It's very convenient to have an extra battery where i can just swap and go whenever battery runs low
Samsung Galaxy Note 3 - Official v6, 3rd gen of the best phablet ever!!
Oct 1 2013, 09:05 PM
2,570 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
Got myself a desktop charger with extra battery from http://www.superbuy.my/shop/p-202599-samsu...attery-kit.aspx
It's very convenient to have an extra battery where i can just swap and go whenever battery runs low |
Oct 1 2013, 09:09 PM
912 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
QUOTE(neekun @ Oct 1 2013, 09:05 PM) Got myself a desktop charger with extra battery from http://www.superbuy.my/shop/p-202599-samsu...attery-kit.aspx Ya very convenient. Actually, every phone you buy in Korea also comes with extra battery and external charger.It's very convenient to have an extra battery where i can just swap and go whenever battery runs low But Malaysia telco all cheap skate, don't want to give extras. Anyway, RM189 is very expensive lo. Personally I prefer desktop dock (can charge also). As I am always beside my PC. |
Oct 1 2013, 09:14 PM
27,801 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: Johor |
QUOTE(881118 @ Oct 1 2013, 09:09 PM) Ya very convenient. Actually, every phone you buy in Korea also comes with extra battery and external charger. That is standard price from Samsung for its battery cum charger since S4, Note 2 daysBut Malaysia telco all cheap skate, don't want to give extras. Anyway, RM189 is very expensive lo. Personally I prefer desktop dock (can charge also). As I am always beside my PC. I bought original battery from EBay for about RM 109 vs RM 139 in Samsung retail There are also plenty alternative generic batteries in ebay , dirt cheap average RM 20-40 only |
Oct 1 2013, 09:16 PM
912 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 1 2013, 09:14 PM) That is standard price from Samsung for its battery cum charger since S4, Note 2 days dirt cheap RM20-40 I scare will explode.I bought original battery from EBay for about RM 109 vs RM 139 in Samsung retail There are also plenty alternative generic batteries in ebay , dirt cheap average RM 20-40 only IF exploded using cheap battery, Samsung WONT compensate you. Anyway, any recommendation for GOOD and CHEAP charging dock like this? ![]() This post has been edited by 881118: Oct 1 2013, 09:17 PM |
Oct 1 2013, 09:17 PM
QUOTE(joytest @ Oct 1 2013, 08:44 PM) Thanks for sharing. I just read it and he's toking kok....lazy to even get a header for the front of his pc...I mean he's a tech writer he should have a frontal usb3 header laid in his pc. Right. But you need a PC/Notebook with USB 3.0 port to take advantage of the higher transfer speed. I just transfer about 8 GB of movie files from my Vaio Pro 11 to the phone external SDCard and it just took under 5 mins. The Vaio comes with default USB 3.0 portsWell it has also been proven that usb3 transfers to pc from the note3 are at least 2x the speed from a test i posted today. So maybe the author never even bothered trying. |
Oct 1 2013, 09:18 PM
1,214 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: KaY El (KL) |
my indoor shot :
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « comment pls. Still thinking it is not as sharp as others forumers... Link for full size: http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/6115/zx03.jpg This post has been edited by jason111785: Oct 1 2013, 09:19 PM |
Oct 1 2013, 09:29 PM
133 posts Joined: May 2012 From: Cyberjaya |
QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 1 2013, 09:17 PM) Right. But you need a PC/Notebook with USB 3.0 port to take advantage of the higher transfer speed. I just transfer about 8 GB of movie files from my Vaio Pro 11 to the phone external SDCard and it just took under 5 mins. The Vaio comes with default USB 3.0 ports Wow, what SD card you used? I'm using Transcend 32GB Class 10 already, but still slow when copying data although using USB3.0 transfer mode.I tested it before, copying to internal storage for 1.8GB movie takes less than 1 minute. That's great. But I take nearly 6 minutes to copy the same file into my phone external SD card. I'm thinking of changing my SD card now, but it need to wait because I plan to buy the S-View cover first. This post has been edited by shadowzephyr: Oct 1 2013, 09:35 PM |
Oct 1 2013, 09:29 PM
13,188 posts Joined: Dec 2011 From: 127.0.0.1 |
LG WANTS to get into the Knox game as well:
http://www.androidheadlines.com/2013/10/lg...d-to-lg-g2.html When Blackberry had begun its downward spiral, crystal ball gazers everywhere started seeing the possibility of one day having an enterprise without any Blackberries. Since then many companies have offered up solutions, but so far Samsung’s Knox has been the most successful. Knox has even garnered the approval of the US Government, and is now allowing Samsung Galaxy phones to be used in government offices; a privilege long-held by Blackberry. Knox essentially works by isolating a “work environment,” a set of apps, a separate home screen launcher and more, from the rest of the phone. It utilizes the Secure Linux Kernel found within Android to do this, and ensures that no one outside of authorized users gains access to the phone without repercussions. This type of solution has lead to a new concept of bring your own device, or BYOD, and allows employees to use their personal phones at work all while keeping their personal information separate and secure work-related tasks and information. Seeing the obvious benefit that this provides to both users and manufacturers of smartphones, LG has announced their own similar solution, LG Gate. |
Oct 1 2013, 09:30 PM
1,066 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Bangi |
QUOTE(neekun @ Oct 1 2013, 09:05 PM) Got myself a desktop charger with extra battery from http://www.superbuy.my/shop/p-202599-samsu...attery-kit.aspx It is ready stock?how many days u get it?It's very convenient to have an extra battery where i can just swap and go whenever battery runs low |
Oct 1 2013, 09:35 PM
13,192 posts Joined: Jul 2011 From: Middle of Avalon |
QUOTE(joytest @ Oct 1 2013, 09:29 PM) LG WANTS to get into the Knox game as well: Android should avoid Knox altogether http://www.androidheadlines.com/2013/10/lg...d-to-lg-g2.html When Blackberry had begun its downward spiral, crystal ball gazers everywhere started seeing the possibility of one day having an enterprise without any Blackberries. Since then many companies have offered up solutions, but so far Samsung’s Knox has been the most successful. Knox has even garnered the approval of the US Government, and is now allowing Samsung Galaxy phones to be used in government offices; a privilege long-held by Blackberry. Knox essentially works by isolating a “work environment,” a set of apps, a separate home screen launcher and more, from the rest of the phone. It utilizes the Secure Linux Kernel found within Android to do this, and ensures that no one outside of authorized users gains access to the phone without repercussions. This type of solution has lead to a new concept of bring your own device, or BYOD, and allows employees to use their personal phones at work all while keeping their personal information separate and secure work-related tasks and information. Seeing the obvious benefit that this provides to both users and manufacturers of smartphones, LG has announced their own similar solution, LG Gate. Or atleast Samsung give us a choice whether we want to have Knox in our phone or not. This post has been edited by waveweaver: Oct 1 2013, 09:39 PM |
Oct 1 2013, 09:41 PM
1,079 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 1 2013, 08:10 PM) Left my Liquid Armor in the hometown, forced to use a cheapo screen protector while I go back this weekend. Err... about liquid armor. How do you know you applied? It's invisible right? You can't see the coating right?After using it on my Note II which is still scratch-free today, I'm pretty convinced with this product. Of course for the past 1 year, I had applied it for about 3 times. One thing I dislike is the fingerprints magnet issue. |
Oct 1 2013, 09:45 PM
1,535 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
Oct 1 2013, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(shadowzephyr @ Oct 1 2013, 09:29 PM) Wow, what SD card you used? I'm using Transcend 32GB Class 10 already, but still slow when copying data although using USB3.0 transfer mode. I am using sandisk 64gb class 10I tested it before, copying to internal storage for 1.8GB movie takes less than 1 minute. That's great. But I take nearly 6 minutes to copy the same file into my phone external SD card. I'm thinking of changing my SD card now, but it need to wait because I plan to buy the S-View cover first. |
Oct 1 2013, 09:53 PM
72,806 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: KUL |
QUOTE(shadowzephyr @ Oct 1 2013, 08:48 PM) Yeah, thats one of the greatest thing I love with Android. Nox, Flatro, Holler (black & white), MinimalUI, Romow Round, RoundedMinimalistUI, GlaskLart, Holo and ClickUI are list of my favorite. How about you? QUOTE(881118 @ Oct 1 2013, 08:50 PM) I no reputation mah, sure no business. you admin leh, people sure trust you. Also the cost saving is only RM30++ Maybe not much people interested as they can buy CubixShoppe QUOTE(monked @ Oct 1 2013, 09:41 PM) Err... about liquid armor. How do you know you applied? It's invisible right? You can't see the coating right? You will feel the friction but doesn't really affect your swiping experience. |
Oct 1 2013, 09:58 PM
376 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Hi, just a quick note. Was reading on Anandtech's review on the Note 3, and during their display testing, it was noted that changing the screen mode to Movie (instead of Dynamic, standard etc) would make it more linear and controlled, not wildly oversaturated. Go check out the review if keen to read more
Oct 1 2013, 09:58 PM
12,573 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE(881118 @ Oct 1 2013, 09:16 PM) dirt cheap RM20-40 I scare will explode. Actually, the only thing I might find a charging dock being useful IF it offers various connections such as multiple USB ports, micro SD slot (maybe), etcIF exploded using cheap battery, Samsung WONT compensate you. Anyway, any recommendation for GOOD and CHEAP charging dock like this? ![]() QUOTE(jason111785 @ Oct 1 2013, 09:18 PM) my indoor shot : Why are you so insecure about your Note 3's camera performance?» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « comment pls. Still thinking it is not as sharp as others forumers... Link for full size: http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/6115/zx03.jpg |
Oct 1 2013, 10:01 PM
12,176 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
Oct 1 2013, 10:01 PM
6,358 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Internet World |
Oct 1 2013, 10:03 PM
133 posts Joined: May 2012 From: Cyberjaya |
QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 1 2013, 09:46 PM) Thanks. I've made a few test just now. Using two cables, USB3.0 and USB2.0 original from Samsung into my USB3.0 port, I've tested copying an exactly 500MB file from C Drive (using SSD) into my internal and external storage (SDCard). Here's the result. ----------------- USB2.0 C: to Phone Start 9:46:00 End 9:46:14 Total 14 Secs Speed 35.74MB/s USB2.0 C: to Card Start 9:47:00 End 9:47:48 Total 48 Secs Speed 10.42MB/s ----------------- USB3.0 C: to Phone Start 9:41:00 End 9:41:08 Total 8 Secs Speed 62.50MB/s USB3.0 C: to Card Start 9:42:00 End 9:42:48 Total 48 Secs Speed 10.42MB/s Yeah, USB3.0 actually improve the transfer speed, although not too big in difference. And it quite fast for a single, big file. Well, this is just a simple, not repeated test (result surely different if testing using 100 4KB files). So, I think my card is not actually defect (hope so This is surely not true if using the faster one, eg Sandisk Extreme Pro. This post has been edited by shadowzephyr: Oct 1 2013, 10:04 PM |
Oct 1 2013, 10:03 PM
12,176 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
| Change to: | 0.0524sec