trying to sell u insurance and mutual funds, they earn commissions based on the products you buy.

Some (like me) are fee only FPs to avoid conflicts of interests.
You can message me any time to talk about your financial issues, I do basic financial planning for free because I enjoy it. =D
SUSyklooi
post Oct 16 2016, 01:43 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Dividend Magic @ Oct 16 2016, 01:30 PM)
Hey maybe I can help shed some light on financial planners since I'm one. Basically most FPs in Malaysia are trying to sell u insurance and mutual funds, they earn commissions based on the products you buy.

Some (like me) are fee only FPs to avoid conflicts of interests.
You can message me any time to talk about your financial issues, I do basic financial planning for free because I enjoy it. =D
rclxms.gif that is very kind of you.... notworthy.gif
silverwave
post Oct 16 2016, 01:44 PM

4,082 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Oct 16 2016, 01:16 PM)
Yes, those fixed priced ones if can get. If your property is rented out and if you have paid off the loans, the whole rental income minus some expenses will be taxable income. If your work income or business income is high, your rental income will be taxed at maximum tax bracket .
The property is still under loan at the moment. On the bolded item, rental is still taxable right even if it's still under loan right? I will need to minus off some expenses and the balance is taxable, correct?

117 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Top

0.0264sec    0.18    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:59 AM