LYN's DDR2 Discussion, Come in and share

soulfly
post Apr 22 2007, 09:03 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

but one stick might limit another in overclocking... unless you're satisfied with 800 4-4-4
kalakatu
post Apr 22 2007, 09:14 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Apr 22 2007, 09:03 PM)
but one stick might limit another in overclocking... unless you're satisfied with 800 4-4-4
uhm..i dun think i will seriously oc when im using both brands..
but im asking about 'compatibility' here, since my XMS2 is PC6400 while Crucial is PC5300..

so can i use the DDR800 divider with both brands?
soulfly
post Apr 22 2007, 09:23 PM

15,903 posts

as long as you can get them together stable then it should be fine
mcchin
post Apr 22 2007, 09:24 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

I don't know about you
but as i see it
if the "chip" is from the empty place on the pcb,
then i think it is most probably a spacer to give it a solid feel
soulfly
post Apr 22 2007, 09:49 PM

15,903 posts

mcchin,

actually the loose chip came from the pcb part at the bottom of the pic
treason
post Apr 22 2007, 11:37 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Apr 21 2007, 01:44 PM)
2x1GB is better .... but AM2 has better performance when running 4 modules compare to just 2 modules.
oh...ok thanks..coz im thinking of getting another pair of corsair xms2..much cheaper than getting a 2 x 1 gb set..but just in case i upgrade to c2d in the future, 4 x 512mb also no problems rite? thanks!
mcchin
post Apr 24 2007, 12:30 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Apr 22 2007, 09:49 PM)
mcchin,

actually the loose chip came from the pcb part at the bottom of the pic
opps...
my bad, didnt check out the whole picture, silly me laugh.gif

it is real shame even though the ram cost nothing
sell it and the money could be used to feed the poor smile.gif tongue.gif

yehlai
post Apr 25 2007, 01:51 AM

tree lover
4,539 posts

Minor update of my DDR2 o'c result : )

DDR2: 1065MHz
Timing: 3-4-4-10
vDIMM: 2.22v

This post has been edited by yehlai: Apr 25 2007, 02:04 AM
Enigmatic
post Apr 25 2007, 08:36 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

With my KVR 533. wink.gif With D9GMH chips.

By the way.. @#$%ing good results you hacve there yehlai. wink.gif

This post has been edited by Enigmatic: Apr 25 2007, 08:41 PM
yehlai
post Apr 25 2007, 09:29 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

@Enigmatic,

Amazing.. tht was 100% of o'c. Hmm, so intresting.
Enigmatic
post Apr 25 2007, 09:49 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

By the way I didn't had time to post up my stress testing. Got so sick with my DiGi receiption that I ran off to the Computer Lab at my university.
Sigh.

Btw.. your results better la. tongue.gif
I can't go pass that even by abit. Readings at bios is 1100. Anything pass that will give me beeps or failed overclock settings. Hmm.. either this rams really can't take any frequencies above 1100 at ALL, or my motherboard dislikes above 1100. laugh.gif interestingly my rams are solid stable at 1100 though, memtest windows for nearly more than 12 hours..

This post has been edited by Enigmatic: Apr 25 2007, 09:51 PM
michealelsie
post Apr 25 2007, 09:55 PM

507 posts

Hi all, I wanna ask something from u all pro here, wanna ask u all to help me compare the OC'bility of the 2 RAM here:

1. Kingston DDR2 533MHz D9GMH chip
2. Team DDR2 667MHz (wat chip used i donno, but i got the pic)

TEAM DDR2 667MHz pic

I heard that my friend can goes up to 1200MHz with the TEAM RAM with DFI mobo....

so I wanna ask if I use the same DFI mobo or wat, which 1 have the higher OC'bility n more stable~

hope can get some answer from here soon thx
Enigmatic
post Apr 25 2007, 10:00 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

Those don't look like D9 ram series right? Hmm.. I believe the D9 fatboy series are alot squarer..

Well, TEAM is a rather solid ram maker. You can find yourself those D9GMH chips on Kingston still? They might be harder to find now.

I would suggest you to grab the TEAM la. I find that it's rather hard to overclock my rams (especially from 533, takes quite abit of HTT) unless my processor can reach at least 2.9Ghz from 1.9ghz. ya know, AM2's screwed up dividers laugh.gif and I am using DFi infinity UltraII M2.
coolice
post Apr 25 2007, 11:24 PM

Team OCD!
1,857 posts

QUOTE(michealelsie @ Apr 25 2007, 09:55 PM)
Hi all, I wanna ask something from u all pro here, wanna ask u all to help me compare the OC'bility of the 2 RAM here:

TEAM DDR2 667MHz pic

I heard that my friend can goes up to 1200MHz with the TEAM RAM with DFI mobo....

so I wanna ask if I use the same DFI mobo or wat, which 1 have the higher OC'bility n more stable~

mind to take closer pic for the chip?

QUOTE(Enigmatic @ Apr 25 2007, 10:00 PM)
Those don't look like D9 ram series right? Hmm.. I believe the D9 fatboy series are alot squarer..

Well, TEAM is a rather solid ram maker. You can find yourself those D9GMH chips on Kingston still? They might be harder to find now.

I would suggest you to grab the TEAM la. I find that it's rather hard to overclock my rams (especially from 533, takes quite abit of HTT) unless my processor can reach at least 2.9Ghz from 1.9ghz. ya know, AM2's screwed up dividers laugh.gif and I am using DFi infinity UltraII M2.
one more fatboy doh.gif
fatbody pls
kalakatu
post Apr 26 2007, 12:11 AM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

ill take the one which confirm its a good chipset..
and for the statement quoted above, dun 4get that oc also depends on luck.. smile.gif
no need to use DFi, but if u r lucky enuff, cheapo (but good) mobo can bring u further.. smile.gif
intune
post Apr 26 2007, 01:25 AM

LOWYAT 1ST MALAYSIA 2nD
879 posts

TEAM DDR2 667MHz pic

Those are D9DCN.. I got a pair of pc5300 Value rams with D9DCN 1GB.
managed to get 1020MHZ 5-5-5-15

I guess its a great value rams.

no complains here.

michealelsie
post Apr 26 2007, 03:25 AM

507 posts

so honestly which ram is better for OC'ed ???

2. Team DDR2 667MHz

i m planning to take the Kingston 1 but i got 1 friend said that kingston uses lousy PCB than the TEAM RAM. and the TEAM RAM my friend said that the TEAM officially can OC'ed from 667 till 1000....got 1 of my friend managed to OC'ed till 1200MHz using DFI mobo~

ok now ignore what my friend said, I jus want to kNow that which option is better? RM500 for Kingston DDR2 533MHz D9GMH chip 1GB*2 or RM350 for Team DDR2 667MHz 1GB*2

i need some pro advice~ thx
soulfly
post Apr 26 2007, 09:34 AM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(intune @ Apr 26 2007, 01:25 AM)
Those are D9DCN.. I got a pair of pc5300 Value rams with D9DCN 1GB.
managed to get 1020MHZ 5-5-5-15

I guess its a great value rams.

no complains here.
sorry but that is not D9DCN.... it looks like Aeneon

D9DCN is rectangular-shaped

Added on April 26, 2007, 9:35 am
QUOTE(michealelsie @ Apr 26 2007, 03:25 AM)
so honestly which ram is better for OC'ed ???

2. Team DDR2 667MHz

i m planning to take the Kingston 1 but i got 1 friend said that kingston uses lousy PCB than the TEAM RAM. and the TEAM RAM my friend said that the TEAM officially can OC'ed from 667 till 1000....got 1 of my friend managed to OC'ed till 1200MHz using DFI mobo~

ok now ignore what my friend said, I jus want to kNow that which option is better? RM500 for Kingston DDR2 533MHz D9GMH chip 1GB*2 or RM350 for Team DDR2 667MHz 1GB*2

i need some pro advice~ thx
you can't go wrong with D9GMH no matter how suck the pcb is

This post has been edited by soulfly: Apr 26 2007, 09:35 AM
michealelsie
post Apr 26 2007, 09:55 AM

507 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Apr 26 2007, 09:34 AM)

you can't go wrong with D9GMH no matter how suck the pcb is
just deal with him d~ later will bankin with him...a nice guy after all~ rclxms.gif
treason
post Apr 26 2007, 01:00 PM

190 posts

hey guys..what do u guys think of the CRUCIAL BALLISTIX PC6400 2GB KIT? going for like rm690 only in bulk...very tempted to get this ram.......just a question though, if I run it at 2.1v when the rated voltage is 2.2v will there b any problems? maybe if i loosen the timings a bit and oc to about 1000 mhz..also, in theorylar, should this rams be able to take 2.4v? coz my biostar board is either 2.1v or 2.4! haha thanks!

126 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0187sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:39 PM