The makeover of my humble abode, Sharing my renovation journey

TSmaxxon
post Dec 15 2013, 02:05 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Dec 14 2013, 09:05 AM)
The kitchen door looks fine to me though, just that the top window frame need to be the same width as door. So have you decided how to fill up your courtyard yet? Zen style garden with lotsa pebbles and stone carving?
The vendor came to do some adjustment on the windows and doors in the afternoon but I was not around...shoud pop round later to check them out...
As for the kitchen door, it will still be looking weird if the upper frame is of same size with the door frame... I was scratching my head on this and lastly got some ideas. I shall get some custom made stickers for the upper frame, so it looks like those western cafe...

Yup, gonna lay lots of pebbles in the court yard and place a big potted plant on top... nod.gif

This post has been edited by maxxon: Dec 15 2013, 01:59 PM
TSmaxxon
post Dec 15 2013, 02:06 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(JWH @ Dec 14 2013, 01:28 PM)
How much is this security door?
It was rm2688, bought in an exhibition fair..
TSmaxxon
post Dec 15 2013, 02:07 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(MYJoker @ Dec 14 2013, 08:59 PM)
do ur taman come with gate n guarded?
Yup, it's a gated and guarded community. smile.gif
TSmaxxon
post Dec 15 2013, 02:58 AM

773 posts

Updates on tiling works:-

Referring to my previous post, the tiler has been missing in action when they just about to start the tiling work. To avoid further delay, my main con got me another team and tiling job was resumed about 3 weeks ago.

This new team is a pair of very loving husband and wife in their fifties/sixties.
This aunty looks very cute. She likes to cover her head with the face towel..

This is their gadget with pre-loaded oldies that makes the atmosphere so retro and 'got feel'.... tongue.gif

The main con is requested to hack some upper part of the walls to make better leveling...

There are some cracked tiles (indonesian tiles) found when opened up the cartons. doh.gif

For the grout dividers, they use these little straps which were cut from those carton strapping tapes..

This post has been edited by maxxon: Dec 15 2013, 03:39 AM
TSmaxxon
post Dec 15 2013, 02:59 AM

773 posts

Bathroom in master bedroom. The raised floor is for the free standing bath tub.

Another bathroom at the upper floor. As you can see, the feature wall is not in full panel as we have overlooked that the water outlet is very near the window. If we had noticed this problem earlier, we should have either switch the water outlet or place the feature wall on another panel of wall. Hmmm....since it is now too late for changes, we can only try hard to convince ourself that it doesn't look as bad....
sleep.gif

The concrete top in galaxy black-

Tiling work in the ground floor bathroom is in progress. The tiles were chosen to be slightly darker in this bathroom as contrast to the other two brighter ones, as we can have an option of a darker bathroom when we need a calm and relaxing shower...

This post has been edited by maxxon: Dec 15 2013, 03:27 AM
TSmaxxon
post Dec 15 2013, 03:01 AM

773 posts

The water outlet/floor trap:-

There was an unfit gap as u see in the pictures as I just simply put the trap in to take photo...

This post has been edited by maxxon: Dec 15 2013, 03:17 AM
TSmaxxon
post Dec 16 2013, 02:53 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Dec 15 2013, 01:39 PM)
Glad you had everything worked out. Progress looks good. Keep it coming. I'm still hesitating if I wanna use mosaic tiles for shower area in my new unit as this is a ideal place for mold due to humidity.

Mold is commonly found between tile's gap unless color of your grout is black. smile.gif
I love the refreshing mood created by the mosaic tiles... You are right about the challenge of preventing it from getting mold and mildew stain.
There are couple of preventions that we gotta take note:-
1) use the mold/mildew resistant grout
2) use grout sealer (might need to reapply after a year or two)
3) install ventilation fan to keep out humidity
4) keep the bathroom windows and doors open for ventilation
TSmaxxon
post Dec 16 2013, 02:55 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(adrianjc @ Dec 15 2013, 02:57 PM)
It's not that bad lar...  smile.gif
Arigato gozaimasu for the comforting~ tongue.gif
TSmaxxon
post Dec 16 2013, 03:18 AM

773 posts

Actually, I'm kinda curious how did you guys tell your contractor on what colour to paint on which wall?
To avoid mistakes and confusion, I've sent my contractor the following few pics, plotted out which part and which colour that I want (based on nippon paint colours brochure) . My contractor said he was amazed to see so many polka dots when he opened up the files....guess I'm the first ever client of his doing this... brows.gif cool2.gif

Edited: all 'Hush White' colour has been changed to 'Orchid White'. Details on the changes pls read following post.

The first layer of paint was done and I'm kinda satisfied with the chosen colours accept the living room and family hall which has been painted in 'hush white'. The 'hush white' colour is too yellowish/creamy to my liking. It makes the room looks smaller and the walls were looked like those already painted for more than 10 years...
I failed to convince myself accepting the colours so I have to tell the contractor to re-paint it to another brighter colour (orchid white). I think I better change it now since it is just painted the 1st layer, rather than regretting for many years to come living in it... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by maxxon: Mar 19 2014, 12:11 PM
TSmaxxon
post Dec 17 2013, 01:03 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(MANSTIR @ Dec 16 2013, 09:11 AM)
wow,  thumbup.gif so nice to see you doing such big reno... i wish that i could do the same like you... money3...
I'm doing very minimal structural change here... However, when a renovation take place, it can really burn a big hole in the pocket.... sweat.gif
moneyflies.gif moneyflies.gif
TSmaxxon
post Dec 17 2013, 01:18 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(monkey9926 @ Dec 16 2013, 04:33 PM)
laugh die me. so cute. thanks for making my day man.
Hiak hiak hiak...I've just sent him another 2 polka dots pics indicating types of lights and position, u wanna see? tongue.gif
TSmaxxon
post Dec 17 2013, 01:21 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(praetorion @ Dec 16 2013, 09:16 PM)
is your lighting up when you paint your interior?

if you havent do the final layer  best to have the lighting done and switch them on. otherwise you will see different shades of color.
Haven't do the final layer yet. Lighting installation gonna be this friday.
Thanks ya for the reminder. wink.gif
TSmaxxon
post Dec 20 2013, 01:30 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(zombie @ Dec 17 2013, 03:21 AM)
Nice reno sharing. Your bathroom looks fantastics!
QUOTE(*StarGazer* @ Dec 17 2013, 09:20 AM)
BRILLIANT IDEA  rclxms.gif  Nice progress maxxon  thumbup.gif
Arigato! smile.gif
TSmaxxon
post Dec 20 2013, 01:46 AM

773 posts

Tiling of kitchen floor:-

Tiling of car porch:-

TSmaxxon
post Dec 22 2013, 01:12 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(sekkee @ Dec 21 2013, 07:29 AM)
Good call. Better to redo it to what you really like rather than live with what you don't.
That's the problem with renovation planning - you can only guess how things will turn up to your liking.
Even orchid white is not that white.
I chose the base white for ICI - the one they use to mix with powders to produce other colors.
It cost me an additional rm1200 for the re-paint. sweat.gif Good thing is that the main con coupled it with a FOC brick fencing for my front yard which is next to the letter box pillar. (Changing it to brick fencing as the original mild steel fence is not matching the horizontal design for main gate).

Im glad that I did the re-paint.. Coz it looks much better, at least I kinda love the orchid white. Yup, it's not a pure white but with a slight warmer tint (I prefer this compared the previous creamy tone).
I've got the bright white for the exterior and would like more cosy mood for the interior.

QUOTE(sekkee @ Dec 21 2013, 07:31 AM)
Why don't you brick up the fence to have more privacy ?
Your house is fronting a field.
I do not fence it up as I don't wanna waste the green view and block the nice natural breeze. I would like it in a more open concept and the view is the main reason I'm installing a folding door which I can fully open it up wall to wall. I love the concept of bringing the inside out; and the outside in. When I need privacy, I can just put down the blinds.

Moreover, the neighborhood is kinda decent in this gated and guarded community. The field is only accesible by the residents for activities like jogging, exercising, cycling, children playground and Qi-Gong sessions. Only the vehicles of residents living in our taman (110 units) will be using the road behind my hse. smile.gif

This post has been edited by maxxon: Dec 22 2013, 05:06 AM
TSmaxxon
post Dec 22 2013, 01:54 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Dec 21 2013, 10:16 PM)
Congrats! I like your Master Bathroom Window, rather than the usual 2' by 2.5' fare.
What is the opening of the window hight?
I am thinking no more than 12" hight for my bathroom, i.e. Minus the Alu Frame, the glass pane should be about 10". Therefore iron grill not required, right?

Also, is there a particular reason for your window to be much lower from your celling?
For me, I would like the window to be the same height with the top of your master bedroom window, probably another foot higher, looks more symmetrical from the outside.

I also like your marble design wall tiles, I think weikee started it and I am looking for such tiles too.
Tile size? 1'x 1.5'? How much per piece and Where did got it from? Thanks.
Thanks!

As for the window, you are right that it is at 1' height (1' x 6'), therefore we do not need to install iron grill. smile.gif
The window is made to this height so that we do not need to climb a chair to shut it. Although it is not likely to shut it daily but I think we should if we are leaving the house for days. Moreover, i personally think that The front facade will looks kinda awkward if the bathroom's windows are higher as the protruded strips beside the bedroom's window (do not know the right term for it) will looks hanging and no connectivity....

As for the bathroom's wall tiles, I'm just aware now that it is similar with weikee's. I read his thread like a year ago and do not remember such details... Hehehe...seems like we have similar taste. tongue.gif
Looking back at his thread, I think mine is similar with his but with slightly lighter and less marble lines. I have seen his in the tile shop too but I chose the lighter ones. I got mine at Ga Hing @RM6/pc, 1' x 2'. These tiles are from Indonesia and mind you that these tiles of mine has quite a number of it cracked before installing and it needs to be soaked overnight before tiling.

This post has been edited by maxxon: Dec 22 2013, 02:18 AM
TSmaxxon
post Dec 22 2013, 04:59 AM

773 posts

FYI, all electrical appliances (except TV) are going to have a price hike from 1st Jan. Gonna share with you some items that I've bought recently:-

Fridge-
Bought the Toshiba's 700L fridge @RM2500. Harvey Norman is selling at RM 3099.
Chose this 700L over the 650L as the difference is only rm250. I'm getting the big ones here as I've inherited my mum's habit of storing most dried cooking ingredients in the fridge. Bigger space means easier organizing.

The picture below is a 650L Toshiba that I took some times back.

Fans-
i) Fanco fan @RM350, swivel positioning by manual only. (No budget for the pricey NSB vento fan which is around rm13++).

ii) Deka baby fan in black @RM188.

iii) Alpha E-Light 5 blades fan with emergency light, 4 speeds @RM360.

iv) Alpha 828 5 blades fan, 4 speeds, @RM265.

v) Alpha Q28 5 blades fan, design same as 828 but with 5 speeds and reverse mechanism for natural wind function. @RM300.

vi) Alpha Axon 1 360 degree swirl fan, 5 speeds, @RM499.

Note: The sales guy from the shop which I bought the fridge said he will reckon Alpha's fan over KDK and Deka (I had already bought all my fans before knowing him and their shop sells Deka, KDK, Panasonic and Alpha). According to him, KDK (also the OEM for Panasonic fan) has various complains from customers for unstable swinging.

Air conditioning-
Bought all Mitsubishi brand (Mitsubishi Electric) as following:
- 3 units of 1.0HP, plasma, i-see sensor @RM1100 ea.
- 1 unit of 2.5HP, standard (plasma only available for 1.0 & 1.5HP), @RM2100 ea.
- 1 unit of 2.5HP cassette air-cond @RM2800 ea.

Note:
1) All above are non-inverter and price exclude installation as my main con will do it.
2) All Mitsubishi air-cond has increased in price. The shop agreed to grant me the old price as I brought the quotation they gave me before the increment.
3) The original warranty is 2 years on interior unit & 7 years on compressor. I've bought the additional 3 years warranty extension for the following:
- RM135 for 1.0HP (1 extension can use for all 3 units of my 1.0 HP as they do not track the serial number).
- RM175 for 2.5HP cassette air-cond.

This post has been edited by maxxon: Dec 22 2013, 12:47 PM
TSmaxxon
post Dec 22 2013, 07:41 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(MYJoker @ Dec 22 2013, 05:32 PM)
are u sure ? about the  all electrical appliances (except TV) are going to have a price hike from 1st Jan
The sales guy said they've got the memo and new price list already. We just wait till the time and see lor...
Btw, im buying mine now coz im targetting to move in soon...
TSmaxxon
post Dec 22 2013, 09:32 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Dec 22 2013, 12:50 PM)
For the Franca Fan, i think manual adjustment should be fine if it going to be used in the wet kitchen area where the action are.
You have shortlisted an assortment of fans model and brand. We are spoiled for choice and could be a headacehe in choosing the correct ones. Will look forward to your review on the fans chosen. rclxms.gif 
Air-con, the reason for not choosing the electricity saving inverter types? Is it due to you low usage or you have a particular reason?...tks! biggrin.gif
I'm installing the Fanco fan in dining room, the 360 degree Alpha fan in the kitchen. Can't put ceiling fan in both these places as there will be a pendent light in the middle.

Yup, will do review after using those items. Hope they serve me good... tongue.gif
TSmaxxon
post Dec 22 2013, 09:47 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(iman_210 @ Dec 22 2013, 04:21 PM)
nice reno
Thanks!

QUOTE(MYJoker @ Dec 22 2013, 07:43 PM)
is it bcause of the GST?
Not entirely. GST will only be imposed later from April 2015, and that will not be considered as an increment on unit price but a general 6% tax on top of unit price payable to the gov.

23 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0257sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:21 AM