Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V5

Gen-X
post Jan 13 2014, 10:17 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 13 2014, 09:06 PM)
Captain, to subsidize petrol forever as long as our oil fields still have oil, why not?

I think I have to learn this credit card technique from you to cope with inflation.. hmm.gif
But I spend less than RM 2K per month wor..
Bro, as for Petrol, I guess you and I same opinion, i.e. government subsidized petrol forever tongue.gif Petrol in Malaysia damn cheap. Here I pump my Mazda 8 full tank about RM120. In Australia my face-lifted CX9 (bought it 1 year ago and this year only available here), a full tank can cost me RM240-RM270 as petrol prices fluctuates everyday and different station different price. But then again, my CX9 cost about half of what one needs to pay here.

But of course some will argue that subsidizing petrol is not fair as people with cars benefit more than those who uses public transport or motorbikes.

Bro, you spend less than RM2K/month and have FD deposits here and there, what you complaining about. You chiak bui liow lah sweat.gif

And if you read my article on cash back credit card, it tells you cards for spending RM1K to RM7K. Spend RM1K a month and you can get RM600 a year in cash back minimum as yet to include reward points.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 13 2014, 10:37 PM
BoomChaCha
post Jan 13 2014, 10:19 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Jan 13 2014, 09:31 PM)
Oh, really? I'm not aware of that. Most probably because I have no intention to place FD for less than 12-month biggrin.gif 
But that info was told by a BR exec when I made a call to them last month.
Last year September when I placed more than 100K for 3 months, and I asked for a
better rate, but BR said only at least one year tenure can nego, so I got 3.65% board rate (old rate).

I do not know if they have a standard policy for giving special rate..?

By the way, don't expect the foods inside the hamper are very good stuffs. They are just so so..

I received a Chinese New Year hamper from BR last year, most of the foods inside like chocolate, biscuits, egg roll biscuits had only few months left to expiration dates (like 4 to 5 months left), the most funny thing was that they put a dragon year (dragon year was 2012) greeting card on the hamper wrap. So it looked like probably BR gave me this hamper left from 2012..? But all foods were still eatable..And I noticed this hamper was bought/packed from Jusco.

And I noticed there were some dusts on the hamper wrap, it did not look like a new packed hamper..

But I hope BR will give hamper this year as it is better than nothing..and hopefully it is a new packed hamper

BoomChaCha
post Jan 13 2014, 11:17 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 13 2014, 10:17 PM)
Bro, as for Petrol, I guess you and I same opinion, i.e. government subsidized petrol forever  tongue.gif  Petrol in Malaysia damn cheap. Here I pump my Mazda 8 full tank about RM120. In Australia my face-lifted CX9 (bought it 1 year ago and this year only available here), a full tank can cost me RM240-RM270 as petrol prices fluctuates everyday and different station different price. But then again, my CX9 cost about half of what one needs to pay here.

Hu..Captain, RX8 and CX9, you are really enjoying the life style of the rich and famous.
Quite admire you..
Thanks for the links.

Bro, you spend less than RM2K/month and have FD deposits here and there, what you complaining about. You chiak bui liow lah  sweat.gif

Not really chiak bui liow lah, RM 2K is only my personal spending lah..excluding the others..
I owe a lot of money but you do not know leh.. sad.gif

And if you read my article on cash back credit card, it tells you cards for spending RM1K to RM7K. Spend RM1K a month and you can get RM600 a year in cash back minimum as yet to include reward points.
That is 5% rebate, good deal.
I will study and learn..Thanks

May I suggest you to publish 4 books about (1) FD and (2) credit cards in Malaysia, and 2
more books about traveling and studying in (3) Australia and (4) USA...I am serious... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(RO Player @ Jan 13 2014, 08:53 PM)
Affin..multi tier...savings...effective rates...<500k...is ard 2.765% much better than CIMB..
Did you mean this?
http://www.affinbank.com.my/General/Rates/...rest-Rates.aspx

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jan 13 2014, 11:18 PM
Gen-X
post Jan 13 2014, 11:42 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 13 2014, 11:17 PM)
Hu..Captain, RX8 and CX9, you are really enjoying the life style of the rich and famous.

I owe a lot of money but you do not know leh..  sad.gif

May I suggest you to publish 4 books about (1) FD and (2) credit cards in Malaysia, and 2
more books about traveling and studying in (3) Australia and (4) USA...I am serious... biggrin.gif
Bro, I wish I can own a RX8 but too bad it's a Mazda 8.

Owe lots of money.... how many properties you collecting rental to offset loans tongue.gif And thanks to the phenomenon called inflation which is inevitable due to how our economy/financial system has been designed, many home owners are millionaires.

Wah, thank you for your suggestion... But nowadays where got people buy books to learn stuff, everybody (including me) google looking for immediate and quick answers. Even if one does not know how to fold their underwear, You Tube got videos to teach them, hahaha. To prove my point - how many people ended up here (and active) by googling?

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 13 2014, 11:43 PM
plumberly
post Jan 14 2014, 09:02 AM

4,761 posts

Need your feedback.

I have one FD due at the end of this month. But I will be away for the Chinese New Year.

Either
a. I withdraw from a bank in another town (is this allowed?)
or
b. I pre-sign and ask the bank to transfer the amount to my saving
account in another bank.

Possible?

Happy, Rewarding & Prosperous Chinese New Year to all our Chinese colleagues here!

esy
post Jan 14 2014, 09:33 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Jan 14 2014, 09:02 AM)
I withdraw from a bank in another town (is this allowed?)
... as far as I know you can't ... they don't even allow within the same city like KL or Selangor even though its from the same bank but different branch ...

cherroy
post Jan 14 2014, 10:08 AM

25,802 posts

Need your feedback.

I have one FD due at the end of this month. But I will be away for the Chinese New Year.

Either
or
account in another bank.

Possible?

Happy, Rewarding  & Prosperous Chinese New Year to all our Chinese colleagues here!
a) it depends on the bank system.
Some don't allow interbranch withdrawal.
Some restrict the amount of interbranch withdrawal
Some are ok, (particularly foreign bank, whereby most of them practice cert-less FD system).

b) As far as I knew, as long as it is own/same account, most doable.

QUOTE(esy @ Jan 14 2014, 09:33 AM)
... as far as I know you can't ... they don't even allow within the same city like KL or Selangor even though its from the same bank but different branch ...
It depends on bank system, some can, some can't.
plumberly
post Jan 14 2014, 03:12 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 14 2014, 10:08 AM)
a) it depends on the bank system.
Some don't allow interbranch withdrawal.
Some restrict the amount of interbranch withdrawal
Some are ok, (particularly foreign bank, whereby most of them practice cert-less FD system).

b) As far as I knew, as long as it is own/same account, most doable.
It depends on bank system, some can, some can't.
OK thanks.

Will check with the bank.
nomen
post Jan 14 2014, 05:38 PM

163 posts

Need your feedback.

Either
or
account in another bank.

Possible?

Happy, Rewarding  & Prosperous Chinese New Year to all our Chinese colleagues here!
Why not let the bank auto-renew your FD?
Another option is to open a Savings account (with high-yield interest) with the same bank. Remember to change your FD renewal instruction to deposit into your high-yield Savings account upon maturity, hence you would still be earning interest while you are away.
plumberly
post Jan 14 2014, 05:44 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(nomen @ Jan 14 2014, 05:38 PM)
Why not let the bank auto-renew your FD?
Another option is to open a Savings account (with high-yield interest) with the same bank. Remember to change your FD renewal instruction to deposit into your high-yield Savings account upon maturity, hence you would still be earning interest while you are away.
Need the money as planned in my budget.

Interested to know what is the rate for the saving account with high yield interest you mentioned.

Which bank has this?

Cheerio.
DAViS
post Jan 14 2014, 07:08 PM

就是你
2,503 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Jan 14 2014, 05:44 PM)

Interested to know what is the rate for the saving account with high yield interest you mentioned.

Which bank has this?

Cheerio.
Affin bank has good deal if you have 1 mil above.

Conventional Interest Rates

Product Type

Revised Rate
(% p.a)
w.e.f. 23/09/2013

All Savings Account *

RM1.00 - RM999.99 - 0.50%
RM1,000.00 - RM4,999.99 - 1.00%
RM5,000.00 - RM19,999.99 - 1.90%
RM20,000.00 - RM99,999.99 - 2.80%
RM100,000.00 - RM499,999.99 - 2.85%
RM500,000.00 - RM999,999.99- 3.10%
RM1,000,000.00 and above - 3.38%

plumberly
post Jan 14 2014, 07:20 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(DAViS @ Jan 14 2014, 07:08 PM)

Product Type

Revised Rate
    (% p.a)
    w.e.f. 23/09/2013

All Savings Account * 

Will keep that in mind IF and WHEN I have that amount to enjoy it! Ha.

Cheerio.
Gen-X
post Jan 14 2014, 11:56 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Jan 14 2014, 05:44 PM)

Which bank has this?

Cheerio.
High yield account - check out CIMB, UOB and OCBC Premier Savings Account. But UOB High Yield Account which is a current account has fees.

Also click here to read my article The Best Savings Account in Malaysia. Check on UOB eAccount and Maybank2U Savers or Saver-i. If you have children, then go for HLB Junior Savings Account. The best thing about HLB is that you can go to any branch and there is no limit as to how much you can withdraw (as long as you have the funds of course) from your CASA.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 15 2014, 12:18 AM
plumberly
post Jan 15 2014, 11:16 AM

4,761 posts

For some sharing on the question I raised earlier ....

Called BR,
a. branch FD withdrawal is allowed but for max RM50K
b. pre-signed withdrawal and transfer to another bank are allowed!

So, I will do (b).
DAViS
post Jan 15 2014, 11:18 AM

就是你
2,503 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Jan 15 2014, 09:13 AM)

Product Type

Revised Rate
    (% p.a)
    w.e.f. 23/09/2013

All Savings Account * 

i am enjoying now atm.. whistling.gif
RO Player so how Affinbank calculate their interest rate for saving account?
Money put in saving can get rate than 3% FD?
bbgoat
post Jan 15 2014, 01:09 PM

6,614 posts

Talked to BR ABM who is back today. They are giving CNY hampers but to xx customers only. Luckily I am still in the list. tongue.gif Will get it later. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jan 15 2014, 01:10 PM
aeiou228
post Jan 15 2014, 01:47 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(DAViS @ Jan 15 2014, 11:18 AM)
RO Player so how Affinbank calculate their interest rate for saving account?
Money put in saving can get rate than 3% FD?
It's TIERED RATE, Say you deposit RM100k, the actual rate is 2.50% instead of 2.85%. Because your first RM26k only earns interest rates from 0.5% 1% and 1.90% only.
Gen-X
post Jan 15 2014, 02:39 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 15 2014, 01:09 PM)
Talked to BR ABM who is back today. They are giving CNY hampers but to xx customers only. Luckily I am still in the list.  tongue.gif  Will get it later. rclxms.gif
Sometimes it is better to go with commercial banks where there are many big fishes and people with no bodyguards are not highlighted in their system or their names & address not printed on paper where others can access them and target them.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 15 2014, 02:41 PM
bbgoat
post Jan 15 2014, 02:45 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 15 2014, 02:39 PM)
Sometimes it is better to go with commercial banks where there are many big fishes and people with no bodyguards are not highlighted in their system or their names & address not printed on paper where others can access them and target them.
Captain, you are not trying to scare me ? tongue.gif

Anyway, message taken. Should be more careful ................... biggrin.gif
BoomChaCha
post Jan 15 2014, 05:48 PM

2,490 posts

This is the 3rd time I am very pissed off with BR for their lousy service... mad.gif

I requested BR to make monthly interest payment from my 1 year FD to my saving account,
but they did not do it the 3rd time. I called them just now, then BR deposited my first month interest into my saving account within 2 hours, I checked this via iRakyat.

When I placed this 1 year FD last year December, I already mentioned twice to BR to make monthly interest payment to my BR saving account. Why I mentioned twice because when I placed my 5 years FD with BR couple years ago (first case), they also "forgot" to deposit monthly interest, but they rectified it immediately after I complained.

Then 2nd case, when I placed my 3 month FD during last year September, they also did not deposit
monthly interest, but I did not complain because I was thinking it was only a 3 months FD, I could
tolerate without monthly interest for 3 months.

This time (3rd case), I even more frustrated when BR asked me to call and remind them every month to deposit monthly interest to my saving account, because they have to do manually this time. I guess they missed the "timing" to set their system to auto pay monthly interest.

They also asked me to collect sarung ampao from them when I have time, they think I have a lot of free time to go there just to collect sarung ampao. doh.gif .? If hamper then I will go la...

123 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.6597sec    0.95    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:17 PM