Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V5

ascend
post Oct 1 2013, 09:18 PM

245 posts

Anybody knows if you can place FD (OCBC Mega Save 2 promo @4.2%, effective around 3.7%) over the phone or via online banking? - if you already have FD accounts at OCBC.

In the past, i would go to their branch to place FDs.

Ok. Answering my own question smile.gif Answer is NO. But for normal FD @ board rates, YES.

This post has been edited by ascend: Oct 2 2013, 08:01 AM
ascend
post Oct 1 2013, 09:44 PM

245 posts

UOB 3 Month FD Promo (Fresh fund only)

FD @3.45% pa.

5% of FD amount or minimum RM1000 must be in CASA.

This post has been edited by ascend: Oct 1 2013, 09:45 PM
ascend
post Nov 12 2013, 10:27 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 11 2013, 08:43 PM)
What so surprise about 0-0.25% interest rate?
It is already like that since 3-4 years ago for those developed countries since 2008 financial crisis.

The highest FD rate one can get in developed countries right now is AUD and NZD, both at 2.5%.

Want higher rate?
Go for Indonesion Rupiah and India Rupee, around 7.xx+%  tongue.gif

That's why I do not understand why so many people even including so called market analyst predicting the rate to go higher.
At 3%, it is already a "high" comparatively.

And with lot of uncertainty in economy, and local economy seems not picking speed, the least BNM want to do is to kill off economy growth with raising interest rate.
In fact, prior before 2008 crisis, Malaysia rate had been hovering at 3% since the aftermath of 1997 financial crisis.

I personally do not think BNM will move the rate if there is no drastic change in economy situation.
Mainstream banks in Australia give around 2.5% for less than one year term deposits. For greater than one year, you can get around 3.3%.

For online banks such as ubank, you can get around 4% for one year deposit.
ascend
post Dec 10 2013, 10:10 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Dec 9 2013, 11:01 AM)
I just published an article Citibank CitiGold Debit Card and FREE Platinum Credit Card and Term Deposit Promo, at my Melbourne Victoria Australia blog.

Getting 4.2% interest rate for 6 months Term Deposit; but more importantly to me, a new Citibank Australia Platinum credit card, hahaha. However not sure if Citibank going to withhold 46% tax, so far I have been lucky for my Citi Oz Online Account where I was not imposed any withholding tax, but not the case for my wife's account. And best of all, somehow I was approved another Citi Online Account without me requesting for it when I signed up for the 4.2% 6 months Term Deposit Promo. As such I get to enjoy the introductory bonus interest rate of 4.3% for 4 months for the new Online Account.

FYI, the article above also touched on how to get perpetual higher interest rate from online accounts where we get introductory bonus interest rate for 3 to 4 months only. Most Australia banks Online Accounts offer higher introductory interest rate (about 4% now) for new sign ups and there is no requirement of minimum deposit or will you be penalized if you make a withdrawal.
Apparently, if you don't supply tax file number to the bank and if you have a local australian address, the withholding tax is 10%. if it's a foreign (outside of Australia) address, the withholding tax is 46%. So it's better to give them your tax file number so as not to have any tax withheld.

4.2% term deposit for 6 months seems quite good - i don't recall seeing anything higher.

For savings account, many online banks such as ubank, Ingdirect, Rabobank will give about 4.4% for 4 months for new accounts. You might want to check out ubank savings account which gives around 4.65% - one condition requires you to deposit aud2000 every month.
ascend
post Dec 11 2013, 11:07 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Dec 10 2013, 11:50 PM)
Thanks Bro for the info. We don't have Oz TFN. But like I said, I have been lucky as somehow I was not imposed the withholding tax for my Citi Online Account but not the case for my wife's Citi Acct. She was so pissed off that she transferred most of her money to her Commonwealth Acct where both of us are not imposed any withholding tax (???). And for your info, all our Oz banks' accounts do have an Australia local address since we rented a unit there (actually I used my cousin's address when I first signed up).

I checked with Citibank Personnel Banker when I signed up for the 4.2% Term Deposit promo and was informed that in order to be imposed 10% instead of 46% withholding tax, I need to provide an overseas address. Therefore, conflicting to what you mentioned above. But I did not do so because if I did, there is no way I will be approved for their credit card, hahaha.

As for Term Deposit Promo, I think HSBC also have interest rate close to that of Citi and the minimum amount is less.

I hate those accounts that requires me make minimum deposit monthly. Let me share with you on how to go about this stupid requirement for Commonwealth Complete Access (transaction Acct with FREE Debit Card) where I need to deposit AUD2K per month or be charged AUD6. Let's say I have AUD100 in my Complete Access Account and AUD800 in my Commonwealth Online Account (which earns way better interest rate than Complete Access). So what I do is transfer AUD700 in and out between these account 3 times in a particular month (can even do it in a single day) and I meet the minimum deposit of AUD2K per month, hahaha.
Yes - what i have said should be reversed. Overseas address and no TFN - 10%. Local address and no TFN - 46.5 (45% being highest marginal rate and 1.5% for medicare levy). This makes more sense as residents should pay more tax biggrin.gif

HSBC and other big banks term deposit rates are now mostly below 3%. Some specials are around 3.5%.

I need to confirm with ubank if they meant increase balance by aud2k or do a deposit of 2k. Many banks require a monthly balance increase for bonus rates. So let me know if you have a way to get around this biggrin.gif
ascend
post Dec 24 2013, 10:07 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Dec 23 2013, 11:02 AM)
ya i read their T&C need to place 100% of FD amount into saving account, don't need to see liao.

Started with 1/3, worsen to 1/2 and now 100% sweat.gif

Might as well deposit to Ambank / SC for 6 months - 3.5%, not worth the hassle of depositing monthly to your SA and go back again 3 months later to renew / withdraw.
Totally agree with this. OCBC is raising the CASA balance requirement by stealth (i almost forgot last time it was 2:1 ratio,and now this 1:1! mad.gif ) .

Plus you need to time the deposit and withdrawal (first business day of the month is best) of the casa account as it has a lowered interest (0.5%) when you made any withdrawal in a month.
ascend
post Jan 2 2014, 12:51 PM

245 posts

OCBC Fixed Deposit Combo

Is anyone getting charged for cashier order for the uplift of the fixed deposit n CASA combo? Last couple of times they never did but they tried that today and wasted hours trying to prove that the rm2.15 Cashier order fee was charged last time (and on that basis, it should be applicable this time)

While i understand that no fee is applicable if the uplift is made from pure fixed deposit, in the case of the combo promo, it isn't so clear cut and last couple of times it wasn't charged on good will (or on their ignorance).

This post has been edited by ascend: Jan 2 2014, 12:52 PM
ascend
post Jan 3 2014, 08:39 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 3 2014, 05:00 PM)
Bro, I have never heard of financial institutions auto renew FD at the HIGHER previously contracted rate. It's either auto renewal at board rate or uplift and renewal at nego rate with a new receipt issued. This is the SOP of all financial institutions in Malaysia. The logic of this SOP is that the bank will risk higher cost of fund if its FD system was programmed to auto renew at higher rate instead of prevailing board rates.

What if the board rate is higher than previously contracted rate ? If system take the old rate, depositor sure sue 9 BR liao.
Agree. I've never seen such thing either. Auto renewal is always at prevailing board rate, as stated in their T&Cs ( lower than previous promo rate- unless interest rate has been trending up). Banks will always take advantage of those lazy/busy/indifferent/forgetful/ignorant individuals. biggrin.gif
ascend
post Jan 3 2014, 08:47 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(kingofong @ Jan 3 2014, 08:02 PM)
YR INFOR NOT ACCURATE
Bro, read T&C 4.6. Clearly states interest will be credited into CASA account - so you need to open one if you don't already have one - though the T&C did not state the credit frequency (monthly or six monthly, etc).

This post has been edited by ascend: Jan 3 2014, 08:48 PM
ascend
post Jan 9 2014, 02:45 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(harmonics3 @ Jan 9 2014, 10:39 AM)
wow.. not bad..
which branch is it? i only got a miserable manicure set in Penang.
BTW, no more banker's cheque from BR from 2014, they will perform interbank giro to destination bank account and absorb the RM2 fees which is ok as banker's cheque may need 1 more day to clear.
This is going to make it hard to place FDs at other banks unless you have CASA account there for the interbank giro to work.
ascend
post Mar 22 2014, 09:40 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Mar 22 2014, 01:34 AM)
to get 4%...is (2.75% + 1.25% (500k & above)

if put 50k...then (2.75 + 0.50%) = 3.25%/per annum..

new fund, under CA, islamic..
Better put in $50K+1 cent in PMA-I to receive 2.75%+0.8% (only applies to PMA-I). If you do this at the beginning of the campaign period your incremental AB will meet the requirement.

Clause 20 is absolutely not fair and probably a mistake, as the incremental AB requirement only runs till last day of July. SCB had a similar promo two years ago and did not stipulate as such.

20. Eligible customers must also maintain their account balances in the participating account(s)
as of 31 st July 2014 until the date of interest/dividend crediting i.e. 30th September 2014

Note that the interest credit is done within TWO months of end of campaign (by 30thSept 2014).

0.0193sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:52 PM