17 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

The Shrimp Thing, All About Shrimp - Neocaridina & Others

TSarrow
post Mar 27 2014, 10:00 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(whitehawk @ Mar 26 2014, 10:42 PM)
hi guys
want to share my red cherry shrimp that survive from last disaster due to my tap water condition  smile.gif  smile.gif  smile.gif  smile.gif  smile.gif

So you go full RO water now?
TSarrow
post Mar 27 2014, 11:02 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(calvinyoon @ Mar 27 2014, 09:53 PM)
@Arrow, et all,

Can I keep panda corydoras with shrimps?
I keep panda loach with shrimp, panda corydoras later I check first.
TSarrow
post Mar 30 2014, 02:47 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Mar 30 2014, 11:54 AM)
hey guys. i've just moved back to KL from Beijing. Looking to set up a tank here. Where should i go to buy a tank and equipment which isnt so pricey? Looking to probably set up a 2-3ft. still need to sort out where to put it. haha.

Also, can those ikea book shelves handle the weight of a 2ft tank if i place it on top?

[attachmentid=3909673]
2ft tank with full water should be around 60kg++.
Ikea shelf should state maximum weight.
TSarrow
post Mar 31 2014, 03:57 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Mar 31 2014, 03:42 PM)
Anyone can provide list of possibility why crs is not active and not moving and remain at same place place for quite some time ?  Please comment.
Lot of possibilities.
-tank not cycled.
-lack of o2 -> temperature high > 28c, too much co2.
-ph , tds and gh not ideal. Ph around 6.2-6.6(6.4 ideal) tds 120-150 and gh 4-5.
-water high nitrate > 40ppm , overfeeding? (Feed everyday?)
-water flow too fast -Crs actually gripping on soil inorder to move?

TSarrow
post Apr 4 2014, 01:46 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(budakdegilz @ Apr 3 2014, 12:40 AM)
hi arrow
why is it my malaya shrimp seems more "shy" than my cherry shrimp???
especially when i switch ON my light..
is it normal???
they are necromancer , act in the dark, but need time to adjust to bright environment, try like feed them only when light on , this will force them to come out and feed under bright light, after a period of time they won't hide anymore, but this will reset after they move to new environment(tank).
That why they hide in your tank.
TSarrow
post Apr 4 2014, 01:53 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Mar 31 2014, 10:54 PM)
Crs not need feed everyday ?  Nitrate is belong to no3 and no4 ,right ?
I found when purely ro water with gh and kh 0. The shrimp no problem. Add in the some gh increaser. It start breeding.. I found it good of gh increaser then add more. But it look create bad for crs aand it start no moving. Did you encounter this scenario before ?
Nitrate is NO3, unless you got lot of crs(> 100tail in an 2 ft) , you no need to feed everyday, once every 2 or 3 days with small pcs is enough,
too much food esp these high in protein do more harm then good. Your tank have natural food for them (biofilm/algae).
GH for crs , stay at GH4-6 enough , don't increase GH more than 0.5 in 24hrs when shrimp already in tank , this will shock them.

TSarrow
post Apr 6 2014, 12:04 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Apr 6 2014, 12:01 AM)
ic , My existing sera test kit is for  NH3/NH4, is for ammonia.  What is the major test kit to measure water parameter for your CRS - GH , KH or ?

My water parameter for PH always stay at 7.1 -7.2. Just wonder how you lower down the PH always ? Do you use any PH down ? if yes what brand you using most ?
i'm using shrimp soil buffer down the ph, my tap water is ph7.6, with soil , it stay at ph6.4.
There is liquid tester for GH and KH as well.
TSarrow
post Apr 6 2014, 12:46 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Apr 6 2014, 12:14 AM)
I am also having soil in 5-6cm thick . when you mention soil buffer is means how thick the soil , is it ? or it is some thing put into substrate ? i think my tab water same with you 7.6.
The problem is if i change water every week , i add the tab water to the tank .. it will from ph 7 to 7.6.

Myy soil just use only 2 month . I thinking is my soil brand not good cause this problem ?

just wonder if you add tab water to your tank .. eventually it will become 6.4 ?

Can i put snail into the crs tank ? if yes, Any snail can recommend ?
what soil you using ?
snail , ppl put nerite , ramshorn snail with shrimps.
Yes , i change water 10% every week, PH never change from 6.4.
soil buffer not refer to soil thickness , it refer soil as a medium that can hold and lower/up the ph. for exp. acidic soil like ADA amazonia/Benibachi shrimp soil will lower PH , coral sand will increase/up PH.

TSarrow
post Apr 6 2014, 12:18 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Apr 6 2014, 09:34 AM)
I not sure what brand is mine. But it is cheap price and not ADA kind of soil. I buy wrong soil shoild be since u say ADA can keep ph 6.4 even add tap water . How long normally the soil age can last for crs tank ?
ADA soil, at least 2yrs, benibachi around 1-2yrs depend on your filter system.
TSarrow
post Apr 6 2014, 12:19 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Apr 6 2014, 12:55 AM)
Speaking of which.. im getting gh6 and kh4. I use RO water but dunno how come KH still high. Theres no stones in my tank except those shrimp use mineral stones.
Check the stone, kh cant be 4, this is very high.
wait, you using azoo filter media?

This post has been edited by arrow: Apr 6 2014, 12:20 PM
TSarrow
post Apr 6 2014, 06:12 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Apr 6 2014, 04:19 PM)
Do you means depend on how dirty of substrate to determine age of soil since you say depend on filter system ? Ur crs tank got fish ? I find worn in my tank . Thinking if got small fish can eat worm. But the fish shall not eat shrimp
Nope, if your filter system is powerful like using high powered canister filter , the soil properties will be filter out faster and depleted resulting
in buffering power depleted faster.
for example , in one of my tank , i use UGF combine with canister filter , the shrimp soil i use the buffering power only last 1yrs++,
where else another tank with UGF & sponge filter only, it last 2yrs++.

Fish, follow the rule, if shrimplet size fit the fish mouth, it will eat them. So get the smallest fish you can, like guppy/swordtail baby.
TSarrow
post Apr 6 2014, 06:17 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Apr 6 2014, 01:13 PM)
Yes.. using azoo media. Why?
i'm using Azoo 4in1 filter media in one of my tank, i notice it increase GH and tds cos inside the tank like yours only
got moss & benibachi mineral rock. KH i didn't test but is suspect this will raise too cos it also increase my PH.

http://www.azoo-aqua.com/product-info.asp?id=299
TSarrow
post Apr 7 2014, 12:00 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Apr 6 2014, 08:36 PM)
how your justify the age of soil is expire soon ?determine from your ph ? Since you say soil buffer and make contant 6.4 . So I am assume soil going expire make cause ph higher. Corect me if I am wrong . The UGF you use comnect with canister or just purely air accelerator ?
Yes, sign of soil expiry is losing buffering power which mean, ph, gh and tds will run and fluctuate with every water change.
my ugf is air pump driven.
That why the higher grade of crs you keep the more you to be precise with your setup.
even basic setup for crs cant runaway from maintaining proper ph, gh , tds and temperature. This is one of the main reason why crs is never a beginner shrimp.

TSarrow
post Apr 7 2014, 05:25 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Apr 7 2014, 01:15 PM)
Yeah... thinking of switching them out for some regular ceramic rings since they've been in use for almost a year. Should I switch 50% at a time?
Yes. Dont switch 100% , else tank cycle reset.
Put 50% new 50% old. Let it run for 2 week.
Then put in the other half but don't take out the old media first, transfer them inside the tank beneath the filter inlet. After two more week only take out the old media.

This post has been edited by arrow: Apr 7 2014, 05:27 PM
TSarrow
post Apr 7 2014, 05:31 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Apr 7 2014, 01:58 AM)
Ic, erm ...a wrongly setup at early state miss lead by the shop owner.between I found is hard to find quality  ugf . Any shop can intro ? I bough wrong soil and wrong setup. It make quite costly to me on this. Because my is 3ft tank. Erm..... what you put on top of ugf first layer ? You put lava rock or small rock ?
Good ugf, look for aquadine ugf at alive aquarium.
soil like benibachi go fiesta mall at jln ampang aqua fish aquatic.
I using benibachi bacter base above the ugf.
TSarrow
post Apr 8 2014, 02:05 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Apr 7 2014, 08:13 PM)
Thanks for the headsup.

Went to get myself some regular rings then noticed LFS started carrying Power House medias.. so hand itchy again and moneyflies.gif  moneyflies.gif  moneyflies.gif  moneyflies.gif
PowerHouse media , that good , although never use it before, the spec speak volume.

TSarrow
post Apr 8 2014, 02:09 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Apr 7 2014, 11:45 PM)
What is the recommend period for change ceramic ring ? how about bio ball type as below link , does it require to change also  after some time ?

http://www.tradekorea.com/sell-leads-detai...mic_Filter.html
i on;y change few time bio media in 6 yrs, that because to upgrade to better and more surface filter media to maximize filter compartment space.
It depend whether the media is badly clogged beyond repair(wash), or the surface value for bacteria to colonize is very less, then change,
just change little by little , mix new with old media till the new media got seeded with bacteria.'

TSarrow
post Apr 9 2014, 12:02 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Apr 8 2014, 06:20 PM)
since the acidic soil can use as buffer for maintain acid PH level or GH level.
just wonder anything else shrimp need from soil ?

if we have top tank for shirmp and bottom as bio tank . Can we just put the acidic soil to the bio tank to maintain ph and gh for shrimp tank.
Then  shrimp tank is without soil, then i assume the waste of shrimp can be filter easily.
hehe , is that doable and deliver better result , please comment.
yes, you can do that, it refer as sump system, but imho i dun like bare tank, that why i find monster fish and goldfish tank so lifeless and cold.
actually shrimp have very minimal bioload, waste is not a major problem, the major task is maintaining a stable and mature environment to them

TSarrow
post Apr 9 2014, 01:25 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(jirochl @ Apr 9 2014, 12:39 PM)
Hi arrow, since shrimp soil will lose its buffer power after 1 or 2 years, what can we do to maintain the ph after that? Replace the soil or put in additives?
Normally we either change soil , topup soil or put in additives like Benibachi fulvic grain(last 6mths).

TSarrow
post Apr 10 2014, 12:38 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(jirochl @ Apr 10 2014, 09:35 AM)
Hi bros, Need some advice here. I'm using two Hailea air pumps for my shrimp tanks which give out very strong smells something like burnt plastics. Problem is my tanks are in my room and my wife couldn't stand the smell. Do you have this problem? Or are you using any air pump that doesn't give out such smell? Is there any alternative to airpump that can drive air to UGF and sponge filter? Pls help.
which model of hailea air pump? i have around 5 of them, didn't notice any smell unless it burn up, but air pump always vibrant and when you put it stick/lean on the rack/wood etc,
it actually consistent scratch/rub against these surface, this may heat up the plastic body then come the smell. Also check the air hose and aquarium fan, two of my up aqua fan burn up and it engulf my house with plastic burning smell.
If possible hang the air pump in mid-air.

17 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0504sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:33 AM