122 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 - Official v5, 3rd gen of the best phablet ever!!

armadasaxon
post Sep 27 2013, 08:35 AM

488 posts

food for thought,

When u guys first get the phone, did u:
1.charge the phone upto 100% before even turning it on or,
2.use the phone batterytill 0% and do recalibration , then charge it.
Andrew_1980
post Sep 27 2013, 08:39 AM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(armadasaxon @ Sep 27 2013, 08:35 AM)
food for thought,

No. My previous phone all charge abit and turn on
SUSgogo2
post Sep 27 2013, 08:40 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Sep 27 2013, 05:12 AM)
Boss, you forgot to add your name in the owner list? Didn't see your name hmm.gif
haven't buy la dr. laugh.gif
SUSgogo2
post Sep 27 2013, 08:42 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

food for thought,

I think this is myth of Lithium Ion battery.

What you say is only true to NiMH battery.

For phone battery, is not true.

As a matter of fact, discharging phone battery to 0% might damage it.
CubixShoppe
post Sep 27 2013, 08:44 AM

116 posts

food for thought,

Normally it is best to use it until the lowest percentage or until you get a warning, and then start charging it from then onwards.

Edit: This is for the first time usage only as some people are unable to grasp your question properly stating that it is done only for the first time. Once the battery is already activated, you can charge it at anytime and it is best to not allow it to completely discharge constantly.

This post has been edited by CubixShoppe: Sep 27 2013, 09:10 AM
SUSgogo2
post Sep 27 2013, 08:45 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(CubixShoppe @ Sep 27 2013, 08:44 AM)
Normally it is best to use it until the lowest percentage or until you get a warning, and then start charging it from then onwards.
Wow, bad advice. Please don't spread this around. Later a lot of Note 3 battery life degraded. laugh.gif
SUSgogo2
post Sep 27 2013, 08:48 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

Only oldfag like me who came from NiMH and NiCad battery era will have this kind of assumption towards battery. You must be more than 30 already laugh.gif

Else, you might be still using Sanyo Eneloop NiMH AA battery. laugh.gif
kkChan
post Sep 27 2013, 08:55 AM

171 posts

oh dear!! no... shocking.gif
waveweaver
post Sep 27 2013, 08:57 AM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(kkChan @ Sep 27 2013, 08:55 AM)
oh dear!! no...    shocking.gif
No..? blink.gif
SUSgogo2
post Sep 27 2013, 08:57 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

LOL.. I blame this to oldfag handphone seller also that is used to NiMH in old handphone. They keep propagating this myth to new generation of handphone seller. And this myth keep on propagating from generation to generation of handphone seller.

Handphone seller are guilty in making battery life degrading quickly than they should. sweat.gif
CubixShoppe
post Sep 27 2013, 08:59 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Sep 27 2013, 08:45 AM)
Wow, bad advice. Please don't spread this around. Later a lot of Note 3 battery life degraded. laugh.gif
What are you talking about? hmm.gif

It degrades only if you do it constantly.

I was responding to his question based on first time usage. Followed this on most of my phones and I have never faced a battery issue. Maybe you can refer to the guides online to better equip yourself with the knowledge.

Anyways, when it comes to android, it is hard to kill your battery because when the battery is at its lowest, the phone would shut itself off. the warning is given when the battery level is about 20%.

This is done just for the calibration of the battery. After a few charging cycles and the battery is running at it's full capacity, then you can charge it anytime, and it's best to not allow it to completely drain, unless you want to recalibrate it , with is usually done once in 2 months or so.
Xirality
post Sep 27 2013, 09:01 AM

12,176 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Sep 27 2013, 08:57 AM)
LOL.. I blame this to oldfag handphone seller also that is used to NiMH in old handphone. They keep propagating this myth to new generation of handphone seller. And this myth keep on propagating from generation to generation of handphone seller.

Handphone seller are guilty in making battery life degrading quickly than they should.  sweat.gif
Yeah, they have peace of mind when they did it. For me, I don't care as long as it's 100% I straight cabut laugh.gif
CubixShoppe

116 posts

Please read my statement above ya smile.gif

Btw, these are modern batteries, so no need to charge up to 8 hours as recommended by a lot of old time phone dealers. Once it is shown as 100%, you can remove the phone from the charger.

My suggestion was for the first time usage.
Xirality

12,176 posts

QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Sep 27 2013, 06:46 AM)
Guess this thread will reach 2.5k again within 1 week. laugh.gif
Very easily brows.gif
CubixShoppe
post Sep 27 2013, 09:02 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Sep 27 2013, 08:48 AM)
Only oldfag like me who came from NiMH and NiCad battery era will have this kind of assumption towards battery. You must be more than 30 already  laugh.gif

Else, you might be still using Sanyo Eneloop NiMH AA battery.  laugh.gif
Sorry, not as old as you biggrin.gif
SUSgogo2
post Sep 27 2013, 09:04 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(CubixShoppe @ Sep 27 2013, 08:59 AM)
What are you talking about?  hmm.gif

It degrades only if you do it constantly.

I was responding to his question based on first time usage. Followed this on most of my phones and I have never faced a battery issue. Maybe you can refer to the guides online to better equip yourself with the knowledge.

Anyways, when it comes to android, it is hard to kill your battery because when the battery is at its lowest, the phone would shut itself off. the warning is given when the battery level is about 20%.

This is done just for the calibration of the battery. After a few charging cycles and the battery is running at it's full capacity, then you can charge it anytime, and it's best to not allow it to completely drain, unless you want to recalibrate it , with is usually done once in 2 months or so.
Nuff said. You just making single sentence saying that we should discharge our phone to warning stage without warning us that we shouldn't do it constantly. That's very bad advice sweat.gif

SUSgogo2
post Sep 27 2013, 09:05 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(CubixShoppe @ Sep 27 2013, 09:02 AM)
Sorry, not as old as you biggrin.gif
Ok, hahaa... rclxms.gif
SUSgogo2
post Sep 27 2013, 09:05 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Sep 27 2013, 09:01 AM)
Yeah, they have peace of mind when they did it. For me, I don't care as long as it's 100% I straight cabut  laugh.gif
Yeah, I think we all pre-condition to think this way liao. sweat.gif
jady
post Sep 27 2013, 09:13 AM

-----camology-----
1,024 posts

http://batteryuniversity.com/learn/article...based_batteries

How to prolong Lithium battery
waveweaver
post Sep 27 2013, 09:16 AM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

I always use my phone till the battery real low (3 -5%) then only I will recharge it. Why is it bad..!?
Am not going to start looking for charger when my battery still have 50% juice left.

122 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0176sec    0.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:06 AM