50 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

The makeover of my humble abode, Sharing my renovation journey

TSmaxxon
post Nov 11 2013, 03:43 AM

773 posts

Earlier on, I was told by the Unifi agent that there was no available port anymore for my application. Thus, I was only left with the option of getting streamyx and was told that the waiting time for TM to open up new port could be very long... I was once so upset about this...until about few weeks after that, I received a call saying that TM has just opened up new ports as there are couple of other applications submitted by my neighbors... Hehe....im kinda lucky huh!? icon_rolleyes.gif

There were 3 guys from TM came for the installation. They charged me a lum sum RM250 to lay the fiber optic wire thru plaster ceiling and there involved some drillings too... It was a 2-3 hrs job..

TM fiber optic ports located at the back lane..

Wire puller was used to pull the wire from manhole into my place.

The new router modem (Hua Wei brand) from TM. The TM guy said this new modem is not as good as the previous with orange and white colors. He suggest if we want better speed can go for Asus modem but kinda costly around rm600+. Another choice is TP Link which is cheaper, around rm200+....
Why can't this TM give a good modem at the first place? Hmm...I gonna try out later to see if the speed is ok... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by maxxon: Nov 11 2013, 04:34 AM
TSmaxxon
post Nov 11 2013, 04:03 AM

773 posts

The vent blocks wall was up but there were some mistakes where the blocks patern is supposed to be in horizontal order but not vertical... The contractor admitted the overlooked mistake and has got no choice but to demolish the entire vent blocks wall... Actually I really felt quite 'sayang' to knock them down...but i just failed to convince myself having it in vertical orders.... sweat.gif

The previous wall has been demolished and rebuild in horizontal order..

Some thin wire mesh strips were placed in between when laying these vent blocks.

The wire mesh strips

TSmaxxon
post Nov 11 2013, 04:13 AM

773 posts

Under-coating and skim-coating job..

Car porch was prep-ed with another layer of cement for tiling job later...

Bought quite some random pieces of peranakan tiles like following pic for the entrance foyer. I want it in radom patterns to achieve the quirky + vintage touch... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by maxxon: Nov 11 2013, 04:14 AM
TSmaxxon
post Nov 11 2013, 04:29 AM

773 posts

Cracking my head whether to get this Samsung fridge or Toshiba's. Samsung's max 650liter, Toshiba has 650 or 710liter...

This post has been edited by maxxon: Nov 11 2013, 04:29 AM
cheeliew
post Nov 11 2013, 08:03 PM

56 posts

My advice is to go for the biggest liter you can get for the fridge. Ask yourself, how often would you change fridge
TSmaxxon
post Nov 11 2013, 10:23 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(cheeliew @ Nov 11 2013, 08:03 PM)
My advice is to go for the biggest liter you can get for the fridge. Ask yourself, how often would you change fridge
Hahaha...that's exactly the same advice from my mum and my other married friends... They said it is sure no regret getting the biggest fridge... thumbup.gif

weikee
post Nov 11 2013, 10:30 PM

12,019 posts

Bigger mean more energy consumption. Bigger mean storing more stuff, and sometime we tend to leave many stuff inside till we forgot about it. Go for what fit your family. Just my 2cents
TSmaxxon
post Nov 11 2013, 10:43 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 11 2013, 10:30 PM)
Bigger mean more energy consumption. Bigger mean storing more stuff, and sometime we tend to leave many stuff inside till we forgot about it. Go for what fit your family. Just my 2cents
True also...i think 650 little should be already good for me as there is only 2 of us at home...i think in future if got kids also enough geh... tongue.gif
Now im just undecided which brand to get, samsung with digital inverter, 10 years guarantee; Toshiba's without digital inverter but with 5 stars energy saving and 12 yrs guarantee. Obviously, Toshiba's looks more impressive with the fiber glass door... wub.gif

This post has been edited by maxxon: Nov 11 2013, 10:44 PM
TSmaxxon
post Nov 11 2013, 11:09 PM

773 posts

As it is now going on with the under-coating, there are some walls especially outdoor's and the courtyard's need to do mold-removing at the first place before the basecoat. This procedure is necessary to prevent resurface of mold patches and paint-peeling in the future...
It is done with the high pressure water jet, generated from the small machine below.

The whole area is like a snowing scene, with flying 'snow flakes'... tongue.gif
weikee
post Nov 11 2013, 11:19 PM

12,019 posts

650L is consider big, maybe paying 2 - 3Kwh per day, that about RM 1.20

TSmaxxon
post Nov 11 2013, 11:27 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 11 2013, 11:19 PM)
I'm one of those who likes to stuff things into fridge, including gingers, potatoes, bottled sauces, cooking herbs and even some dried ingredient like dried red dates... Those are inherited habits from my mum.... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by maxxon: Nov 11 2013, 11:27 PM
limhm1
post Nov 12 2013, 08:04 AM

414 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Nov 11 2013, 11:27 PM)
I'm one of those who likes to stuff things into fridge, including gingers, potatoes, bottled sauces, cooking herbs and even some dried ingredient like dried red dates...  Those are inherited habits from my mum.... tongue.gif
I plan to go for Toshiba 710L and hopefully it is good. Better get the biggest fridge or else my mum will put another old fridge in the wet kitchen. rclxub.gif

Using Sharp now and the quality is only so so.
sovietmah
post Nov 12 2013, 09:52 AM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 11 2013, 11:19 PM)
I am using hitachi 600L inverter.
one day average bout 1.5KW till 1.7KW.
On and off got open the door at morning at at night few times, got 50% stuff inside.
TSmaxxon
post Nov 12 2013, 11:38 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(limhm1 @ Nov 12 2013, 08:04 AM)
I plan to go for Toshiba 710L and hopefully it is good. Better get the biggest fridge or else my mum will put another old fridge in the wet kitchen.  rclxub.gif

Using Sharp now and the quality is only so so.
Lol! I can imagine a new fridge and an old fridge side-by-side in a modern kitchen! laugh.gif
TSmaxxon
post Nov 12 2013, 11:45 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(sovietmah @ Nov 12 2013, 09:52 AM)
On and off got open the door at morning at at night few times, got 50% stuff inside.
Only utilize 50%? Do you cook?
weikee
post Nov 12 2013, 12:40 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(sovietmah @ Nov 12 2013, 09:52 AM)
Inverter will be better. If got kids sure open more, my kids, always open close few time a day. My fridge only 30% occupied. Read an article is Actually best to have fridge around 80%- 90% filled, more efficiency because the goods inside will help retain the fridge temperature compare to empty fridge open all the cold air gush out.

And well organised fridge help too.

http://www.thedailygreen.com/going-green/t...rigerators-full
TSmaxxon
post Nov 12 2013, 12:51 PM

773 posts

I really wonder how do you guys keep your fridge so empty...my friend just husband and wife with a 4 years old kid have their 650L fully packed till I bought a small carton of juices for her son also no space to store in fridge... rclxub.gif
sovietmah
post Nov 12 2013, 02:14 PM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Nov 12 2013, 11:45 AM)
Only utilize 50%? Do you cook?
Sometimes only la.
but will utilize 80-90% soon.

weikee
post Nov 12 2013, 03:06 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Nov 12 2013, 12:51 PM)
I really wonder how do you guys keep your fridge so empty...my friend just husband and wife with a 4 years old kid have their 650L fully packed till I bought a small carton of juices for her son also no space to store in fridge... rclxub.gif
Spend a day, and check what is inside. You be suprise many already expired.
adrianjc
post Nov 12 2013, 03:53 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Nov 11 2013, 10:43 PM)
True also...i think 650 little should be already good for me as there is only 2 of us at home...i think in future if got kids also enough geh...  tongue.gif
Now im just undecided which brand to get, samsung with digital inverter, 10 years guarantee; Toshiba's without digital inverter but with 5 stars energy saving and 12 yrs guarantee. Obviously, Toshiba's looks more impressive with the fiber glass door...  wub.gif
Think of constantly wiping off finger prints... all this mirror finish items usually takes more care to look nice.

50 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0299sec    1.09    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:57 AM