The makeover of my humble abode, Sharing my renovation journey

TSmaxxon
post Dec 23 2013, 10:48 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Dec 22 2013, 12:50 PM)
For the Franca Fan, i think manual adjustment should be fine if it going to be used in the wet kitchen area where the action are.
You have shortlisted an assortment of fans model and brand. We are spoiled for choice and could be a headacehe in choosing the correct ones. Will look forward to your review on the fans chosen. rclxms.gif 
Air-con, the reason for not choosing the electricity saving inverter types? Is it due to you low usage or you have a particular reason?...tks! biggrin.gif
I left out the part of air cond in my previous reply. Im choosing non-inverter because Im not the heavy user. I just on the air cond a few hours max at afternoon or sleeping time if it is hot or stuffy. I love natural wind and good ventilation is important. So, im opening up the windows most of the time. smile.gif

This post has been edited by maxxon: Dec 23 2013, 10:54 AM
TSmaxxon
post Dec 23 2013, 11:14 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(jam_lennon @ Dec 23 2013, 09:29 PM)
do u shifted bathroom of master bedroom?
shift mean move the whole bathroom to another place.
Nope, I didn't relocate the bathroom. I just extended it by pushing it out to the balcony.
TSmaxxon
post Dec 25 2013, 02:53 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(MYJoker @ Dec 24 2013, 10:06 PM)
merry christmas. how much ur grill cost alredy
Merry X'mas! hands.gif

My grill is RM10.50/sqft (powder coated) + RM1/sqft for the option of angle bar.

Following is the pic from the vendor showing example of angle bar.

This post has been edited by maxxon: Dec 25 2013, 03:59 AM
TSmaxxon
post Dec 25 2013, 01:18 PM

773 posts

Fans and lightings installation in progress:-

Another polka dots works that I've produced. brows.gif

LED sensor spotlight for front porch and back yard.

Master bedroom with eyeballs basically as I like cosy ambience.

Upstairs family hall

The AZ e-lite 4" LED downlights is quite bright as these 2 pcs warm white alone can bright up the whole family hall, stairs and even the court yard... shocking.gif

This post has been edited by maxxon: Dec 25 2013, 11:24 PM
TSmaxxon
post Dec 26 2013, 01:16 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(S'aimer @ Dec 25 2013, 10:42 PM)
Looking good! What type of ballast you have with your led lights?

Care to share the cost of the led lights? Thank you
For the eyeballs spotlight, I'm pairing it with osram ballast; whereas other LED lights I'm not too sure coz most of them are built inside the casing.

For the lighting cost, u may check my previous post:-
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2952544/+240

QUOTE(PropFox @ Dec 25 2013, 11:46 PM)
Hi maxxon, just came across your amazing thread. Looks like you managed to find yourself a good contractor. I am in awe watching the progress of your reno smile.gif
Merry Christmas and for your lightings, do use a good mixture of daylight sensors and Hager timer switches. Can simulate ppl being home even when you are away on holiday.
Thanks for reading and following this thread. biggrin.gif
X'mas is just over, so it's now Happy New Year!
My initial plan is to put a hager timer on the car porch downlights...hmm...after your reminder, I should consider to put one more timer on an indoor light too....for the simulation like u mentioned. tongue.gif

QUOTE(wanchenghuat @ Dec 26 2013, 10:26 AM)
love your polka dot layout biggrin.gif
everything looking good biggrin.gif
Thanks for liking my polka dots 'artwork'! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by maxxon: Dec 26 2013, 01:17 PM
TSmaxxon
post Dec 26 2013, 01:28 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(telasdist @ Dec 25 2013, 11:53 PM)
hoho, this is awesome. i will consider it but somehow RM2.5k is quite a number for me. does the door able to connect with your alarm system?
Yup, sure it can be secured with the alarm system. smile.gif

QUOTE(telasdist @ Dec 26 2013, 12:20 AM)
I noticed that your interior is using single color on each wall right?
Perhaps, you can try draw some line by paint vertically. The line can be thicker or thinner as long as you make whole wall asymmetry. If you are interested, i can pm you some photos from other forum.
Haha...I'm too lazy to do so ler... tongue.gif
Moreover, I would minimize pattern on walls or wallpaper because I will easily get 'jelak' with it. That's part of the reason why I do not do much built-in cabinet, built-in feature wall panel, wall paper, etc.

I'm just going to decorate my walls with photos and paintings which I can easily take it down and change. wink.gif
TSmaxxon
post Dec 26 2013, 11:25 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(PropFox @ Dec 26 2013, 11:01 PM)
Do consider using the Selcon daylight sensors too. It works abit differently from the Hager timer which is mainly time setting based. The Selcon automatically turns on when the environment is dark regardless of the time. For example the car porch lights will turn on during a dark rainy 4pm etc.
Hmm...thanks for the tips! wink.gif
TSmaxxon
post Dec 27 2013, 12:08 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(ken.lee1 @ Dec 26 2013, 11:30 PM)
Where can get this selcon
U may want to check this out too:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1583881/all
TSmaxxon
post Dec 30 2013, 04:58 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(monkey9926 @ Dec 30 2013, 04:09 PM)
serious shit? i m renovating soon, should i go on a buying frenzy now?
You may verify yourself with a couple of shops about the price increase... Must use a little technique though when digging info from them. If straight away ask if there is an increase, sure they gonna say yes...

If there really is a price increase soon, you may do a calculation on the difference you gonna save if buying now, see if it is worth to buy so early or not? Can they really keep the items for you for months and still grant you the old price? You may leave the tv and audio system at the time being as new model keep coming up fast and older model will have price drop.
TSmaxxon
post Jan 9 2014, 02:18 AM

773 posts

It has been some times since my last updates. Just little progress thus far....

I find that the original fencing of my front porch will gonna be super awkward as it doesn't match with the gate (horizontal stripes) that I gonna install later. Good thing that my main con is so kind to brick it up FOC for me. So the fencing is now matching with the side wall fencing. biggrin.gif

Original:

Now:

Tiling of table top for other two bathrooms with semi-recessed JS basin.

The ceiling mount ventilation fan for master bathroom.

This post has been edited by maxxon: Jan 9 2014, 02:19 AM
TSmaxxon
post Jan 9 2014, 02:44 AM

773 posts

Encountered an ad hoc problem recently. My water bills for these 2 months has been hiked up to hundred over each month which is an abnormal kind of water usage. I went to Syabas requested for a check if thier new water meter has got any problem. They told me to go back and observe if the meter is running or not when not using any water. According to them, this is quite a common scenerio that there is a pipe leakage somewhere.

After some checking, we finally identified the leakage which is near the newly extended front foyer. This is most probably caused by the termite prevention drilling which was done earlier. Hmmm...the perimeter drilling is actually by luck whether or not it hit the underground piping... and I'm the less lucky one this time... sad.gif

To solve the problem, the original incoming pipe has been cut off and was re-routed, running thru the wall instead so that we do not destroy the newly done cement rendering floor and the decorative tiling at the foyer...

TSmaxxon
post Jan 9 2014, 02:48 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(nitromx @ Jan 9 2014, 08:45 AM)
this ventilation do you have a duct out to external?
i plan to install this in my bathroom without duct
is it advisable ?
Mine is without the outward ducting, just suck up to the roof which I think it's ok coz my roof area is very high and spacious... Not recomended if roof area not big enough, otherwise the humid air gonna trapped inside...

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Jan 9 2014, 10:03 AM)
Your master bathroom do not have windows?
There is a 1'x6' top hung window. I do not want to mount it on window coz I want to avoid using grill (very narrow opening so that ppl can't climb in). Besides that it will also somehow jeopardise the look of my front facade...

This post has been edited by maxxon: Jan 9 2014, 02:49 PM
TSmaxxon
post Jan 10 2014, 03:07 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Jan 9 2014, 05:29 PM)
If the ventilation is good enough, this kind of mechanical ventilation shall be avoided.
Arr...now I get what you mean when you asked if there's a window... tongue.gif
Yup, the natural ventilation should be alright as there's a window in the bathroom and there's also another window just outside the bathroom which is out looking to the courtyard. Actually, I'm just adding this ventilation fan as an additional prevention of humid air which could cause mold/mildew to grow on tiles and mosaics' grouts.
If it's a windy day then I do not need to turn it on. smile.gif

QUOTE(monkey9926 @ Jan 9 2014, 09:31 PM)
the ceiling mounted exhaust fan u installed, u just let the air go into ceiling? planning to do the same. good practice is  like cooker hood they use aluminum coil to divert bad air out.

any advise?
Yup, of course the ones with the air expel host is a better option but I just want to minimise hacking and it's not going to look nice on my front facade.... sweat.gif

As there's also natural ventilation thru windows, humidity is minimal... Moreover the rooms above the ceiling is quite spacious, so I think it's ok... hmm.gif
TSmaxxon
post Jan 10 2014, 03:12 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(monkey9926 @ Jan 9 2014, 09:34 PM)
btw,

nice of your contractor to do the brick fence for u. it's so much better and modern.
Hehe...I'm also kinda 'paiseh' when requesting this where most of the wet works are already done... sweat.gif
TSmaxxon
post Jan 10 2014, 03:19 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(nitromx @ Jan 10 2014, 08:40 AM)
hey can show more photos of your courtyard?
want to see how you decor it  rclxms.gif
Err..pls bear with me at the moment as we will only start decorating it when other parts are done... Anyway, just gonna make it very simple with minimalist kinda concept... smile.gif
TSmaxxon
post Jan 11 2014, 10:49 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(PropFox @ Jan 11 2014, 05:29 PM)
Or when u pangsai too smelly and wanna get rid of the smell fast..  Time like this good to have secondary function haha
Alamak! True also! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
TSmaxxon
post Jan 12 2014, 12:01 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(gyver @ Jan 11 2014, 11:00 PM)
Some caution when installing outdoor spotlight with motion sensors.... if there is a lot of cats in your area, for example you are next to a cat lady house, please be mindful that your spotlights will burn up quickly. You might need to change bulbs frequently.
Thanks for the reminder..I'm using led type, hope it can last longer..
If the cats keep coming over, I think i need to buy those cat repellent from Daiso then. If it still doesn't work, I should catch the cats and send them to kampung area, give them more freedom~ kekeke! tongue.gif
TSmaxxon
post Jan 12 2014, 12:09 AM

773 posts

Following is the quotation from Inovar after site measurement. Installation gonna take place soon, for the entire 1st floor (masterbedroom, 2 other rooms and a small family hall).
I'm using 12mm trafic zone series for flooring, 8mm for staircases (without riser).

This post has been edited by maxxon: Jan 12 2014, 12:12 AM
TSmaxxon
post Jan 23 2014, 12:53 AM

773 posts

The laminate flooring for the entire 1st floor is done today. Inovar sent over 4 chinese guys and 2 foreign workers. It was a one day work finishing around 5pm.

Touching up on the skirting joining parts.

Trimming for 2 bedrooms' door which I do not change to new ones.

They helped me to cover up the connecting strips for temporary as to avoid damage which could be happened when moving in carpentry and furniture...

I'm using 12mm traffic zone series for floor board and 8mm for staircase.

The staircase without riser hence got to use this type of skirting profile.

Chosen 'supposedly white' skirting but it turns out more to creamy colour compared my wall.... hmm....but still acceptable lar... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by maxxon: Jan 23 2014, 12:57 AM
TSmaxxon
post Jan 23 2014, 01:21 AM

773 posts

The multifolding door at the kitchen was installed yesterday. It is by Reliance Home which I signed them up in a fair.
When I signed up in the fair, it was RM72/sqft (with hidden hinges and RM2 extra for colour glass).

Later when the Reliance guy came for site measurement, he asked if I want the hidden hinges or the otherwise. He told me that the folding door is gonna be exactly the same except for some actually not-so-obvious kinda hinges. After some considerations, we've chosen the latter @RM65/sqft, 6.38mm laminated clear glass instead of colour glass. Hence, it's a good RM567 savings in the pocket. rclxms.gif

Mind you that Reliance Home's products do not come with subframe. Some main cond might not prefer this method...

There were only 2 installers, a Chinese and an indonesian worker.

This post has been edited by maxxon: Jan 23 2014, 01:31 PM

23 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0470sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:18 PM