127 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 - Official v7, 3rd gen of the best phablet ever!!

waveweaver
post Oct 8 2013, 08:40 AM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(dude06 @ Oct 8 2013, 08:31 AM)
Guys,
Previously, my phone is running quite cold and I dont feel warm at all. Besides that, I can screenshot using power and home button. However, just updated to the latest via OTA and then phone running slightly warmer than usual. Besides that, unable to do screenshot unless using SPEN..Pics below is the one I updated just now.

Any ideas what is the update ?

[attachmentid=3665050]
Have you check your Motion setting whether the Palm gesture is enable..?
The updates like usual is to improve stability and security..lolz
dude06
post Oct 8 2013, 08:45 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(WiLyi @ Oct 8 2013, 08:38 AM)
About heat issue, what program are you running that you feel "warm". And what temperature is your warm as everyone perceive warm differently.

I have updated mine and I'm still able to screenshot using the power and home button combo.
I did not actually do a scientific comparison test or install any app to check on the temp but then it is warmer than 5 mins ago before I updated it. Tried to restart twice and still unable to screenshot..sad.gif

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Oct 8 2013, 08:40 AM)
Have you check your Motion setting whether the Palm gesture is enable..?
The updates like usual is to improve stability and security..lolz
Havent check on the Palm gesture and will do it later and post a reply..smile.gif

As usual, it is to improve stability....LOL

rclxms.gif
Seng89
post Oct 8 2013, 08:50 AM

2,687 posts

QUOTE(Seng89 @ Oct 7 2013, 06:47 PM)
Sorry I just posted and saw the solution. I got one more problem which I can't connect to my company wifi (static ip can connect but no internet). Attached photos for info.
Any sifu can advise? Seem like running out of luck, I try uptick all the option in advanced setting still can't connect. Failed to obtained ip and same as the photo.Attached Image Attached Image

This post has been edited by Seng89: Oct 8 2013, 08:53 AM
Superman7
post Oct 8 2013, 08:56 AM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(Seng89 @ Oct 8 2013, 08:50 AM)
Any sifu can advise? Seem like running out of luck, I try uptick all the option in advanced setting still can't connect. Failed to obtained ip and same as the photo.Attached Image Attached Image
Your company uses static ip?
jychow
post Oct 8 2013, 09:00 AM

1,169 posts

QUOTE(Seng89 @ Oct 8 2013, 08:50 AM)
You can check the wifi channel the router is running on. By default, many wifi routers use 'auto' and it creates many problems. Try to switch to a fixed channel like 1, 6, 11.

Hopefully your phone will work after that.
Andrewtst
post Oct 8 2013, 09:02 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

I change my yesterday statement, hehe. Confirm the so call optimization still there. After a night standby, I get 36K this morning during benchmark. smile.gif

Xirality
post Oct 8 2013, 09:03 AM

12,176 posts

Some tips rclxms.gif

cyberloner
post Oct 8 2013, 09:08 AM

1,560 posts

QUOTE(SIWIS @ Oct 8 2013, 07:46 AM)
Anyone know why flash plugin in google chrome note 3 not working?

I want listen to online radio.
http://www.aifm.net.my/index.htm
firefox may help
waveweaver
post Oct 8 2013, 09:11 AM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Oct 8 2013, 09:02 AM)
I change my yesterday statement, hehe.  Confirm the so call optimization still there.  After a night standby, I get 36K this morning during benchmark. smile.gif

Early morning after wakeup from sleep..the phone always give good benchmark..lolz

Below is mine...still no update coming mad.gif

kuntakinte
post Oct 8 2013, 09:12 AM

607 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Oct 7 2013, 09:49 PM)
i can't diagnose for you now because either the statistics was reset or you really don't have any problem with wakelocks, the stats will reset when you plug in the usb cable and plug out or when your battery level reaches more than 90%, is facebook app still listed as wakeup more than 500 times? fb app wakes up a lot but it doesn't cause any significant wakelocks at the cpu wakelock if you noticed.

powermanagerservice or any power manager related services is normal, it shows up as wakelock when you are charging your phone because a phone does not go into deepsleep when it is being charged. so it satisfies the term 'wakelock'

android system at 1m 35s is too insignificant right now. if you have problems with battery draining plz consult this thread again.

anything more than 30 mins after a day's use (12hr+) is significant enough to pay attention to.
Finally found the culprit for the significant overnight battery drain. To recap, I initially thought it was the facebook app that was causing this drain as it calls up more than a few hundred wakelocks overnight. But as destex has mentioned, it was highly unlikely the major cause of the CPU wakelocks because I still had my battery juice drained from 38% to 28% between 11pm to 4am with all forms of data connection off and fb notifications set to minimum

Ran wakelock detector at 4 am again and found the culprit - it's the NLP wakelock under Google services. A quick search reveals that NLP relates to some network locator and was then pinpointed to location services.

Solution from XDA forum and it worked for me so far

- Disable location services in settings
- open your wifi settings, go to advance then uncheck 'always allow scanning'
- open google now, disable location services there (xda forum even suggested to remove web history but in my experience, not necessary and I think web history is integral to the user experience of google now. Without it, its pointless)

After that, my battery juice was a rock solid 21% all the way till 830am this morning.

Seems like this issue affects android 4.3 significantly

This post has been edited by kuntakinte: Oct 8 2013, 09:17 AM
Leo the Lion
post Oct 8 2013, 09:12 AM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Oct 8 2013, 10:02 AM)
I change my yesterday statement, hehe.  Confirm the so call optimization still there.  After a night standby, I get 36K this morning during benchmark. smile.gif

Did a test again.

i think i want to do hard reset for this phone.

WiLyi
post Oct 8 2013, 09:18 AM

@Ndr()iD fL@$hiNg M@n|ac
4,554 posts

QUOTE(kuntakinte @ Oct 8 2013, 09:12 AM)
Finally found the culprit for the significant overnight battery drain.  To recap, I initially thought it was the facebook app that was causing this drain as it calls up more than a few hundred wakelocks overnight.  But as destex has mentioned, it was highly unlikely the major cause of the CPU wakelocks because I still had my battery juice drained from 38% to 28% between 11pm to 4am with all forms of data connection off.

Ran wakelock detector at 4 am again and found the culprit - it's the NLP wakelock under Google services.  A quick search reveals that NLP relates to some network locator and was then pinpointed to location services.

Solution from XDA forum and it worked for me so far

- Disable location services in settings
- open your wifi settings, go to advance then uncheck 'always allow  scanning'
- open google now, disable location services there (xda forum even suggested to remove web history but in my experience, not necessary and I think web history is integral to the user experience of google now.  Without it, its pointless)

After that, my battery juice was a rock solid 21% all the way till 830am this morning
Yes, I have posted a few pages back, somehow the nlpcollector wakelock will drain your battery big time. If you are not using Google Now, then I would suggest to turn off Google location service in both Google Now setting and location setting.
solsekuin44
post Oct 8 2013, 09:18 AM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

Is this a huge improvement from Note 2? smile.gif
Leo the Lion
post Oct 8 2013, 09:19 AM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Oct 8 2013, 10:18 AM)
it's a huge improvement overall. except the battery life coz it seems on par with the note 2
WiLyi
post Oct 8 2013, 09:19 AM

@Ndr()iD fL@$hiNg M@n|ac
4,554 posts

No offense, but would like to ask why everyone is so obsessed with the benchmark thingy? I never run or install all this benchmark app before as I don't believe in all this figure.

Or is it because your phone is running slow or some other issue that need hard reset?
Leo the Lion
post Oct 8 2013, 09:21 AM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(WiLyi @ Oct 8 2013, 10:19 AM)
No offense, but would like to ask why everyone is so obsessed with the benchmark thingy? I never run or install all this benchmark app before as I don't believe in all this figure.

Or is it because your phone is running slow or some other issue that need hard reset?
it's for fun. its like comparing with our car performance(same model). share info how to tweak our phone and so on laugh.gif
waveweaver
post Oct 8 2013, 09:21 AM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Oct 8 2013, 09:18 AM)
Not as huge as Note1 to Note2... blink.gif
Andrewtst
post Oct 8 2013, 09:23 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Oct 8 2013, 09:11 AM)
Early morning after wakeup from sleep..the phone always give good benchmark..lolz

Below is mine...still no update coming mad.gif
How come... you root the phone? Possible due to rooting the phone?

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 8 2013, 09:12 AM)
Did a test again.

i think i want to do hard reset for this phone.
Ya, try hard reset and benchmark during fresh without installing anything, maybe something you install resource hunger.

If (let said) still same, then is possible the CPU quality range issue, as I face before at my S III, how I benchmark also never able to reach suppose target.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Oct 8 2013, 09:27 AM
antt00
post Oct 8 2013, 09:23 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(WiLyi @ Oct 8 2013, 09:19 AM)

Benchmark comparing is useless i agree but sometimes its useful to identify possible hardware defects or software issue. Like if u get 25k when everyone else is getting 36k definitely indicates something wrong somewhere.
Leo the Lion
post Oct 8 2013, 09:30 AM

6,358 posts

Those who get high benchmark scores >35k, have you installed MicroSD before?

127 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0348sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:18 AM