96 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

The Shrimp Thing, All About Shrimp - Neocaridina & Others

lily64my
post Oct 21 2013, 02:23 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 21 2013, 10:57 AM)
These fellas damn funny... they keep moving food out of the feeding dish.  vmad.gif

lol..not enough sauce??
lily64my
post Oct 21 2013, 02:33 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(GTBlackIce @ Oct 20 2013, 10:25 PM)
Well folks...been some time since I posted...so a quick update. Decided to take a deep plunge today & increased my tank population. Here's what I got:

6x S grade CRS (+1 existing)
6x SS grade CRS (+1 existing)
2x SSS grade CRS
2x OEBTs (hope it's a pair, hard to see)

Just couldn't resist...hands too itchy...

Current tank population:

8x Malayans
18x S grade Fire Reds
16x mix grades CRS
2x OEBTs
6x horned nerite snails
1x otocinclus
& numerous fire red shrimplets, tonnes of bugs & thin white worms

Here's hoping there'll be no casualties from today's purchase...as there's quite a hole in wallet now... tongue.gif

Tank's recovering from GDA attack...still some left. Not sure if it's the end of its life cycle or the oto/nerites/seed shrimps were clearing it...but am very glad I can see what's in the tank again (albeit not so clear yet).

Pics will be up when I can get some good clear shots wink.gif
Congratulations on the brave moved. But its 1st class hotel ok lah.
TSarrow
post Oct 21 2013, 02:46 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(lily64my @ Oct 21 2013, 02:20 PM)
got 2x 2ft tank..one normal size from lfs and one with round sides...a bit taller..
normal 2ft should be around 60L water, you can use formula tank length x tank width x tank height in cm /1000 after minus out substrate and tank top blank space.
That mean if you have 5cm soil thick and 3 cm blank space on tank top, total you minus 8cm from tank height.

1g no-planaria treat 50L water for first dose , then half dose on 2nd day and 1/4 dose on third day. (treatment took 3 days).
Think i give you around 2 to 4g.
TSarrow
post Oct 21 2013, 02:50 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(GTBlackIce @ Oct 20 2013, 10:25 PM)
Well folks...been some time since I posted...so a quick update. Decided to take a deep plunge today & increased my tank population. Here's what I got:

6x S grade CRS (+1 existing)
6x SS grade CRS (+1 existing)
2x SSS grade CRS
2x OEBTs (hope it's a pair, hard to see)

Just couldn't resist...hands too itchy...

Current tank population:

8x Malayans
18x S grade Fire Reds
16x mix grades CRS
2x OEBTs
6x horned nerite snails
1x otocinclus
& numerous fire red shrimplets, tonnes of bugs & thin white worms

Here's hoping there'll be no casualties from today's purchase...as there's quite a hole in wallet now... tongue.gif

Tank's recovering from GDA attack...still some left. Not sure if it's the end of its life cycle or the oto/nerites/seed shrimps were clearing it...but am very glad I can see what's in the tank again (albeit not so clear yet).

Pics will be up when I can get some good clear shots wink.gif
all these new purchase will cost you around RM0.4k.
OEBT'S get the pregnant one if any, buy 1 free 20 if survive.

This post has been edited by arrow: Oct 21 2013, 02:50 PM
sniper on the roof
post Oct 21 2013, 03:07 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(lily64my @ Oct 21 2013, 02:23 PM)
lol..not enough sauce??
Damn stone lah...one by one they went and move it outside.

[/@arrow] No planaria works on nematodes? Kinda regret I didn't opt for the nuke option earlier. Now catching nematodes that's slowly appearing. Today already caught 4.
GTBlackIce
post Oct 21 2013, 03:16 PM

QUOTE(lily64my @ Oct 21 2013, 02:33 PM)
Congratulations on the brave moved. But its 1st class hotel ok lah.
Haha... you and your compliments, Sis... thanks much blush.gif Hope the shrimps feel the same way as you do... laugh.gif

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 21 2013, 02:46 PM)
normal 2ft should be around 60L water, you can use formula tank length x tank width x tank height in cm /1000 after minus out substrate and tank top blank space.
That mean if you have 5cm soil thick and 3 cm blank space on tank top, total you minus 8cm from tank height.

1g no-planaria treat 50L water for first dose , then half dose on 2nd day and 1/4 dose on third day. (treatment took 3 days).
Think i give you around 2 to 4g.
She's still quite scared to use that bro...needs more guarantee that it doesn't affect her 'babies' biggrin.gif

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 21 2013, 02:50 PM)
all these new purchase will cost you around RM0.4k.
OEBT'S get the pregnant one if any, buy 1 free 20 if survive.
Err... thankfully it was lesser than that. OEBTs were the most expensive of the lot per head-wise.

Ahh... if only I could get a berried female but unfortunately couldn't as there were only 2 berried females in the tank and I was not to get it cry.gif Anyway, these 2 (as usual) are pioneer commandos deployed. If all goes well *may* just get another pair. Did the same for all the shrimps I have... start with a 'pioneer' batch... all is OK for a week or so... then add more.

Perhaps it's just my luck, but seems each batch of shrimp I got there would be 1 casualty (apart from the Malayan...1 kamikaze case after >1mth)... let's hope this time 'buang suay' already with those 'sacrificial shrimps'... blush.gif

Can't wait to be home tonight and see how the new 'babies' are doing... laugh.gif whistling.gif
TSarrow
post Oct 21 2013, 03:19 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 21 2013, 03:07 PM)

[/@arrow] No planaria works on nematodes? Kinda regret I didn't opt for the nuke option earlier. Now catching nematodes that's slowly appearing. Today already caught 4.
unfortunately no, Nematodes are immune to most treatment, they exist in all tank anyway. They getting less if you control your feeding and vacuum the substrate but you can't eliminating them.
Some fish may eat them if they float in the water. Be sure to check if it is planaria? planaria got triangle head and normally gliding around.
TSarrow
post Oct 21 2013, 03:25 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(GTBlackIce @ Oct 21 2013, 03:16 PM)
Haha... you and your compliments, Sis... thanks much  blush.gif Hope the shrimps feel the same way as you do...  laugh.gif
She's still quite scared to use that bro...needs more guarantee that it doesn't affect her 'babies'  biggrin.gif
Err... thankfully it was lesser than that. OEBTs were the most expensive of the lot per head-wise.

Ahh... if only I could get a berried female but unfortunately couldn't as there were only 2 berried females in the tank and I was not to get it  cry.gif  Anyway, these 2 (as usual) are pioneer commandos deployed. If all goes well *may* just get another pair. Did the same for all the shrimps I have... start with a 'pioneer' batch... all is OK for a week or so... then add more.

Perhaps it's just my luck, but seems each batch of shrimp I got there would be 1 casualty (apart from the Malayan...1 kamikaze case after >1mth)... let's hope this time 'buang suay' already with those 'sacrificial shrimps'...  blush.gif

Can't wait to be home tonight and see how the new 'babies' are doing...  laugh.gif  whistling.gif
Shrimps just too fragile to avoid casualty, at least you able to bring them home alive, i once bought 10 sulawesi shrimp at RM18 each , died in bag halfway home tongue.gif
GTBlackIce
post Oct 21 2013, 04:12 PM

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 21 2013, 03:07 PM)

laugh.gif Very hardworking shrimps you got there bro....

No space for me to put a feeding dish... so usually just 'target-feed' i.e using the tweezer to drop the food where I wanted it... but still get moved around anyway... blush.gif

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 21 2013, 03:25 PM)
Shrimps just too fragile to avoid casualty, at least you able to bring them home alive,  i once bought 10 sulawesi shrimp at RM18 each , died in bag halfway home tongue.gif
shocking.gif shocking.gif doh.gif
Oh my bro... that seriously hurts!!! 180 bucks gone just like that without the chance to enjoy viewing it in your tank? Sheesh...

You got it from Sulawesi itself or?

Well, at least I don't feel that bad about my casualties now... hehe... blush.gif
sniper on the roof
post Oct 21 2013, 05:51 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 21 2013, 03:25 PM)
Shrimps just too fragile to avoid casualty, at least you able to bring them home alive,  i once bought 10 sulawesi shrimp at RM18 each , died in bag halfway home tongue.gif
Was thinking the same, is there a better way to transport shrimps back from shop instead of the usual tar pau style?

QUOTE(GTBlackIce @ Oct 21 2013, 04:12 PM)
laugh.gif Very hardworking shrimps you got there bro....

No space for me to put a feeding dish... so usually just 'target-feed' i.e using the tweezer to drop the food where I wanted it... but still get moved around anyway...  blush.gif
shocking.gif  shocking.gif  doh.gif
Oh my bro... that seriously hurts!!! 180 bucks gone just like that without the chance to enjoy viewing it in your tank? Sheesh...

You got it from Sulawesi itself or?

Well, at least I don't feel that bad about my casualties now... hehe...  blush.gif
I do that too.. using tweezers to drop at a particular place but it ends up all over the place. With a small tank, all those food pieces and shrimp poo can really accumulate fast.
TSarrow
post Oct 21 2013, 06:31 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 21 2013, 05:51 PM)
Was thinking the same, is there a better way to transport shrimps back from shop instead of the usual tar pau style?
I do that too.. using tweezers to drop at a particular place but it ends up all over the place. With a small tank, all those food pieces and shrimp poo can really accumulate fast.
i have use all kind of dish/bowl to house the food, at the end of day, food still everywhere, so i give up, nowdays i just drop the food on top the ketapang leave.

No other way to transfer shrimp, just make sure you go watch how they pack your shrimp, some LFS staff really inexperience in handling shrimps, you will be shock on seeing how rough they handle and pack the shrimp. Also some will just pluck some moss/plant leaf from other tank and put into the shrimp bag, those moss/plant may have pesticide/fert that will harm the shrimp, so make sure you insist they use moss/plant from the shrimp tank or
new filter floss.

This post has been edited by arrow: Oct 21 2013, 06:31 PM
lily64my
post Oct 21 2013, 08:01 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Oct 21 2013, 10:58 AM)
LOL ~~ Guess they want to bring it back

I wonder how long does it take for my tank water to be clear  sweat.gif
U can change 100% andmakesure dnt disturb the soil...put a bowl or something n pour water into it. Slowly
lily64my
post Oct 21 2013, 08:03 PM

132 posts

Tie to a thread...lol
lily64my
post Oct 21 2013, 08:05 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(GTBlackIce @ Oct 21 2013, 03:16 PM)
Haha... you and your compliments, Sis... thanks much  blush.gif Hope the shrimps feel the same way as you do...  laugh.gif
She's still quite scared to use that bro...needs more guarantee that it doesn't affect her 'babies'  biggrin.gif
yes yes

Ahh... if only I could get a berried female but unfortunately couldn't as there were only 2 berried females in the tank and I was not to get it cry.gif Anyway, these 2 (as usual) are pioneer commandos deployed. If all goes well *may* just get another pair. Did the same for all the shrimps I have... start with a 'pioneer' batch... all is OK for a week or so... then add more.

Perhaps it's just my luck, but seems each batch of shrimp I got there would be 1 casualty (apart from the Malayan...1 kamikaze case after >1mth)... let's hope this time 'buang suay' already with those 'sacrificial shrimps'... blush.gif

Can't wait to be home tonight and see how the new 'babies' are doing... laugh.gif whistling.gif
GTBlackIce
post Oct 21 2013, 10:03 PM

Yup, still end up elsewhere nearby but still good enough for mine as there's not many space for them to move around the food tongue.gif

Well at least with good filtration you don't have to worry much about those poop.

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 21 2013, 06:31 PM)
i have use all kind of dish/bowl to house the food, at the end of day, food still everywhere, so i give up, nowdays i just drop the food on top the ketapang leave.

No other way to transfer shrimp, just make sure you go watch how they pack your shrimp, some LFS staff really inexperience in handling shrimps, you will be shock on seeing how rough they handle and pack the shrimp. Also some will just pluck some moss/plant leaf from other tank and put into the shrimp bag, those moss/plant may have pesticide/fert that will harm the shrimp, so make sure you insist they use moss/plant from the shrimp tank or
new filter floss.
Yeah...seen before how some inexperienced ppl pack it...really give you heart attack & wonder if what you bought can survive the trip home.

Well...am glad to inform that all is fine in my tank *thank goodness* however...witness something earlier I would like to seek confirmation - a female shrimp swam up and 'fell down'...i was like "don't tell me it's a goner..." but luckily it was just molting. When it was half way molting...a male went on top of it. Once it was done molting the female just swam away quickly. So what I'd like to know is...was what I witnessed the quick mating or another shrimp being aggressive to another when it's molting?

Edit: OK here's a pic of one of the OEBTs:

This post has been edited by GTBlackIce: Oct 21 2013, 10:09 PM
lily64my
post Oct 21 2013, 10:18 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(GTBlackIce @ Oct 21 2013, 10:03 PM)
Yup, still end up elsewhere nearby but still good enough for mine as there's not many space for them to move around the food tongue.gif

Well at least with good filtration you don't have to worry much about those poop.
Yeah...seen before how some inexperienced ppl pack it...really give you heart attack & wonder if what you bought can survive the trip home.

Well...am glad to inform that all is fine in my tank *thank goodness* however...witness something earlier I would like to seek confirmation - a female shrimp swam up and 'fell down'...i was like "don't tell me it's a goner..." but luckily it was just molting. When it was half way molting...a male went on top of it. Once it was done molting the female just swam away quickly. So what I'd like to know is...was what I witnessed the quick mating or another shrimp being aggressive to another when it's molting?

Good...can become grandpa soon...lol
TSarrow
post Oct 21 2013, 11:50 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(GTBlackIce @ Oct 21 2013, 10:03 PM)

You just witness their mating scene, shrimp mate right after they molt. It is highly believe the just molt soft body allow the male to penetrate the female easily.
GTBlackIce
post Oct 22 2013, 10:39 AM

QUOTE(lily64my @ Oct 21 2013, 10:18 PM)
Good...can become grandpa soon...lol
I really hope so too!!! laugh.gif

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 21 2013, 11:50 PM)
You just witness their mating scene, shrimp mate right after they molt. It is highly believe the just molt soft body allow the male to penetrate the female easily.
Ahh OK. Glad to know it was the mating session as it freaked me out seeing how 'aggresive' it was that time. Thought mating would occur after molting and not during it.

Well, let's see if I can remember which female was it that molted yesterday and have new batch of eggs on it. Thanks for the clarification bro! wink.gif thumbup.gif
sniper on the roof
post Oct 22 2013, 06:57 PM

23,414 posts

I was thinkin that since shrimps like stability. Would it make sense to just top up with RO water and only do water changes once tds increase to a certain level. What do you guys and gal think?

-------------

Bored. Click if you're too and wants to watch 2 minutes of cherry shrimps going about doing their own thing. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Oct 22 2013, 08:15 PM
lily64my
post Oct 22 2013, 11:58 PM

132 posts

Hi arrow...my test cherry shrimp still alive in the 1sr cycled tank. I want to move the yellow golden back in this tank. Any advise how to move them?

96 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0173sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:34 AM