69 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

Unifi TMnet Streamyx/Unifi & IPv6, Now live!

-br0k3n-
post Nov 30 2013, 11:15 PM

167 posts

-removed-

This post has been edited by -br0k3n-: Nov 30 2013, 11:21 PM
ihsan
post Nov 30 2013, 11:49 PM

1,235 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Nov 30 2013, 10:30 PM)
and thus my claim earlier ipv6 latency is good for gaming is proved true  nod.gif

......small print: server needs to be ipv6 supported  laugh.gif which apparently diablo 3 isn't surprisingly  sad.gif
no one believes your claimlah. it's useless.

it's just a case of tm adjusting/not adjusting ipv6 traffic for unifi subs.

you do traceroute lah, sure different routing path for ipv6.
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Dec 1 2013, 01:02 AM

4,451 posts

bruce.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jul 15 2017, 10:48 AM
TSwKkaY
post Dec 1 2013, 02:08 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Nov 29 2013, 08:54 AM)
oh i get it. If your limited by having only 1 router cause of it, thats a big issue :/

cause take for example the living where your iptv is; to connect there you need either a homeplug...... or..... use wireless e.g. setting up a client router to do wireless to your main router.

yeah hm  hmm.gif
You don't need subnets in those scenarios. Just bridge everything into one single ethernet segment and use the same /64 prefix, and call it a day. Why complicate your network unnecessarily? KISS applies here.
TSwKkaY
post Dec 1 2013, 02:13 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Dec 1 2013, 01:02 AM)
when did you suddenly talk for every1 ?  laugh.gif  kid your a joke
prasys test prove there is difference  rolleyes.gif y should i run test ? i haven't played wow in years.... if you got something to prove, you run the test and post here, dun troll  flex.gif
That's because you took prasys's single account and called it proof without analyzing or justifying WHY it is faster.

That's faith, not science. You deserved to be called out on it.
TSwKkaY
post Dec 1 2013, 02:16 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

More info about TM broadband IPv6:

1) Will TM provide prefixes bigger than /64? For home/business customers.

Yes, we do for business package.

2) For home customers, will there be an option for static IPv6 prefix?

At the moment no.

3) Currently, how do I find out whether my BRAS is IPv6-enabled? Besides trying to enable it on my router.

The information is probably not made public. Some BRAS serve multiple exchanges and not all are disabled so need to go down to details. Best for them to send a query to the callcenter and have them feedback.
TSwKkaY
post Dec 1 2013, 02:37 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ Nov 28 2013, 11:32 PM)
To anyone else wondering, a /64 is the smallest subnet allowable in IPv6.
To give context to this statement, here's an excerpt from RFC 5375:
3. Subnet Prefix Considerations

An important part of an IPv4 addressing plan is deciding the length
  of each subnet prefix.  Unlike in IPv4, the IPv6 addressing
  architecture [RFC4291] specifies that all subnets using Globally
  Unique Addresses and ULAs always have the same prefix length of 64
  bits.  (This also applies to the deprecated 6bone and site-local
  addresses.)

The only exception to this rule are special addresses starting with
  the binary value 000, such as IPv4-compatible IPv6 addresses.  These
  exceptions are largely beyond the scope of this document.

Using a subnet prefix length other than a /64 will break many
  features of IPv6, including Neighbor Discovery (ND), Secure Neighbor
  Discovery (SEND) [RFC3971], privacy extensions [RFC4941], parts of
  Mobile IPv6 [RFC4866], Protocol Independent Multicast - Sparse Mode
  (PIM-SM) with Embedded-RP [RFC3956], and Site Multihoming by IPv6
  Intermediation (SHIM6) [SHIM6], among others.  A number of other
  features currently in development, or being proposed, also rely on
  /64 subnet prefixes.

Nevertheless, many IPv6 implementations do not prevent the
  administrator from configuring a subnet prefix length shorter or
  longer than 64 bits.  Using subnet prefixes shorter than /64 would
  rarely be useful; see Appendix B.1 for discussion.

However, some network administrators have used prefixes longer than
  /64 for links connecting routers, usually just two routers on a
  point-to-point link.  On links where all the addresses are assigned
  by manual configuration, and all nodes on the link are routers (not
  end hosts) that are known by the network, administrators do not need
  any of the IPv6 features that rely on /64 subnet prefixes, this can
  work.  Using subnet prefixes longer than /64 is not recommended for
  general use, and using them for links containing end hosts would be
  an especially bad idea, as it is difficult to predict what IPv6
  features the hosts will use in the future.

Appendix B.2 describes some practical considerations that need to be
  taken into account when using prefixes longer than /64 in limited
  cases.  In particular, a number of IPv6 features use interface
  identifiers that have a special form (such as a certain fixed value
  in some bit positions).  When using prefixes longer than /64, it is
  prudent to avoid certain subnet prefix values so that nodes who
  assume that the prefix is /64 will not incorrectly identify the
  addresses in that subnet as having a special form.  Appendix B.2
  describes the subnet prefix values that are currently believed to be
  potentially problematic; however, the list is not exhaustive and can
  be expected to grow in the future.

Using /64 subnets is strongly recommended, also for links connecting
  only routers.  A deployment compliant with the current IPv6
  specifications cannot use other prefix lengths.  However, the V6OPS
  WG believes that despite the drawbacks (and a potentially expensive
  network redesign, if IPv6 features relying on /64 subnets are needed
  in the future), some networks administrators will use prefixes longer
  than /64.

rogue
post Dec 1 2013, 05:34 AM

75 posts

So in other words, a /64 is the norm that everyone gets, and /48, /56 or /60 are for 'special' cases/scenarios..
prasys
post Dec 1 2013, 11:16 AM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(ihsan @ Nov 30 2013, 11:49 PM)
no one believes your claimlah. it's useless.

it's just a case of tm adjusting/not adjusting ipv6 traffic for unifi subs.

you do traceroute lah, sure different routing path for ipv6.
Indeed , you can't compare apples and oranges..for iPV6 it is taking a different route...
CODE
pradeeshs-imac:~ Pradeesh$ traceroute 12.129.223.44
traceroute to 12.129.223.44 (12.129.223.44), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets
1  my.router (192.168.1.1)  1.742 ms  1.250 ms  1.205 ms
2  175.137.110.206 (175.137.110.206)  4.203 ms
   175.137.110.254 (175.137.110.254)  17.275 ms
   175.137.110.194 (175.137.110.194)  4.610 ms

3  175.137.110.241 (175.137.110.241)  4.224 ms  3.339 ms  7.337 ms
4  10.55.37.60 (10.55.37.60)  5.457 ms
   10.55.32.148 (10.55.32.148)  6.107 ms  6.311 ms
5  las-b3-link.telia.net (62.115.32.5)  198.757 ms  197.683 ms  224.395 ms
6  las-bb1-link.telia.net (213.155.134.252)  245.603 ms
   las-bb1-link.telia.net (213.155.137.58)  200.834 ms
   las-bb1-link.telia.net (213.155.131.84)  355.063 ms
7  att-ic-153025-las-bb1.c.telia.net (80.239.193.214)  202.299 ms  204.275 ms  201.089 ms
8  cr2.la2ca.ip.att.net (12.122.129.98)  204.417 ms  203.985 ms  203.976 ms
9  gar29.la2ca.ip.att.net (12.122.129.241)  209.944 ms  199.163 ms  199.438 ms
10  12-122-254-238.attens.net (12.122.254.238)  201.577 ms  201.933 ms  202.591 ms
11  mdf001c7613r0004-gig-10-1.lax1.attens.net (12.129.193.250)  201.706 ms
   mdf001c7613r0002.lax1.attens.net (206.16.68.54)  186.361 ms
   206.16.68.46 (206.16.68.46)  185.167 ms
12  * * *
13  * * *
14  * * *
15  * * *
16  * * *
17  * *^C

CODE
pradeeshs-imac:~ Pradeesh$ tracerout6 2620:10b:9006:600:dad3:85ff:fed9:ce24
-bash: tracerout6: command not found
pradeeshs-imac:~ Pradeesh$ traceroute6 2620:10b:9006:600:dad3:85ff:fed9:ce24
traceroute6 to 2620:10b:9006:600:dad3:85ff:fed9:ce24 (2620:10b:9006:600:dad3:85ff:fed9:ce24) from 2001:e68:5418:3795:7476:1ec7:29dc:ca11, 64 hops max, 12 byte packets
1  2001:e68:5418:3795:ca60:ff:fe95:f71  1.441 ms  1.246 ms  1.205 ms
2  * * *
3  2001:e68:5000::102  4.212 ms  4.558 ms  7.315 ms
4  fd7d:2c4f:bc9c::10:233:199:1  13.233 ms  90.770 ms  26.411 ms
5  10gigabitethernet1-1.core1.sin1.he.net  12.819 ms  12.555 ms  17.210 ms
6  10gigabitethernet6-1.core1.hkg1.he.net  48.754 ms  45.522 ms  42.081 ms
7  * *
   10gigabitethernet3-1.core1.tyo1.he.net  98.718 ms
8  10gigabitethernet15-2.core1.lax2.he.net  264.954 ms  259.495 ms  273.366 ms
9  att-internet4-as7018.10gigabitethernet5-2.core1.lax2.he.net  200.528 ms  196.821 ms  205.361 ms
10  la2ca21crs.ipv6.att.net  205.518 ms  203.318 ms  203.059 ms
11  phmaz22crs.ipv6.att.net  202.303 ms  201.864 ms  203.971 ms
12  phmaz404me3.ipv6.att.net  205.044 ms  199.919 ms  213.931 ms
13  * * *
14  2001:1890:e000:809::1005:d001  213.932 ms  199.424 ms  199.567 ms
15  * * *
16  * * *
17  * * *
18  * * *
19  * * *
20  * * *
^C

Looks like for iPV4 , it gets routed to Telia (Europe) before going to America (AT&T) , wheres for IPV6 , it seems to be routing through he.net before reaching to AT&T Servers. Well IPV6 in this case seems to be offering a better route to US compared to iPV4

prasys
post Dec 1 2013, 11:19 AM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(rogue @ Dec 1 2013, 05:34 AM)
So in other words, a /64 is the norm that everyone gets, and /48, /56 or /60 are for 'special' cases/scenarios..
Yes that's correct

An example one may want o use /56 , is basically if you want to separate servers and client out , so you use different subnet , one for 'servers' and one for the 'clients'. This is an example.
calvin
post Dec 2 2013, 01:57 PM

Tech Enthusiast
1,865 posts

so anyone had luck configuring IPv6 on pfSense ?unsure.gif
rogue
post Dec 2 2013, 03:31 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(calvin @ Dec 2 2013, 01:57 PM)
so anyone had luck configuring IPv6 on pfSense ?:unsure:

I would first try connecting a laptop/pc directly to your BTU and dial PPPoE and see if you can get an IPv6 address just to confirm IPv6 is supported in your area.

If you have it, then you could try this in PfSense:

Select dhcp6 on the WAN, set the prefix delegation size to 64 bits.
Go to the LAN interface, for IPv6 select "Track Interface". Set it to interface "WAN" and the network prefix is always 0 for you.

Quote above taken from this link.

The link above is base on Comcast IPv6 setup but should give you a rough idea for your setup. One common problem ppl having in that forum is that they get IPv6 on both WAN/LAN, but no IPv6 default route(IPv6 gateway). So if this happens to you, maybe you need to script your way into adding an IPv6 default route after WAN is established.

Hope this helps..
DellMalaysia
post Dec 2 2013, 05:42 PM

Kindly look at my previous successful threads
735 posts

testing office ipv6
OKLY
post Dec 2 2013, 08:25 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(DellMalaysia @ Dec 2 2013, 05:42 PM)
testing office ipv6
Seems like you are not connecting to this forum via IPv6 yet.
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Dec 3 2013, 01:23 PM

4,451 posts

bruce.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jul 15 2017, 10:49 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Dec 3 2013, 01:38 PM

4,451 posts

bruce.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jul 15 2017, 10:50 AM
rogue
post Dec 3 2013, 02:37 PM

75 posts

Hello,

For MTU, I'm using OpenWRT Backfire and it's currently just using the default MTU 1492 on PPPoE iface with no disconnects or stability issues so far.

For stability I fired up XChat and connect to 2 different IPv6 IRC networks without joining any channels. Just keeping the status window open to see if either networks disconnect. So far their still connected. I use IRC as a test to see how stable TM IPv6 is coz IRC is real time..

Or you can script it for when router boots up, if you know how (i don't).
step2
I suspect i needed to disable, then enable back my desktop pcs ethernet port. So i did that, then ran the test at
http://ipv6test.google.com/
http://test-ipv6.com/

Or maybe you can lower your lease time to something between 600-900..that way it will expire the old lease quickly automatically. I have mine set to 1800 in dhcp6s and radvd, both preferred and max lifetime.

Ofcourse this is only during testing periods. Once your IPv6 is stable enough, you should increase back the lease time.

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Dec 3 2013, 02:55 PM

4,451 posts

bruce.gif

rogue
post Dec 3 2013, 03:10 PM

75 posts

i'm not quite sure how to do that.

For the lease setting, there should be something like in IPv4 dhcp for you to specify the lease time. Your router's default could be somewhere between 3600 - 7200 or 1 day.

also with the help of a friend, we found that my internet connection for ipv6

not sure why, also haven't found a fix for it yet. But if i when i reboot my router and wait 10-15mins then i can get around this problem. it's annoying but, i have to live with it

I get the same thing too. It assign's IPv6 to the WAN interface roughly 5-10mins later. I think it has to do with the current dhcpv6 lease time on the WAN side. If your connection disconnects before the lease expires, then it has to wait for that lease to expire before handling out a new lease.
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Dec 3 2013, 03:26 PM

4,451 posts

bruce.gif

69 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0299sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:37 AM