17 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

The Shrimp Thing, All About Shrimp - Neocaridina & Others

TSarrow
post Dec 23 2013, 04:30 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(calvinyoon @ Dec 23 2013, 01:14 PM)
No planaria shrimps safe? The shrimps are berried and many shrimplets around...
It is shrimp safe is certain condition are meet,
- don't overdose
- monitor the water, if lot of dead planaria, water change, your shrimp dead is because of bad water due to decaying planaria.
- mix the powder well before pour in.
TSarrow
post Dec 29 2013, 02:13 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(SunSummerSet @ Dec 27 2013, 03:58 PM)
Hi guys,

Newbie here. Would these be a good buy to start a small shrimp tank? Got it from lelong.com.
Any better deals/ products?

BORNEOWILD SHRIMP SOIL (8kg) x 1 (RM113)
BORNEOWILD Shrimp supplement - Minerax x 1 (RM49)
BORNEOWILD Shrimp Conditioner - HUMIC x 1 (RM53)
BORNEOWILD Shrimp Supplement - VIGOR x 1 (RM64)
BORNEOWILD BACTER CRYSTAL x 1 (RM46)

Also, I plan to put the tank at a shaded spot on the balcony. What kind of shrimps would be suitable assuming the temperature is going to fluctuate quite a bit between day and night?
Borneowild product quite ok as they copied benibachi formula +-
-The 8kg soil will be enough to setup a 2ft tank.
-From your planning, only neocaridina type of shrimp is suitable, and your tank may have problem with green water and algae if under sunlight.
Algae is good for shrimps , just unpleasant as display tank but green water is not preferable unless you gonna breed malaya shrimp larvae.
-You can skip the Humic and Vigor since your tank is not gonna house CRS type shrimp.
-Just get the soil , minerax and bacter crystal.
- Put bacter crystal on tank bare bottom , put a thin layer of soil around 1cm , then put minerax , after that cover with the rest of the soil.
The above is base on the stuff you listed.

Any budget and what your ideal tank size?

TSarrow
post Dec 30 2013, 02:18 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(SunSummerSet @ Dec 29 2013, 10:22 PM)
Thanks Bro Arrow,

Budget wise, Rm300 would be comfortable with a 1-2 ft tank.
Anyway to reduce the greenish water? Some fish/ rocks/ filters to clean?
It would look ugly and I want to look at my shrimps clearly!!!

Any recommendation of some nice Neocaridina shrimp easily available here?
Get a 2ft tank if possible. why ? cos bigger tank with higher water volume will ensure more stable parameter.(beside can accumulate more shrimp smile.gif )
Just don't put under direct sunlight , then won't any green water issue.

If you gonna use UGF (under gravel filter) , can consider the following setup:
-Get a UGF(under gravel filter) if you gonna use borneowild or benibachi shrimp soil. UGF is not suitable for any ADA soil.
i'm using Aquadene brand of UGF, very good quality, around rm20 for 2ft size, it can break into 4 pcs half feet size plate. user posted image

-Get a bag of 1.5L benibachi bacter base(rm69) or seachem matrix or ADA bio-rio.
-Setup UGF , put the whole bag benibachi bacter base on top of the UGF.
-Put around 1 cm thick of soil above bacter base , then put around 30g of bacter crystal or some bacteria powder like ADA bacter 100 powder on top.
-Put another thin layer of soil like 0.5 cm , then put the whole bottle of the minerax(100g) evenly on top the soil , then cover with the rest of the soil.
(note : borneowild vigor or benibachi bee max should be put with minerax at this stage if you gonna use them).
-Get some mineral rock (borneowild or benibachi) - 2 to 3 pcs (around 200-300g will do).

As beginner shrimp , try some cherry shrimp first after your tank is fully cycled.

This post has been edited by arrow: Dec 30 2013, 02:22 AM
TSarrow
post Dec 30 2013, 03:04 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(calvinyoon @ Dec 30 2013, 01:56 PM)
Hey Arrow Sifu,

Will mineral ball affect the TDS?
Yes. Very slowly since it releasing mineral.
TSarrow
post Jan 1 2014, 09:06 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(vincent75 @ Dec 30 2013, 11:10 PM)
Just got this baby from East Aqua. Any comment or advice from those whose had used it?
Not sure inside got bed or not. Havent open it. The sales staff said there is beg inside.
Put into filter compartment . Main purpose is to absorb ORGANIC type of waste in tank and to polish water to crystal clear. Compliment well with active carbon.
One bag good for 400l of water. Can be regenerate using clorox and prime.
I regenerated > 5 pack.

This post has been edited by arrow: Jan 1 2014, 09:10 PM

TSarrow
post Jan 1 2014, 09:09 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(vincent75 @ Jan 1 2014, 06:01 PM)
Bought 30 Malaya from EA Mid Valley smile.gif
Dont take the water or plant from their shrimp tank. Infested with planaria. As not to bring planaria baby and eggs into your tank. Carefully scoop only the shrimp into your tank. A torch light will help.
TSarrow
post Jan 4 2014, 10:03 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(william1120 @ Jan 4 2014, 09:36 PM)
Rcs rm10??? I tot only crs only tht mahal....sobzzz...
Bro tzuen rcs refer to red crystal shrimp aka crs.
Red cherry shrimp rm1 to rm2 depend where you get.

Benibachi is the pioneer in shrimps breeding in japan.
Brand like rac and Borneowild are either copying their fornula or getting oem products from benibachi.
Price is on the high side but results is there if follow accordingly.

Cory not shrimp safe.
TSarrow
post Jan 5 2014, 02:10 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(william1120 @ Jan 5 2014, 12:12 AM)
I jz wonder is the way to take k fire cherry is same like rcs...wonder whts its temperature requirements.
See few pages of google bout it bt all gv diff info. Wonder where can I gr the accurate info
Cherry and other neocaridina type shrimp. Can just use fan
To maintain temperature below 30c is ok already.
With fan normally temperature around 25 - 28'c

TSarrow
post Jan 6 2014, 06:22 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(qz4eva @ Jan 6 2014, 03:54 PM)
Bro arrow,

Blue Dream is under which category of shrimps?

Blue Dream is neocaridina type. Just a deeper blue version of blue jelly/pearl.

TSarrow
post Jan 8 2014, 11:49 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(lily64my @ Jan 7 2014, 05:12 PM)
Good man!... i hv not been here too. Too busy. seems my blue velvet is having good deliveries. Got more than a handsfull of them in the tank.  rclxms.gif  rclxm9.gif
grandma gonna take care of her 'cucu' now.
TSarrow
post Jan 16 2014, 07:05 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(whitehawk @ Jan 16 2014, 03:01 PM)
hi guys
need opinion
Yamato and RCS which one is hard to die?
ppl keep yamato to control algae and cherry for their light color, both are hardy but both won't survive uncycled tank.
shrimps is fragile my friends , they are 5x more easy to died then a fish.

TSarrow
post Jan 18 2014, 06:02 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(whitehawk @ Jan 18 2014, 04:18 PM)
Damselfly & Dragonfly will eat adult shrimp or just baby shrimp?
Eat both.
TSarrow
post Jan 18 2014, 07:05 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(whitehawk @ Jan 18 2014, 06:14 PM)
how to kill them???
i found 3 already in my tank
currently i have 10 yamato shrimp in my tank
just arrived on last Thursday
now i saw only 7 of yamato
Find them and scoop them out.
TSarrow
post Jan 19 2014, 06:21 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ Jan 19 2014, 01:28 PM)
Hey guys, wanna get myself some RCS, where would be the best to get them around KL? Or if anyone is selling let me know  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Try 88 petsmart .
TSarrow
post Jan 19 2014, 06:35 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(naoki666 @ Jan 18 2014, 09:14 PM)
Hi bro arrow, thanks for ya Palmata Shrimp. Berried a few more and say 1 released 1 shrimplet.. but didn't see it after few days... not sure got makan by other shrimp or not.. BTW the Malaya larva you mention really didn't survive inside my tank... too clean i think... didn't see any larva.... throw in some spirulina water in but didn't see the berried Malaya shrimp larva.. after few weeks for it to release..

Whitehawk : try feed to bigger fish if you have like oscar, aro or bichir. Those Damselfly & Dragonfly larva should be a good live meal for them biggrin.gif try on your own luck.
Palmata baby are quite small, smaller then a cherry shrimplet s. They usually hide in plants/mosses. Make sure you cover your filter inlet with finer mesh or sponge. You may find some baby surviving inside an canister filter if you using one.
TSarrow
post Jan 22 2014, 02:37 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Jan 21 2014, 11:54 PM)
do u guys think that temp around 28 can breed fire red shrimp?
yes, 28c is ok.

TSarrow
post Jan 22 2014, 01:33 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Jan 22 2014, 10:34 AM)
nice tank.... is this tank dosing co2 ? in order to get the moss grow nicely..
no co2 , just occasionally fert for hair algae (yes hair algae) , the moss inside will act as host for hair algae.
Moss is easy , moderate light , temperature below 31c , little fert , they will grow.
TSarrow
post Jan 22 2014, 01:52 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jan 22 2014, 01:49 PM)
Will cherries eat hair algae?
depend, only if they are starve and not used to pellet food, but not dependable else no one use yamato and malaya to control algae.

Hair algae are good for shrimps. I find them look nice too like carpeted marimo ball. They also quite fragile too like plants.

This post has been edited by arrow: Jan 22 2014, 01:54 PM
TSarrow
post Jan 22 2014, 02:12 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jan 22 2014, 02:05 PM)
My shrimps has been ignoring pellet food for more than a month already. That's why I'm asked. It seems that they're surviving on nothing.
not nothing, they feed on bio-film and algae in the tank, those jelly/slime like stuff on the glass/stuff is bio-film. All this are natural food for them.
What pellets you feed them ? taiwan should have alot of shrimp food available, like azoo brand.

TSarrow
post Jan 22 2014, 02:32 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jan 22 2014, 02:21 PM)
JBL Nuvo shrimps, Hikari shrimp cuisine and Sera.... they used to go nuts over them but now all ignored.
Not bad the food , i use JBL shrimp food too. if like that try everyday do 10% water change for 3 days , and don't feed them during these period.

17 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0258sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:02 PM