The Shrimp Thing, All About Shrimp - Neocaridina & Others

TSarrow
post Jun 14 2014, 12:02 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(autocat @ Jun 13 2014, 10:38 AM)
i thought it is Malaya shrimp when i bought it from mid v....
someone told me that malaya cant breed in acidic tank, i hv 40+ colorless shrimplet
could be mix up with other shrimp...
anyone can help identify what shrimp is that....
[attachmentid=4011710]
don't look like malaya to me. Malaya give birth to larvae form , do you see any larvae before they change in shrimplets state ?
The shrimp in your picture look like snowball shrimp.

This post has been edited by arrow: Jun 14 2014, 12:11 AM
TSarrow
post Jun 14 2014, 01:20 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(Seijyuro @ Jun 14 2014, 11:59 AM)
guys, anyone knows where i can get fluval ebi nano habitat set?
getting one for the kid's b'day
the last time i saw was at pet safari at ikano, but that was 1yrs + ago, you may also try 88 petsmart.
Try search FB for their contact.

TSarrow
post Jul 6 2014, 09:28 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(Candlenie @ Jul 6 2014, 12:11 AM)
Wanna ask, if I wanna breed my own red cherry, is it ok if I mix them with some fishes? Or is pure shrimp tank the better option?

how about co2, temperature, plants etc etc?
depend on what fish ,shrimp is always part of the diet of fish in the wild.
temperature 27-30c is still ok for cherry shrimp, co2 use timer to control it and not to overdose that will suffocate the livestock in tank.

TSarrow
post Jul 8 2014, 12:57 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(Candlenie @ Jul 6 2014, 09:41 PM)
Any recommendation on what sort of fish is cool with baby shrimps? My current setup seems fine living together with malayan, but they're all grown up malayan, no idea how they'll treat smaller shrimps
Boraras brigittae aka Mosquito Rasbora is the safest fish for tank with shrimplets from what i observe so far.
http://www.seriouslyfish.com/species/boraras-brigittae/
TSarrow
post Aug 16 2014, 01:35 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Aug 15 2014, 11:12 AM)
For some unknown reasons, my previously thriving floating plants are all but dead. The shrimps themselves are doing ok and my battle with leeches still wages on. Still see them once every couple of days or when the shrimps make sudden jumps.

leeches ? you may try Seachem Paraguard , shrimps safe. Can Kill BGA too.

TSarrow
post Aug 19 2014, 02:30 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(calvinyoon @ Aug 19 2014, 10:29 AM)
Seachem Paraguard can use in freshwater? I only use it for my Saltwater tank... confirm shrimp safe?
Yes shrimp safe, I use it on my sulawesi shrimp tank as well.
TSarrow
post Aug 19 2014, 06:28 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Aug 19 2014, 01:36 PM)
Share some photos of the office tank again.

My view

Visitor's view

nice bro, but you seem to have a liking on red color shrimp, as Taiwan famous for huge variety of neocaridina shrimp like blue, yellow, maybe you can try keep these.
TSarrow
post Aug 25 2014, 12:19 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Aug 24 2014, 08:10 PM)
Hi all , do you all know what is the best food for crs baby ? It shall not be too rich of vitamin. Worry it cause anmonia.

Please advice
Biofilm , nothing beat that , so get some stuff that promote that like GlasGarten - Bacter AE , mousra bioplus , borneowild bebi or
benibachi baby food.
TSarrow
post Sep 4 2014, 11:45 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(Jetsir @ Sep 3 2014, 11:08 PM)
Hi guys, does anyone know any aquarium shop that sell shrimp product like cave shelters and feeding tubes near Lot 10 shopping centre in kl.
All help will b great.
No, you have to go jln Pudu , the shop name is Alive Aquarium, you search FB for address.
Is quite near Lot 10 area , take a cab if you not familiar.
TSarrow
post Sep 8 2014, 06:12 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Sep 8 2014, 11:33 AM)
i looking to re-setup my shirmp tank. it is because i keep saw the shrimp die one by one. Every 5 day will find one death. i dont know what is the reason and below is my water condition

PH6.3
NO3=10ppm
NO2=0
ammonia= 0
GH=4
KH=0

i slowly took out all plant and wood out from tank to troubleshoot the deaath issue. but it still death shrimp . At last only left the filter media and soil but death still continue. Thus , i suspect is soil problem , will soil cause death slowly of shrimp ?

i plan to re-setup tank with potential two brand . boreowild or benebachi.

But after research , it look benebachi life spam is longer with almost 2 years. Can anyone recommend where can bough benebachi with good price ? and is using benebachi soil better to use Under gravel filter ?
Please advice the best method of setup tank with benebachi as start with good setup then future is hassless free i believe.

please advice
If you are not keeping Crystal shrimp type shrimp that require low acidic water parameter , then go for sand setup for ease and fast setup,
for 2ft tank , get one to two bag of shirui sand, and go buy and use Salty shrimp shrimp mineral GH/KH + salt to mix with RO water(you have to use FULL RO water so that the salt produce accurate parameters) , with this salt , you basically need nothing else added(save some $$)
RO water , just go 99 speedmart and buy the one carton 1.5Lx12 bottle at RM6.50 per cartons, 2ft tank only need around 3 cartons, don't be stingy on
this.
Link to purchase the salt here -> http://www.lelong.com.my/salty-shrimp-shri...5-07-Sale-P.htm

Setup using this salt suitable for all neocaridina type of shrimps like cherry , fire red , yellow , blue diamond etc.

This post has been edited by arrow: Sep 8 2014, 06:17 PM

Attached image(s)
TSarrow
post Sep 9 2014, 01:11 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Sep 8 2014, 08:39 PM)
It is CRS tank , do you have any recommendation where to buy benebachi product with good price ? Between benebachi can put ugf filter and what is the advantage with put ugf ?

Again what is advantage without ugd for benebachi soil ?
If you from penang ,this coming Sunday , Benibachi having 2nd anniversary party at Ace aquatic, think got some discounts, all benibachi products are fixed priced.
Keeping shrimp never be cheapskate, esp on crs.

TSarrow
post Sep 9 2014, 02:52 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(whitehawk @ Sep 9 2014, 11:46 AM)
arrow this salt product same as salty shrimp sulawesi mineral? just add to RO water and can put shrimp
Yes, all salty shrimp salt are mean to be self sufficient, add RO and ready, but basic tank cycling still needed.
TSarrow
post Sep 9 2014, 11:57 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(whitehawk @ Sep 9 2014, 03:13 PM)
i see
anyone know where i can buy in small quantity
i want to try  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
PM behbeh89 in this forum
TSarrow
post Sep 10 2014, 09:41 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Sep 9 2014, 10:36 PM)
Yes,at last I consider borneowild. It is cheaper and it still costly actually.
I bought total rm700 for resetup the 3ft tank.

Between , I resetup because my crs keep die. Just wonder can the filter media which age around half years and stop for 2 day still can use ? My tank just have soil and filter media . Not sure filter media can cause my crs death not
The bacteria in the filter media will start to died off if they be left idle for a days or two, bacteria need food from running water to survive, for gfs try ask seller what parameter they coming from and match that, you can start with 80-120 Tds and monitor how they fare. Water must be acidic range below ph 7; preferable around ph6.4 and below. Gh go in hand with Tds if you use full RO water , gh 3-6 be observed for crs.
TSarrow
post Sep 11 2014, 02:36 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Sep 10 2014, 11:38 PM)
(for gfs try ask seller what parameter they coming from and match that) what is gfs ?

The bacteria is death, just wonder can I reuse the filter media , means I will recycle again to grew bacteria. Just thinking if threw it away is wasted . I think the total media bought aroind rm100.

Please advice
typo error , should crs.
Yes, you can reuse the filter media.
TSarrow
post Sep 13 2014, 09:02 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Sep 13 2014, 11:37 AM)
My.Hang on filter is aqua clear 500. It is very power in filtration. Just wonder is that will affect soil buffer ?

Anyone experience before ?
I use before this aquaclear 500 ; a big monster of hang on filter, the bad part is the flow too fast, the control flow button like not functioning.
The more powerful your filteration , the faster the soil buffer deplete, remove the hang on filter and stick with canister plus sponge.
TSarrow
post Sep 15 2014, 05:15 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Sep 14 2014, 01:02 AM)
Yes, it is monster hang on filter. Ok. I going to stop it. Just wonder is that fine if I connect two tank ? Each tank have it own soil . Will this connect cause water not stable or will it cause the soil buffer depletion ?

I connect in this way because avoid to buy second chiller.

Please advice
you can connect two tank to share a chiller , or more tanks to a chiller , this is call Rack system, either through
a slump tank or without, but as all tank share a same chiller , the setup is better be the same(soil etc) with all the tank as the water is passed around, any disease and pest will be passed around too , if any.

TSarrow
post Sep 24 2014, 11:35 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(digital_ideas @ Sep 21 2014, 12:17 AM)
Hi I am new in this hobby, switching from fish to shrimp.
Currently cycling my ADA amazonia soil. Will need shrimp in a week or two.

Anyone has some fire red shrimp & fire yellow shrimp for sell/sponsor?
Looking at 10 each for start up. (I had a 2 feet tank splitted with divider)

Hopes to learn from some sifus around here.
Do few large water change since you are using ADA soil to clear out the large amount of ammonia leech out by the soil, let it fully cycled , adjust the Tds and gh of your water using additives before getting your shrimp.
Depend on what type and group of shrimp you intend to keep, the requirements vary. You may want to read more info on internet before you embark on this shrimps journey.
Keeping shrimp can be 3x harder then fish and require much more investment if you aim for these Crystal shrimp.

TSarrow
post Sep 24 2014, 11:16 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(digital_ideas @ Sep 24 2014, 07:03 PM)
Hi no chiller for CRS.. i am thinking fire red and fire yellow and maybe green hulk...or bluebolt
green hulk and blueblot is crs type and very delicate , definitely need chiller for them.
fire red and yellow you can just use fan or without.
TSarrow
post Sep 27 2014, 02:00 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(digital_ideas @ Sep 27 2014, 09:40 AM)
Arrow... i saw 2 moss laying flat in your aquarium.. what moss is that? Where u get it?
The big clump of moss is a type of Christmas moss.
Ask your local fish shop or search online for ppl selling it.

17 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0512sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:26 AM