13 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

PC Audio Altec Lansing Fans Club (approaching 90 members), Sound Leadership For The Digital Age

coolkwc
post Apr 27 2008, 12:33 AM

Fall in love with audio again.
3,112 posts

QUOTE(junclj @ Apr 27 2008, 12:28 AM)
I am support VS4121 also because I was used it before I change to FX5051.
Please give your comment compare FX5051 to VS4121...
coolkwc
post Apr 27 2008, 12:58 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(blessedvillain @ Apr 27 2008, 12:49 AM)
my previous speaker, ACS45.1 is now back in my hometown and I'm actually using it now in my bedroom rig. Man!! i forgot how "powderful" is the speaker!! comparing to AegoM, bass really no fight...too overwhelming...When full blast, i can feel my heart beats with the bass....

those were the times when i blindly follow my friends, i buy what my friends are buying. Now even buying speakers gives me headache.
ya, choose carefully and slowly...or find some friends as your guinea pig, poisoning them to buy the speaker u want and then u go test and mess with it, if not satisfied, poisoning another friend to buy others model and test again...

Before i bought my MX5021, actually i non-stop poisoning him until he get the speaker, after i test for 6 months then i went to bought it for myself... sweat.gif rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Apr 27 2008, 12:59 AM
coolkwc
post Apr 27 2008, 01:05 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(sucka3 @ Apr 27 2008, 01:00 AM)
i bought my mx5021..cos i like the looks of it...plus is within my budget range.. laugh.gif..one of the best lookin speaker AL made.. thumbup.gif
Can't denied that MX5021 really look handsome...
coolkwc
post Apr 27 2008, 01:21 AM

3,112 posts

Humming noise is unforgivable...VS4121 got both humming sound and hiss sound, its truth...Maybe i will give a big CROSS in the pic later...
coolkwc
post Apr 27 2008, 09:27 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(:+:[J)
erR[y]:+:,Apr 27 2008, 03:13 AM]Well.. vs4121 doesn't have humming sound la..
Indeed, it has a not-so-audible hissing sound when the volume is switched to MAX..  sweat.gif

I had an audition on mx5021 previously.
The sound is not so "natural" (or maybe the audition place has some floorstands+bookshelves to compare with sweat.gif )

Actually, vs4121 is good enough at that affordable price la.. but not to compare with higher-end 1 of course..
(At least it isn't a torture to ears but quite enjoyable~  wink.gif )
QUOTE(junclj @ Apr 27 2008, 09:21 AM)
VS4121, dont have hissing sound and low humming electric sound on the subwoofer.

My friend told me, usually the more powerful and larger speakers have louder hissing sound. Just go to some live or concert and look after the speakers, the speakers have louder of "shhhhhhhhhh" hissing sounds.

The subwoofer have a bit low humming because it is electric ground loop affect. But usually you will not realize it if you no concern about it.
Try to hear from subwoofer directly... wink.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Apr 27 2008, 09:28 AM
coolkwc
post Apr 27 2008, 12:50 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(xk2 @ Apr 27 2008, 12:38 PM)
hmm.gif i agree tat 4121 got very annoying humming sound once u turn on the AC power ,i remember tat when the speaker is newly bought,it dun have the humming sound,maybe is 'old' oredi due to daily use??? laugh.gif  ,but once u turn ur music on, usually you will not realize it if you no concern about it.
Nope, humming sound exist since u bought, only u didn't noticed...it was due to poor rectifier circuit designed, the DC still got ripple after converted from AC...

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Apr 27 2008, 12:53 PM
coolkwc
post Apr 27 2008, 11:10 PM

3,112 posts

The important thing is know how to use EQ to tune the speaker...

i only can see sucka3, domo_kun, Faint and Deerc bump this thread everyday...boring.. yawn.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Apr 27 2008, 11:18 PM
coolkwc
post Apr 28 2008, 12:39 AM

3,112 posts

Lol, so far i only shoot the VS4121 speaker, not its owner...
coolkwc
post Apr 28 2008, 10:26 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(domo_kun @ Apr 28 2008, 08:03 AM)
but i don't think sound card is really necessary lo
how high quality will it improve the sound, seriously?
for an average joe like me, i don't really think i'll need that
plus, a good sound card doesn't comes cheap either
those that costs less rm200, normally won't make any much difference, right
rolleyes.gif
so, you complaining about us? or what?
rclxm9.gif
whether can hear different after changing sound card depends on how crap your onboard sound before, the more crap the onboard sound, the more different you can hear... sweat.gif
coolkwc
post Apr 28 2008, 03:31 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(domo_kun @ Apr 28 2008, 02:47 PM)
i see...
perhaps, i should try with a soundcard
because so far, i have some problem with the audio with games
hm, hard to explain, but it doesn't happen when playing songs or movies
nothing to do with me mx5021, i believe, it works perfectly with the notebook
which one is worth buying? budget less than rm150
icon_rolleyes.gif
sorry, budget less than RM150 external SC you only can get 2nd hand.. unsure.gif
coolkwc
post Apr 28 2008, 04:24 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(isildur88 @ Apr 28 2008, 04:12 PM)
hmmm.... me oso using vs4121... but my fav is my mx5021... hehe...
stop using your VS4121...stop polluting the world... vmad.gif rclxm9.gif

Added on April 28, 2008, 4:26 pm
QUOTE(domo_kun @ Apr 28 2008, 03:38 PM)
internal la, don't want external
no place to put the external sound card la
plus, my usb ports also almost full liao
sweat.gif
you use notebook how to use internal sound card? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Apr 28 2008, 04:26 PM
coolkwc
post Apr 28 2008, 05:38 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(sucka3 @ Apr 28 2008, 05:28 PM)
stop!!!....coolkwc will repeat all his bashin on the speaker again.. laugh.gif
nope, i won't bashing it anymore, my avatar already told everything...i will only advise potential VS4121 user change their mind and destroy the existing VS4121... rclxs0.gif
coolkwc
post Apr 28 2008, 06:42 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(umiseaz @ Apr 28 2008, 06:38 PM)
Are u sure ? coz i planning to buy it ! cry.gif
I'm 1000000% sure...the reason i anti VS4121 is not the humming sound, but it poor sound...
coolkwc
post Apr 28 2008, 06:52 PM

3,112 posts

Edifier M3300, M3400, E3100...
coolkwc
post Apr 28 2008, 07:03 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(PCHo @ Apr 26 2008, 01:47 PM)
I am a owner of VS4121 myself.
But I must admit, the speaker does not deliver on expectations and the price tag.
the down firing mid-range is really 2 pieces of shit.
And the woofer bass is really over-dosed.
If u can look past these 2 problems, then it is still ok.
But like in my previous post, the VS4121 has some *humming* problems.
You can hear it very clearly when u r in a quiet room.
QUOTE(xk2 @ Apr 26 2008, 02:47 PM)
to be honest,i agree tat 4121 will produce humming sound,but if the bass and treble control knob of the the speaker configure  properly + the player equalizer + the audio file itself's quality ,problem will solve (of course still cannot fight with edifier m3300 la laugh.gif )
QUOTE(xk2 @ Apr 27 2008, 12:38 PM)
hmm.gif i agree tat 4121 got very annoying humming sound once u turn on the AC power ,i remember tat when the speaker is newly bought,it dun have the humming sound,maybe is 'old' oredi due to daily use??? laugh.gif  ,but once u turn ur music on, usually you will not realize it if you no concern about it.
QUOTE(SkyDriver @ Apr 27 2008, 01:19 PM)
vs4121 is ear killing speaker smile.gif
the bass is freaking blurry, and treble is suk (grating)
@junclj
I don't want to recommend AL speaker blindly just because i'm AL user too... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Apr 28 2008, 07:07 PM
coolkwc
post Apr 28 2008, 09:04 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(domo_kun @ Apr 28 2008, 09:03 PM)
i used the notebook to test the speakers only. my main system is the desktop pc, not the portable system. hm
frankly speaking, i rather save money for other components, better vga, or more ram, and not on audio. just my preference la
icon_rolleyes.gif
not on audio? then please sell your MX5021 now....NOW... mad.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Apr 28 2008, 09:06 PM
coolkwc
post Apr 28 2008, 09:18 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(domo_kun @ Apr 28 2008, 09:11 PM)
i mean, the speakers are good enough
in fact, it's even better than my tv!
just that i don't think i'll be saving for a sound card
as i intend to setup a new system, and the sound card will be of the lowest priority!
sweat.gif
Kidding only... tongue.gif
coolkwc
post Apr 28 2008, 09:56 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(domo_kun @ Apr 28 2008, 09:21 PM)
perhaps, i should trade it in with a vs4121
any takers out there?
rolleyes.gif
ya, u should trade in with VS4121...so that you will know how damn the VS4121 was... rolleyes.gif

Added on April 28, 2008, 10:00 pm
QUOTE(Deerc @ Apr 28 2008, 09:55 PM)
same condition here. but still without mx5021 laugh.gif
When you want to change it? domo_kun maybe can trade in his MX with u... rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Apr 28 2008, 10:04 PM
coolkwc
post Apr 28 2008, 10:13 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(domo_kun @ Apr 28 2008, 10:02 PM)
you'll be surprise, i might be lovin the vs4121 even more!
icon_rolleyes.gif
i won't suprise if you loving it.... rolleyes.gif
coolkwc
post Apr 28 2008, 10:24 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(UNDERGROUND @ Apr 28 2008, 10:20 PM)
Loving it for it's VALUE and loving it for it's QUALITY is a 2 different things brows.gif
i think he loving the quality, you know... whistling.gif

13 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0250sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:45 AM