17 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

The Shrimp Thing, All About Shrimp - Neocaridina & Others

TSarrow
post Mar 7 2014, 01:30 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Mar 7 2014, 12:15 PM)
It's been almost 3 weeks and my berried shrimps are still status quo... no shrimplets yet. How come so long? Temperature?
28-30days. Almost for you. Check in few more days see got thinly black dot on the eggs or not. These are the eyes.
If got eyes they will be born in few more days.
TSarrow
post Mar 7 2014, 11:23 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Mar 7 2014, 02:15 PM)
Walau... so small how to see?
use magnifying glass , easy to spot.
TSarrow
post Mar 10 2014, 12:38 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Mar 10 2014, 11:58 AM)
Over the weekend, I see one of the berried shrimps got only 2 eggs left in the saddle and she just molted a couple minutes ago with that 2 eggs on the molt  cry.gif
got baby come out since left 2 eggs? they super stress they will drop the eggs.
TSarrow
post Mar 12 2014, 12:31 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(calvinyoon @ Mar 11 2014, 10:10 PM)
@Arrow Sifu

want to know how long it takes for shrimplet to become adult size?
vary, normally mths to a year and depend on what shrimp and their diet, i observed fire yellow shrimplet just feed on rotten ketapang leaf in a tank overflow filter compartment , grow form 1mm to 1 cm in around 5 week.

TSarrow
post Mar 12 2014, 01:18 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(jirochl @ Mar 12 2014, 09:19 AM)
Hi arrow, any reason why the ketapang leaf can accelerate the shrimplet's growth? Will the leaf pollute or affect the water like normal shrimp food does if we leave it for too long inside the tank?
Ketapang leaf have anti bacteria and fungus properties beside it serve as bacteria bed for bio film to grow on and provide consistent food source for the shrimplet.
It last very long in the tank, it do reduce ph and tds a bit. Unless you put alot or your tank is very small it wont affect the parameters much.
TSarrow
post Mar 12 2014, 01:20 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(ayyam @ Mar 12 2014, 09:40 AM)
Perhaps your tank is not fully cycled yet. Check for ammonia/nitrites level in your water.
Sometimes it takes more than 4 weeks to cycle.
Suspect your house tap water contain high level of copper.
copper is fatal to shrimp not to fish.
Only good anti chlorine can bind these heavy metal.
TSarrow
post Mar 12 2014, 10:53 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Mar 12 2014, 01:56 PM)
How long can you leave it inside the tank?
until the leaf turn 'botak' , the shrimp will eat till it left a skeleton.
TSarrow
post Mar 13 2014, 01:12 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Mar 13 2014, 11:49 AM)
So its safe to say I can break it up into small pieces and leave it in my tank indefinately.
Dont break into small pcs. Just cut into half ir 1/3 if too big.
In small pcs much faster disintegrate and may pollute the tank.
TSarrow
post Mar 15 2014, 12:26 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(kingkongmonkey @ Mar 13 2014, 10:53 PM)
i tested my tank ph = 8.2
help??
use full RO water or use aquarium soil to buffer and bring down the ph.

TSarrow
post Mar 16 2014, 11:21 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(whitehawk @ Mar 16 2014, 08:12 PM)
what brand of anti chlorine can i used to bind the heavy metal?
the best is seachem Prime else get Nutrafin anti chlorine.
TSarrow
post Mar 17 2014, 03:05 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Mar 17 2014, 09:34 AM)
What is the best way to lower down ph for crs tank  ?
shrimp soil from benibachi , borneowild or plant soil from ADA - new amazonia soil.

TSarrow
post Mar 18 2014, 02:37 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Mar 17 2014, 07:39 PM)
Do you use any ph down chemical solution ?
If yes ,what is the brand ?
try not to use these ph down , it won't last long and not stable.
TSarrow
post Mar 19 2014, 01:01 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(twe @ Mar 18 2014, 08:27 PM)
I found out that someone is selling the Hawaiian Red Shrimp (Opae Ula) at Singapore. Below is the website. I email the owner. He told me that he doesn't deliver to Malaysia. It looks like I'll be going to Singapore to buy them when I go to Johor to attend some events in the future.

http://www.redshrimplovers.com
he won't post cos both sender and receiver need a permit to send livestock across country.
Don't let kastam saw your live shrimp , they will confiscate and issue you a summon on Malaysia side.
Good luck , they are marvelous creature. My small colony is breeding now. Mama opae ula just release some larvae.

TSarrow
post Mar 19 2014, 01:22 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Mar 19 2014, 09:56 AM)
Anyone can advice wat to use restore mineral for RO water ?
for opae ula ?
opae ula need brackish water(half salinity of marine water at 1.012-1.016)
use RO or distilled water to make the brackish water , the won't survive in freshwater.
TSarrow
post Mar 20 2014, 06:38 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Mar 19 2014, 07:57 PM)
How about restore mineral at ro water for CRS ?
use mosura mineral plus , also can use benibachi emergency water.
TSarrow
post Mar 20 2014, 03:25 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Mar 20 2014, 10:47 AM)
What is the difference if any between mosura mineral plus compared with Up Aqua GH Builder?
QUOTE(bluecoat @ Mar 20 2014, 11:05 AM)
Yes,what is the different between this 2 and where can buy it ?
First -Brand , second - ingredients , all 3 the will increase TDS and GH. How much and how much to use and how fast the effect vary on each type.
Third - price different alot with benibachi the most expensive , then mosura follow by Up Aqua.

But come to think of it , if anyone can afford a rm70 or above for one bee shrimps , these product price are just a tad of it.
If you want fast and also proven safe record on increase RO water tds/gh , go for mosura.
Benibachi will cost more if you on budget.

To buy
Mosura - try aquashop in lelong
Benibachi - benibachi reseller in malaysia , try search facebook for details.
Up aqua - some LFS in KL stock them. last saw them in fish depot and 88 petsmart.

This post has been edited by arrow: Mar 20 2014, 03:29 PM
TSarrow
post Mar 21 2014, 10:01 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(whitehawk @ Mar 20 2014, 11:59 PM)
hi guys
want to ask few question
usually how many time u guys do water change and how many % (for nano tank)?
"jentik-jentik" are dangerous to shrimp and baby shrimp?
Once every week or two week around 10% depend on bio load.
"Jentik" are dangerous to you once they become mosquito then to your shrimps. You get summon too when your local council come and saw your jentik.
TSarrow
post Mar 22 2014, 12:07 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Mar 21 2014, 03:24 PM)
Just petite nana. Must do some overdue cleaning. The carpet is like a magnet for all sorts of crap.

I'm already running an air line but it doesn't seem to help.

edit: Now that you metioned it... it does seem the marimos were not as dark as before. It seems they've grown this furry bit on top. Any remedies?
[attachmentid=3899399]
Last time i read before ppl heal/recharge marimo by putting them in the fridge. Maybe you ask the marimo guys in marimo section.
TSarrow
post Mar 24 2014, 05:15 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(zhengfai11 @ Mar 24 2014, 03:25 PM)
Hi shrimp lovers,

This thread has been a thoroughly fascinating read. I've been meaning to get into the hobby and having read some of the sharings and comments here, I think I'm ready to give it a go.

I do have a few questions that I hope you guys can help shed some light on:

1. Is the blue tiger shrimp a good idea for a beginner? If not, would the blue jelly shrimp be a better option?

2. I'm thinking of mixing blue and red shrimps in 1 tank but I'm worried about interbreeding that will affect colour quality. Any advice?

My ideal tank at the moment is one that looks like Sniper's (a personal size ideal for personal attention). To avoid committing accidental genocide, I will follow the guidelines provided in this thread and I'm prepared to start with a small colony of 5 to 10 to limit the blood on my noobie hands.

Any suggestions on viable colour mixes or any general issues are more than welcomed.

Cheers
What Bro. Jirochl said is very true, if you really like blue , Blue jelly shrimp is the best you can start with as price is the cheapest and easy to keep among all the other blue shrimps.

Shrimp are social creatures like human, the more you have the better they live/breed , use the formula 1Litre of tank water for 1 shrimp.
so a 2ft 60cmx30cmx36cm tank with 65L water, 60 tail is preferable but you can start with 10-20 tail then add-in more.
TSarrow
post Mar 25 2014, 02:08 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(zhengfai11 @ Mar 24 2014, 11:42 PM)
@jirochl and arrow,

Thanks for your feedback on the matter.

One more question guys, can I put some rabbit snails in there with the shrimps? Anybody has experience with that? I read in some other forum that they can be a great (and harmless) addition to a shrimp tank.

And yes I do like the deep blue shade of the blue tiger a lot. I think given that the plantation, moss, etc. will provide a lush green backdrop, I thought a good mix of fire red and deep blue shrimps (maybe some black ones too) would give it a very nice contrast. Just imagine the close ups during a feeding frenzy or even just having the shrimps of different colours casually lepaking around, probably thinking who's crap they're gonna eat next...

We may never know who's turd tastes like chicken in the shrimp world but a photographer equipped with his macro lense will probably know who ate the most nutritious pile of shrimp turd. Amen.
Rabbit snail is harmless, in fact i have been keeping them with my shrimp for > 5 yrs.

17 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0548sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:55 PM