Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V5

guy3288
post Sep 12 2013, 11:28 PM

5,882 posts

I am sure many here have been given free gifts from BR FD placement. I have had bath towels, T shirt, manicure sets and recently Parker pen sets.

The thing is i was never asked to sign any form acknowledge that customer has taken that gift.

It looks like they can just take those gifts away and give to any one, since no customer acknowledgement is required.

Any of you signed any acknowledgement when given a gift for FD placement?

How do i put up the pix of BR pen sets here?Any sifu can teach?
ok just try the attachment and see. just browse, open, then click on attachment right? but nothing came out...

This post has been edited by guy3288: Sep 13 2013, 12:05 AM
guy3288
post Sep 13 2013, 08:54 AM

5,882 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 12 2013, 11:50 PM)
No, I have never signed any acknowledgement letter for gifts received.
But all the times only the high level manager or officer pass me the gifts.
gee.. I did not understand what a "pix" was...  biggrin.gif

(1) Click on "Browse" tab, select the photo from your PC
(2) Click "Add This Attachment"
(3) Click "Add into Post"
(4) Click "Submit Modified Post"..
dont why i cant upload, click attachment, then wait... end nothing is there. IMG JPEG yes, 2.21MB too big file?

ok i know why, file too big earlier cannot upload, compressed it ok now.

This post has been edited by guy3288: Sep 13 2013, 08:38 PM
guy3288
post Sep 13 2013, 09:11 AM

5,882 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Sep 13 2013, 08:55 AM)
how much RM you deposited? u got parker pens...t-shirt?  hmm.gif
guy3288
post Sep 13 2013, 08:43 PM

5,882 posts

QUOTE(ExoticAquaNPet @ Sep 13 2013, 04:55 PM)
Yup, but it seem not a preference among forumer here..
Big difference - KFH pay interest end of 1 year, BR pays interest every month.
guy3288
post Sep 14 2013, 04:53 PM

5,882 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 14 2013, 10:14 AM)
Did you get the gifts over few times deposit ? They used to have lap top bag, school bag to give away.
I split my FDs, i heard dangerous/attracting attention if put big amount in 1 cert...That 50k refers to 1 deposit. To negotiate rate, usually they would ask total how much , then i tell them xxx and they allow me in lots of 50k. Below 50k i get board rate. I got 4.25% for 24m and 4.7% for 61m.

They dont give me gift for every deposit. i go often , if ask every time with every Fd, shy also.
But after 2 or 3 deposits if they dont automatically give me, i will ask. whenever i ask they will give.

I never get bags so far. Towels, manicure set of different types, T shirt, but i now mostly prefer pens, esp the parker pen set, i think buy outside maybe RM80 and can give to others as gift. been with BR >10 years despite my brothers discouraging me saying not safe etc.
guy3288
post Sep 25 2013, 09:19 AM

5,882 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Sep 25 2013, 01:55 AM)
Since negotiable amount has gone up to RM100k, I think not worth going for BR unless you're ready to take risk with that much money into without-PIDM bank.
I was going to place some earlier, but this amount is too high for me. So I guess will go for RHB since they are giving 3.78%, not much diff every month in interest, and it can give you peace of mind, lol...
Highest at RHB is 3.35% for 5 years. You lose RM1350 per year for every 100k you put at RHB. Worth it? For big depositor like bgoat and bcc they can lose more than Rm1000 every month...that's alot of money!

This post has been edited by guy3288: Sep 25 2013, 09:21 AM
guy3288
post Sep 25 2013, 06:40 PM

5,882 posts

BR still giving out gift, today they gave me the maroon parker pen , i wanted the gold color type, but no stock so i chose bath towel.

To nego rate i dont think above 50k they will give special rate. What i said earlier was once they gave you that rate, you can bring in your money in lots of 50k and above., if you put less than 50k that FD will get normal rate.

I asked about the 24 months FD and requested for 4.3%, they said most likely can get, waiting for approval fr HQ.

Apparently last year they can give extra 0.2-0.3%, now no more 4.9% for 61m. Max is 0.1% extra now.
guy3288
post Sep 25 2013, 09:19 PM

5,882 posts

best is you all ask fr Br itself. but if for short term less than 1 year, i wont negotiate la, most likely cant get, if can get also, the extra interest is so litlle , not worth the effort, simply take the BR gifts easier.

bbgoat didnt undertstand what i said. if you say u want to put RM50k for new FD sure they wont give special rate. You must say you want to put new FD few hundreds k, then only can get extra rate. For this few hudreds K, you are allowed to bring it bit by bit, ie 50k, 70k,80 k, over a period of time, no need all in one shot.

and of course previous Fd you have with them cannot be considered. The HQ want to know how much new fund you want to bring in for them to decide whether you get extra rate or not.

still if the BR br likes you may be got exception la.
guy3288
post Sep 27 2013, 02:12 PM

5,882 posts

QUOTE(anmie @ Sep 27 2013, 01:59 PM)
no necessarily 50:50. u can ask them to put full amount at 4.1% for 60 months. I did that.
You lose out by taking that 4.1% for 60months without taking the 3.8% for 9m FD.

The sweetener in that bundle FD is the 3.8% for 9 months and not the 4.1% for 60m. Ambank sure happy like that.......

RHB FD 3.78% for 12m still available, open a SA put RM3k got free gift- a digital blood pressure set and RHB mug. Unlike BR , take free gift at RHB must sign form, good control in RHB.

RHB GIFTS:-

This post has been edited by guy3288: Sep 28 2013, 12:37 AM
guy3288
post Sep 27 2013, 11:21 PM

5,882 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 27 2013, 06:44 PM)
I think in a different way..
If anmie does not need to use all the money in next 5 years, why not to put all money to enjoy 4.1%?
Furthermore, to split part of the money into a 9 months FD will be an hassle to chase for a Musical Chair later.
A little extra of only 0.3% for so many more extra months tied down? not a gd deal to me.

Why i say the 3.8% for 9 month is the sweetener? Becos that is close to the highest in market which is 3.85 at BR.

4.1% for 60m is far from the best in market which is 4.7%.

Also why Ambank allow you put all in 60m for 4.1%?
Try tell Ambank you only want the 3.8% for 9m and refuse the other long term FD which Ambank is trying to tie you down.Would they allow?

To me, the 3.8% is the attractive portion, and not the 4.1%.

Your logic is wrong.
For you to be able to chase your musical chair , the more you need that short term 9m FD.
Tying all down for 60 months means when the next good FD rate comes, you just stand there and watch,
money all stuck still not matured yet! How to chase?

The prerequisite to be able to chase for any good FD rate that comes along ,is to have some Fds maturing earlier than another,
and not all maturing 60 months later at the same date.

This post has been edited by guy3288: Sep 28 2013, 01:18 AM
guy3288
post Sep 27 2013, 11:38 PM

5,882 posts

Bank's promo tactic is obvious.

Talking about bundle deals.

When they offer the better rate -they give you only short term, 3 months, 6 months. so you cant get much extra from bank.

Then they get it back from you via the longer term that they tie you down.

Take 100k eg. give you extra 1% for 3 months , how much extra you earn? only RM250.

Say 60 months, that would be RM5000 extra,

It would be silly to offer the better deal to customer at longer term and trying to get it back from customer via the shorter term deal.
guy3288
post Oct 1 2013, 02:24 PM

5,882 posts

QUOTE(Myoswee @ Oct 1 2013, 11:19 AM)
Yes, the employer can contribute more than 12% to EPF.

I have a friend where his company contribute 19% of his salary to EPF as part of staff benefit.  rclxms.gif
You can go even higher than that, my company contributes 39% for me, but of course only 19% is tax deductible, rest not considered co expenses.

This post has been edited by guy3288: Oct 1 2013, 02:27 PM
guy3288
post Oct 7 2013, 12:19 AM

5,882 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Oct 6 2013, 10:02 PM)
Noticed first page didnt mention Am Bank 3.55% for 9 months even though it was reported here...anyway, re-post here with the brochure again..was thinking of deposit into Am bank this Tuesday but saw your post 3.65% for 13 months...will probably proceed to UOB instead of Am...I am assuming the rate will go down...
why not kuwait finance 3.98% for 12m?
guy3288
post Oct 7 2013, 11:52 PM

5,882 posts

Just opened 2 junior FDs. The 3.98% rate is still available. But need to open a SA (no book), min RM20.00, I asked them no monthly interest why need SA? End of 1 yr i will take all together.

Free gift from Kuwait Finance is so 'kiddy'- 2 sets of stationery and a generic cheapo pen. BR better anytime.

But the service is good, i spent only 10 mins signing the forms and she delivered the FD to my office 7.0pm. She offers to come and collect cheque for future placement.

Pro: Got PIDM
can avoid putting too many eggs in BR basket.
Con: No monthly interest, so can lose upto RM33 a year for every 50k compared to if there is monthly interest payment.

but what to do?no better rates around.....
guy3288
post Oct 14 2013, 02:32 AM

5,882 posts

QUOTE(escargo75 @ Oct 13 2013, 05:04 PM)
If we put $1 mills to the FD, do you think the bank can give the interest rate 6% or more? Anyone try it before?
No need 1 M, you can get that rate or better if you put in retail bank bonds usually long term 5-15 years, aka Medium Term Notes. 1/4M+ enuff. But must catch it fast when it comes.
guy3288
post Oct 19 2013, 09:39 PM

5,882 posts

i can imagine if family members do not know how much, where and how i save the money, they would be very much inconvenienced and may even lose out financially leaving the money lying idle.

Only the bankers would be the one happy, the longer you do not claim your money the more happy they are. Unit trusts that make money are kep till losing, would be the worse thing.

I trust my family members 100%, so all of them are regularly reminded where and how i keep the savings. I gave them my PW to my system.

I wonder how many does what i do. Whenever the whole family fly together, i even inform my mother where to find the list of savings i keep.

Kids asking how much we have, no problem. How much i earn, no problem, tell. The more you earn the more you should let your kid know to encourage them to work harder. The same goes for my insurance policy etc, some say if you tell, they might kill you off to get the money faster..........not in our family i think.

This post has been edited by guy3288: Oct 19 2013, 09:42 PM
guy3288
post Nov 4 2013, 11:48 PM

5,882 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 4 2013, 10:52 PM)
ya, tats what I said, not fd.
interest not guaranteed but principal is.
those non-pidm fds, guaranteed meh? tongue.gif
I dont trust FRIND again, played out by CIMB before. First you have to pray that the Klibor or whatever index falls into your favourable ranges, if not no interest or very much lesser. Then you have to pray that the bank dont play you out when KLIBOR range is in your favour.

You cant beat the bank, when they have an escape clause "call back".

Say FD Rate goes down to eg 2% pa you might think you are lucky signing up for this FRIND that promises 5.2% for 3 years. But wait. dont be happy too fast, the bank can do the so called "call back" and return your capital when prevailing FR rate is so damn low.

I kena before, when KLIBOR out of ranges few quarters no interest they dont do call back. When index come into the range and I got the 6% or so interest for 2 quarters only, the bank started to play dirty - they called back the FRIND and returned my capital. End up after 2+ years only got something like 1% pa on average.

Better go for long term FD, you are assured of that rate till the every end.

This post has been edited by guy3288: Nov 4 2013, 11:51 PM
guy3288
post Nov 5 2013, 08:54 PM

5,882 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Nov 5 2013, 07:46 PM)
One thought came to my mind a few days ago. Someone raised the question about getting multiple FDs when the amount is large. Tied to the large amount is the ability to negotiate for a higher rate.

Now, the potentially good part is, in the event that one needs to prematurely withdraw some money, then one can terminate one of the FDs without loosing out interest on the rest and also still keeping the higher rate for the remaining FDs.

This is of course provided the bank does not keep track that these FDs are supposed to be a package for the higher rate and does not allow customer to partial withdraw.

Anyone has experienced this?

Cheerio.
If you put all in 1 cert you are stuck if u need part of that money in emergency.

i think once they allow you to place multiple separate FDs, each FD is independent, so prem WD from 1 cert should not affect your negotiated rate on your other FD certs.

Remember not to just stagger out the amount , also stagger out the date ie instead of RM300k on 4.11.2013 make it RM50k on 4.11.13, 50k on 4.12.13 etc.. BR allows me that.

guy3288
post Nov 21 2013, 06:55 PM

5,882 posts

Bank Rakyat makan treat for its customers again.

The last makan was at Swiss Restaurant on 19.6.2013, so rich and now again belanja us. Received the call yeterday:

Hotel Equatorial Penang 3.00pm 2.12.2013.

Got free makan and lucky draw! Support BR!
guy3288
post Nov 24 2013, 11:34 PM

5,882 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Nov 22 2013, 05:02 PM)
I will be surprised if you get an answer on which branch. Ha ha.  tongue.gif

Likely to be branch related as diff branch hold the function in diff location and diff time.  biggrin.gif
My branch is from mainland, I was thinking since it is held in equatorial penang, may be can meet some of you guys from penang island there....... but looks like it is branch related only..........so we will always only meet guys from same branch only.....

0.0615sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:02 AM