141 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Bottom

PC Audio Altec Lansing Fans Club (approaching 90 members), Sound Leadership For The Digital Age

bryanyz
post Jun 20 2007, 04:19 AM

292 posts

fx6021 user here
leroy87
post Jun 20 2007, 03:25 PM

484 posts

Hello Altec Lansing fans,
Im one of the fans too, Using ACS45.1 for like 4years and now i switched to ATP3 not long ago. Basically I think ATP3 has better sound quality in treble and clearity and the ACS45.1 is damn bassy, good for techno and headbangers, both work js fine for gaming and music for me. biggrin.gif

Disadvantages IMO:
Both this speakers had given me problem on the volume control. Worst was the ACS45.1 Older models the Vol control is made of somesort light plastic, but the newer one(mine) is made of rubber. After sometime, the rubber gets soft it sank into the speaker itself, and the cause you can increase the volume but canot decrease it(*or other way round). Anyway the way to fix it, is to open up the right speaker(power knob)and put a small piece of rubber/tissue underneath the rubber knobs. This would jack up the rubber a little so that it wont sink. Take note, the speaker is fragile make sure u dont break the paper(*duno wat isit call the fornt part the speaker vibrate paper thing) with ur screwdriver when opening. sad.gif
For ATP3, as alot user comment, the volume knob becomes loose and unable to off and on or result to unstable volume, that is true. Mine still able to work alright, but i realise there is a slight diference from when i bought and now, it loosens. sad.gif

For now, im planning to change to a 5.1 Speaker by Altec if posible. Im looking for comments here, but ive been reading 50 pages. But dont find a decent post on 5.1 speakers. Im not satisfied with 2.1 speakers because my room is big, seriously big, can be 2 times size of normal room. So i thought of having a 5.1 speaker system so that it can surround. Any of you audiophiles have any ideas which speaker i should get?
What i get from reading all the posts, is MX5021, CS21 2.1 speakers, i have no doubt is MX5021 really have good review from alot FYN audiophiles. I would think of getting one, but does it work in a big room?
What about GT5051, FX5051, VS3151R, 251i or other models for 5.1 speakers?

Thanks for reading.
Have a nice day. rclxms.gif
quiksilve
post Jun 20 2007, 03:31 PM

297 posts

Just got my 2nd ACS45.1 set last week from another forummer, really happy with it.

After so many years on my original set, i am still satisfied with its bass and sound quality, that why been having a headache thinking which pair of speakers should i get to accompany my laptop.

Finally decided to get another set of ACS45.1.
Now the problem is the sound and bass clarity is so loud i am having trouble keeping the volume down and trying my best not to bother my neighbours hahaha.

Thats why mostly i will listen to nice love songs if i intend to turn the volume up

Cheers to all A.L. fans
QS

This post has been edited by quiksilve: Jun 20 2007, 03:39 PM
SPEEDSPiRiT
post Jun 20 2007, 06:36 PM

62 posts

45.1 usually have problem right?
suddenly the speakers just dont on?
i have 2 friends facing this problem
sunauto
post Jun 20 2007, 11:13 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(SPEEDSPiRiT @ Jun 20 2007, 06:36 PM)
It's true about your findings, I have a friend with a similar problem, he bought this model and I bought ADA-305 last time, mine was okay until I sold it here while his was spoilt 3 years later.
quiksilve
post Jun 21 2007, 04:34 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(SPEEDSPiRiT @ Jun 20 2007, 06:36 PM)
Wow really ar? i didn't know that, cause my bro's 45.1 using for like 6 years straight still sounding damn good.

Just hope the new one i bought can tahan until god knows when hehe
dualshock
post Jun 21 2007, 04:39 PM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

old skool ATP3 user reporting in...been using it for almost 4 years and still going strong...
H-TWO-O
post Jun 23 2007, 12:02 AM

328 posts

ACS295 user.....
ferricide
post Jun 24 2007, 02:23 AM

Mercenary
638 posts

hi all, i sillt got the ada885. currently using for xbox n pc.

EDIT: After a quick check again, its the ADA880 that I have.

This post has been edited by ferricide: Jul 3 2007, 10:35 AM
imgaylord
post Jun 29 2007, 04:15 PM

245 posts

new fx6021 user here. Just bought it today at RM620.
old acs22 still beating since 1999.
"x" avs500b user.
sunauto
post Jul 2 2007, 02:41 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

leroy87
post Jul 3 2007, 10:27 AM

484 posts

initial.craig
post Jul 10 2007, 08:30 AM

411 posts

I just bought a VS4121 a few days ago... actually I wanted to buy ATP3 but changed my mind at the moment i wanted to buy it...
initial.craig
post Jul 13 2007, 07:54 AM

411 posts

can anyone one of you guys here teach me d most suitable way of 2.1 speaker setup on a table?

This post has been edited by initial.craig: Jul 14 2007, 10:39 AM
initial.craig
post Jul 16 2007, 07:13 PM

411 posts

erm, any vs4121 users here? do you guys have any comments?
isildur88
post Jul 16 2007, 07:20 PM

Lord of Winterfell
774 posts

QUOTE(initial.craig @ Jul 16 2007, 07:13 PM)
erm, any vs4121 users here? do you guys have any comments?
yep... put me in the list... me have 2 sets of vs4121... one at home and one in uni... nice set of speakers... real nice...
initial.craig
post Jul 17 2007, 08:00 AM

411 posts

yepp, nice sound i can say...
initial.craig
post Jul 17 2007, 08:25 PM

411 posts

erm, bout d vs4121 subwoofer, i found out that it bass is quite blurry lik that... erm, u guys experinced it?
JY.
post Jul 17 2007, 09:10 PM

1,630 posts

QUOTE(initial.craig @ Jul 17 2007, 08:25 PM)
erm, bout d vs4121 subwoofer, i found out that it bass is quite blurry lik that... erm, u guys experinced it?
Ya, agree...Now i just switch it to minimum, the bass is the worst part of this speaker...Does anyone know anyway we can mod the woofer?
initial.craig
post Jul 18 2007, 07:39 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(JY. @ Jul 17 2007, 09:10 PM)
Ya, agree...Now i just switch it to minimum, the bass is the worst part of this speaker...Does anyone know anyway we can mod the woofer?
yes, anyone noe? any sifu here to teach us?

141 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0257sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:40 PM