Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V5

munkeyflo
post Sep 12 2013, 04:30 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

Went to KFH Klang branch today. Deposited some money into their 3.8% for 6 months FD promo. Friendly staffs, not many people, parking easy, very happy with their service.

You'll have to open a S/A, they have a few types of S/A. First is the basic one which only require RM20 to open the account, can't remember how much is the interest rate for this one. The other one is RM200 minimum initial deposit for 1.5% p.a. or RM1000 minimum initial deposit for 2% p.a. No minimum balance required in the account to maintain the interest rate. Placed FD for 6 months, went out do my things a while and went back to the bank after an hour to collect the receipt.

I'm pulling most of my funds out from OCBC now. Very headache with their accounts. Too confusing, too many accounts, every other week got statement come. rclxub.gif
haur
post Sep 12 2013, 04:54 PM

99 posts

Placed my deposit with BR this afternoon. Very friendly staff with wide smiles!
magika
post Sep 12 2013, 05:01 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(haur @ Sep 12 2013, 04:54 PM)
Dont lah promote BR ! mad.gif The more people deposit there, the lesser the rate we can bargain in the future.. laugh.gif

bbgoat
post Sep 12 2013, 05:23 PM

6,614 posts

Which branch did you go to in Pg ?
BoomChaCha
post Sep 12 2013, 05:30 PM

2,490 posts

Can share with us what rate did you get..? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 12 2013, 05:39 PM
BoomChaCha
post Sep 12 2013, 05:33 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 12 2013, 12:07 PM)
I have been using BR Giro for >9 months, all transfers were received on the same day if done before 12 noon. You should try it out yourself with small amount.
Yes, I will try it later. Thanks biggrin.gif

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 12 2013, 02:12 PM)
Well, it is a matter of how to make use of your time efficiently.

How to play FD musical chair if you do not use your time efficiently ??  tongue.gif
Yes, this is very important to use time efficiency, otherwise we will lose interest.

I always write down FD maturity dates on my calendar so that I can prepare to withdraw
FD that will mature and re-deposit it as new FD into another bank on the same day.

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 12 2013, 05:55 PM
pinksapphire
post Sep 12 2013, 06:05 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 12 2013, 02:25 PM)
Bro, read carefully, I said up to....
Like I have been mentioning for months in my my Fixed Deposit Page, for OCBC Combo Plan (now Mega Save), timing is crucial. Now, if you go deposit sometime middle of the month, the effective interest comes out to be less than 3.6% with the 4.2% 3 months FD Promo. Go deposit last day of the month and withdraw last day of the month after 3 months, the effective interest comes out to be 3.467% (see see the number, who will want to go deposit there? hahaha).

Seriously, I stopped going for OCBC Combo Plan after I ran out of names to open PB to qualify for the 5% 3 Months FD for half AUM (at that time also no need to purchase investment products) and get effective interest rate close to 4.5%. Moreover, not to say I got funds coming in every 1st or 2nd of the month to optimize the Combo Plan returns. Now with 4.2% and getting effective rates close or lower than Affin's 3.6% 12 Month FD rate, when you go sign up for Mega Save after the first week of the month, what is the point? For me any promo earning effective interest rate less than 3.6% is not worth the time.

The smart ones of course have opted to go with BR... example BoomChaCha going with straight forward 3.65% 3 months with BR, no need to waste time calculating effective interest rate and making monthly deposit  notworthy.gif
Yeah, the effective rates of theirs are no longer decent enough for us to go for it considering how we have to keep monitoring RM1K deposit every month and the timing of opening/closing, etc. I'm getting Zzz with it, so time for me to take it out too. Being a Premier customer doesn't have much difference anyway.

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Sep 12 2013, 04:30 PM)
Went to KFH Klang branch today. Deposited some money into their 3.8% for 6 months FD promo. Friendly staffs, not many people, parking easy, very happy with their service.

You'll have to open a S/A, they have a few types of S/A. First is the basic one which only require RM20 to open the account, can't remember how much is the interest rate for this one. The other one is RM200 minimum initial deposit for 1.5% p.a. or RM1000 minimum initial deposit for 2% p.a. No minimum balance required in the account to maintain the interest rate. Placed FD for 6 months, went out do my things a while and went back to the bank after an hour to collect the receipt.

I'm pulling most of my funds out from OCBC now. Very headache with their accounts. Too confusing, too many accounts, every other week got statement come.  rclxub.gif
Is there any difference on which SA we open? If not, I assume you went for the basic?
And I heard the interest is paid upfront or something, I'm not sure.
pinksapphire
post Sep 12 2013, 06:06 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Sep 12 2013, 05:01 PM)
Dont lah promote BR !  mad.gif  The more people deposit there, the lesser the rate we can bargain in the future.. laugh.gif
Lol, yes...more skeptical people like me will be going for it too, haha...
magika
post Sep 12 2013, 06:25 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Sep 12 2013, 06:06 PM)
Lol, yes...more skeptical people like me will be going for it too, haha...
no scared.. meh.. tongue.gif

I do agree that OCBC seems to make things damn complicated. BNM has left OPR unchanged but banks are reducing Fd rates, seems like too much liquidity in the system, money printing ? shakehead.gif

magika
post Sep 12 2013, 06:29 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Sep 12 2013, 06:05 PM)
Yeah, the effective rates of theirs are no longer decent enough for us to go for it considering how we have to keep monitoring RM1K deposit every month and the timing of opening/closing, etc. I'm getting Zzz with it, so time for me to take it out too. Being a Premier customer doesn't have much difference anyway.
Is there any difference on which SA we open? If not, I assume you went for the basic?
And I heard the interest is paid upfront or something, I'm not sure.
Bro, ever heard of future transfer ... tongue.gif Use it via internet banking, makes life easier... rclxms.gif Just maintain minimum amount enough , so far did not hear anyone losing Premier Banking status yet...

haur
post Sep 12 2013, 09:04 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 12 2013, 05:23 PM)
Which branch did you go to in Pg ?
The one in town. Opposite First Avenue. Easy parking, straight cucuk infront! LOL!

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 12 2013, 05:30 PM)
Can share with us what rate did you get..?  hmm.gif
I got 4.01. I did not place a huge sum, so no nego. sweat.gif
BoomChaCha
post Sep 12 2013, 10:03 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 12 2013, 02:07 AM)
I did mention about the OCBC Premier Savings Account in my article The Best Savings Account in Malaysia for Children, Adults, Parents and Grandpas too.

The OCBC Premier Savings account used to pay 3.05% and now 3%. No need to deposit monthly to earn high interest rate equivalent to OCBC 1 year FD unlike the OCBC Smart Savers Account. Also you are not penalized if you make withdrawal. Best part, interest credited monthly too. Only condition is you got to maintain RM200K in the account. And yes, this Premier savings account has always qualified for the OCBC Combo FD Promo.
General, when did OCBC start to introduce Premier Savings account? Any idea? hmm.gif
BoomChaCha
post Sep 12 2013, 10:21 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(haur @ Sep 12 2013, 09:04 PM)
The one in town. Opposite First Avenue. Easy parking, straight cucuk infront! LOL!
I got 4.01. I did not place a huge sum, so no nego.  sweat.gif
Then, any gifts from BR?
haur
post Sep 12 2013, 10:27 PM

99 posts

Zero!
BoomChaCha
post Sep 12 2013, 10:29 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(haur @ Sep 12 2013, 10:27 PM)
Zero!
Ok.. but a bit surprised.. Thanks

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 12 2013, 11:40 PM
pinksapphire
post Sep 12 2013, 10:58 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Sep 12 2013, 06:25 PM)
no scared.. meh.. tongue.gif

I do agree that OCBC seems to make things damn complicated. BNM has left OPR unchanged but banks are reducing Fd rates, seems like too much liquidity in the system, money printing ?  shakehead.gif
Scared, but then I reckon shouldn't be too risky as well :S

QUOTE(haur @ Sep 12 2013, 09:04 PM)
I got 4.01. I did not place a huge sum, so no nego.  sweat.gif
Hi haur, your 4.01 is the board rate ah? Meaning you put 1 year, correct?
I don't like the town area there, so congested. I wonder if the one at Bayan Lepas is better or not. And any free gifts, haha...
guy3288
post Sep 12 2013, 11:28 PM

5,871 posts

I am sure many here have been given free gifts from BR FD placement. I have had bath towels, T shirt, manicure sets and recently Parker pen sets.

The thing is i was never asked to sign any form acknowledge that customer has taken that gift.

It looks like they can just take those gifts away and give to any one, since no customer acknowledgement is required.

Any of you signed any acknowledgement when given a gift for FD placement?

How do i put up the pix of BR pen sets here?Any sifu can teach?
ok just try the attachment and see. just browse, open, then click on attachment right? but nothing came out...

This post has been edited by guy3288: Sep 13 2013, 12:05 AM
BoomChaCha
post Sep 12 2013, 11:50 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Sep 12 2013, 11:28 PM)
I am sure many here have been given free gifts from BR FD placement. I have had  bath towels, T shirt, manicure sets and recently Parker pen sets.

The thing is i was never asked to sign any form acknowledge that customer has taken that gift.

It looks like they can just take those gifts away and give to any one, since no customer acknowledgement is required.

No, I have never signed any acknowledgement letter for gifts received.
But all the times only the high level manager or officer pass me the gifts.

ok just try the attachment and see. just browse, open, then click on attachment right? but nothing came out...
gee.. I did not understand what a "pix" was... biggrin.gif

(1) Click on "Browse" tab, select the photo from your PC
(2) Click "Add This Attachment"
(3) Click "Add into Post"
(4) Click "Submit Modified Post"..

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 13 2013, 12:47 AM
magika
post Sep 13 2013, 08:44 AM

2,612 posts

I am sure many here have been given free gifts from BR FD placement. I have had  bath towels, T shirt, manicure sets and recently Parker pen sets.

ok just try the attachment and see. just  browse, open, then  click on attachment right? but nothing came out...
I think it has to be JPG format.. no need post pics of Parker pens.. that one cheapo type, BR gave me a few without even asking... shakehead.gif

BR gift no one sign for anything. OCBC even for secret recipe voucher need to sign. I remember once OCBC gave Mont Blanc pen need to sign reparation clause of RM1k++.

This post has been edited by magika: Sep 13 2013, 08:52 AM
magika
post Sep 13 2013, 08:49 AM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Sep 12 2013, 10:58 PM)
Scared, but then I reckon shouldn't be too risky as well :S
Hi haur, your 4.01 is the board rate ah? Meaning you put 1 year, correct?
I don't like the town area there, so congested. I wonder if the one at Bayan Lepas is better or not. And any free gifts, haha...
No PIDM! quite risky lah... tongue.gif No wonder failed to get better rates the last I deposited there. Many forumers on the hush- hush depositing , the more BR received deposit the less they will nego... vmad.gif

This post has been edited by magika: Sep 13 2013, 08:50 AM

123 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:41 PM