Personal Financial Management V3, It's all about managing your $$$

SUSyklooi
post Oct 29 2013, 04:16 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ Oct 29 2013, 04:01 PM)
the last post on V2:
hmm.gif how much per month for a 5 yr loan?
same interest rate?

if you convert to a 5yr loan any additional charges?
can you buy a "cheaper" insurance when without loan?

This post has been edited by yklooi: Oct 29 2013, 04:19 PM
SUSyklooi
post Apr 16 2014, 04:44 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Apr 15 2014, 11:16 PM)
Actually, it's not. It's the most precise comparison that they (financial planners) or anyone else can come up with that is not a trick.

Because it's pure and simple comparison between incoming (FD) and outgoing (inflation) differences. If outgoing > incoming, that's negative. Both in terms of arithmetic and accounting.

Whereas you brought up numerous other side issues like risk-appetite, accumulated wealth, required/essential expenses and personal circumstances to cloud the matter further.

For example, if you spend zero, the impact of inflation on you is zero.

It doesn't mean the impact of inflation is zero, if you get the drift?
rclxms.gif I liked this simple phrase. notworthy.gif
hmm.gif I guess cannot see it now..... unknowingly, working behind the scenes....until one need to spend and made comparison
SUSyklooi
post Jun 20 2014, 06:27 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Jun 20 2014, 12:00 AM)
I am naive. Ure perfectly right. Total expenses increase is my inflation rate. I'm sorry. The others here will agree with you wholeheartedly as well.

Any comments from others?
hmm.gif would like to suggest go google or yahoo for the meaning of "inflation", then read it up and try to understand the meaning of it. icon_rolleyes.gif
SUSyklooi
post Jul 16 2014, 11:46 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Jul 16 2014, 11:30 PM)
Yeah kinda true, saving moderately to buy ur needs instead of your wants is good enough for me..
like no Milk tea, no Starbucks etc.

all in all it comes down to perseverance, if you have that strength to go on, especially when you see the people around you doing otherwise..

Do you guy have any tips ad advise to do that? and endure? tongue.gif
hmm.gif maybe he has....
Financial Freedom
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/resea...SJBlog_20140707
SUSyklooi
post Jul 18 2014, 11:01 AM

8,188 posts

hmm.gif how much do you have in yr emergency funds? + funds for "just incase" car break down funds?
SUSyklooi
post Jul 18 2014, 11:08 AM

8,188 posts

try following this at post # 301
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3004579/+300#entry69330231
SUSyklooi
post Sep 18 2014, 05:20 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(navink @ Sep 18 2014, 05:07 PM)
i'm communicating klang-kl-klang with m/cycle.. jimat a lot..
can you please advise how long is the time taken by m/cycle? notworthy.gif
if by car? any idea how long?
SUSyklooi
post Nov 20 2014, 02:35 PM

8,188 posts

Deputy Finance Minister Datuk Ahmad Maslan revealed to the Dewan Rakyat that just 8.9 per cent of EPF members have savings of more than RM201,000, noting that the government has estimated a minimum of RM196,800 to live on for 20 years after retirement based on a monthly earning of RM820, which is the poverty line.

Ahmad said during Question Time that 3.9 per cent have savings of between RM201,000 and RM300,000, 1.8 per cent have savings of between RM301,000 and RM400,000, 1 per cent have savings of between RM401,000 and RM500,000, 1.6 per cent have savings of between RM501,000 and RM1 million, while just 0.6 per cent have savings of more than a million ringgit.

Should retirees need RM2,000 a month to get by, a nest egg of RM480,000 is required, which only about two out of 100 EPF contributors currently have.

http://www.msn.com/en-my/news/national/les...cid=mailsignout
SUSyklooi
post Jan 24 2015, 06:55 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Byyyz @ Jan 24 2015, 06:09 PM)
Due to lack of knowledge in finance, I took the initiative to search some reading materials to get better picture of financial planning & investment. Hence, not doing any investment currently, cash is sitting in the bank. Which I'd regretted I never start early enough to manage my finance. (I think you did ok for your self,...got emergency funds, hardworking, high saving etc.....and now wanted to go into investment....)

If you guys are in my situation, what path will you take to fully utilize the cash to generate more cash and/or allocate it for better cash flow?
And also, is it advisable to invest with current economy situation?

Note: I'm not good in math and finance, so I'll need some time to learn from the basics before making any investment.
Unknown to your risk appetite (which is very personal and subjective)....try reading these links first before you decide.
Why do you invest?
Investing is not about picking the top-performing asset or the highest ranking fund. The purpose of investing is to make your money work for you. This requires investors to make informed, important and conscious decisions. Here are the questions that you must ask yourself before investing:

https://www.kenangainvestors.com.my/KIB/KIB...vestingFAQ.aspx

However, before you jump in and start investing your hard-earned money, there are several important things that you would need to know about yourself first.
•How much do you really need? (Future Planning)
•How much risk can you take? (Risk Level)
•How long are you willing to wait before you see profits? (Time Horizon)
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/schoo...d.svdo?PageID=1

if the risk appetite is ok try PRS.....govt giving youth incentives...
PRS Youth Incentive RM500
PRS Youth Incentive is an initiative by the government to encourage young individuals to start saving early for retirement.... April 23, 2014

http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=4558

Have a read of these and its links for better understanding while waiting for more value able responses.

SUSyklooi
post Jan 30 2015, 12:53 PM

8,188 posts

For those that had purchased properties 7 years ago and saw the prices of their properties gone up like crazy....200 to 300% gains are norm....would say that it is a "BEST" investment.
SUSyklooi
post May 13 2015, 11:48 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(revent @ May 13 2015, 10:57 AM)
Hello all,

Currently I had saving in FD around 80k, and 10k in unit trust,
I think that my portion in FD are too much and wish to invest part of it,
but not sure which way to go:

1. Property: I felt that currently the market is not that good?
2. Share: I'm abit lazy to learn, so I opt for option 3
3. Unit trust: I just try it few months ago and I felt that it's up and down and not quite stable.

I'm still searching for the way to grow my money, anyone can recommend me any? Thanks. biggrin.gif
rclxms.gif well the good point is that you know what you wanted... rclxms.gif
SUSyklooi
post Oct 16 2016, 01:43 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Dividend Magic @ Oct 16 2016, 01:30 PM)
Hey maybe I can help shed some light on financial planners since I'm one. Basically most FPs in Malaysia are trying to sell u insurance and mutual funds, they earn commissions based on the products you buy.

Some (like me) are fee only FPs to avoid conflicts of interests.
You can message me any time to talk about your financial issues, I do basic financial planning for free because I enjoy it. =D
rclxms.gif that is very kind of you.... notworthy.gif
SUSyklooi
post Jan 13 2017, 10:50 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Jan 13 2017, 10:14 PM)
Thnx. Cos I calculate I will have roughly 1 mil when retire not sure if enough and what is equivalent to today value
in the ends, it comes back to how much you needed to spend monthly during that period.

SUSyklooi
post Jan 14 2017, 01:48 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(imnotabot @ Jan 14 2017, 01:43 PM)
Anything I'm missing, other than it's a bit more dangerous than driving, and I will be more susceptible to weather conditions (especially rain)?
get a PA insurance & a rain coat....
I am doing that too...to beat traffic jam, ease of buying small things and get home faster too.
reduce green gas too. thumbsup.gif
SUSyklooi
post Jan 14 2017, 01:54 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(lowdensity @ Jan 14 2017, 01:47 PM)
instead of figuring how to cut cost.
spend more time on how to increase earning.
thumbup.gif thumbsup.gif
SUSyklooi
post Jan 14 2017, 02:12 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(imnotabot @ Jan 14 2017, 02:09 PM)
Looks like I already got myself one then.  biggrin.gif
thumbsup.gif then you are all set to go...
SUSyklooi
post Feb 27 2019, 12:00 PM

8,188 posts

These worked perfectly well when I first started....
light, small and ease of use and on the spot recording is possible

SUSyklooi
post Feb 27 2019, 08:40 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Feb 27 2019, 07:46 PM)
ni bang cite Swedroe, fan Jack Bogle ke?
They used 555 too?
that is incredible....
SUSyklooi
post May 22 2019, 09:03 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(ratloverice @ May 21 2019, 06:12 PM)
Need some advices here.

Im currently 27. Planning on getting married and buying a house within the next 2 years. My savings are able to cover 60 months of my monthly expenses.

I have been considering about getting a life and accident insurance just in case anything happens to me. A friend of mine who works as an insurance agent quoted me RM664 per month for a sum insured of 1.1m for life, 500k for illness, around 200k for accident, and a medical card of 1.2m per year.

I had a discussion with my gf and she thinks that it is not necessary to insure that much when im still young. Im in a dilemma about this because I see it as an important thing to ensure that either my parents or future wife have sufficient amount of money to support themselves if anything happens to me, but my gf thinks that I shouldn’t be spending so much on insurance at this young age.

Would anybody mind giving me some opinions please?
saving can last 5 yrs of monthly expenses.... thumbup.gif
this expenses amount is for your current self only?

on this..."to ensure that either my parents or future wife have sufficient amount of money to support themselves if anything happens to me"

does that current available saving, includes "your future family" (1 spouse + 2 kids) monthly expenses......(next 5 yrs)

after your got the house next 2 yrs...will you be drawing money from that saving to do the house renovation?
if yes.......hope you had budgeted about RM70k + for that purposes....then how many more months of that saving can cover your monthly and family needs expenses?

after getting your house, in the next 2 yrs....will you plan to getting married with your current GF?
if yes.....will you be drawing money from that saving to do the marriage expenses?
if yes.....hope you had budgeted about RM20k + for that purposes...then how many more months of that saving can cover your monthly and family needs expenses?

This RM664 per month is about how many % of your net take home pay?
How much is the monthly housing loan + maintenance fees (if any)? This housing loan is about how many % of your net take home pay?
How much monthly per month do you think you will need per month after getting married + with a family in the next 3 yrs?

Does your current employer has any form of insurance coverage?
if yes....how is the coverage like....?
Does your family members has any medical history of critical illnesses?
Does your parent has any form of insurance coverage?
Does your GF has any form of insurance coverage?
Does your "kids" needs any form of insurance coverage?

with that...to add on to your current so call dilemma..... brows.gif ...
how to ensure that either your parents or future wife (+ kids) have sufficient amount of money to support themselves if anything happens to any of THEM, without drawing into your savings or become a liabilities to you biggrin.gif

Insurance is a good to have thing & it is a long terms commitment like marriage, plan the suitability, affordability and sustainability, else they would become a "useless" burden. (severely under covarage or permature termination)

Yr GF knows alot more about your current financial standing than me.......thus, on the side of err....i think your GF is right.

This post has been edited by yklooi: May 22 2019, 09:21 AM
SUSyklooi
post May 23 2019, 01:40 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(ratloverice @ May 23 2019, 01:28 AM)
.....Do you think that I am spending too much on insurance? ......
reading from the info provided.........it is ok....with just RM664 per month
thumbup.gif good to go....
check your GF's insurance for details.....maybe need to get your GF some more insurance coverage too while you do that...

This post has been edited by yklooi: May 23 2019, 01:42 AM

0.0979sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:28 PM