Personal Financial Management V3, It's all about managing your $$$
aspartame
Jun 20 2016, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(langstrasse @ Jun 20 2016, 10:03 PM) Folks, I'm thinking of purchasing my first property. However, I'm wondering about what would be the best combination to obtain the best value for my hard earned money. My understanding is that : 1. Higher downpayment = lower total interest paid 2. Shorter loan term = lower total interest paid How do you determine the best combination of downpayment and loan tenure for a given property purchase - can I approach a Financial Planner on this ? I don't think it would be a good idea to ask bank staff because they have a vested interest to maximize the interest earned on every loan. To cut the story short, it does not matter much if you pay more deposit or less or take a longer term or shorter term AS LONG AS you invest whatever excess you have into some long term stocks portfolio or pay off loan balance periodically if you wished.
aspartame
Jun 21 2016, 01:05 AM
QUOTE(langstrasse @ Jun 20 2016, 11:03 PM) Sorry but I don't think I fully understand. My guess at what you're saying is (please correct where necessary): If I take a 30 year loan with minimal 10% downpayment, I should place any excess cash that I have in investments which have higher effective returns than the interest rate I pay for the home loan ? I especially don't understand the second part "or pay off loan balance periodically if you wished." How do I decide when it's appropriate to pay the loan balance off ? I assume that whatever returns you can generate from long term stocks investing should be about 5% to 10% in the long run. Your effective loan interest should be about 5%. However, paying off loan means guaranteed return of 5%. Investing in stocks should get higher return but not guaranteed. That is why I say invest some in stocks and pay off loan with some excess cash. You really should concentrate on your working income. Whether you invest or pay off should not be of much difference. Just my humble opinion.
aspartame
Jun 21 2016, 04:53 PM
QUOTE(kengyan @ Jun 21 2016, 02:37 PM) Yup, that's right. I have my manager having rm30M of NAV, but if really cash it out, that's only rm600k. Saving money no doubt it will be way slower, but then it is still real cash. My terrace house that I'm staying only cost rm130k when I bought it and now it can easily shout for rm800k but bank only put a value at rm600k. So I can always make my NAV higher by using rm800k as calculations. NAV of 30 mil means you have net 30 million cash if you sell all your properties and settle all your loan. Clearly, what you have is 600k being your NAV. The 30 mil is your total value of properties owned. You owe the bank 29.4 mil. Anyway, hard to believe bank will loan you that much.
aspartame
Jun 21 2016, 05:12 PM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 21 2016, 05:05 PM) i'm lagi kiasi - i value my properties based on last bank-lelong reserved price  feels good to value them at "hot prices" though - feel saja lar, not prudent of me  While it is good to be prudent, when it comes to valuation, I believe in a reasonable value to reflect reality and what cybermaste describe seems reasonable. I believe in reality not too much optimism nor pessimism.
aspartame
Jun 24 2016, 01:49 PM
QUOTE(lowya @ Jun 24 2016, 02:09 AM) all income should goes to pay/acquire asset (FD, business) such that the assets can generate passive income to pay for all expenses/debt. This cycle should be automated until passive income exceed all expenses, where you achieve financial freedom on paper. That's all is needed for the so called Personal Financial Management. What? You talk alresdy like no talk like that.
aspartame
Jun 24 2016, 11:20 PM
I agree that it is a very delicate balance. If a person maximise savings, it means he is completely depriving himself of pleasures now so that he can achieve financial freedom latest by 55. However, if he enjoys a bit now, you might think it is OK, but often, this enjoyment will cut his savings by half, and it means he will never reach financial freedom before 55 or even 65 or forever. You see, the power of compounding gets its power from maximum firepower early on in life. If those precious firepower are used up for fun, then the power of compounding is very much reduced. To enjoy now or delay gratification? It is up to you and it is often either or. You can say, you enjoy a bit, save a bit, sounds nice but unless your earning power shoot through the roof from 35 onwards, it is unlikely for u to retire comfortably by 55.
This post has been edited by aspartame: Jun 24 2016, 11:20 PM
aspartame
Jul 24 2016, 09:29 PM
QUOTE(lowya @ Jul 24 2016, 08:47 AM) any property 'owners' who only paid 10% deposit or pays 50% interest of his/her month installment would should rather consider their property as liability rather than asset. One should not call themselves owner owner unless they have fully paid a freehold property, they real owner is the bank. Some are deluded into thinking they could sell at market for double of their initial purchase price, without realize how much they already paid to bank in the form of interest, legal fees, property agent fees, taxation, maintenance cost, quit rent, etc that wiped out any profit that they probably gain. Many of these 'owners' whose tenant barely help cover their installments and only pray that they could come out a little more profitable, majority after sold tried hard to convince others that they 'made' money from property, after their so called 'flip'. Any 10% owners like to testify or counter my view feel free to share openly. As long as can rent out can already . The amount of rental collected is significant
aspartame
Oct 16 2016, 12:27 PM
QUOTE(silverwave @ Oct 15 2016, 11:46 PM) Hello, I'm not sure if this is the correct thread to ask this but what are your opinions on paying more for house repayment? Currently I'm paying double for my repayment but i feel that I'm putting most of my savings there. I've put a lump sum of my FD there too last year to reduce the interest but i've just realised that i don't have liquid cash if needed. I have some company stocks, a little of ASNB and a few thousands of savings in my accounts. I'm staying with my parents so my personal expenditure is very low. Most of my salary goes to the repayment. I was wondering, if i should pay may be 1.5x the repayment and save up more in FD? May be invest some in stocks too (which i've been delaying for some time)? Any other opinion on this? Thanks. Is your prop rented out? If yes, dun pay down the loan at all because housing loan int is cheap and is deductible against rental income, invest your surplus funds in PNB funds to generate more than 5%.
aspartame
Oct 16 2016, 01:16 PM
QUOTE(silverwave @ Oct 16 2016, 01:07 PM) Yes, rented out. PNB funds as in ASW/AS1M right? I put a little in ASW, was lucky when there was an opening and i was in the bank. I also have some in ASG (not fixed price) but i feel it''s not that great as the fixed price ones. Yes, those fixed priced ones if can get. If your property is rented out and if you have paid off the loans, the whole rental income minus some expenses will be taxable income. If your work income or business income is high, your rental income will be taxed at maximum tax bracket .
aspartame
Oct 16 2016, 01:48 PM
QUOTE(silverwave @ Oct 16 2016, 01:44 PM) The property is still under loan at the moment. On the bolded item, rental is still taxable right even if it's still under loan right? I will need to minus off some expenses and the balance is taxable, correct? Ya, still taxable no matter what but with maximum loan, chances are after deducting loan interest , you won't have much taxable rental income, if at all. That's why buying prop using cash is a pretty bad idea. So is paying off loans associated with a property .
aspartame
Dec 24 2019, 09:20 AM
QUOTE(ixaRA @ Dec 24 2019, 12:18 AM) Hi guys, Would appreciate greatly if I can get some advise on how and where to grow my money. Age: 33 years old (next year) Salary : RM 2300 Monthly Expenses Food: RM 300 Petrol: RM 50 (using motocycle to work) Phone bills: RM45 House internet: RM30 Car loan: RM 800 (already pay more than 5 years) Asset : got house market value RM800k ASNB - RM200k EPF - around RM50k I might getting married and settle down next coming year.. if everything goes well.. May I know your house got loan? ASNB got loan? Very impressed with your financial standing considering your income is not high...👍🏻