Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V5

post Jan 1 2014, 04:24 PM

4,230 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 1 2014, 02:32 PM)
Happy New Year 2014 guys!
Thank You Sir, for the vote of confidence blush.gif
Yes can, and it applies to most Senior FD and Savings Account offered by banks.
If your parent don't need the monthly interest payout and just like to see his/her money grow and grow, go with Affin Bank and get 3.6% board rate. Auto renewed at the highest board rate offered by any commercial bank currently and for the past few years.
To ALL:

Now, for those like me who are in our prime still feeling young as 18 and hate people calling us uncles, check out Alliance Bank FD Gold. It pays 3.25% for 12 months tenure and interest credited monthly into our Hybrid Account to go use with our Alliance Debit Cards and earn up to 2% cash back. To qualify for the FD Gold, minimum deposit RM30K (per cert, you can have as many certs as you want) and age as young as 40  biggrin.gif

Those of you thinking you'll be getting 4% or above interest rates from OCBC and HLB FD Promos for 12 months or less tenures, better you go read my comments at my FD Page which I just updated.

It is kind of hard to find a FD Promo offering above 4% effective interest rate nowadays. Even Bank Raykat's Profit Rate has reduced to less than 4% for 12 months tenure.

And if you are thinking of going with Affin Bank 4.18% 36 months FD Promo, better you hurry to AmBank and go with their 4.12% FD Promo for the same tenure.

Click here to my Fixed Deposit Page for latest updates and comments.
Thank you for the suggestion smile.gif

ascend
post Jan 2 2014, 12:51 PM

245 posts

OCBC Fixed Deposit Combo

Is anyone getting charged for cashier order for the uplift of the fixed deposit n CASA combo? Last couple of times they never did but they tried that today and wasted hours trying to prove that the rm2.15 Cashier order fee was charged last time (and on that basis, it should be applicable this time)

While i understand that no fee is applicable if the uplift is made from pure fixed deposit, in the case of the combo promo, it isn't so clear cut and last couple of times it wasn't charged on good will (or on their ignorance).

This post has been edited by ascend: Jan 2 2014, 12:52 PM
prole
post Jan 2 2014, 01:19 PM

98 posts

Today went to BR to withdraw matured FD & being told that they no longer issue banker cheque since 2014 due to new policy. It cost me 2 dollar for a TT, fund only available on next Monday someone.
lookie
post Jan 2 2014, 03:45 PM

853 posts

do we have to declare interest earned on FD (or for that matter, other types of investments like unit trusts, wealth management products etc) to IRD and are we subjected to pay income tax on this?
SUSyklooi
post Jan 2 2014, 03:52 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(lookie @ Jan 2 2014, 03:45 PM)
do we have to declare interest earned on FD (or for that matter, other types of investments like unit trusts, wealth management products etc) to IRD and are we subjected to pay income tax on this?
found this on the web
# 9 & # 10
http://ehasil.blogspot.com/2009/02/tax-exe...ndividuals.html

need to confirm validity or latest status though... brows.gif
TSdavinz18
post Jan 2 2014, 04:45 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

I think don't need to declare & pay tax. If not mistaken tax already paid for by the investment companies / banks hmm.gif
anangryorc
post Jan 2 2014, 05:44 PM

597 posts

IIRC earnings from FD are exempted from taxation. I think one can declare in efiling form, but the is no extra taxation on FD earnings.
GymBoi
post Jan 2 2014, 10:00 PM

1,401 posts

Sifus .. is there such thing as e-FD as in you put money in FD via online banking ah ? So much trouble to go bank la ... any bank offer things like this ?
Petro-Canada
post Jan 2 2014, 11:57 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Jan 2 2014, 10:00 PM)
Sifus .. is there such thing as e-FD as in you put money in FD via online banking ah ? So much trouble to go bank la ... any bank offer things like this ?
MBB, CIMB...others i dont know. Super easy.
GymBoi
post Jan 3 2014, 12:01 AM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(Petro-Canada @ Jan 2 2014, 11:57 PM)
MBB, CIMB...others i dont know. Super easy.
OO .. for MBB will it work if i don't have savings account ? =/ I have maybank2u coz i have CC with them but no savings/current account ... probably cannot right =/
tbheng
post Jan 3 2014, 12:09 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Jan 3 2014, 12:01 AM)
OO .. for MBB will it work if i don't have savings account ? =/ I have maybank2u coz i have CC with them but no savings/current account ... probably cannot right =/
Ya, you need CASA acct to be your source of fund when open new eFD (placement).
When you close matured eFD (uplift), the fund goes back to your CASA acct.
All via maybank2u internet banking facility.
BoomChaCha
post Jan 3 2014, 01:03 AM

2,490 posts

Thinking to place Am Bank 4.12% FD for 3 years, but heard many rumors
OPR will rise to 3.25% or 3.5% soon due to inflation..?

I cannot decide if I should take this 3 years gamble for 4.12%..? hmm.gif

Just deposited RM 1K into KWSP during last month..

Can somebody log in www.mbsb.com.my ?

QUOTE(prole @ Jan 2 2014, 01:19 PM)
Today went to BR to withdraw matured FD & being told that they no longer issue banker cheque since 2014 due to new policy. It cost me 2 dollar for a TT, fund only available on next Monday someone.
This is another bad news from BR.. sad.gif
Then will you lose 3 or 4 days days interest..?

tbheng
post Jan 3 2014, 01:54 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 3 2014, 01:03 AM)

I cannot decide if I should take this 3 years gamble for 4.12%..?  hmm.gif

This is another bad news from BR..  sad.gif
Just a quick check... is the AmBank 4.12% FD insured by PIDM?
I believe it should be, but just don't see it being mentioned in their TnC.
Am considering to take this up after my HL Mach FD matured next week.
SUSyklooi
post Jan 3 2014, 07:46 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(tbheng @ Jan 3 2014, 01:54 AM)
Just a quick check... is the AmBank 4.12% FD insured by PIDM?
I believe it should be, but just don't see it being mentioned in their TnC.
Am considering to take this up after my HL Mach FD matured next week.
check the words
"Conventional Fixed Deposit" at
http://www.ambankgroup.com/en/Promotions/D...FD36m2013-.aspx
against the listing of "Products eligible for protection by PIDM" at
http://www.ambankgroup.com/en/Personal/Dep...rWebpageEng.pdf
contact them to thru livechat, email or phone in to confirm
http://www.ambankgroup.com/en/Personal/Dep...Pages/PIDM.aspx
bbgoat
post Jan 3 2014, 08:53 AM

6,614 posts

This is another bad news from BR..  sad.gif
I was thinking of AmBank for my FD but the offer expires by 19/1 while my FD is due later. doh.gif

BR wise, bad news. Where is our Ninja warrior (HJebat), ph34r.gif help ...................

The Ninja will come and say calm down, calm down .......................... tongue.gif
tbheng
post Jan 3 2014, 09:30 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 3 2014, 07:46 AM)
check the words
"Conventional Fixed Deposit" at
http://www.ambankgroup.com/en/Promotions/D...FD36m2013-.aspx
against the listing of "Products eligible for protection by PIDM" at
http://www.ambankgroup.com/en/Personal/Dep...rWebpageEng.pdf
contact them to thru livechat, email or phone in to confirm
http://www.ambankgroup.com/en/Personal/Dep...Pages/PIDM.aspx
Oh, cool! Thanks. notworthy.gif
Besides, have not seen any new year promo from KFH like last year.
Very limited good deals/choices... sad.gif
tbheng
post Jan 3 2014, 11:45 AM

1,188 posts

Hi all,
I have BR FD maturing this month.
I was worried my renewal will use the new board rate and needed a fresh FD cert to ease my worry.
I have called the branch and found the following info for sharing.

1. My FD will be auto-renewed with the same rate as last year (nego @ 4.11%) without needing to visit the branch. blink.gif
2. No new FD cert will be printed for auto-renewal, but can request for statement at branch.
3. If ask for new FD cert, meant an uplift and new placement, then new rate will be applied. (I thought some BR veterans here said must insist for new cert to verify interest rate.) hmm.gif
4. New board rates have been revised down 0.05% since Nov '13 (old news).
5. Old products cannot be auto-renewed (mine started last year, cosider new), they will call acct holders individually and new certs will be printed with new rates.

This is my first renewal at BR, so still unsure and worried about the new rate used at renewal? Any sifu could enlighten on this part? notworthy.gif

bbgoat
post Jan 3 2014, 12:44 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(tbheng @ Jan 3 2014, 11:45 AM)
Hi all,
I was worried my renewal will use the new board rate and needed a fresh FD cert to ease my worry.

1. My FD will be auto-renewed with the same rate as last year (nego @ 4.11%) without needing to visit the branch.  blink.gif
This is my first renewal at BR, so still unsure and worried about the new rate used at renewal? Any sifu could enlighten on this part?  notworthy.gif
Which BR branch did you go to, which state ?

For auto renewal, it will go to the current board rate, not even nego rate. For my FD in BR, I used online account to check, auto renew will just go to board rate.

You better check again or use online account to see the interest rate for related FD. smile.gif
Gen-X
post Jan 3 2014, 01:10 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tbheng @ Jan 3 2014, 11:45 AM)
Hi all,

1. My FD will be auto-renewed with the same rate as last year (nego @ 4.11%) without needing to visit the branch.  blink.gif
2. No new FD cert will be printed for auto-renewal, but can request for statement at branch.
3. If ask for new FD cert, meant an uplift and new placement, then new rate will be applied. (I thought some BR veterans here said must insist for new cert to verify interest rate.)  hmm.gif
4. New board rates have been revised down 0.05% since Nov '13 (old news).
5. Old products cannot be auto-renewed (mine started last year, cosider new), they will call acct holders individually and new certs will be printed with new rates.

This is my first renewal at BR, so still unsure and worried about the new rate used at renewal? Any sifu could enlighten on this part?  notworthy.gif
Wow! If item 1 is true, you'll be the happiest man here tongue.gif

Bro, even if BLR goes up to 3.25%, you think we will get 4% FD Promo?

From what I gather, in the last quarter 0f 2013, not many banks were in desperate need for cash. And this year I would think it'll be the same.

To ALL:

Alliance Bank has extended their 3.45% 6 Months straight forward Fixed Deposit Promo without the stupid CASA thingy. Promo ends 31 March 2014.

So once again, maybe now is a good time to go deposit with Alliance and get either their Alliance Platinum Debit Card to earn 1.5% cash back or sign up for Privilege Banking to get the Alliance Premium Debit Card and earn 2% cash back. With the 2% cash back (and say you transfer fund into the account monthly to pay for the expenses), it beats the heck out of having your money sitting in FD while enjoying the up to 50 days interest free from credit card transactions. Click here to read my article The Best Cash Back Credit Cards - How To Earn Money From The Right Credit Cards,; and you will see the Alliance Debit Cards are good for those who spend above RM2K/month.

And if you go deposit RM200K, sign up for Privilege Banking and then apply for their PB Visa Infinite and get perpetual annual fee waiver, i.e. FREE FOR LIFE, and get unlimited access to Plaza Premium Lounges worldwide. If you got time, click here and read my article on Maybank, UOB and Alliance Bank Visa Infinite.
magika
post Jan 3 2014, 01:11 PM

2,614 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 3 2014, 12:44 PM)
Which BR branch did you go to, which state ?

For auto renewal, it will go to the current board rate, not even nego rate. For my FD in BR, I used online account to check, auto renew will just go to board rate.

You better check again or use online account to see the interest rate for related FD.  smile.gif
Better listen to this old goat regarding BR. rolleyes.gif

One of my FD reached maturity in the middle of November 2013 and was renewed with new cert at 4.20% pa. It would be a good idea to check online on your FD renewal as suggested.

123 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0333sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:57 PM